206676 User submitted reviews online!!
Johnny Appleseed Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (260) 427-6720
CGID7749

Johnny Appleseed Campground

Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   10   8   9   9   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$16
A really nice park close to everything; mall, restaurants, downtown, groceries, fuel, etc. Friendly hosts. Bike & walking trail that go on for miles. No sewer hook up, but a pump truck will come to your site for $10. Or, you can go to dump station no charge. All gravel sites and driveway, but driveway is getting paved next week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
A quaint county park with friendly, efficient host. Extremely cheap price, spotless bathrooms and laundry room. Some nice shady spots. We enjoyed riding our bikes on the paved river trails that began right at the campsite. Only downside was how RV sites and tent sites are mixed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
This is a pretty little county park with friendly hosts. It is close to absolutely everything, including beautiful bike trails. Our site was a little too shaded, and we couldn't get the satellite to work, but the local stations came in great with the antenna. Cable and sewer would be a nice addition and are the only reason I didn't rate it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
Cute, cute campground! I recommend it to anyone. I could not find one fault with anything there. Restrooms were spotless and showers were hot and cleaner than my own at home. Plenty to see and do close by. The river is across the road. Ball diamonds in walking distance and there is the grave of Johnny Appleseed to see! The host was so friendly and helpful. It is very close to the college and would be a great place to stay if you are in town for a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
This was a small, quiet campground in the middle of a large city. There were many pleasant walking/biking paths and a grocery store within walking distance. There was a coin operated laundry room available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
Great location in Fort Wayne-next to the Coliseum. This city park has free WiFi, gravel sites, laundry room, and sites with water & 30/50amp electric. A dump is available or a pumper truck ($10) can be reserved. Not all sites are level. Few sites offer satellite signal access because of trees, but local TV stations offer a strong signal. Camp hosts are extremely helpful and friendly. Visit Johnny Appleseed's gravesite in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
A very cute and cozy RV park. The bathrooms were beautiful! They looked freshly painted with new countertops and clean showers. They may be the nicest bathrooms I've seen at an RV park. The sites are close together, but it was quiet. I would go there again. You are in the middle of town, within walking distance of food. However, the RV park is wooded with a small amount of privacy from the town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
Stayed two nights while doing genealogy research at the Allen Co. Library (4 miles drive). Friendly "host". Good Wi-Fi. Walking distance to Ruby Tuesday and a Wendy's. Would definitely stay again. Not sure of how many "pull through" sites there are as I didn't notice more than one but there may be more. Free dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
This is a city park campground. It is off the expressway a little but the campground host provided excellent directions and with the GPS help, we drove right in. Typical city run establishment, no surprises. No sewer but we had 50 amp and water which is fine for an overnight stay. Gravel roads and sites. The hosts were excellent! Arrived well after dark and was guided to the site. Left early the next day so cannot accurately evaluate the entire operation. I'd camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Really nice campground right by fort Wayne, IN. Ballpark, Mall, Zoo nearby. The bathrooms were very clean. There was a little playground for the kids. Nice shaded RV spot. Wi-Fi was awesome. Was really happy with johnny Appleseed campground considering how close it was to things to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Nice stop for an overnight stay. Tons of shade, sites are slightly unmarked. Close to shopping/restaurants. Campground located inside nice city park. I would recommend, but not for a vacation--more for a pitstop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
Johnny Appleseed Park is a hidden gem in the heart of Fort Wayne proper (as well as being located on the now world-famous Fort Wayne Street... Harry Baals Drive!). While small, great wooded sites, and recently updated (and CLEAN) restrooms/showers! You can walk to the Coliseum for any events. It's also very close to Glenbrook Mall, IPFW campus, and Concordia Lutheran High School. Just off the St. Joe River, and campground connects to the Bike Trail which is constantly being added to for more access to the city and surrounding areas. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
This spot is a "heck of a deal" if you need to stay in the Ft. Wayne area. Hosts are very friendly and helpful. Overall, the park is very quiet. While you are close to the mall, shopping and dining, it is reminds me of staying in a nice state park somewhere. There are TONS of mature trees. The park is mostly in shade. This can pose a little problem if you want to use a satellite dish. You may need to get the dish away from your site a little ways in order to see the sky. The sites are, for the most part, pretty large and spread out. It is nothing like a commercial campground where you are jammed together with your neighbor. I actually stayed there for 6 weeks in total and enjoyed every day. If you are looking for total silence and seclusion, this may not be the best place. The park is sandwiched between the Allen County coliseum and a high school or middle school stadium. It certainly wasn't "noisy" but on game nights, you could hear the bands and the announcer in the distance. I actually enjoyed that part. There is a little traffic noise occasionally but not much. I slept fine with the windows open on many nights. Overall, I think it's a great place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
Wonderfully maintained, very friendly hosts. Sites are large with lots of mature trees and a very private feel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
Although the former comments about the park are accurate, some need clarification. There are some sites big enough for large motorhomes, but many of the sites are quite small and quite close together. As for a quiet campground. Maybe it had been, but the current hosts, 2 different ones in motorhomes, have dogs that bark constantly. The hosts just ignore them and the barking continues, quiet? I think not. The Wi-Fi is present but does not work. A repairman was sent out, but the problem continued. We have visited several times in the past, and this has been the only negative experience, perhaps new hosts will be present next year or the present ones will learn to be considerate of others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
This city park is a hidden jewel. We camp here all the time, it is so close to the Glenbrook Mall, downtown, bike/hike trails, the Zoo and great restaurants. The sites are large, plenty of space for a 40ft+ motorhome. There are 6 pull through sites. The camp-hosts are wonderful and do not have pull through sites. 50 amp at every site. Since it is a city park no sewer, but that's OK because the dump station is free for registered campers and they have a pump truck that can pump you out for a fee. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Very nice state park. Sites are large, but only back-in. The two pull throughs are for the camp hosts. Has very friendly and helpful hosts. It's nicely wooded and away from road noise. Has great biking/hiking trails. Next to Coliseum, shopping and downtown Ft. Wayne. Was plenty of space for a 40ft motorhome. Has clean restrooms and laundry. There is a playground for kids. 50amp electric and water on site. Would be a 10 if it had sewer on site (just dump station). We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
The park is quiet and the camp hosts were very friendly. Lots of huge trees and cool even when the temps go up. Will camp here always when in the Fort Wayne area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$15
One of our favorite parks. Be careful where you park if you expect rain - some of the sites flood. The city has just contracted for new gravel this fall, and will re-do the sites and roads. There is a very nice park across the road, right on the river. This was the last year for the Wizards baseball team, so the evenings will be a lot quieter with no games. An office building has been added this year, and the hosts this year were just wonderful! We paid by the week for 50 amp service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
Delightful small campground just behind the War Coliseum off Coliseum Blvd. Bathrooms require a combination code. There is a sewer/water dump station by the bathroom but no hook-ups at campsites. The camp hosts were friendly and helpful. The park closes for Johnny Appleseed days and winter but we enjoyed the easy access to the nearby Allen County Public Library (4-5 miles away). Tall trees for shade, gravel roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com