218844 User submitted reviews online!!
The Redwoods RV Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 56 user reviews. Phone: (707) 487-7404
CGID7787

The Redwoods RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   8   8   10   8   10   7   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
We loved this park. Very friendly staff. They were very nice and helpful. Nice sites most are in shade. Easy to pull in and room to back in. Room for slides. Nice play area for kids and room for riding bikes. Great cool weather. Near Jedidiah Smith State Park and Stout Grove. We would return if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$44
Park setting is very pretty nestled in tall Redwoods. Very "national park" like setting. However, Wifi VERY marginal, and only 11 very fuzzy Cable channels. Plus, speed bumps about every 50 feet all the way into park. I am an adult; I can slow my speed down and don't need to be treated as a child with too many obnoxious speed bumps. Have stayed at other parks with good WiFi and Cable at a lower cost. Probably will not stay here again, but select another park down the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
For our taste the rating could be higher, but we didn't give a higher rate due to what some families might expect. For families with kids, there is a nice play area where they can burn off energy. However, there isn't a pool which could be a factor for some. Otherwise, it is a beautiful, natural setting amongst redwoods and huge fern. Most sites are totally private due to natural landscaping (which in our opinion was gorgeous). Pad was gravel but level. Picnic table at each site. Hookups were good and cable was good for the 11 channels offered. Satellite reception would be hard to receive due to the redwoods. WiFi was good and Verizon cell signal was good. This park gives you something that most can't give...convenience in a totally natural setting in the redwoods. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$29
Nice campground nestled between huge redwood trees. This makes for a marvelous setting but I guess I'm used to a bit more sun. The hook-ups were good, the site was quite level, there were bushes, and trees around every sight for privacy but you could see other campers which was nice. We had a fire pit and a table with our sight. There is a nice children's playground. Hosts were great. Good central location for exploring the area: Battery Lighthouse, Crescent City Museum, the Redwoods, the harbor, Pebble Beach Drive and the pier. And, let me stress the Redwoods, the Mill Creek trail, the Boy Scout Trail, Howland Drive, and the Stout Grove. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
This is an amazing park located in a stunning setting. When we were there in October the park was pretty empty, and as a result, very quiet except for the occasional traffic noise from 101. The hosts were courteous and helpful and very kind about us leaving a little after the check out time. The park is set in and among large redwood trees and has a small stream along one side. The sites are some of the largest we have seen on our travels. We will hopefully be able to come back to visit this beautiful RV campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Slightly crowded campground, but good Wi-Fi and cable TV. Clean restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Lovely park: beautiful setting, clean, quiet, lots of privacy ... and those incredible trees! Manager was lovely, really helped us get settled in the perfect spot for us. We recommend The Redwoods RV Resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
We couldn't rate higher as the managers were the worst. Made check in painful! We camp a lot and they were the rudest, most unhelpful, unfriendly folks we've ever had to work with. Even cheerful, they were almost mean. The campground could have used a store with a few items instead of more than 1 local map, etc. They had ice and that was about it. Most places will help when we arrive. They couldn't and didn't want to. Very basic campground. OK, the good. Very pretty site, beautiful in the redwoods and not as noisy as we thought it might be off the 101 fwy. Was a little far north for us, but great for Jebidiah park area and OR. WiFi and our Sprint cells worked great. Would stay again only if new managers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
This is a beautiful park tucked into the redwoods. Our site was level and well maintained and amazingly private. Many of the sites are off-set so you are not right on top of your neighbors. We stayed here two nights. Although we did not tour the area, we were able to relax and do laundry. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
A beautiful park. In the heart of giant Redwoods. Easy to drive by as sign is hidden by trees. Large drive through sites, cable TV and WiFi worked well. Restrooms and showers could use up-dating. We wanted to extend our stay but park was reserved for the Labor Day weekend. Very serene and peaceful park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
This is a nice quiet park located 8 miles north of Crescent City. We enjoyed staying amongst the redwoods. Access to the park and the sites is good. The sites are not paved because they are in between the redwood trees. There is plenty of space to open your slides without worrying about the trees interfering. The staff was very friendly and nice. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
