223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Oak Grove Park (Military Camping Only) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (850) 452-2535
CGID777

Oak Grove Park (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   5   7   10   10   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$23
FHU sites with spacious cement slabs. We took one of the few open sites not under the numerous live oak trees which allowed us to use our rooftop satellite. They do have cable TV hook up lines. There is no WiFi unless you want to pay extra ($4.00/day and $14/week). Our cell phone hot spot worked but very poorly. The campground is close to the back gate, Blue Angel Parkway, open weekdays 5AM – 9PM; weekends 8AM – 6PM. Close by the flight line is a NEX fuel stop that pumps diesel (not bio-diesel ) plus regular gas. You can walk to the white sand beach or the Naval Aviation Museum (very impressive) from the campground. In addition to the BX and commissary there is a Subway, Panda Express, and pizza/calzone shop near the schools barracks. There is also the Old Navy Yard Eatery beside the library with daily specials at a reasonable price. The AC Read golf course (3 – 9 hole segments) and the 18 hole Par 60 course (The Oaks) is available to walk or ride. All are in playable shape. If you reserve early enough you can stay for three months but you then have to leave for a couple of weeks. They only take reservations on M-F. Call the camp host on Sat-Sun. There are plenty of chances to hear/see planes overhead as this is an active naval air station. There is poor signage for the turn into the campground. Their larger BX/Commissary is located off base. We would certainly use this campground when in the Florida panhandle area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$23
Awesome park! We've stayed there at least 20 times. People are very friendly. Super easy access to the beach. Showers/rest rooms were clean. Plenty of dumpsters. Lots of see and do. I wish they allowed small fires in fire pits but otherwise, I couldn't ask for anything more. I continue to come back there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$23
This is a fairly nice campground, but it is full of snowbirds. There are only about six sites available for short term stays and those will require a reservation if you want to insure getting one of them. Interior road is mainly crushed shell and the pads are level concrete. Decent space between most sites with some grassy area. There are quite a few trees so getting satellite signals may be a problem. They have cable, but the channels are limited. Utilities worked well. VZW cell was good. Wi-Fi is just OK and it is not free. There is a small rec/meeting building on site. Pay for use laundry and bath house facilities were clean, but they aren't adequate for the number of RV sites. Since there isn’t any playground equipment, or anything else for the kids, I wouldn't call the park “family friendly.” The CG is easy access to the beach area. The nearby light house and aviation museum are well worth a tour. The commissary is not on this base. You have to go to Corry Station Navy Base, about a 20 minute drive, for that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
This park is not without its good points: level concrete pads, mature trees, clean bathrooms/showers, and area attractions (National Naval Aviation Museum, Pensacola Lighthouse, & Fort Barrancas). However, their many rules take much of the fun out of camping. There are no fire rings at the RV sites, only in the tent camping areas. They have overly restrictive rules regarding fire and I couldn't even use Tiki Torches. There is a nice beach within walking distance (although you can't really see if from the RV park); however, they recently posted it as no swimming. Now to swim you have to drive to the beach a few miles away, which defeats the purpose of having a beach at the RV park. The sites are also much too close together and oddly placed. It also needs a playground for the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$19
We like it here. It has nice clean bathrooms and a great laundry. Most if not all campsites are on a concrete pad, some are near the beach. The front office is very helpful and accommodating. It is a very nice place to spend a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$23
This is a beautiful campground. Office staff very helpful on phone saying that they would make reservations for us. Camp host handled us when we arrived after office hours (very nice and helpful lady). Beautiful scenery; waterfront/beach area just a short walk from our site #45. Will even allow dogs on the beach. You clean up behind them of course Beautiful sunset. We were only here for one night passing through but we have put this down as a place to come and stay awhile. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
This was our third time to stay here, and it is always clean, well managed, and friendly. The laundry is the cheapest ever, with efficient and new equipment, and we have stayed twice in the "overflow" area, which is actually quieter and more private than the main campground. The Blue Angels are a treat that can be seen even if you choose not to get up and drive over for the full runway show. And love the free museum! This is a great bargain for military families, and we will continue to stay when available and in Pensacola. Great facilities and great people! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$23
