214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Blue Angel Naval Recreation Area (Military Camping Only) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (850) 453-9435
CGID774

Blue Angel Naval Recreation Area (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
165
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   7   9   8   9   7   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
There are 2 parts to this RV park. Anchor Cove is on the west end. It is located adjacent to the outdoor rental facility and right on the bay. The roads are dirt, sites are dirt, and many are very shaded. Bring a broom because there is sand everywhere. There is 30 amp service and water (no sewer and no cable). This is really designed for TTs, pop ups, and tents. On the east end is Battleship Row. This is laid out for motorhomes and 5th wheels. Roads are paved and so are pads. Pads are wide but somewhat short (but adequate). There is 50 amp service, water, and sewer. No cable. Some sites are shaded. The bay is actually across a wide area of concrete used in days past for the tie down of sea planes - so you can see the water from the front row, but it is not really water front. Both areas have a beach; but this is bay water and tinted from the rivers feeding it. There are pavilions for picnics. There are playgrounds, disc golf, mini-golf, fishing etc for the kids - but some of the facilities are suffering from lack of maintenance ($). If you are navigating here with GPS plug in 1100 Bronson Road in Pensacola. If you use the intersection of Bronson and Lillian (Rt 98) you will find yourself a half mile off to the west. If you arrive on weekends or evenings, the registration process is confusing. You go find a site that is empty (note that you have avoid those with a small blue or white card posted showing that although the site looks empty, the resident has simply driven off in his class B or C rig). So you need a site with no one in it and no card in the holder. Then occupy the site, and then drive back to the gate to register. Note that the access road to the RV park is long and takes a few turns - just stay on it. There is only one road with signs at the end pointing to each part of the park. Lots of places to walk dogs although no off leash area. Boat ramps are available. Full time staff in the gate house / office was very helpful. The part time office staff - not so much. This place is about 9 miles west of the Naval Aviation museum and the Blue Angels. It is 30 minutes to downtown Pensacola and the historical district. Good base to tour the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
This is our 2nd year staying at NAS Pensacola and we love it. Our site was located right next to the dunes and path to the beach. Concrete pads and full hook ups are just right. The staff is very friendly and courteous. The facilities are very well maintained. Dog friendly beach and ours stayed in the water as much as she could. Historic lighthouse is a short walk or bike ride and a little further is one of the best aviation museums in the country. You must be active duty, retired military or DOD civilian to visit and use the facilities, but it is one of our favorite campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
We just love this campground. Nice large concrete pads for our 42' RV. Paved streets with large lots and very convenient to anything you need. Good home cooking available at Crazy Horse nearby. Individual in the office is very helpful. We had a late arrival time so he told us to just go on in and find a place and see him in the morning. A gentleman walking in the park helped us find a good pull-through spot (Site #32). Would like to come back and spend more time. Wish they had reservations. We lucked out this time! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$32
Very nice facility - being active duty spouse it was very convenient to the base facilities - although just a small store on campground proper. The new sites now open are beautiful - hopefully they will keep the grounds up better than they do on the older part. Biggest complaint is they are getting rather pricey for a military installation - pushing $600 a month is rather steep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
We really enjoyed our stay here. The kids loved being close to the beach, and walked to it every afternoon. We saw stingray and dolphins come in and play within 50 feet of us. It was a bit buggy in the evenings. We didn't stay in them, but there were new sights opening up that will be really nice. We will definitely stay here again. The only down side was that it was so far from the base. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$18
Great sites on the water, nice beach and facilities. Would have given it a 10 if they took reservations. We called ahead and were told there was plenty of room, reality was there were 2 sites with water and electric only, and they were in the Anchor Cove. It's lovely shaded and wooded area, but can be challenging to get in and out of in a bigger rig. Nice heads/showers so not the end of the world I just hate to hook up, dump and back in again. We got on the wait list for full hookups, and within a couple days we were over in Battleship Row. Good news is they are building an additional 24 pads with full hookups, so that should free that up some. Super friendly and helpful staff while we were there, certainly would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Lovely place, very friendly folks.. quiet, off the beaten path, but less than 5 miles to shopping and groceries.. Loved it.. will come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Nice park. Great view of the ocean. Wi-Fi is not free but reasonable. Concrete pads to park rigs on. Treed lots. Close enough to town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This could be an excellent campground and really is except for the upkeep of the grounds. Grass is cut maybe once a year, fire rings a mess, weeds all over the place and obviously the on-site manager could care less. Right on Perdio Bay - beautiful sun sets and usually very quiet. Level cement pads and 50 AMP - this could be one of the best campgrounds in the Department of Defense if they would get someone who really cares for something other than disk golf. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
We parked in "Battleship Row" which were the FHU sites, and had a smallish site with little or no yard, corner site. Shade with beautiful views of Perdido Bay. Sandy beach, but needed maintenance. Many boat rentals. Nice folks working here. An ocean site would have been nice, but looked like homesteaders there. Very close to City makes for a nice place to relax. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$10
This park is great!!! It has just re-done 25 sites with new concrete pads and 50Amp service with sewer hook-up. Price for these sites is $20.00 a day, but the other sites with 30Amp service and NO sewer hook-up is only $10.00 a day. There is a dump station at these sites. Many things to do like boating, fishing, putt-putt golf, tennis and just a lot of nature. They also have cabins for rent and good primitive campground. Reserved for Active and Retired military and DOD employees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$10
This is only open to active/retire military and DOD employees. Boat and bike rentals available, fishing pier, putt-putt golf and a small camp store. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$7
This campground is located on an old Navy base called Bronson Field. It's open to active, retired, and DoD employees. I have to give the Navy a big thumbs up for what they've accomplished here. For only $7.50 per night this campground offers a beach, hiking/bike trails, putt-putt, bike, canoe and kayak rentals, ski boat and pontoon boat rentals, camp store with laundry, marina, large sites with great shade. It was packed during the Labor Day weekend yet was still quiet. Picnic tables and fire rings at each site. Patrolled by attentive camp employees and Navy police in marked vehicles. Seemed very safe and secure. There are a few things that would make this campground much better but at only $7.50 per night I won't even begin to get picky. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com