This is a terrific park about 8 miles north of Crescent City. It is surrounded by trees, but there is open space also. In our site, we had no trouble with satellite TV. Even though it is right off Rt 101, it's very quite and peaceful. Our site was level gravel with an ample grass area to enjoy the outside. The electric pedestal was is in the rear of the site so we had to be as far back in the site as possible to reach it. Wi-Fi was good although you do have to reconnect each day (Tengo). Here's a point of interest--there is not one seafood market nor can you buy fresh seafood in Crescent City even though they take in huge Dungeness crabs hauls in season and lots of fish. Thought I'd mention that because that is one of the reasons we stopped here. For us, the only downside of the experience was the unfriendly office staff. Since others didn't encounter that experience I'll chalk that up to that they had a bad day. But they did put us in a space too small for our 45' with the playground within feet of our picnic table. We aren't traveling with children. They begrudgingly let us move to the site next to it where there was sufficient space and a nice yard. Then they put a family with a popup beside us so that our rig totally blocked out their view and they listened to our heat pumps. The family also moved to another site and had a wonderful area to enjoy. The campground never got crowded over the weekend, so it begs the question- why don't owners or the staff give the most suitable sites to those who come first??? Again RV reviews were most helpful in determining where to stay in the area as this campground had a very small blurb in the camping guides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Our extended stay was fantastic right in the middle of the Redwoods. If it was overcast or foggy in the morning it burned off by mid morning and the sun came out, it was just really pleasant temperature. The TV cable & Wi-Fi equipment had just been worked on and upgraded and worked great for us all through our stay.(as older posts & reviews noted negativity on the Cable TV & Wi-Fi) The Managers & Staff are so friendly & helpful, they really knew alot about the area and recommended where to go, what to do and where to eat. This is a very nice "central" location for anyone coming to the Redwoods National & State Parks and the N California or S Oregon Coast. I'd come back and recommend it to anyone! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Magnificent! Astounding! Beautiful! We absolutely loved this park. The sites are nestled among the giant redwood trees and it took our breath away. We just walked, walked, walked, because we couldn't get enough. The sites are spacious and well kept. When we pulled in, a worker was raking the site next to us and cleaning the fire pit. A neat feature was the dog wash. It was an outdoor station with a sink and counter for the dogs to sit on. The roof made a nice shelter from the rain or sun. We had a water/electric site because we were just staying two nights. We were short on time or would have stayed longer. The location is north of Crescent City, and when we first saw the turn in, I was afraid I had made a mistake reserving this park. Once we got in the driveway, I knew it was going to be perfect. Can't say enough good things about this park. Go! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
This is a wonderful park. Everything is clean, and most of the RV sites are separated by Redwoods. It looks as though, many years ago, this was a clear cut and huge redwood stumps were left behind. New redwoods are growing from the old stumps. What a wonder camping here. This park is right off highway 101, but we didn't hear any road noise. If you want to hike the Jed Smith national forest, you should stay here. I would have given this review a 10 if it weren't for the horrible Wi-Fi setup. I didn't talk to the hosts about if, but should have done so. We stayed for six days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
Great park with sites for every kind of camping. Check in went smoothly and we were shown to our site. Hookups were in the proper area and in good working order. WiFi was not consistent which is inexcusable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Nice camp ground. Grass and gravel sites. WiFi intermittent. Lots of good sites for big rigs. Smaller rigs, under 30 ft can camp in the red woods area. Even if you can't camp in the woods, you will enjoy a walk through a beautiful new grow (probably 100 years old) forest. We camped in a 40 foot rig, about 75 feet from the edge of the forest in an open area with scattered trees. Short distance north of town was not a problem for us. In fact, it was an advantage. RV parks in town were parking lots, combat camping, and in the fog nearly all the time. Would choose this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
Loved this campground. Very friendly upon entering and escorted us to our site. So much character in this campground. You really feel in the Redwoods here. There are massive trees all around, very private. When we looked around at other campgrounds everyone else was in the open and close together, not the case here. Close to all amenities and tourist attractions. Definitely stay here. New play park structure. Clean bathrooms and smaller family run campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This is a delightful park. Large shady "private" sites, very friendly staff, dog friendly, even a dog wash set up! We loved it here; had a very nice stay. I wasn't aware when I booked that it is about 10 miles north of Crescent City, so it was a bit of a run in to get groceries. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Wonderful RV park in the middle of the redwoods. Park is clean and quiet. Staff are friendly and helpful. There is a small laundry room. there is an open area to play horseshoes or just enjoy the view. Sites are spacious. Location is convenient to Crescent City, redwoods, and Oregon border. A great place to stay in the redwoods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Sites can get very muddy when it rains. Very wide and spacious sites. Very kid friendly. I paid for a premium site and they put me in a deluxe site so I had to bring it to there attention to get a refund on the following day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$41
