223474 User submitted reviews online!!
St Andrews State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 66 user reviews. Phone: (850) 233-5140
CGID772

St Andrews State Park

Camp Information
Sites
176
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   10   8   9   9   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This campground is at one end of Panama City Beach. You drive through the active beach community to reach the park. The park is on a peninsula between the Gulf of Mexico and the Grand Lagoon. The campground is along the Grand Lagoon. You need a car or bicycle to get to the beach from the campground - it is at least a half mile. The beach is absolutely gorgeous! The campground is right on the Lagoon, and many of the sites are on the water. The view across the Lagoon is of upscale condos and yacht clubs. We had some great kayaking in the Lagoon and the pelicans really put on a show. We had been told that it was hard to get a campsite here, but saw many empty sites while we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
I call this a "rustic" campground as it's not a parking lot with hookups. There's lots of shade, beautiful views of the Grand Lagoon right outside our trailer, privacy because of the bushes and trees between sites, laundry facilities at each bathhouse (4 of them) in the campground. The park has great roads and paths and beach access as well as lagoon access. We LOVE it here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$31
I have been to this park many times to see the deer and the birds or to walk on the beach. Great park. This was my first overnight stay. I was in the Lagoon area, and had a great water view. However, I also had music coming across the water from a restaurant or bar on the other side of the bay. I will stay closer to the boat ramp the next time so that I am closer to the walking trails and farther away from potential bar/restaurant music. Be sure to wear shoes or sandals at all times. Otherwise, you may get sand spurs in your feet. They are everywhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Great park. My kids loved the beach swimming area. Views of bay are great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
This was our second visit to this park. We made sure to reserve a site on the Grand Lagoon in Lagoon Campground so we could enjoy the gorgeous views and great bird watching out our back windows or sitting in our chairs next to the water. This campground is rustic so if you're into resorts, you won't like it. The sites are mostly sand. Some Lagoon sites (#72 - 98) have some landscaping in between so you have some privacy while others (#16 - 38) have none or almost none. The sites in the Pine Grove campground area are very tight and with a recent ground cover burn, have very little landscaping between sites. There are several hiking trails and it's a great place to ride bikes. There's a place to easily launch a kayak or canoe in the campground to the east of site #72 a few feet. There's also a boat ramp at the east end of the campground. The Gulf is less than a mile from the campground with several boardwalks, pavilions and a pier. There is a camp store in the park with souvenirs, etc. and two stores at the beach. There are plenty of good seafood restaurants near the state park along with all kinds of shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$31
Beautiful park with big spaces. The only thing missing are sewer connections at each camp site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$28
I loved this place; close enough to shopping, supplies and fun activities but far enough away that you feel like you are really camping. Beaches were awesome, park clean and well cared for. Some of the water sites were too close together, but we moved to the pine area, very spacious sites and private. Deer wander around the campground. We stayed for a week and can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
Gorgeous. We had a waterfront site. This is the place to camp. We loved it here. Short drive to the beach. Rest rooms super clean. Lovely, but gave it an 8 for lack of sewer hookups. We stayed 4 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
This is an extremely enjoyable campground. If you pick sites "in the boat ramp end" you are likely to get a nice bay view from your site. Most sites are spacious which we enjoy. Bath houses are in especially good condition, although we do disagree with the fact that they close the bathhouses for cleaning during the busiest morning hours. Super nice beaches close by which are very reachable if you bring a pedal bike. We liked it here a lot and we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$19
Great State Park. The beach was beautiful; allowing snorkeling, beach walking, swimming, and a shower. We have been to many State Parks and this one is on the top of our list... even comparing to The Grand Canyon, Monument Valley, Joshua Tree Nat'l Park, and more... Truly a great place to camp and benefit the Gulf. We recommend this place We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Our second visit to this park was just as good as the first visit last year. Bayfront, not ocean sites are available, but hard to come by. Summer thunderstorms happened daily, so be prepared. The beach is maybe a mile away with a choice of protected jetty, or ocean side. Most anything available for rent, including golf carts. We have a site reserved for next summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This is the most used campground in the state. I have a 32ft 5th wheel and most sites are a little tight but usable. Good ocean and bay fishing, beach is fine. Good local eateries. Book early if you plan to stay in the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
