220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Pullen Creek RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (907) 983-2768
CGID7750

Pullen Creek RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   8   8   5   9   7   4   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Imagine 4 cruise ships with 12,000+ passengers descending on a small town like Skagway and everyone of the passengers walking by your RV site to get from the ship to the shops. That's what you get on days that ships dock in Skagway. On the other hand, imagine a ghost town when no cruise ships are docked. That's what you also get. I would strongly suggest arranging your stay to coincide with days that have no cruise ships in port. This allows restaurants that aren't overcrowded; shops that have ample viewing space; and tourist facilities that don't require hours of waiting. The Pullen Creek RV CG is located only 2 blocks from town--the other CGs are 1/2 to a mile away. It is more convenient than the others; however it's proximity to the waterfront means having to use the sewer dump adjacent to the office--there are no individual dumps. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
The location of this campground is quite charming if you know what you are getting into! It is packed onto a small peninsula between the cruise ship docks and the village of Skagway. While the cruise ships are in, there is foot traffic everywhere, so ample opportunity for people watching. There are many sites packed into a small space, yet it didn't quite feel as impersonal as many private campgrounds. Some sites had makeshift type picnic tables, but ours didn't, so be sure to travel with a table! The location is very convenient, as you can easily walk to Skagway and the train station. Our biggest disappointment with this campground was the lack of restroom facilities for the number of people camping here. We camped mid-week (with a reservation) and the campground was packed. We gave up trying to take a shower as there were so many people waiting; as a result of the high use, the facility always seemed quite untidy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Very noisy as trains travel on both sides of park and cruise ships dock just a couple of blocks away. Advantage is that this park is close to ferry terminal and 1 block from historic downtown. Sites were adequate for our vehicle but tight for anything longer. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Pick a harbor side lot. We had great views of the harbor and cruise ships coming and leaving Skagway with a mountain background. Sites have no sewer, 30 amp service with water. There is a dump station at the park. We were allowed to wash our rig and toad at our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
We were parked on the bay side parking lot. Had 30 amps and water. Had a awesome view of the fjords. Watched 4 cruise ships come and go daily. Very busy area and touristy. But that being said - we totally enjoyed the views and the activities in Skagway. We thought it was the best in town. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Metered Wi-Fi, expensive, and lousy. It is best to go to Library for it. The price is high for public park; especially, without sewer hookups. Close to harbor and cruise ships, but the view blocked by overgrown bushes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
The only park you should stay at in Skagway. If you are over 37 foot, choose the "harbor" sites. They are outside the park right at the Lynn Canal Boat Harbor where the ships dock. Very quick walk into town. We had a great time. At evening time get your neighbors, chairs, and a glass of ???. Meet at the "bon voyage" rock and wave bye bye to the cruise ships. Only staff person was was very nice. Restrooms were clean, but we don't understand the pay showers, so we we took long showers in our bus. Same water, right?? Would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
I don't understand the low reviews this park has gotten. I saw no issues with the sites or the surroundings. The trees and greenery are bigger than in most places we have stayed in Alaska. We are not on the water but I can see the boats in the marina from my front window. It is a short walk to the dock where the cruise ships pull in and the trains load and unload. The downtown is also a short walk and the whole town is set up for tourism. The downsides of the park for me were the lack TV or cable, and no sewer at the sites. The owner is working on getting WiFi but the local providers are making it very expensive for him to afford. Our Verizon air card worked well here though. We could not get satellite due to the huge mountain next to the campground, but it is nice to look at. There are parks and green spaces nearby to walk pets, and several places in town supply pet waste bags for the general population. Our site was a decent size allowing us to sit outside and even had room to work out. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
This park has lots of potential, but it needs some work to be done. There was no view of the water. The restrooms were clean. There was enough space around the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
We were totally disappointed in the state of this campground as it had knee high grass everywhere, was very untidy and looked as though no one had done a days work outside for months. The "beautiful views of the water" were non-existent. We have been staying in campgrounds right through the US and Canada for 18 months and this is by far the worst we have been in. We had booked ahead from the directory and website so unfortunately has to stay but would have chosen Garden City had we looked at them first. The proximity to town was the only plus about it. We would definitely not stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