This is a great park! Camping in the redwoods with 50A full hookups. This is a hidden gem in the redwoods. Clean restrooms and very friendly owners. Campground is cleaned up after each guest leaves their site. Highly recommend this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
What a beautiful RV Park. Huge redwoods throughout and walking through the park was lovely. The playground is huge and kids loved it. There is lots of green grass for kids to play on. $2.50 per load of washing so it was a bargain. The bathrooms were spotless. I would have given a 10 except the cable TV was snowy. Would recommend this fantastic RV Park. It's 7 or so miles to Crescent City but it's an easy drive along the highway. The beach is close by also We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Beautiful setting among redwoods. Friendly staff. Cable service with limited stations (entire area). Grounds are groomed & tidy. Located few miles north of Crescent City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
Rate reflects internet special. Site nestled in between beautiful redwoods and very private. Level sites and friendly, helpful staff. Even a dog wash! A bit rustic for some, but we loved it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
The setting is beautiful. It is in a forest of huge Redwoods. Check in was fast and friendly. She even provided maps and info for local attractions. The bathrooms and showers were clean and heated and there was a nice clean laundry area. The cable TV and Wi-Fi worked well. Our site was all dirt but level and freshly raked when we arrived. There are many sites that will accommodate big rigs. The utilities looked old but worked fine. Most sites are large and about 1/2 had good privacy. Ask for a site away from the road although even near the road noise is not bad. There is a nice play ground area for kids. They give a Good Sam discount. Ice and firewood is expensive. Their sign is difficult to read coming from north to south. It is after the bridge and before the KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
While the value for a private campground is pretty good, there are areas that could be improved: Cancellation fee: You are charged full price if you decide you want to leave upon arriving - and you can't choose the space you want. Good spaces are quite limited. Management not willing to negotiate what they have chosen for you. Only 3 washing machines, 3 very slow driers for the entire campground. Store: Not sure how it got a store rating. Very few items sold. Noise: During the middle of the night we were startled by a loud siren going off. The thought first was a tsunami warning. There were many campers woken up and ready to head for higher ground. When I inquired with the staff the next day, I was told there is a voluntary fire department close by. The siren goes off any time of the day or night. Why was this information not passed on to us when we arrived! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Campground was GORGEOUS! We will definitely be making a reservation for another year. That being said, you MUST make reservations at least a year in advance or you probably won't get a spot, its that nice. Very shady and well covered with redwoods and large ferns. Most sites were pretty private but there are a few that are either too short or too close together. EXTREMELY quiet park, just the way we liked it, and the weather is fabulous. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
This place was fantastic! Dense stands of redwood trees, but there are more "open" sites towards the center of the campground if that's more to your liking (Satellite perhaps?). Friendly, helpful staff although once we checked in, we found we didn't need anything. We arrived after the office closed for the day and found our check-in paperwork taped to the door. We had already been assigned a campsite and after evaluating what was still available (posted on a board next to the office), our site was perfect. The location is next to Hwy 101 and while it was plenty quiet, you can still hear the occasional passing vehicle. Next trip we will ask for a site further towards the east side of the campground. As another poster already mentioned, the siren scared us the first night. I didn't think tsunami warning (the site is a bit too inland for that), but I thought maybe a jailbreak siren (Pelican Bay State Prison is down the road). We laughed the next morning after we found out it was for the volunteer FD, but something posted on the office bulletin board or in the check-in literature would've been nice! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Loved this park. They way the sites were layout you had plenty of room and shade. Lots of nice grassy areas in the center. The park was very clean and very quiet. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Nice park with large, secluded lots and plenty of trees. Very pet and child friendly, but also quiet with some privacy. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean restrooms and showers with plenty of hot water. Wi-Fi worked well. Our only complaint was that the number of washers and dryers was too small for the number of people, and this created a logjam at the laundry room. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
Can't say enough about what a great place this is to stay. The hosts are prior RV travelers and really know what we need. The spaces are nestled among redwood trees. You couldn't find a quieter place. It is only yards from a major highway, but you seldom hear even a hint of the traffic noise. If you are in the area, change your itinerary to include at least one night here. Once you are here you will want to stay another night to enjoy the peace and quiet. Don't miss it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35?