St Andrews is a great campground, but so different than the commercial campgrounds up the coast to the west. You really feel like you are roughing it, even in your RV. We were in the Marshland Campground, which had very close sites and wilderness all around it. The Pine Campground was a bit more open with larger sites. We were not sure we were actually going to get our 30 foot travel trailer into the site upon arrival, but managed to work our way into it after several attempts...and some nerve pills for my wife! We were a bit frustrated upon our arrival that our site had not been vacated yet by the previous camper after check out time, and we had to wait. The campground staff didn't seemed concerned that this had happened. However, we were able to park in the overflow lot until our site was ready. The grounds are amazing, and you can ride your bike to the beach and alligator pond in a very short period of time. I'm not sure if I would waste my time on the trip to Shell Island. It was pricey, the drivers highly suggested tipping, and we found nothing but broken shells upon our arrival. You will have just as much fun shelling, snorkeling, and dolphin watching at the Jetty in the park! I would have rated this campground higher if the sites were more accessible and if full hookup was available. However, we are already planning our trip back for next summer. The park stays packed daily, so they must be doing something right! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
Very pretty park, most sites are gravel/grass, many uneven. We were in a level, cement ADA site. Bathrooms and showers are brand new. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Would have given this campground a better score, as the state park itself is just beautiful and has very much to offer. The beach area and Lagoon access with boat launch is wonderful. The bath houses are great, very clean and modern. Nice to have a washer and dryer available ($2.00 for washer/$1.50 for dryer) but only at bathhouses 3 and 4. Looks like bathouse number one is about to get a set, and is one of the nicest bath houses I have ever seen at a state park. Very new and very modern. The bad thing about this campground is the extremely diverse sites. Most are unlevel, all (except many ADA) are dirt floor, and all are a strange mix of irregular sizes. We had one of the worst sites (#97) that had a fire sweep through at some point in the past, and was horribly unlevel and terribly short for a rated "35". This is a very crowded and popular park. Site capacity is not enforced. We currently have a huge 5th wheel with 3 vehicles stuffed into a site across from us. Also, the speed limits are not enforced and campers blow through here at 30 to 40 miles an hour. I am surprised they have not had a tragedy as of yet. Lots of kids on bikes, and people walking. Could be bad soon. They need speed bumps or enforcement for sure. Sites on the water are nice, but just now showing up on Reserve America for pictures. Lots of dogs here, and not a lot of campers picking up after them, unfortunately. We picked up 5 piles of "doo-doos" when we pulled in. It reaked of doggy waste when we got here. Not happy having to pick up after these thoughtless campers when we don't even have a dog. The check in lady was really nice and very helpful, though we did not see or talk to any rangers. Would like to come back here again, but suggest a site survey very carefully before you commit to a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
We believe this is worthy of a "10" because of the superb cleanliness of the bath house facilities, the park staff, camp host, and overall appeal of the campground and area. Our "dingy" battery was d.o.a. Upon arrival at our site, despite being after working hours, the park ranger came down with jumper cables to help us out. Overall superb. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
Waterfront sites are actually on Grand Lagoon, not the Gulf (ocean) side of the peninsula. (RV Park Reviews doesn't offer a more appropriate choice on their review form.) Some of the waterfront sites have a tiny beach, others only swamp or rocks. It's still beautiful on the lagoon, but don't expect to surf up to your campsite. Other cautions: Most of the sites are sand (there are some paved pads) which can be very soft and loose. The access roads in the Western (Pine Grove) section are narrow and tree-lined. Maneuvering can be tricky, but isn't a problem for the careful. Big rigs have a limited selection of sites. In the off-season this park is wonderfully peaceful. Watch redfish jumping, pods of dolphin swimming past, heron and pelican fishing on the lagoon. Walk to the Gulf side for spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Along the way you're likely to encounter deer, raccoon, and more. This is a beach town, so there are plenty of nearby