214402 User submitted reviews online!!
Council Road RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (405) 789-2103
CGID7754

Council Road RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
102
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   7   7   9   7   3   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$31
Easy to find. Nice owners. Level sites. Stayed one night. Close to outlet stores. Lots of permanent residents, although no one home much. Glad we made reservations as it appears full. Shower house could use a little attention. BYOTP. Don't know why people cannot pick up after themselves. They do not allow adapting 50 amp down to 30. I forgot to ask why. Would definitely stay here again. Good Sam park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
As mentioned in previous reviews, this is an older park with many long term people. We were led to a nice pull through spot. WiFi worked well, the cable TV was a bit snowy. Park was clean and quite. We planned on staying 4 days but the weather was going to turn bad so we left a day early. Unfortunately, their policy is no refunds so keep that in mind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
Stayed here for two months taking care of sick daughter. Very nice park. Very nice people and very clean park.. Will stay here every time I come to Oklahoma. Good Wi-Fi and cable TV. Close to every thing you need. Thank you to the office staff for the prayers. Very caring people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
Wide, gravel interior roads with some potholes. Adequate width, level, gravel sites with adjacent concrete pads, some of which had broken corner(s). Utilities well maintained. Park mostly occupied by long-timers, but those sites are well kept. Quiet. Cable TV OK, internet acceptable near office; don't know about further away. Laundry was clean. It had new machines and was nice to work in. Friendly, helpful staff. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
We stayed at this park one night while visiting relatives in Yukon. There is not a lot of choice on the southwest side of OKC. This is an older park and there appears to be some long-term residents, but their units weren't trashy or run-down. We had an escort to our site which was a nice pull-through with plenty of room to park our toad. As was mentioned in other reviews, there is no cable TV, but they are in the process of running the cables throughout the park (lots of trenches and mounds of dirt all over), and the manager assured me that by the next time we stay there it will be all done. We would definitely camp here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
Clean. Did not have reservation, but they were happy to accommodate for a night. Spots were kind of tight, close together. Quiet. Looked like a lot of long term camps, but was very quiet. Would stay here again for a night or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$31
We have stayed at this convenient park several times and never had any problems. Owners are friendly and helpful. Sites are wide open and navigable. The park is fenced and seems relatively secure considering it's city location. Restrooms were clean and well-maintained. Laundry room has large machines that are clean and efficient. Interior roads have several large potholes, but I guess that slows everyone down. There is a considerable amount of noise from traffic and a nearby business. We stay here because of its location close to family, but there is no real landscaping or nature in this park. It's a decent place to stay if you need to be nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
I stayed here because of the good reviews, which haven't been wrong yet, except for now. This is the first time I have had a problem at any RV park, and at one rated so high. The park wasn't as good as I expected, cigarette butts on my site and just slightly trashy looking in general. Everything worked right, except the host was very rude to me in front of my wife and 16 month old. He was mad because I used a 50 to 30 amp dogbone adapter, which was not allowed. I messed that up, sorry and was very apologetic. He snapped at me and harangued me for calling him "bud", which I call everyone new, just a habit. He was older than me and was angry that I would dare call him bud. He ruined my night and did it with gusto in front of my family. Maybe he was having a bad day. From the moment I met him something seemed off but I shrugged it off. I want to give the place a one but that doesn't seem fair. I have been to 50 RV parks and haven't been treated this bad since my days as an enlisted man in the Navy. Good luck if you try this park, but don't call the guy in charge bud, because he isn't. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
This is a nice basic park with level sites large enough for big rigs. Gravel roads could use some work but still passable. The laundry room was a surprise with multiple washers heavy duty style and one that could hold 4-loads. The owner is very nice and helpful both parking and the area to visit. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
This CG is very convenient to sites in OK City and to shopping. Super Walmart, outlet mall, etc. just across the interstate. The sites are level. We did not use the Wi-Fi or the restrooms. You will need a code for the bathrooms. Having said that, the roads inside are a little rough. This is an industrial area and it is very noisy day and night. The noise is the reason for the 8 on my review. Overall, the CG is good for staying a few days to see the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Great park and great owner and manager. We were totally broken down and the compassion we experienced was fantastic. We felt very safe here and that is so important in this day and age. We highly recommend this park. It is well kept, quiet, has clean laundry facilities, etc. But most of all, the staff gets an A rating for caring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
We liked the park. It had Level sites and lots of space to walk the dog. The dog liked it and she is the Boss. Easy to get in and out . I would stay there next time I go through Oklahoma City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$31
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Gravel roads and space was level and ample room for our 38' 5th wheel and truck. Lots of grassy area to walk our dog. It is close to highways and a TA truck stop, but we did not hear any loud sounds. Looked like a lot of semi-permanent residents. We thought they were oil or construction workers. We stayed one night and would definitely stay again. It was very easy to find and get in and out of. It is on the west side of Oklahoma City. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
