214851 User submitted reviews online!!
Keystone State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (724) 668-2939
CGID7731

Keystone State Park

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   5   8   8   10   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
This is a quiet peaceful campground. Sites are secluded and mostly private. The campground host was pleasant and helpful. The worst part to this campground is how far away the swimming area and playground is to the campsites. There is a small store at the beach that sells ice-cream and food but it wasn't open. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
We had a nice time staying here. We chose the hillside area(which is pet friendly). Our campsite was occupied when we arrived. We had to wait until after the check-out time. Unfortunately the check-in time is at that same time. Perhaps the park should change these 2 times by at least an hour. Lots of mud made set up a bit gooey. The bathroom facility was clean and centrally located. The temperature inside was extremely hot! The ceiling heat should have been shut off, or the thermostat adjusted. This heat made you want to run from the building and get back outside to the fresh cool spring air! During my 3rd shower, one evening, the automatic timer for the lights shut off. Pitch black- walking from the shower stall all lathered in soap to the opposite side of the bathroom to wave my arms to turn the lights back on! We all took a long nature walk, and also walked through the lakeside camping area (which is not pet friendly). While on that walk, my husband used the restroom in that section. He told me to go in and check out the women's side... WOW! what a difference. Completely different experience! This building has ceramic tile floors vs. the concrete floor in the hillside camping. The lakeside toilet/shower building and area is more beautiful than ANY campground shower facility that I have seen to date! The lake and surrounding areas/trails are very nice. Overall I am giving the campground an 8 on a scale of 10. We loved camping on a Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday. Would definitely return. Just wish pets were allowed in the lakeside area. Our black lab had a great time anyway, but a lakeside view and that restroom upgrade would be worth it for all of us! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Incredible place to camp. Easy, convenient, restful. I could go on. Plenty of fish, if you like fishing. Lot's of different types of birds all over the park. Possibly the best place I ever stayed. Compares well to Promised Land State Park. Pittsburgh has something great located in Derry. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
If you like to fish or kayak/canoe, this is the place for you. I gave it a 5 due to: campsites along the lake shore area do not allow for pets, many wooded sites are overgrown. To get to the swimming area you have to pack up all your items and either take a 15-20 minute walk to the opposite side of the lake or drive there (which is a public swimming area, not private for campers). The roads within the campground are not well maintained, gravel patches, 1/2 paved, holes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
We stayed in the Hillside section of the campground that allows dogs. All the sites appeared to have been refurbished. Each site had its own paved entrance with a big level gravel area and its own utility box. The campground host came around every night in his truck to deliver firewood or ice if you needed it. Unfortunately, there is no playground on the hillside section, so the kids have to ride bikes or play in the woods. The campground is about a mile from the Keystone raceway, but the race noises were not that bad. Otherwise very quiet campground with lots of space between sites. I will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
Very nice, quiet, clean park. We prefer the hill campsites as opposed to the lake sites, #77 particularly. Good screening from the neighbors on this large site. Lots for the kids especially if they like to swim. Has a good visitors nature station. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Being a young family with three kids under the age of 12, this is a great campground relatively close to Pittsburgh. The lake is well stocked, swimming is at the beach area of the lake, and the camp sights are level, clean, and with a newer picnic table and fire ring. We tent camp and have stayed at Keystone several times. The camp seems very safe with the park rangers patrolling both day and night. I would definitely recommend Keystone for families with kids who may be just starting out with the camping idea. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This was our first visit here. Very nice place, quiet and clean. it was pretty full but you would never know it. We had a sight facing the lake and the fall foliage just starting. We hiked some areas and were by ourselves. Very peaceful and close to home for us. Also the ranger drove around a lot during the day and we spotted him at night while we were sitting by the fire. They offer like new picnic tables and fire rings. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
This campground is a real delight if you can get a reservation on the water. The Pennsylvania DCNR campgrounds are all nice and well kept. They lack some of the amenities that others have but they make up for it with the scenery and rustic charm. The online reservation system is easy to use. We stayed right on the water for a week in April this year and are going back this fall! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
This is a very nice state park campground. We stayed in the lakeside campground and the view was beautiful. We were three rows back from the lake but still only 150 feet from it. There is a large, clean beach on the other side of the lake. You can canoe on the lake (no motorized boats), and many kids were fishing. The bathhouse was updated, spotless, and had hot showers. There are many sites with electric hook-ups. The sites are level, spacious, and have fire rings. The cons are as follows: the "camp store" was bare, not a lot of organized activities, and the main route to the beach was closed, so we had to go around it. Not a big deal, really. The roads are all paved. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com