restaurants. Winn Dixie and Publix supermarkets are about 2 miles away. During the week you're likely to see and hear flights of fighter jets and helicopters from nearby Tyndal AFB. Florida state parks are among the best for camping in near-natural settings with the convenience of power and water hookups. St. Andrews is one of our favorites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This park was nice and quiet and the campground hosts were very nice. Restrooms were clean, a couple were not usable due to renovation. The campsites in this campground are right on top of each other and some of them are very small. We stayed in site 31 and it was very tight. The actual site was very small width wise. Plenty of hot water in the showers and short drive to the beach area in St Andrews park. Overall is a nice park, I would have given it a higher rating if the campsites were a little larger and nicer. Some of them need some trimming of trees and brush. We might stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
This was our first time camping at the park. I enjoyed the view we had of the Grand Lagoon. We were located across from the lagoon. Our site was very narrow next to the other camp sites. As far as PC goes, my wife and I went to PC for Spring Break in college in the '80s. Unfortunately not a lot has changed for the party atmosphere of the city. I would recommend staying away from Front Road. We enjoyed the family atmosphere at Pier Park. We also had a wonderful meal at Captain Anderson's. (It's expensive but worth every penny!) Shell Island is well worth the extra money and time to take a shuttle there. Snorkeling was great, and the waves on the gulf side were incredible. Watch the riptide though! The bathrooms were OK, they are renovating bathroom area #1. The staff was not overly friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Beautiful campground with great beaches and lagoon-front camping. Sites 72-98 are in great area of pines and palm trees and right on the water, but shore is rocky. Even sites 16-38 are right on the shore, most with with a private sand beachhead. 24 and 26 are nice. Electric and water only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
This state park is in the southern section of Panama City right along the coast. The 175 sites are located right on the Big Lagoon. Our site was shaded with a hard sand bottom. If you have a boat, one could dock it right off the site. There is swimming available in the Lagoon and at the beaches along the gulf. Beautiful state park with a nice reception area which has interpretative displays as well as a little video about the park itself. The campground has a Florida feel to it with tall pines, palm trees, birds, sand, boat and fishing docks, and bugs. Check in was quick and easy and the girl that checked us in was very nice. The campground is located within easy drive of all the Panama City attractions, beaches, restaurants, hotels and fish markets. Along the jetties at the beach, one can snorkel and enjoy the colorful fish. Since this beach is along the Panhandle, the water has a Caribbean blue to it with that white, cool quartz sand. One can ride their bikes in the park and stop by the Buttonwood Marsh and Gator Lake overlooks, where you can find alligators and lots of Heron and Egrets in the bushes. They are so pretty to watch. We enjoyed our stay at this park and will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$21
Very clean. Park ranger presence was above average for state parks. Beach is pristine: no vendors. Sunsets were beautiful. Bathrooms were cleaned earlier than scheduled: this is our only criticism. Maintenance of bath facilities very good. Beach access was reasonable to site. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
We loved this site and the staff was very friendly. The kids most enjoyed riding bikes and roasting marshmellows. We are looking forward to our next stay in June and to warmer weather. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This park is at the end of the beach. It's a great location to enjoy the beach without condos, T-shirt shops and bars everywhere. The campground wraps around the big lagoon, so some sites are literally on the water. Others are grouped in twos or threes so look at what you want. The beach areas are excellent, but are a ways away from the campground. We ended up driving to the beach every day. Overall, this park is an amazing value. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$26
Really loved this state park! The only negatives were that the sites are fairly close together and a bit small, no sewer hookups and the laundry facilities are contracted out and most of the machines didn't work! Otherwise, we really enjoyed our 8 day stay here. Great place to ride bikes or hike. Many nature trails to enjoy and the location between the Gulf and the Lagoon is perfect! Our site backed up to a very accessible sandy beach on the Lagoon side. One of our favorite activities was just sitting in our chairs as the water's edge watching boats, birds and at night a gorgeous full moon over the Bay! The Gulf was a fairly long walk or an easy bicycle ride from the campground. We went there on a regular basis to walk on the beach. We will definitely return to St. Andrews some day! We hated to leave! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