If all you need is an overnight and a dump station, I would recommend the Wal-Mart and/or Camping World not far from here. (Warning, there are 9-foot height-restricting barricades across all entries to the WM parking lot, except the ones nearest to the building.) I did a quick check on rvparkreviews.com knowing we would be passing through the area late, and it was hot enough that we would need power for the A/C, otherwise we would just use WM or CW for a few hours Council Road RV seemed to be OK, so I called ahead to check for vacancy and late-arrival policy. We were given the rate and instructions, and even though the office closes at 7:00pm, she would have someone meet us as late as 10:00pm to show us to the site. Our escort was there when we arrived at 9:30 and guided us down the somewhat bumpy road to our level, freshly graveled pull-through (removed the orange cone on his way through), pointed out the hookups and gave us the Wi-Fi code. All I did was hook up the electric for the night. In the morning, I checked the sign again to make sure this was the same park that was getting 8/10 star reviews. The late-escort and fresh gravel is where the charm ended. There was trash all over our site, including old coffee cups and fast-food bags. Old dog waste right next to the electric hookup, and dense spider-webs inside the water-box, which obviously hadn’t been used in quite some time. The park was not very occupied, with a lot of residential. I checked out the showers, which smelled terrible and had no bench or shelf for clothes or toiletry bags. One stall had an old dried up soap-bar in the drain, another stall had something unidentifiable (I could guess) smeared on the tiles. There was a laminated flyer asking for guests’ help in keeping this park “one of the best RV’ing experiences around” by following a list of shower rules. I hate to tell them, but they can’t just rely on the honor system to keep the place clean. The office was still closed when we left, so I was unable to offer my direct constructive criticism. Four Stars from Woodall’s? How is that even possible? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
Level sites, some in the open and some shady. We wanted open for satellite, and it was fine. Nothing fancy but close to the city and shopping. We were toward the back, so the noise from the TA truck stop was not an issue. The side road we were near, was busy during the day but quiet at night. Plenty of room to walk the dog, which was nice. We'd stay here again if visiting the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
Urban RV park easily accessed from I-40. Nice, clean and level gravel sites with a friendly staff. Traffic noise from adjacent road is moderate. Some potholes in the campground roads. We stay here often in our 38 footer, when visiting family in the area. It is convenient to Camping World, WalMart and other shopping and many restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Although this is not a fancy park, and certainly located in an industrial area, it is easy to access from I-40. The big attraction was shade in addition to water, electric, and sewer. Good reception on TV antenna and internet wireless connection. Good for a one night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Very nice park. Some very shady spots available. TA truck stop with restaurant across the street, but far enough away so you do not hear any noise. Many permanent residents. Close enough to OK City that you can get many digital HD channels, cable TV not really necessary. WiFi works very good. Restrooms and showers are very clean, only complaint was that the showers only had hooks in them, there was no place to put toiletries except on the floor. The showers needed some seating or shelving. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
We spent several nights in the campground. We have stayed there several times. Staff is courteous and help us park the coach. The parking space was ample for the coach and the towed vehicle. Good placement for hookups may require detaching the towed vehicle. There was a great field for walking the dog adjacent to the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
I stayed here for about 4 weeks while working in the area. The staff was awesome, the grounds were clean and the sites were level. The only complaint that I had, was many of the tree limbs needed some cutting back to clear the rig a little better. Easy access to highway, gas/diesel station on same street and shopping close. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Excellent location for a tour of OK City, just a block off of I-40. Wi-Fi was very strong. Has a large pet area. Sites were pretty close together. Older park, set up more for long term campers. We camped here 3 nights, which is more than enough time to visit OK City. Not bad for the money. Would likely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2009
$17
My husband was here for a few months for work at a rate of $465 a month. The park is clean. Some sites up front have good shade. It is easy to get to. Sites are very small. There is no room to park. We had to park up front and walk to our camper, they don't want your vehicle in the road. When weather turned cold, water froze at the ground, so no water. They also left notes on all trailers telling them not to use electric heaters, as it would run up their bill. At 12 degrees you HAVE to do what you can to keep warm! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
The park had many working people staying there as well as semi-permanent campers. The sites were not level, grass or gravel. Noise from semi-truck traffic as well as emergency vehicles quite apparent. Nice place for walking dog. Restroom and showers nice and laundry room adequate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
I came into town to visit family for the Forth of July weekend. I'm not a full time RVer. I do not have things like cable TV. I rely on the internet. This is why I had chosen Council Road RV Park. The night of the forth, a storm was coming in. Due to the short storm that was coming through, they turned off the internet. Making it very difficult for some of us to track the storm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This is a good basic RV park, the kind I like. It has an uneven entry which is hard for motorhomes without a lot of shake. The site was a grass pad that was a little uneven. The overall grounds were well maintained as were the restrooms. Bunnies were around at evening. Trees provided shade for many sites but the row for the more transient RVers had few trees. They do not allow use of electrical adapters, so if you are a 50-amp rig, you need a 50-amp site. It was well controlled so minimal noise other than road noise. Felt very safe. Staff was very nice and friendly and apparently loves dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Owner of the RV Park is former law enforcement and uses that to intimidate people. Very odd fellow. Lacked people skills. Park in general was clean and semi kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