Very nice facility-clean and well kept. Laundry very reasonable. We had a back in space on a concrete pad with ample room between adjoining spaces (pads). Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$27
We love this park, although it is a little pricey for a military park. We paid extra for a water view and Wi-Fi is extra through a separate company, $8 per day. The location is fantastic, across the street from the Naval Air Museum. There is good bicycle riding here and much shade. They accept reservations here, which many military parks do not. We will use this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$23
We were in site #11. It was shady, had a concrete slab, picnic table and FHU with cable. We backed up to the road so there was more noise than if you are closer to the beach. The clubhouse has been renovated and heat and air added with new windows since our last visit. We were in town for the Blue Angels Homecoming show so did not spend much time in park. We did receive a notice of a potluck on Saturday night by some of the residents. The beach is close by and now there is a boardwalk to cross the dunes. PNS Lighthouse is a short walk on path or by the beach. Air Museum down the street; new section just opened. Roads are dusty in park from the limestone gravel. No fires allowed. Cable was really fuzzy and did not get many channels. Park has wi-fi for $8 day. Central location to what we needed for this trip, and it was fun to see all the planes fly in the day before the show. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$23
As others have said in previous reviews, this is a great camp ground. Not to crowded with many trees and next to a white sand beach. Very convenient to the excellent Naval Aviation Museum, etc. Take a drive across the bay and see Ft. Pickens and a Natl. Sea Shore. Excellent cable TV with many channels. Wi-Fi: it's Florida so pay to outside commercial service. I used Verizon Mi-Fi (air card) with good connection. A few sites, backing up to beach, available for 14 day max stay and the rest get reserved by snow birds. Reservations taken. Excellent if you can get in. "Access (GPS may take you in circles): from the west, use SR 292 to Blue Angel Pkwy / SR 173. However, this gate closes around 21:00 on week days on 18:00 on weekends. In this cases, and from the north and east, use the main gate on Navy Blvd. SR 30 / 295." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$23
Great Navy Campground. WiFi is extra, which is a shame. The AT&T 3G was great though. The sites are level concrete. The camp host was great. There is plenty to do including the National Museum of Naval Aviation (it's free). We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a very nice, well-maintained campground with a very nice staff. It is in an excellent location, looking out the mouth of Pensacola Bay into the Gulf, and about 10-12 minutes by car from downtown Pensacola. The sites are all wide concrete pads and are easy to get into. The shower house is as clean as any we've been in, but it could use some towel hooks by the sinks. This is one of the few places anywhere that dogs are allowed on the beach. All the campground asks is that you keep your pup on a leash and clean up after them. In the bonus department: the campground is 0.6 mile from the Naval aviation museum, and a bit farther is the lighthouse and Fort Barancas. If you're at the NAS at the right times of the year, the Blue Angels practice Tuesday and Wednesday mornings and visitors are welcome in the bleachers behind the museum. Even though the campground is just south of the west end of the runway, the jet noise is not bad. Most of us who can camp on a military installation like that kind of noise anyway. Our site was close to Radford Rd, one of the major roads into the NAS, so we noticed a bit of traffic noise in our hybrid TT. If possible ask for one of the sites farther from the road. We definitely plan on staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$23
Great location, view of gulf. Only negative was we could not stay longer, it was booked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$28
We have spent the winter here for the past two years and love the park. It has close access to the beach and all of the upper gulf region. There is a great camp host this year that sponsored a lot of activities during the holidays. This is a nice location and reasonable rates for the area. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
We visited for the weekend to be with our son who is stationed at NAS Pensacola. The location could not be better. Easy access from main and west gates. We recommend the west gate approach if arriving via I-10. Exit #7 and follow signs to Blue Angel Parkway and stay on it right into the base. Campground is within walking distance of the National Museum of Naval Aviation. This first class facility is free and rivals the Smithsonial Air & Space Museum in quality of exhibits. Campground hosts were superb (Debbie). Nice level 40x20 concrete pad. Good clean power and excellent water pressure. Some areas shaded by mature oaks. The Blue Angels practice Tu & Wed when on base. The catch: you must be a vet or have an active duty register you to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
