219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Oxbow RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (250) 770-8147
CGID7776

Oxbow RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   5   10   8   10   1   5   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
We have stayed at the Oxbow resort 5 years running. Starting in 2008. The campground and particularly the washrooms and showers are immaculate. The owner pay attention to detail and runs a tight ship. As other reviews have noted this is a small resort and you are camping in town so space and privacy are tight. That is offset but the location right across from the Skaha Lake beaches if you want a beach holiday in town this is the place to stay. If you want wilderness there is lots of space in BC for that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$55
Site was small with no privacy and the biggest problem was the location of our site. Many of the sites back directly onto a busy road; therefore there is constant traffic noise. The fence that separates your RV and the road does nothing to provide a barrier. Our site had a neon sign that advertised the campground directly above us that lit our site up; felt like we are in Vegas. Would not return. It was overpriced ($55), and Penticton was all booked up. Next time would choose Walmart parking lot that we went by; at least the RVs had a quiet peaceful spot away from the noise and traffic - all for $0! On the positive - Clean campground and nice owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$51
The hosts are very nice, but we thought it overpriced. Sites are very close together and there is no privacy. It is bordered by a small oxbow pond. We were within walking distance of a lakefront park that had lots of friendly walkers. We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
This is a great location -- nice walk along the lake, good biking and a nice clean park. The park is very peaceful and clean and a joy to camp at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Nice friendly and clean park. The park owners are very helpful in suggesting things to do in the area. Helped us back into site. Washrooms were spotless. Would recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$46
We have been camping at the Oxbow resort for the month of July for the last 7 hrs. We have friends that recommended the site to us. Our first experience at the camp ground was with the owner guiding me into the camping stall; it was a pleasant experience as we have a big unit. The owners run a clean well organized resort, the wash room and laundry facilities are modern and well kept,. The Skaha Beach with boat and Seadoo rentals is just across the road. We have gotten to know and have developed relationships with many of the regulars as we seem to keep coming back each year. We would recommend this park to anyone looking to enjoy the beautiful weather and hospitality in Penticton. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
This campground appeared to be clean and well kept, but we had a very unfortunate experience with the owner. We had arrived late in the evening and only needed a place to spend the night. The owner appeared to be impatient from the beginning since we had interrupted something he was doing, but he escorted us to our site, where, due to a misunderstanding, we backed the trailer dead center in the tight spot rather than to one side where he wanted it. At this he began to lose his temper and become verbally abusive. This escalated to actual threats with a waved stick when we accidentally ran one of the tow vehicle tires a couple of inches over the edge of the grass as we pulled out to correct it. He started shouting that we were now "damaging property" (the grass), and ranting about how expensive it was to irrigate and maintain. We were so shocked by this irrational outburst that we decided we needed to ask for a refund and leave. He followed us all the way to the office verbally threatening to "rip us out of our friggin' car" if we did not honor the camp speed limit. We were very upset and shaken by this encounter, but since we had not done any permanent damage nor verbally provoked this behavior, we felt that there had to be other issues involved for someone in a service industry to behave like this toward a customer. My husband is very skilled at backing a trailer; we have stayed in many RV parks, but we have never had any experience like this. We hope we never do again! Unfortunately, we cannot recommend this campground. We did not stay at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$44
As with other visitor comments: this park was well kept, clean and appeared professionally operated. However, the overall attitude and lack of customer service skills by one employee overshadowed much of the good points of this park. They allowed dogs during the highest traffic times of the year: July and August. On September 1st: they changed to "NO DOGS" period. There seems to be very little latitude (if any) by this park to accommodate late arrivals. Staff is not as customer friendly or as willing to go "above and beyond" to help their customers or be of service to them. The layout of the campground is satisfactory however RV sites next to the 4-lane road enjoy considerable evening and night traffic noise. In summary, I would not return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$53
Yikes! Scary dirty! Dirty campsites and washrooms had no toilet paper or paper towels. Crowded and very outdated, worn out 70's style with old rickety, travel trailers that look like they live here permanently. Then there are the little duct-taped lattice fences and pots of plastic dirty flowers. The one positive thing is its located very close to all shopping, mall and restaurants. Oh another: the weather is always terrific in sunny Penticton. Lots of campgrounds to choose from but reserve early in the start of the year to get a spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
Access into the sites is very tight. Luckily you are guided right into the spot without even getting out of your vehicle. The trees present a problem for slides. Very clean and well kept. Very little traffic noise even though it is beside a busy road. Best park in Penticton. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Sites are a little on the small side but host guides every RV into place. A really nice touch. Host is very knowledgeable with every type of rig. If you got a question, he has an answer. Really nice fellow. We would always stay at Oxbow when in Penticton. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
This campground was clean and well kept, although the sites were a little on the small side. It's a very nice campground compared to the others I've seen in Penticton- none of them seem to be very big here. It's right across the road from the lake, which is nice. They allow pets, but only small lap dogs, so check with them before you show up with Fido. I would stay here again in Penticton. Although the sites aren't very big, it's probably the nicest campground I've seen in Penticton. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
This is how all RV resorts should be set-up and run. Very clean, organized, safe, great place for kinds, and right across the street from the beach. Oxbox has a large Lilly pond that is frequented by ducks, and other wildlife, so you can be treated to the wonderful sounds of crickets, and frogs even right in the city of Penticton. If you are visiting Penticton you owe it to yourself to at least stop by and check out the park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com