We live locally and stayed at this park for 1 night. The campsites are actually on the Bay not the ocean, but are beautiful and the natural environment has been well preserved. We did not take our bikes, and it is a pretty long haul to to the beaches. We saw lots of wildlife including 2 gators. My kids enjoyed the beach hikes and the nature trails. My boys even walked up on a deer on the way to the bathrooms, and I think they were more scared than the deer. For people that want to stay close to the beach and still enjoy all that old Florida offers then this is the place for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
We stayed at this park for a week, and it is one of the best parks I have been to. This campground is clean and well maintained. There are numerous outdoor activities. Swimming is great at the jetty/pavilion area which has created a man made sheltered cove that offers calm waters even when the gulf is rough. Fishing from the jetty at both St. Andrews and the one at Shell Island is fun, and we caught several different species of saltwater fish. Shell Island also offers a protected area for swimming that is free of rough waves. Both the park and Shell Island also have gulf side beaches for those that love the rougher waves. The park has several nature trails and viewing areas that offer glimpses of wildlife. While here, we saw deer, numerous birds and two alligators in the large freshwater pond. We also saw several dolphins in the bay. Bicycling is also fun in the evenings. The bathrooms are clean and well kept. The park has coin operated washers and dryers at located at the bathhouses. The large stores near the swimming areas have very reasonably priced daily rentals for floats, umbrellas, and other beach accessories. The shuttle ride to Shell island costs about $15.00 per person, and the shuttle runs until 5:00 pm weather permitting. The park is right outside all of the activities that PCB has to offer. You can stay at the park and feel as if you are in the middle of nature, or you can step outside the front gate and be in the middle of beach shops, mini-golf, and any other tourist type activity you can imagine. I have no negatives to list about the park, and I cannot wait to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
What a find this was. Very nice camp area with views of the bay and lots of boat activities. Some sites allow water access for fishing, small boat launching etc. Walk or ride to the beach that is the Gulf of Mexico. The beach was great with protected areas with no waves or open for waves. The wind was high our first day and many surfers showed up. Lots of trees, so getting a view of the sky for TV can be a problem so be aware if you use Direct TV service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$31
A lovely park. We spent five days here in late April. The park takes up a few hundred acres at the end of a long spit of land between the Gulf of Mexico and The Grand Lagoon. Everything you would expect is here: swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking, canoeing. There are two fishing piers, a jetty, and a boat ramp. The beaches here are famous for their fine white sand. Good birding, too. Be aware that Panama City Beach is a huge Spring Break party town, so consider whether sharing the place with tens of thousands of hormonal young people, fits in with your plans when you choose your stay dates. The bathrooms are clean and the showers have enough water pressure to wash an elephant. Everything about this place is terrific except for the lack of WiFi and the lack of sewers at the sites. If not for that, I surely would have given this place a ten. We'd love to stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$26
Another very nice Florida State park. Surprisingly secluded for a park in the middle of Panama City Beach. There are two loops, Pine and Lagoon. Both are actually on the lagoon, but the Lagoon loop is more open, while the Pine loop more shaded. There are very nice sites on both loops, and the waterfront sites extremely nice. We were on a waterfront site in the pine loop: a little cool in March due to the shade. This tended to be a busy feeling campground, with a number of spring breakers, but not overly loud. Sites in the Pine loop are a little narrower. Interior sites in the pine loop have neighbors both side and back and not much privacy. Some sites can be far from the restrooms. Bathhouses are clean and have laundry facilities. We had a cottonmouth snake lounging on our patio mat one sunny afternoon when we returned to the site. Ranger advised snakes very common and that they have three types of venomous snakes in the park: but not a bite in years! Keep your tent flaps zipped! A nice park and we will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$31
We had never camped here before, so we didn't know which site to choose, so we let the reservation girl chose for us. When we arrived, everyone had gone home, but they give you a gate code to get in after hours. That was nice. However, we had arrived after a pretty good bit of rain, and the sites were flooded. Not just a little flooded... you could go swimming in the one we were supposed to camp in. We drove around the park and found another site (that we hoped wasn't reserved) and we camped there. We called the next morning and they switched us to that site for the following night as it was open. The views are beautiful and the wild life at the park is awesome... we saw a couple of deer and an alligator crossing the road. We kept our small dog inside! :) There are not full hook ups and that was a little inconvenient. Otherwise, nice unless it's going to be raining a lot! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