We used to camp here every year for a week or two, but this year the rates went up and the service went down. They appear to have a lot of empty sites, but we were told the only one available for a week was one that had half the concrete slab covered with water. When I saw that I told them I was not paying 22.00 a night and be in that type of site, to which they said we could have a water view site for $26.00 a night. And, you really don't see any water. I said no as I didn't want to pay more. The check in person was nice, but the host was in the office and would not stop interrupting as we tried to talk to the check in person. My husband finally gave up and went outside. I then asked about WiFi and was told it was 8.00 a day. Which I thought was excessive. This used to be a very friendly park with great hosts, but I think things are changing. We stayed one night instead of a week. Probably won't be going back for a while, if ever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
Highly recommended. On base at Pensacola NAS. Short walk to the beach. Shady with lots of trees. Sites somewhat narrow but complete with picnic table. Tight parking for toad, but it worked. Friendly staff. Took positive action to quiet down some loud music after 10:00 pm. Very good experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
Small, intimate park with level sites, concrete pads, and lighted utility poles at each site. The majority of the sites are shaded, but with little privacy between them. Nice quality picnic tables are provided. Restrooms and showers are exceptionally clean, the floors gleamed! Reasonable walk to the beach provided via 3-4 access paths. Apparently, they are building a boardwalk to the beach on one of the main paths, there were orange cones, twine, and poles set to mark the layout. Gorgeous beaches, very clean and well-kept. Great dog walk area, and we did not notice a large amount of dog droppings as other campers did, perhaps that has changed. Cottages were lovely, well-kept, cleaned quickly, and nicely appointed. Floor-to-ceiling windows really let in water view! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
This is one of the nicest military rv parks we have stayed at. Large cement pads, restrooms and showers exceptionally clean, friendly staff and just a short walk to the beach. We stayed here a week and would like to have stayed longer. Museum of Naval Aviation within walking distance and is something that shouldn't be missed. Great base and great rv park!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$20
Each site has concrete slab 20x40, picnic table, W/E/S. Nice heated bathhouse, laundry facilities, small clubhouse with fireplace. Sites very close together, has the RV park feel. No foliage between sites, no privacy from neighbors. No fires, but you can bring your own grill to cook. Park has horseshoes, beach very close by, just over the dunes, in December was too cold to swim or enjoy. No playground for children, this is a retiree park. We were here to spend Christmas with family but our child was really bored at this park. Blue Angels take this week off but normally they fly practices and I was told several times by people in the park how noisy it was. I would have loved to hear it, how exciting to see parts of their new shows. Lighthouse, Fort Barrancas nearby as well as the Naval Air Museum. Stores close by back gate. Park also has cabins for rental for those not RV or tent camping. We hada 35ft 5ver at the time and it was very hard to get into site #1 because people would park behind their rigs instead of in front, making the road extra narrow. We almost scraped a tree to get into our site. We would go back but would get a back-in site away from the circle and clubhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
In my opinion, this is the best place to camp on the whole gulf coast. Unfortunately, it's only available to military and civilian government workers. This place is awesome. Just a stone-throw from the beach. The beach is very private. Water is crystal clear and the sand is sugar white. Walmart is very close and restaurants are near-by. This is by-far our favorite place to go camping. Wi-Fi, pool and BBQ pits at each site would make it 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$17
For active or retired military. Outstanding milcamp. The Blue Angels practice on Tuesday and Wednesday at 8:30 AM and fly their show nearly right over the campground. This campground could probably be rated a 10 as far as cleanliness, site spacing, friendliness of the hosts, facilities, and services. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$17
This campground is on Naval Air Station Pensacola so you must be active duty, retired or DoD employee. Right next to the Naval Aviation Museum. Sites are concrete pad with full hookups. Plenty wide enough for slideouts and awnings. Beach and Gulf of Mexico within very short walk. Restaurants on the installation as well as an unlimited number of choices within the city of Pensacola. The only drawback is that the campground does not accept reservations. It's first come, first camp. You take a big chance just showing up expecting there to be a site available. I don't understand why they can't take reservations when their sister campground, Blue Angel Rec Park does. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com