After the end of a long day's drive, we pulled into Pullen Creek RV Park based on the fact that it was not an "RV parking lot," it looked comfortable with grass and a few trees and tables. The "Milepost" ad stated there were showers and the campground was "internet friendly". That was about the only thing that was friendly here. We were greeted very gruffly with, "What do you need?" I asked for 15 amp service with water for our tent trailer and stated we would stay for 2 days, possibly for 4. I asked if any sites had sewer. He stated in an even more gruff voice, "What do you need sewer for if you are only going to be here 2 days?" Perhaps because I know the size of our small holding tank?? I asked about the internet service. It was provided through a company that charges by the day. I was surprised since everywhere we've been, including Dawson City, Yukon, had free, if limited, service. I chalked the man's mood up to having had a bad day. We went to get settled into our assigned spot and found that there was no table at our site. My husband went to ask, the guy said he could go get one from any site he wanted. David explained that I was ill (I have lupus and other issues) and couldn't help him to lift and move one. The guy said, "If you think I am going to help you move it, you have another thing coming." David eyed the fork lift, as he turned around and headed back to our site. He had at least hoped for a two wheeler, not necessarily meaning for the man to physically help him. Fortunately, a guy from Germany who was tent camping, offered to help move a table. The next day, after having to wipe off the toilet seats every time I went to use the restroom, I went to take a shower and found that it cost $2 for an 8 minute shower. This was not explained up front, either. So much for their advertising showers and internet friendly service. Pullen Creek RV Park charges full prices; we've paid less in the Yukon for full services, better kept facilities, and at least a decent attitude if not downright pleasant. We have camped all over the United States and Canada and have never been treated the way we were treated here. There is no excuse for treating people poorly, and from the other reviews I have read, this seems to be a habitual problem. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
This campground is very conveniently located to town and a nice hike up to Lower Dewey Lake. We walked everywhere we went. If you are looking for a rousing welcome to the park, that's NOT going to happen here until you actually are a paid customer. THEN you are spoken to like they really care that you are here. We don't stay in campgrounds to make life long friends with the owners so as long as we had a decent place to call home for a short time we were fine! Except for the White Pass Railroad blowing their horns early in the morning, this park was quiet. On Wednesdays there are 4 large cruise ships in port and no less than 2 the other days of the week. So town is very crowded during the day and the shops are geared towards the cruise ship passengers with plenty of jewelry shops if that is what you are looking for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Rate is for 30 amp and water back-in site, no discounts. Great place to stay, and close to downtown. We opted for one of the sites in the asphalt parking area that faces the cruise ships. Lots of room and the view is awesome. The park restrooms are just a few steps away, and we weren't bothered at all by the cruise ship passengers. From here we could watch the ships leave every night. If you have a big rig and don't need FHU's and want to be close to the heart of the town, these sites are just the thing. We would most certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
It is cozy and quiet when there are no cruise ships and over run with passengers when there are ships. It is very close to town - about one block. I found the owner only a bit more surly than most RV park owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This was a tight fit and the traffic from the cruise ships was right by the RV park. They don't have laundry facilities which is one reason I rated them low. The site was level, the Wi-Fi was not free and if purchased expensive. It was conveniently located and it was easy to walk to anyplace within the town. It is a little difficult to located in that it is right in the town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
This was kind of a last-minute decision to drive down to Skagway and check things out. It was later in the evening when we arrived, and the cruise ships had departed already, so the town was dead. We did find the campground owner, and he had a spot for us. A lot of the sites seemed kind of tight, but things worked out OK. One word of advice, though: be sure to double- and triple-check your reservation dates. We had called to cancel our initial reservation, but somehow the owner never took us off his sheet. Therefore, he thought we had goofed up and showed up a day late. On the contrary, he was the one with the wrong information, and we were treating this night as a "walk-up" registration. Other than that, the location can't be beat. As other reviewers have said, it's right down, literally a few steps from the waterfront and the cruise ship dock. We just wish we could have been here when a ship was in, so the stores, etc., would have still been open. (Of course, the next morning as we were leaving, what did we see at the dock? TWO cruise ships which had come in during the night!) We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Very close to everything. Add sewer and I would have given it a 10. We were in the inside loop where the sites are gravel. Not very long, but plenty wide and with space between sites. There are also some sites in the paved area near the boat ramp. I liked ours better, but they had the really great views. However, we only needed to take a couple of steps to get the views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
A very nice campground with a chip and seal driveway and gravel parking spaces with plenty of room for some big rigs. We are in a 37' with a tow dolly and car, and were able to back into our site without a problem. This park is close to everything within a reasonable walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Park is right at the end of the cruise ship dock. In fact about 10 of the sites are back-ins at the rear of the actual cruise ship dock parking lot, looks a little strange, but then they have a great view. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com