We were very happy with this campground. Was inside a park which seemed to be very nice. Compared to other parks I saw in the Panama City Beach area: this is definitely the place to stay. The others in the area were slabs of concrete with sand with a lone palm tree as decoration. Stayed at site 122 which is definitely the part of the campground to stay at. The other end is ok but more in the open, (but still better than the other local cg's). Stayed 4 nights but wished we could stay longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
This is a beautiful campground. The beach was gorgeous (driving distance, but within the state park). We live in N. FL and are very beach spoiled! We camped in site #122 toward the West end where the sites are a bit more private (grown in between) and we loved it. Right up to the Grand Lagoon as we expected. We have a three-year-old and the playground we very nice, well kept. Staff were friendly. We were surprised we were able to level the trailer without blocks. I mean level. At first we thought we'd have a hard time on the sand, but we found the sweet spot. We arrived after dark, but took it really slow and did not have any problems. Our trailer is 26 feet (30 total). Really minor, if you want a campfire, bring your own wood. The CG wood is not seasoned and smoked a lot, but did not burn well. Side note: We went during the weekend of the Florida Iron man, which was a huge event. Miles 18-20 or so went a bit through the park (not really the CG itself), and the organization/traffic control was outstanding. Hats of to PCB police, Bay County Sheriff, Iron man staff for that. Stay at this park and you won't be disappointed, but get the water view if you can. We can't wait to get back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
I'll start with a couple negatives to get them out of the way. The restrooms were not maintained very well during our 3-day stay. It was Labor Day weekend and the place was packed but the staff could have better anticipated the enormous amount of foot traffic through the bathrooms. They were pretty dirty the entire weekend. Also, the air conditioners in the bathrooms are terribly inadequate and you begin sweating the moment you emerge from the showers. Now for the good stuff. This is an extremely nice state park. We were in one of three tent-only sites and had so much privacy. Our site could not even be seen from the road. In front of us was the lagoon. We could sit at our site and watch boats and dolphins pass by. Florida's heat and humidity were pretty brutal but a couple of box fans in the tent helped greatly at night. The campground was pretty quiet at night considering the large number of people. The only noise issue was with someone who let their dog bark for over an hour. The campground's location puts you very close to many restaurants and activities in PCB. We ate dinner at Capt Anderson's which is only a couple miles from the park. Very good but a little on the pricy side. Overall, St Andrews is a must-do campground. I almost hate to say that because it will make it harder to get reservations. But everyone should experience this place at least once. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
This was our second visit to St. Andrews. This is a great place to stay. If you like camping, state parks, outdoor activities - this is the place for you. Given the price, it is the best vacation deal I have ever experienced. The thing that could be better is the bath houses - as stated earlier they aren't climate controlled and due to traffic they aren't always spotless although I never saw them filthy. This park is a favorite destination for our family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
No matter what I say, if there is a spot available you will probably book it because of the price. The place is full all of the time. However, only 1 of the three bath houses has AC. My wife refused to go to the rest room at the place because none of the toliet's would flush and were full of human waste. Some of the staff was rude, (Some of the staff was also extremely nice). The bath houses just were not maintained given the amount of people at the park. My kids had fun riding bikes and looking for deer at night. They did have a lot of people drinking and driving golf carts at night which made me worry about my kids riding bikes. Out of my five neighbors, 3 of them dumped there black water on the ground which made the flies pretty bad since you are so close to each other. All in all it was a nice experience but based on the reviews I read, I expected a Resort and not a campground. This place is 100% a campground- A campground with an insane amount of people at it. Side note, when I pulled up and saw all of the motorcycles, I thought that they would all come in at 2 am waking everybody up. Funny enough, the easy riders at the State Park really only went to go get breakfast on their bikes. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
