223244 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Abraham Lincoln State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (701) 667-6340
CGID7730

Fort Abraham Lincoln State Park

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   7   7   7   9   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2014
$23
When we drove in to the park, there was a self registration box by the unmanned registration booth with a large sign telling campers that they must register before going any farther. Try as we might, there were no registration slips anywhere and we and another camper looked everywhere. We drove in, picked a pull through site that allowed us to use our rooftop satellite dish and went to hook up electric and small print in the box informed us 50 amp was not available, only 30 amp power, although the 50 amp outlet was in the box. Camp host was not present so we waited till they returned and got a registration slip from them and were also informed there is no 50 amp electric in the park. The previous reviews indicated there was 50 amp but since we were only staying one night we got by OK. There was a water spigot at most campsites and the park was well maintained. It was a little to far out of our way to consider staying again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
We were there on a week night in late September. It was quiet and lovely. Very pretty setting. Very open sites. Nice playground. I had solid Verizon 4G. If you have an old map, the north entrance has closed, enter from the south. The posted rate does not include a vehicle entrance fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
This is a great State Park! We had a back in spot that was plenty big for our 40 foot motorhome. All the rangers and hosts were friendly. We were all amazed at how pretty the whole park was. We really enjoyed the tour of Custer house and the Indian village for $6. We would for sure go back if we are in the area. We really liked North Dakota. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Some tight spots. We were given a half moon pull through that was mostly level. The roads entering here are paved. It was a good spot for a couple of days to visit the Lewis & Clark exhibits and the Custer home. We were not here on a weekend, so it was pretty quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
Rate includes $5 daily vehicle fee. Nice campground. Most of the sites are pull-through, although length, levelness and tree clearance can vary, and many of the hookups are oddly placed. For $6 you can take a guided tour of Custer's house, barracks, commissary, granary, stables, infantry fort (all replicas of 1870s buildings), and Mandan earth lodges. I'd give it a higher rating, but partiers often blare obnoxious music on the nearby sandbars in the river until the wee hours and there's nothing anyone can do about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
The roads into the camping area are all paved. This is the first campground that we have been to that has two-way traffic, which made initial entry into the camping area a little tight when another unit was leaving as we were entering. Our site was not very level and was extremely difficult, due to trees, to park in. This is a double site, but there is a problem with the electrical outlets. There is only one box with the choice of 30 or 20 amp. The camp host was really nice about the challenging situation as were our neighbors. We were able to work it out between us, but if we had both needed 30 amp, it would have proved problematic. It was raining when we arrived and our motorhome started sinking down on one side. We place wood under our levelers which helped with the problem. During a break in the rain, we walked around the campground and notice that some of the sites were flooded. While the restroom area was fairly clean given the rainy situation, I can only give the showers a "C" for cleanliness. While it appears that the shower house is fairly new, it really needs a power washing to remove the grime, grit, trash, & mold around the bottom of edges of the stalls. On the positive side, the park is really beautiful and the museum one of the best I've seen. Be sure to visit the Mandan Indian Village located on the grounds. There are numerous hiking and biking trails, but it was too wet for us to try any of them out. For younger children, there is a beautiful playground. I enjoyed watching the deer and rabbits walk around the campground. Fishing is permitted at this park. We would return, but would strive to get a single site on the east side of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
This park was flooded during 2011, based on the marks on the trees in the park. There is no other evidence of a problem. The restrooms and showers were clean and private. Staff was helpful; we were given a site close to the restrooms and showers during our midweek stay. A nice bike path goes into downtown Mandan. The infantry post, Mandan village earthhouses, and Custer home were interesting aspects of the park. We enjoyed our two night stay and would stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
Excellent spot! If you haven't made a reservation, call them and they will let you know how many "first come, first served" RV sites are available. We arrived in the afternoon and found a lovely spot. Area is grass covered and lots of trees. Bathrooms are very clean. We found a site that shared a water spigot. We have electric also. Some sites have water for each site and yes, some water spigots are several feet away. Don't hesitate because this is a beautiful area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Very nice state park located outside of the Mandan/Bismark area. A nature oasis with lots of trees, wildlife, and river. Plenty of room between sites. Great location to tour the area and come home to a nature setting. First loop is big rig friendly, second loop is a bit tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Beautiful park with lots of space between sites. I had noticed that there were plenty of reserved sites available a few days before, but when we got there, the park ranger said all the "first come/first serve" sites were taken. I asked if we could stay in one of the "reserved" sites and since we were there only one night, he did allow us to do so. Next time I will make a reservation. Some water spigots were spaced far from the RV pad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This was a very clean campground with friendly/helpful staff. It had lots of activities and historical displays/tours, located right on "Big Muddy" (also known as the Missouri River.) It was more like real camping than a typical RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This is a very nice State Park and I cannot add anymore to what the other reviewer stated except...the park ranger in the kiosk booth upon noticing I had travelled all the way from California, worked me in even though the park was reserved out for the upcoming Labor Day weekend. Wow, that was nice! I just had to leave the next morning before noon and that was my plan anyway. A great place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This was one of the nicest state parks I've ever stayed in. It is so clean and peaceful. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because there aren't sewer hook-ups. Other than that, it's a perfect place to stay. The Indian village and Custer's house are here and worth the tours. There are plenty of walking/biking paths and plenty of spaces to walk the dog. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Lovely park with big sites right by the Missouri River. Can be a bit noisy with cars going by at night. Water and electricity. A quiet location but not too far from Bismarck. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
This is a lovely park with a small beach area. There was flooding the previous year so I think they are still working on cleaning up the park. The hook-ups are on the wrong side so can be awkward when you back in/pull in to the site. There are firepits at each site. Lots to see and do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
If North Dakota allowed "resort" status to a state park, this one would qualify! The tour of the Indian "on a slant" homes and the Custer house is worth the $6 for that tour. Not to mention a trolley you can take to town, a Commissary that sells souveniers and coffee, a small shack that sells sandwiches and smoothies, and plenty of stuff for families with kids. Regarding the nightly rate: If you have the North Dakota annual pass, you only pay $20. If you don't have the pass, you pay $25. Good spacing between sites. I would have preferred that the driving loop be routed the other direction. Even though the loop is one way, I had to make a left to get into my pull-through site. If the loop were routed the other way, then it would be easier to get into the site. The water faucets are "shared." There are two faucets on a post, but the posts are placed between two sites, every other site. If you intend to use your hose, you had better have at least 50 feet, and maybe another five foot hose just in case. Makes me wonder how the park staff gets the lawn mowed with everyone's hoses stretched out all over the place. Since I only stayed two nights, I pulled up close to the faucet, filled my tank, then settled back into the site, hose free. I had to use 50 feet of hose. I would love to give this park a 10 but the water faucet situation is a bit irritating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Great campground only 8 miles south of I-94 (Bismarck). Numerous first come first serve sites are available with 30 amp and water with a dump station on the way out. Large sites and lots of room for the kids and pets with a great playground and river access for swimming. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Sites flat, gravel, fairly isolated. Lots of room. Many historic sites to visit. Trolley to take you there. Activities include fishing, hiking, on a bike trail. Great place for dog people and bikers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$1
Closed due to flood damage as of this date. They are unsure when it will open again. Call first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
Very good state park. The sites are set up a little strange in they have 2 sites in a C formation and looks like lots of folks think it is a one site pull through. Great historical info within the park. We decided to stay a second day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
The state park should meet the needs of the hiker, biker, the fisherman, the history buff and even those who wish to be laid back. Great place to be, and good place to use as a base to investigate Bismarck and Mandan. Get up earlier and watch the sun come up over the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Fort Abraham Lincoln State Park is located 7 miles south of Mandan, ND and across the Missouri from Bismarck. The sites are fairly large yet oddly laid out: some drive-throughs are designed to hold two units, which requires the latecomer to back in. The water spigots are randomly placed so you will need at least 50' of water hose in many cases. Park is nicely treed and the grass is in good shape. Park's visitor center/museum is excellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
Our site was at the end of a loop so it was private but some others are right on top of each other. The playground was good with lots to keep kids entertained. A short walk gets you to the Trolley and the On-a-Slant-Indian Village. I was not happy with the tour of the village. We paid and then were taken to the first hut in the village where the guide talked a bit and then excused us saying if we wanted to carry on the Custer House to go ahead. I felt ripped off since we paid and really got nothing out of it. I did, however, enjoy the campsite - lots of places to walk and explore with the dog. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
We camped here over the 4th of July weekend, a very busy time (and BIG party) in Mandan. The state park system screwed up our reservations, which we had made months before - but managed to get us into a non-electric site for a couple of nights, after which we moved to a site with electric (30 amp) and water nearby. This is a nicely shaded, historical park right on the Heart River, where it joins the Missouri River. No swimming is allowed in the river, which would be dicey in any case. Riverfront sites are non-electric only. There is a nice playground for kids, and a volley ball court. Watch out for the poison ivy! Away from the river there is a fascinating historical site, including the calvary fort (from where General Custer and his troops rode to their doom) and an amazing cemetery, plus the Mandan Indian 'slant' village. Great walking and biking trails. We had stayed here the previous May, and had the place entirely to ourselves - with no water or electric; they were shut down till 'spring', whenever that is! There was still a little snow on the ground, but even without any services we were charged to dry camp. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com