214753 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp-A-While was rated 6 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (570) 682-8696
CGID7773

Camp-A-While

Camp Information
Sites
129
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   5   4   8   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
Paid the Good Sam rate of $29.70 for a 10% discount off the normal $33 nightly rate. Park is close to I-81 but not too close. It is just after the long northbound climb on I-81. There are grades, but we had no problems in our 36' wide body towing. I would not recommend anything longer than 39' or towing a large trailer. As reviewed, the sites are all cut in to the side hill; they did a pretty good job and sites are fairly level. Good solid gravel base topped with 3/4" stone so I can see where it could be dusty at times. It was OK during our stay. We had site 31 a 30 amp full hookup site, and we were able to leave our toad hooked up on a tow dolly. TV via batwing was fair, we picked up 6 stations including ABC and CBS. Verizon cell and broadband were both very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
This is a very nice rustic campground near the interstate. If you're looking for a "resort" type campground, this isn't it. Sites are carved out of the hills and are surrounded by trees. There is no cable and we couldn't get satellite because of the trees, but we didn't mind for one night. We had a pull thru site, but couldn't reach the sewer once we got the car off the road. I would come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Great overnight. Not too far from I-81. Very quiet and peaceful. Staff was helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
Okay overnight campground close to I-81. Roads leading to the campground are steep, but not too bad. The biggest drawback is truck engines revving up as they hit the grade and the campground is pretty noisy. Most of the pull-through sites are permanent campers with only 4 set-aside for travelers. Back-ins are readily available. Sites are clean with lots of surrounding trees. We probably won't stay here again because of the noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
4 is a fairly charitable rating for this CG. First of all, I have never seen so much dust. Made the dust bowl of yesteryear look like a rain forest. Even kids on bicycles kicked up dust. By the time we got settled in our toad was covered and I do mean covered in dust. Lots of seasonals, many looking like Sanford and Son. They had a tendency to drive through the CG at the optimum speed to kick up dust. Our site (33) was listed as a pull through, when in fact it was a "pull in and get out the best way you can" site. We had to circumnavigate the entire CG to get to it. When we were ready to leave it was obvious we would have to unhook (remember we had a pull through site) and then make a difficult, tight 4 point turn to exit the site. The entrance and exit to the CG are VERY difficult in a big rig pulling a toad. Wi-Fi - non-existent. No cable and too many trees for our dish, and as usual (not their fault) little or no AT&T signal. For $34 you should get something more than a small flat piece of ground. If you have a rig that is 35' or bigger I would look elsewhere unless you really like a thick coating of dust inside and out. Wal-Mart is a better alternative for an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Very nice campground with friendly folks and a nice pool. The wooded sites give a good natural feel to this place. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We enjoyed our stay here and will likely return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Stayed one night only. Low branches. Not satellite friendly lots of trees. We have a 25 ft HDT and 35 ft 5th wheel trailer. Anything longer and I think it would be tough to get around. Had to be very careful not to hit any trees. The pull thru sites are not angled but straight. A 40 plus foot MH would be okay just would have to watch your tail swing so not to hit a tree. The campground was quiet between 9 PM to 9 AM. Has good electric and good water pressure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com