Nice facilities, although bathrooms were not spotless-clean, they were tidy. Swimming beach is not within walking distance, to our dismay. Perhaps with a bicycle, as many others brought along, we could have avoided driving. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We finally got a reservation, and we were in total agreement with the previous good reviews. Great beach, their own pier, little lagoon for the kids to swim in. We had a playground right across from our site. The only reason we gave it a 9 instead of a 10 was the lack of shade on our site. The website said it had partial shade. This was an overstatement. There may have been a couple of hours of shade a day. Other than that, everything was great. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
Wow! We stayed here for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. We ended up having a waterfront site which we didn't expect. The park also offers swimming at their beach, hiking and a gator pond. The campground was quiet at night. Expect many early risers as people leave early to go fishing. This park seems to be the last bit of wilderness in a very commercialized city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
Great location and great Florida State Park. We stayed for four days in February, and had a big site (#002) that backed right onto the water with a view directly east to the pass. Fantastic sunrises and moon rises without even leaving the trailer! Others have described all the amenities, so I won't go over them again, but they are first rate. As mentioned, dogs are not permitted on the Gulf beaches, but there is a county dog beach a few miles west by the fishing pier. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$24
Camped here three times and love it. Deer roaming around and secluded from Thomas Drive. Beautiful beach and great grounds. Camped right on the bay and it was beautiful. Can't wait to go back. Definitely recommended! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Lots were 55 feet wide. Features include playgrounds, laundry, fire rings, paved access roads, good security, boat launch, two fishing piers (lagoon and ocean), lagoon and ocean swimming, ocean surfing, shelling, hiking trails, abundant wildlife. We were right on the lagoon, connected to the Gulf, and we had huge herons and egrets right in our front yard. Tame deer are seen in the evening. Just outside the gate is a commercial area. Inside is private and wildly beautiful. Campground hosts are particularly helpful here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
We stayed on a waterfront site on the Grand Lagoon. Most of the sites have natural privacy from the trees or bushes. We enjoyed bike riding and the beach. This is an active campground. The Camp host we talked to was very helpful. Rangers ride through here often and everyone spoke. If in the area, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
We were headed to Blackwater State Park in Holt, but the campground is closed for renovation. We were lucky to get a spot at this campground. We had to move the second night. The waters were quite rough when we were there and they red flags were out. We sat at the bay anyway and just waded in the water. We ate at Shrimpers near the campground. It was quite good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$26
We spent a week with our family and had a wonderful time. Our granddaughter enjoyed the ocean even though it was a bit on the cool side. The showers were good and hot. They even have a laundry facilities that was great. I would recommend this park and we will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$26
We camped here for 3 nights. It is one of the best State Parks we have ever been too. Very clean, excellent location, and great beach. Sites were level, enough spacing between RV's, and utilities worked well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
Lots were 55 feet wide. Features include playgrounds, laundry, fire rings, paved access roads, good security, boat launch, two fishing piers (lagoon and ocean), lagoon and ocean swimming, ocean surfing, shelling, hiking trails, abundant wildlife. We were right on the lagoon, connected to the Gulf, and we had huge herons and egrets right in our front yard. Tame deer are seen in the evening. Just outside the gate is a commercial area. Inside is private and wildly beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$26
This is a very pretty state park that has waterfront sites available overlooking the Grand Lagoon. The sites are quite large and pretty with plenty of shade trees. The only drawbacks for us were the lack of internet service and a laundry, which we didn’t expect in a state park anyway. We enjoyed walking through the park and it is near enough to town to access shopping and restaurants. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
We camped in this park for six nights in November 2007. On the upside are the proximity to a wonderful beach, a nature trail, other walking trails and proximity to Panama City Beach. Unfortunately, the sites are very crowded together and access can be difficult. Dogs are not allowed on the beach (a Florida state law?) which is a problem for responsible dog owners. Park patrols by police and rangers are regular if safety is an issue for campers. Panama City Beach is a city on the tacky side but there are some good restaurants and outstanding mini-golf courses for the entire family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
