217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Blue Fin Trailer and RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (709) 229-5500
CGID7744

Blue Fin Trailer and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   9   9   8   9   8   1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Be careful what you’re promised here. When we called ahead, we were told there was WiFi at “most of the sites”. When we checked in, we were told by the owner that none of the sites get WiFi. The only WiFi available in the park is in the laundry room. And you are limited to 500mb per 24-hour period. There is no going over; you are cut off. We asked if a package could be mailed to the park. But the owner has to drive a 20-mile round trip to the post office in town; there is no delivery. She is not able to do this every day. Be careful. The park is about 40 km from St. John’s, via an excellent 4-lane highway. It was an easy trip. All worked fine. Laundry was small (3 w/3 d) but clean and machines were in good repair. There are only two over-the-air TV channels. Reception varied. All sites are tiered, so everyone can see the lake. Many families with children, which was fine. They were fun to watch. We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Nice clean site but would prefer to have a little more privacy. Sites are close together. Really close to the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Located on Trans Canada Hwy (TCH) about 30 minutes from St. John's. Basic services and Wi-Fi located in office. Not much of anything else offered. Good for stop over or visiting St. John's or some smaller communities nearby. Price should be a bit less. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We spent 4 nights here exploring St. Johns and area. We had a pull through site near the office building. Wi-Fi is limited to the area immediately around the office/washroom/laundry building. The campground is clean, well organized and tiered so that everyone has a view of the lake. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We were glad we chose this campground for our stay. The laundry and washrooms/showers highlight the fact that this park is relatively new, well constructed and maintained. We would stay here again and recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
We stayed here a week. Nice, clean park with level pullthrough site. Friendly helpful management. Park is terrace and overlooks a lake. Short drive to St John without having to be in the city. We were able to get Wi-Fi in the RV with help of a WI-Fi antenna booster. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Close to the highway but road noise is negligible. RV park is terraced so just about everyone has a view of the little lake. Lots of seasonals and sites are fairly close together. Very little grass just lots of gravel. We opted for one of the back-in sites on the lowest terrace close to the lake. When all the seasonals arrived on weekends my EMS system kept shutting down due to the low voltage available on our site. Owner said it shouldn't happen as everyone was on their own line and didn't call a repair person. Wi-Fi at the office (unless you've got a fantastic antenna), friendly owners, spotless washrooms and laundry facilities. 1/2 hour west of St. John's on the #1 Highway, nice little park and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
A new campground, built in 2007. Owners/managers live onsite; controlled access, safe. Exceptionally easy access to/from TCH (exit 36). Entire park is spotlessly clean and meticulously maintained. Three "private room" showers, exceptionally clean restrooms and coin-op laundry. Two rows of level, serviced sites on each of four terraces. Everyone has a lake-view and those on the outer row of the bottom-most terrace are right on the lake shore. Plenty of space for driving, turning, parking, etc. Well graveled; no mud, even during/following a downpour. A 30 minute drive puts you on Harbour Street in St. John's. This is the perfect location for visiting St. John's and for touring the rest of the Avalon Peninsula. Although near TCH the highway noise was minimal during the day and non-existent during the night. Two issues: Wi-fi is available only in the office/laundry area and the electrical breakers are located in locked utility sheds (need to contact onsite manager if you happen to trip yours.) We reserved for 3 nights and within 24 hours had extended to stay a full week. We would definitely stay here again and we highly recommend this park to anyone traveling on the east side of Newfoundland. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
The owners were very helpful and it was an ideal location to get on and off the highway without the noise and central to exploring the area. I highly recommend it. We backed onto the lake and the loons were great to listen to. The new bathrooms are fabulous and well cleaned. The sites are level and gravel so no grass, but that was just as well with the rain. The area has a beach and you could launch a boat if so inclined. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Rude and ignorant park owners/managers. My wife and I had been camping province wide on/off summer and loved every minute of it until checking in Labour Day Weekend at the BlueFin. Weeks in advance we had booked a specific pond-side site and left our credit card info as part the booking process. The owner highlighted our booking in the site book confirming our reservation. To make a long story short, our check-in was a nightmare. We did not end up with the pond-side site. Our stay was short, with overwhelming bantering and noise from an adjacent site ending up being too much. I mentioned this to the park owner/manger and was told to put up with it or get out of the park! The manager were beyond vulgar and rude! In conclusion, if your camp site confirmation is important to you, I suggest you avoid BlueFin. Their customer service is pathetic! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
This is one of the nicest campgrounds on the island. All sites are large and spacious. We have a 45 footer and are in a pull through. It is true there are no trees, but that affords a view of the lake this campground is on, from every site. From the pull through sites you can also see the ocean and Bell Island. We have a 50 amp site and it is truly 50 amps. The unloaded voltage is 128 vac and it barely drops under load. This is not true for other campgrounds we have stayed at in Newfoundland. The sites are gravel and some of the smaller bits get in the rig, but this seems the norm on the island. This campground is convenient to St. Johns and it's surrounding area. We drove through Pippi Park and it has tons of trees, but we prefer larger roads and spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
It is a nice park but no trees just an open lot. It is ok, if you are just pulling off the highway for a nap but not a holiday. Sorry, but if we wanted to camp in a parking lot we could of stayed home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
This two-year old park is very neat, clean, and well maintained. We stayed here six nights for our visit to St. John's and the surrounding area. Since we have a tow car, we saw no need to take the RV all the way into St. John's, as this park is centrally located for sightseeing this area of the island. The owner's are very friendly and helpful. They are located at exit 36 on the south side of TCH 1. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Very good location for St John's and the Irish Loop. Despite proximity to Trans Canada Highway it is a very quiet and peaceful campground. Probably the cleanest facilities we've ever seen and all very modern and well kept. It's quite a new campground so a bit open but the sites are all very level and the hookups all in perfect condition. Can't recommend highly enough. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
Brand new RV park. Opened 2 weeks. 20 minutes from St Johns, 4 minutes from Holyrood shops . Great friendly owners. Great to park right on the lake where moose and loons swim. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com