220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Thompson West End Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (715) 373-6160
CGID7724

Thompson West End Campground

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   1   7   9   8   8   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Very nice city park with sites well spread out and lots of grass and trees between. Crushed gravel sites and paved access roads. Pull-through sites are at the south end of each row. No water at sites, but standpipes and an artesian well on site. The showers are activated with quarters, 3 minutes per quarter with instant hot water. Close to Bayfield and the Apostle Islands. No reservations so first come, first served. Kiosk at entrance has forms and envelope for payment, cash or check only. Host at site #5 can answer any questions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
My husband surprised me with an overnight get-away to beautiful Lake Superior. We were fortunate to have gotten the last available campsite (they don't take reservations). The campground was clean, the neighbors were friendly, and we enjoyed a very relaxing stay. Our site was level, grassy, with mature trees. We would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
We stayed for a short time in this park and I can guarantee you we will not be back. The sites are cramped, the park is not well kept, and the camp "HOST" is about as unfriendly. We moved on to the Ashland City Park and were very pleased with the change in location. The parks dept in Washburn should seriously take a closer look at the folks who "Host" their campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
This park was a last minute find which turned out very nice. Lovely lake front park with big spaces between sites. Ours was a P/T but mostly back ins. Bathrooms adequate but nothing flashy. The location is great and the WiFi is very good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
High marks for huge site and value. We paid the weekly rate of $140. Verizon cell and broadband both very good. Makes a great base for seeing the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore. Very good water quality. There are two fill locations on the center road plus the well itself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
This city owned campground is located on Lake Superior. You self register. The interior roads are blacktopped and the spacious sites are gravel. There are trees throughout the park, but they are far from most pads. Any size rig can be accommodated. Overall, the campground is well maintained. There is some grass around the seasonal residents’ sites. (The city rents sites daily, weekly, or seasonal.) It’s necessary that you fill your fresh water tank before setting up because the sites only have electricity and cable. There is a dump station available at the entrance. The clean restrooms have pay showers. If there was a camp host, he sure made himself scarce. This is a great campground at a reasonable price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
This city-operated park is located on the shore of Chequamegon Bay. The sites are well-spaced and there is some, but not a great deal of shade. Check-in is at a self-service station. Payment is by cash or check only. The park supplies an excellent cable TV feed with a full selection of channels. I was able to obtain a Wi-Fi signal from the nearby Washburn marina, but was unable to connect. There is a strong Verizon signal in the area though. In summary, I found this to be a peaceful park in a pleasant location when I stayed here in early fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
The good news bad news thing. Bad news first. They do not have sewer hookups, no water at the sites, and you have to pay for the showers $1/12min. All the rest is good news. They have a dump station and at least 1 water spigot that is a distance from the dump for potable water. You have to drive up to unless you're in the site right next to it or have a lot of hose as many of the seasonals have. The water here is an artesian well and it tastes great. The sites are nice gravel with paved roads and you are not jammed in next to the next site. Lots and lots of grass. It has 50/30/20 amp hookups with cable TV at all the sites. It's right on the Lake, it's quiet, it has 16 seasonal sites; if you're interested in those contact the city. If the water was a bit more handy I'd give this place a full 10. There are playgrounds for the kids and a boat ramp and docks for those with boats. It's only about 10-12 miles from Bayfield. We stayed here 5 nights and I could see spending a season here. They have no Wi-Fi but the Verizon MiFi works fine. There's a nice path that goes over to the harbor and it's about 5 or 6 blocks to town. If you like liver go over to Bayfield and try the whitefish livers. Tasty. You'll have to ask around to see who serves them or stop by a fish shop and get a quart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
This is a great park. Only 50 amp and nothing else, but it was as advertised. Nicely kept and right on the lake. We were lucky enough to get a lake side spot so view was great but even further back seem to offer good views. They mention only 20/50amp but our site had 30amp as well. Would stay here again no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Wow, super place to stay especially if you have kids along as we did. The playground, beach, fishing pier and hiking trail are excellent. The park is well cared for and even though there are seasonal rigs in the park, you need to look past that. Even though they don't have water and sewer hookups the 50 amp electric is spot on; and, wow, cable TV. Hey, don't tell anyone about this place; it'll be our secret. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
Nicely maintained park overlooking Lake Superior. Was quiet during the week, but busy at weekends. Has level sites, a few permanent RVs, bathrooms were clean. We stayed for 3 nights and would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
Grounds are immaculate, sites are essentially all grass and mowed. My site, #46, was mostly level, had a decent view of Chequamegon Bay and a small beach. Bathrooms clean, pay showers, easy to get in and out of, groceries and supplies are blocks away in town. Cable TV is included (look for cable connection on the side of the electric boxes), great cell reception. Only problems. LOTS of seasonal campers that seem to take the best spots then leave their boats and their junk only to be in the campground on weekends. Lots of traffic in and out with townspeople at the boat launch and picnic area and some non-campers using the bathroom and shower facilities. Very nice all the same! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
Has 50 amp electric with water faucets at various places throughout the park. The sites are gravel and dirt. Some are a bit out of level, so bring blocks. Has lake view sites. Is reasonably close to town and services. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
I loved this campground. It's lake front, my Verizon phone worked well (I got online with it) and my satellite TV worked. The spaces are very large, no crowding. It's dog friendly too. I could spend a summer here, it was really nice. I only gave it a 9 because you need to use the water in your tank as there are no water hook ups. There is an artesian well, where you can fill up jugs, for drinking, and it's wonderful water. There are seasonal campers and transients, all very nice. I highly recommend staying here. It has a good proximity to Bayfield, and the Madeline Island ferry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
WAY too many seasonal campers. Showers were dirty and didn't have any hot water. Quiet though and off the beaten path. Seems like a nice little town just across the bay from Ashland, WI. Artesian well was a bonus. Makes excellent iced tea water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
The newer of the two campgrounds operated by the City, Thompson's West End Park is located at the foot of Eighth Avenue West. Camping opportunities at the park are provided by 51 RV and tent sites off paved access roads. Thompson's West End Park offers a variety of recreational opportunities for residents and visitors alike. The park offers 27 acres of gradually sloping shoreline to the waters edge of Chequamegon Bay. The park offers campers mostly sunny sites as an alternative to the heavily shaded Memorial Park Campground North of town. Campsites at West End Park are more suitable to large recreational vehicles and motor homes and is more suitable for campers with large vehicles. Seventeen seasonal camping sites are permitted at West End Park. All sites have a view of Chequamegon Bay. The campground is provided with: * Paved Access Roads * Sanitary Dump Station * Flush Toilets * Unguarded Swimming Beach * Playground * Open play area * Pay Showers * Electric Service * Wonderful Tasting Artesian Water * Fishing Pier * Shoreline Fishing * Boat Launch ($5 fee charged) Cable TV is provided to all sites with electrical hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
This is a wonderful little park if you like to 4-wheel, fish or just look at Lake Superior. Lots of dogs barking during the day, but couldn't hear them at night. We generally come here every summer or early fall to do some 4-wheeling. This year we stayed a whole week. There is a wi-fi coffee shop in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com