Very nice, Private sites. Lots of bare dirt -- need more gravel. Kind of narrow when maneuvering. Site was just barely deep enough for our 5th wheel even though it was listed as a 35' -- no way! Really liked beach that was part of park (the waterfront sites are not on beach, they are on Intercoastal Waterway). Definitely will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
The beautiful was beach. The showers were generally clean except for late in the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
Good park and beach area is very nice. The spot I was in was sandy but secluded by shubbery in the back and on both sides. I will camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
Wow, love this park! We are a family of four, husband, wife, son 14, and daughter 12. Normally, on a stay as long as a week, we venture into the surrounding area to check out things, this trip was different. I can honestly not tell you anything about Panama City itself; we never left the campground except for ice and a few items at the grocery store! We fished the bay daily, both wading and in our canoe, and spent the rest of the time on the beautiful beaches. The snorkeling was great, and if you have children, the protected lagoon area is awesome! The staff is super, and the restrooms are well maintained. You do not have to leave this park unless you choose to go to a restaurant or check out the tourist stuff. While there is no beach front sites, there are many awesome sites on the bay. I would have given the park a 10 if we didn't have to get in the Suburban to take the short drive over to the beach. Access to the bay for the canoe was a few feet from our site. We are returning next summer for two weeks! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Nice state park campground, we thought we would give it a try, we usually stay at St. Joseph Peninsula State Park which is Ocean front and when we got to St Andrews we were a little disappointed to find out that the campground is located on the bay and only has bay front sites. We did however enjoy our stay there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$24
Very nice and clean state park campground. We stayed at site #10 which was right on the lake with a great view out the back window. Nice and level site and a close walk to restroom/shower facilities. Lots of beach to walk on and a couple of short trails available. We were here during off season so most facilities were closed. Will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
This is it! You can stay here and never leave campground for days. So much to do and see. Gulf on one side, bay on other. Your campsite can be 10' from the bay. Snow white sandy beaches. Trails and level bike riding. Boat ramp is fun to watch. Boat traffic going thru pass is exciting too! Great sunsets and rises. Large fishing pier on gulf and bay. Campground store. Great kite flying areas. Calm Jetty protected area for kids. Great snorkeling. Lots of kids and families. All of this inside park. And if you venture out :) there are tons of seafood and Wally Worlds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
St. Andrews contains two campgrounds, Lagoon and Pinegrove, both of which border the Grand Lagoon on the north. The sites within the Pinegrove campground provide more privacy than the Lagoon campground, with short palm-like plants acting as barriers between sites - in some cases, to the extent that you cannot see your neighbor. The sites actually on the lagoon provide the most privacy; internal sites that back up to another site vary in how private they are. None of the sites are excessively large, but none are tiny either. If you have booked site 141, criticized by an earlier reviewer, don't despair - we stayed on sites 140 and 141 with another family and both sites were very good sized and we felt were set up exceptionally well for two families travelling together. ((The earlier reviewer must have intended to mention another site, because there are only two sites together and there are no sites across the road from 140 and 141.)) Park and campground security is excellent, with controlled access and at least one uniformed ranger on duty 24X7. If you like laying on the beach, this is the place for you, with about a mile of sugar-white sand and gentle surf. There are two beach areas within the park itself, with the western-most (the one closest to PCB) less crowded. PCB is literally outside the gate, but the truly hectic part of town is about five miles away. Our only complaint was that the bath house nearest us, though an almost new structure, was beyond filthy. We arrived the Friday before Memorial Day weekend, and left the following Tuesday, but the bath house nearest us was cleaned only on Monday and Tuesday - not at all on Saturday or Sunday - and even then not cleaned very well. With the park filled to capacity, that is unacceptable and lowered my rating two notches, to 7. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