Loved this campground. Such magnificent trees. Loved the old stumps. Not at all crowded this time of year. Hope to visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
Sites were very nice and large and level, located under large redwoods, with fire rings and tables. The park was closing some sites for the winter, but had lots of sites available. Very easy to park. Next to 101, but we hardly heard the traffic during the night. Close to redwood scenic drives and also close to ocean where we saw whales off shore. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
Excellent RV park just off Hwy 101. There was some road noise, but not too much. Staff was very helpful and kept the park very clean. Full hookups, with cable TV. For an RV park the sites were spacious and not too close together, sites are gravel and level. Washrooms were very clean and the amazing Redwoods are 10 minutes away with 1st class hiking and visitor center. Firewood was available at the park and also not far away. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
This park was very nice and beautiful. It is tucked in the huge trees. It is easy to get to. The staff was very friendly. The restrooms were very clean. We would definitely camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
We loved this place! The site is nestled between huge redwoods (no satellite reception, but it was an easy decision). Other nearby RV Parks are essentially parking lots. CG WiFi (free) is so slow, it's not worth the effort. Fair Air Card reception with Verizon and Sprint. Bathrooms and laundry are very clean. Staff helpful: recommended great things for us to see. Do NOT miss the 'car only' drive through nearby Jedediah Smith State Park. Magnificent! Don't forget the camera. Along 101, south of here, see the "Drive Through Tree," the herds of elk roaming in the meadows, Trees of Mystery. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a second time at this park. We booked 1 year ahead last year, and now we have booked for next year. Nice quiet, clean park in the redwoods with hookups. Grassy area for children to play or read a book in the sun. We love it here. 5 minute drive to remote beach and you can walk for miles and see on one. This park is awesome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Beautiful park surrounded by redwoods. Friendly and helpful staff. Limited number of 50 amp sites. About 8 miles north of Crescent City. Well kept grounds, would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$34
This campground is not open. It appears to have gone out of business. Note from admin. I called the park. Park is close for winter months only and will reopen on March 15th 2010. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
Beautiful campground: full of redwood trees and lots of shade. Excellent: staff very helpful, clean restrooms and showers, nice play ground for children. Beach is short drive away. It's remote: you can walk for miles and miles with no one but you and the dogs. Beautiful area with nice campsites. We have already booked for next year we love it so much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
We camped here for the long Labor Day weekend. We had a good time at this RV resort. The cable TV worked okay, about 14 channels but some were really fuzzy. Free Wi-Fi which was nice. We must have had one of the few sites that had no trees, although we were right by the playground which my boys enjoyed. Some sites really looked private and quiet backing into trees. It rained so the RV resort got pretty muddy as it is not paved. The sites were with gravel and pretty level, ours had a pretty good distance between our neighbor. The bathrooms and showers were clean. I had to use the laundry room because my boys got so muddy and there was only one working washing machine, only cost $1, same with the dryers (there were two) but it took a couple of times to dry my clothes completely. I think we would return here if in the area. We drove through some of the other RV resorts nearby like the KOA and Jedediah Smith and this RV resort is very comparable, if not better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This park's website is slick. The park is good, not great. The reviews seem over-hyped: could the park owners be padding the reviews? You will be camping in a fairly wooded park, kind of like dozens of others in Northern California, Oregon and Washington. There are no BIG TREES. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
The best way to describe this park is that it’s like camping in a national forest but with full-hook-ups, cable, and Wi-Fi. The site we were given was next to a redwood stump that I measured at 14 foot in diameter. An added bonus was that northern California was experiencing a 100+ heat wave, during our stay, but it never got above 75 at our site. About 8 miles from Jedediah Smith Redwood Park, this place is a must if you’re a nature buff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Beautiful Redwood setting. WiFi and cable worked well. Gravel sites level and plenty of space for rigs of all sizes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
This a good place for stopping off to see the Redwood Forest and the surrounding area. The park is about 10 min from Jedediah Smith state park. We found Crescent City to look old,not too much there really. The staff were very friendly to us and we appreciate their efforts to keep the place nice. The trees were beautiful in the RV park as well as the whole area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
