223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Green Lakes State Park Campgrounds was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (315) 637-6111
CGID7716

Green Lakes State Park Campgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   5   3   7   9   8   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$26
Roads are paved but sites are gravel at best. Some sites are short. The park is very unique with its two small lakes and many hiking/mountain biking trails. The park has a sandy swimming beach with crystal clear water. Close to Syracuse and gets a lot of day visitors to the beach and trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This is a great park with lots to see and do. Easily navigated my 40' Pusher in and out with only a few low trees. We camped in The Rolling Hills section again and got one of our favorite sites. My wife came in one night and was marvelling about all the stars she could see as we live where the artificial light at night makes it look almost starless. Very quiet park with an occasional far away train whistle to enrich the evening silence. The sites are mostly shaded with lots of grass and some well placed gravel where inconsiderate cheap carpet users have destroyed the lush grass. But, it's a state park, and cheap, so you may have to rough it a bit? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
First, the park itself is beautiful with miles of hiking trails and access across the road from the Erie Canal Bike Trail. We thoroughly enjoyed the scenery. We were parked in the Rolling Hills section in a 25' motorhome and although there were a few larger units there, I don't know how they got in without damaging their home. The campsites in this section were dirt and tree roots and pretty much like backing into the woods. They also were quite close together. My husband is a good driver and maneuvered us in sideways to help with leveling. Since the sites are dirt, rain is quite a nuisance and it rained while we were there. The mud was compact, but mud nonetheless. If I were to go back, I would ask for the Pines area because it seemed to be a better section with "actual" sites with either gravel or pavement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
This was our first outing in our popup camper. We stayed over a weekend (Friday and Saturday night). Check-in was quick. The staff were pleasant. No one escorted us to our site, and the map was not as clear as it could have been. The site was mostly level, but did have a slight incline away from the interior road. The site featured a graveled driveway for RV back-in. Site #9 is conveniently located to a water pump station. The Camp Store and shower/restroom building was close by. Men's restroom and shower was fine. Women's restroom/shower was wet and muddy the entire weekend. Camp Store had a good variety of supplies. This campground is a short 10 minute drive into Fayetteville, where there is an abundance of shopping, if you forget anything, like underwear. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
I really wanted to like this campground. The electric sites were full when we arrived so they let us choose a site. The sites are on grass which looks nice but when it has been pouring down rain it makes it dangerous to park in as most of the sites are on a hill. We had a large group of loud young adults next to us keeping us up until about 1AM. Bathrooms are pretty scary - found a spider crawling up my leg while drying off. We paid for two nights but wanted to leave after one. When we told them we were checking out early due to noisy campers and slick grass sites they said that there would be no credit for our second night. At that point we did not care as we did not want to stay another night here. The campground looks really beautiful and I bet the hiking is great. Too bad the camping was so bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Very nice state park with typically large state park sites. Great beach and snack house. The fishing is great and the water is really beautiful: crystal clear and a unique green color. You can only fish in one of the two ponds (never really understood why). If you plan to stay for more than a few days bring a container to re-fill your water manually (5 gallons at a time) as the campground installed something called "water pedestals" that do not allow you to hook a hose up to if you need to re-fill your fresh water tank. Actually contacted someone in Albany and complained. Their response was, "The only way you can refill your tank at Green Lakes CG is to do it at the dump station and if your tank is empty you probably need to dump your holding tank..." This will require you to break down camp to fill your water tank. I tried to explain that the newer units have multiple holding tanks with capacity that greatly exceeds the fresh water tank but they just don't get it. Nice place for a quick weekend but we will not camp here for an extended stay. Hauling 5 gallons of water 8 times (40 gallon tank) is too much for my back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Another great time at Green Lakes State Park. The site we wanted was taken and so we chose another which was not to our liking, so with a phone call to the office we were able to change our site and everything worked out nicely. This is still a great park with lots of trails and a super beach with new bathhouse and all. It's close to Syracuse for all your shopping etc. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
This is truly a beautiful state park. The lakes are gorgeous - very clean and clear, nice sandy bottom. Lots of lifeguards. Our site was grassy, shady, and fairly level. The picnic table was in great shape. We were right near the playground, which our kids loved. Boats are available for rental. No "activities" as such for the kids, but we had friends 5 minutes away so we visited with them and their children anyway. Nice bike trails. The only drawback was that generator hours were limited to 2 hours in the morning and 4 hours in the evening. But the place is just beautiful, and we plan on returning next year (in a site that includes electricity). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We stayed in this campground because there was not much available in the Syracuse area. We were able to navigate our motorhome ok, but the site itself had deep tire tracks from previous vehicles and we had to work around it along with the large trees & branches. There was no specified pad on the site...just grass. The lack of amenities would push us on to another campground next time. They would not accept a one night reservation so we had to pay for two nights in order to find a place for just one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
This was our first time at Green Lakes and it certainly was a very nice experience. We had selected a site unseen and upon arrival found that our large motorhome could not be leveled on this site. I called the office and was graciously given other available sites, which I immediately surveyed and found a beautiful site next to the bath house. I called back and was told that everything would be changed and I would not need to return to the office. The staff was very nice and seemed to be on top of everything. We stayed for four nites and wished we could have stayed longer. The park is just a few miles from shopping malls and not far from center city Syracuse. The park has many trails and many scenic vistas. We will definitely be back. Check out their web site for more details. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
We needed a place near Chittenango and struggled to find something that fit our needs. This did to a degree. There are two campground areas in this state park. Both have several 35' and 40' foot electric only sites. The upper campground had very wide sites but the lower campground nearer the office had more attractive sites. Not all sites were level, but we had no trouble with our big rig. We were even able to get a satellite signal. Would have been nice to have had F/H/U of course, but this worked fine for our short visit there. A Robert Trent Jones golf course and a very pretty lake with beach, playground and concessions are also located at this park. Has many foot and bikes paths. Looks like a great place for families. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com