I stayed here while visiting Oklahoma City's Arts Festival. This park is the closest one to downtown. The site was very level and I had very little trouble setting up. It appears that there are many "long timers" here. However, don't let that scare you as the park manager informed me that the park is owned by a former assistant sheriff and Oklahoma City police officer who have no tolerance for trouble. While the surrounding environs are not very pretty (it is next to a truck stop right next to the interstate), it is plenty quiet for a good night's sleep. A big advantage during storm season is that the park has a storm shelter at the front. It is a good thing that is has internet access, as my Verizon Wireless card did not work properly there. This park is plenty adequate for a short stay if you are in Oklahoma City for business or pleasure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Busy road with trucks, passes very close to park, so expect some noise at night. Security was visible, but no issues during out stay. Wifi worked flawlessly. Easy on-off from I-40. Storm cellar if severe weather threatens. Only 1 road in/out and no cross-over, may require driving thru a field to get headed out. Friendly host. Office has ice maker. Laundry room was clean. I recommend the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$32
A marginal overnight. May be better than Wal-Mart down the road but not much. You have to have an escort to enter or reenter but not to exit - guess its safer to exit? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
This campground has very nice folks in the office. The site was very clean and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Mostly long term renters but they were friendly. Easy access to expressway. Great for an overnight stop. Not a destination campground. Owner and staff were friendly and concerned about our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is a somewhat older park, but it is quite well maintained. The pull-thrus are not quite long enough for some tow vehicles to park lengthwise when unhooked, which required us to ask a neighbor to move his so we could exit. There are quite a few long termers here but most sites were quite neat. Security could be enhanced by completing the fence around the property, however we did not feel at all uncomfortable. The WiFi seemed to disconnect us a little too often. The staff was most polite and helpful. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Whether you are just passing through or you are spending some time in Oklahoma City, this is a very good place to stay. It is close to I-40 so there is some road noise at all times but it is far enough away that the noise is not too intrusive. Their Wi-Fi works good and it is free. The campground is only a few minutes drive from downtown. If you like to ride your bikes or walk there is a river path that starts at Meridian Road, a couple of exits to the East, and goes all the way to the downtown area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Based on my criteria, this place is a 9. It's close to the interstate, but far enough away so the traffic noise isn't a problem. Good, free wi-fi is available. There are plenty of sites where one can use a rooftop satellite dish. Sites are level (gravel though, and this is why I didn't give them a 10). Very friendly management. Good maintenance. Pleasant enough surroundings and the units belonging to permanents seem to be well-maintained indicating a caring management intent on providing a nice setting for us overnighters. Easy access to DT OKC and WalMart, Home Depot, Camping World, and lots of dining options are within a 2 mile radius. I am grateful that they don't have a ton of other amenities that I wouldn't use (pool, clubhouse, playground) as it keeps the rates very reasonable. I pass through OKC often, and this is where I'll stay from now on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$26
We're from South Texas; Pearsall, to be exact. Stayed across the street at another park and moved to this park. We really liked this park better, it is secure with personnel around the park making sure everything is OK. I personally loved the idea of the storm shelter, if you know anything about tornado alley, this is essential for a safe stay. We had two storms while here, and the third storm the sirens and lights went off. Luckily for us the tornado jumped us and hit right north of the city. Really nice people here, made us feel really comfortable. Thank you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
A decent park, just on edge of town with quick access downtown. Easy access and only a half mile off I-40, but no noise at our site. Large sites with very little going on in the park. Great for a shorter-term stay. Wi-Fi works great! Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
Very clean RV park right off the highway but not too loud with highway noise. Just west of Oklahoma City. Helpful on-site manager. Sites are long and level. Good place to stay for a night or two while visiting Oklahoma City. We will return in our Motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$26
We stayed there for one night. It is only a couple of minutes from Camping World and on I-40. Campground was very clean, everything worked fine including wi-fi. The reception was one of the best I've seen at a campground. Very nice person working the desk. Very nice stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$26
An excellent basic park. Parking surface is grass. No pool, no clubhouse, no golf course. On the plus side, it's clean, the folks that run it are nice, the bathrooms and laundry are good. Huge pet walking area. And it's close to downtown while still being out a ways. I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$26
Good location on I-40. Good base for OK City. Good value RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
Extremely friendly staff, very knowledgeable for the areas interest to visit. Knows where all the best local restaurants are. WiFi was mostly strong. Spaces are wide and comfortable. The owners are fairly new and have great plans for the RV Park. If you are ever in the area stop by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com