Lovely state park. The sites are varied, some only usable for a tent and others can fit the largest RV. Check first before you book a site. Some sites are waterfront. The waterfront sites are on the bay. There is a nice beach area on the Gulf too. We will be back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
We camped here years ago and weren't impressed. But we came back to try again and now realize that this one is all about the campsite you end up with. We happened to be on the lagoon, able to pull in forward and have total privacy about 15' from the water. But, even some of the interior sites are fine. But some are terrible. Directly across the road from us were 3 tent sites that together might have equalled 1 decent sized site. Every single day we were here, all 3 sites were occupied, generally by multiple tents, and multiple vehicles. The center site, 141 was basically squeezed completely out by the other campers. They could barely fit a two man pup tent, the picnic table, a small car and the fire ring. On the other hand, we couldn't have had a nicer site--spacious, private, perfect view. We could have pulled a boat right up to the site if we were boaters. The beach here is a bit far to walk to, but bikes work, or there is parking at beachside. Powder white sand, hard packed near the water, makes for a wonderful play or walking beach. Of course, the fact that the weather is perfect also helps. The park doesn't have WiFi, but there is a marina across the water whose WiFi ($9.95/day) is strong enough to log onto. We're using an AirCard with Cingular and coverage is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$30
This was are second time visiting this campground in two years. It is kid friendly with a nice playground. The campground also has an alligator pond, beach with a wading area, boat landing and dock. We saw plenty of deer and other wildlife also. They just started allowing pets in the camping area. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$20
We found St. Andrews State Park to be a very pleasant campground; if it had sewer connections it would be just about perfect. The campground is on a peninsula. The campground is bordered by Grand Lagoon on the north and the Gulf of Mexico on the south. We had a waterfront site (on Grand Lagoon) which was long enough for two motorhomes placed end to end. The park has a very nice boat launch ramp and fishing pier. When we were there in Feb. 2006 the park store was being remodeled. The store remodeling was scheduled to be completed around May 2006. If you like fishing the jetties is a great place to get your line wet. The beach, as you would expect, was absolutely beautiful. All of these locations are within easy bicycling distance. The only advice I would give is to ensure you bring a very long water hose and electrical hookups. Because some of the long sites by the water have the hookups toward the front of the site and I don’t know about you, but I want to be as close as possible to the wet stuff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2005
$26
Most sites are gravel or dirt and a bit sloped requiring some leveling boards but there are a couple with concrete pads in the Lagoon loop. We liked site #20 because it was right on the bay. At high tide you could hear the water lapping on the shore. Unfortunately the park seemed to have quite a bit of trash nearly everywhere you looked, in the fire pits, on the trails, all around the sites. We came from Henderson Beach SP recently which was immaculate and we noted the rather more run down quality of this park. Disappointing, especially since it's more expensive. The beaches were great and just a short walk from the campsites. Bathrooms are older, chilly and showed some wear but they were clean enough for the most part and fairly large five shower stalls in the one near us. There are two separate places to dump holding tanks. Some roads in are a bit rough in spots but not really a problem. No pets allowed for some reason. The Visitor Center near the camp store has a book exchange. The park was pretty busy for the New Years weekend but not noisy which was very nice. We enjoyed our stay but would probably find a park that is pet friendly next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$24
Everything was so clean and the staff was helpful when we asked to move to a new site since it was very windy. Great park. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$24
This is a great state park. We enjoyed it very much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2004
$22
We just loved this state park, I would have gave it a 10 but because it does not have sewage hook-up at each site I can only give it a 9, other wise it would get a 10. It does however have a couple of dump stations. Plenty to do inside the park. It is a huge park with boat trips over to Shell Island to snorkle or to just relax in the sun. You can also deep water fish off the Jetties located inside the park. It is truly nice and we will be back. Bring your bikes also because you can bike for several miles just inside the park itself. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$15
This is a great park for anyone Lagoon on one side and the gulf on the other .Great fishing and swimming and shuttle trips to shell island every thirty minutes . We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com