If you haven't actually stood beside a California Redwood, you will be overwhelmed by these incredible trees. The Redwoods RV Resort is nestled into a fantastic Redwood grove, just minutes from Redwood National Park and the spectacular Northern California Coast. We stayed here in our RV about 6 years ago, when it was named "Ramblin' Rose RV Resort" and just returned again. The resort is under new management, and it's obvious that they've spent a great deal of time and money on major renovations. The place is fantastic. Much nicer than our last time here. Everything is clean and new, including the Wi-Fi and cable TV. Sites are large, level and secluded, with lots of space, trees, and ferns between us and our neighbors. They have brand new 50-amp full-hook-up sites, with room for any size RV, (ours is 43' long, so that's important to us). The Redwoods tower overhead, making campsites really feel like part of the forest. There is also a large, open, grassy area in the middle of the resort, making for a nice mix of forested and pastoral environments. There are also lots of secluded, wooded tent sites, plus modern (and very luxurious) cabins with nice covered decks. Since this is an area we'd love to share with our families, the cabins would be perfect for us to host family without them having to stay on the RV or in a tent. The manager was nice enough to show us inside one. We will definitely come back to this park any time we visit Northern California's Redwood Forest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
We had a great experience, the staff was really friendly and helpful on the phone and in person. The place was very quiet and clean. It is a beautiful setting and very relaxing along with the ability to see all the sights of interest with a very short trip. It was my first experience in the Redwoods and I am sure it wont be the last and I will make sure to stay here again. The showers and restroom was very well taken care of, it is obvious the staff takes pride in the appearance of the park. It has a dog wash, horseshoe pit, great playground along with trails to explore for the kids. We stayed in spot #33 and were surrounded by redwood trees, no sun would hit the RV even in the middle of the summer. Thanks for a great stay!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
An outstanding park for the money. The trees were simply beautiful and the park was very well maintained. With the new playground equipment, our kids had fun in between trips in and around the Crescent City area. The only drawback was the older style washer & dryers. Other than that, we will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
We loved this campground as a stopping point (not a destination) - it's about 10 miles north of Crescent City. Although it is right next to Hwy 101, there is very little traffic noise. The sites are rustic with dirt pads, but have fern and beautiful redwood trees all around. I understand a new owner acquired it a year or so ago, so they have really done a great job revamping the campground. There is a new playground, horseshoes, and cabins along the outer perimeter (which seemed very nice from the outside). This campground lacks a store (which I understand will be coming in the near future), a pool (although it was too cold to swim when we visited), and a large laundry room (only two washers and two dryers, which were being used to wash the rental cabin linens). There are several campgrounds in Crescent City, but these were all unpleasant - just a parking lot with full-timers living in them, so your best bet is The Redwoods RV. Since there isn't much to do in Crescent City, I suggest using this campground as a stopping point for a couple nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
We met here for a week long family reunion, taking 6 site, and had a great time. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially considering we had lots of small children running around. Close to the coast, Redwoods and a river. It's a beautiful park. The only complaint I have would be some stray dogs that wandered into camp and hung around all week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
This is one of the best parks we've stayed in and would go out of our way to come back. The setting is incredible - you're surrounded by a lush forest redwoods abd fern. The spaces are large and, except for a couple of them, you're not on top of your neighbor. The staff was very friendly. They've put so much time and effort into making this a beautiful, spotlessly clean place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
Park was nearly empty except for some full timers who, unfortunately, let their dog bark outside at all hours. Management was aware of the issue but took no action. Ended up leaving a day early. Website also fails to mention location of maximum security state prison (less than a mile away). Spots were gravel but it appeared that drainage would be a problem. Campground is also too distant from Crescent City (which isn't much either). Better off staying in one of the state campgrounds. One positive, the bathrooms were very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
Although it was raining for part of our visit this was a beautiful park among beautiful trees. We were in a pull through site that looked like it was not under trees but our satellite could not pick up a signal. They do have good cable though. The children's playground was very nice and the staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
This is an excellent campground that is in the middle of a nice forest. A great location for exploring the various redwood parks that are nearby. The managers are very helpful and friendly. Wifi is excellent. Every site has a fire ring. We stayed here for 4 nights in our 40' motorhome. Very easy access for big rigs. We will return for sure!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
This used to be The Ramblin Rose RV Park. It has changed dramatically. The setting is as beautiful as can be. Heavily treed. Large level sites. Nice central location for the area. We will stay here every time through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com