224217 User submitted reviews online!!
Riverside RV Resort & Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (863) 993-2111
CGID779

Riverside RV Resort & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
499
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   10   7   10   10   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Your GPS won't be able to find this place but if you have the Google Map app, it will. Ask for directions when making your reservation. This is a very large campground and probably full during the winter months. We were escorted to our site, which is always a nice perk. The sites are grass with concrete patios and picnic tables. We had no problem leveling. The roads are wide, but have drainage "gutters" in the middle between the 2 lanes. They make driving in a bit bumpy every time you go over a cross road. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$45
We stayed in the new lake section where we had a large, crushed white gravel, back-in site on the water. The place was so new, grass was still being laid when we arrived and we had to wait two weeks before our area was sodded. The interior roads here are new, smooth and wide. Once we solved the Internet access issue with management's help, we had great Wi-Fi access. Cable TV could have been better. This is a large park with a lot of activities and amenities, so you should not be bored. Great access to Port Charlotte as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$59
Great park. Huge sites. Clean park. Everyone very friendly. Will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$33
Riverside just added 149 super sites to the existing 350 sites. The new laundry, shower, and restrooms are now open. 100% ceramic tile walls and floors. The wired internet and limited cable is now available without charge (only in the premium sites). The lakes offer views, fishing, and no neighbors behind your site. The snowbirds are the most friendly of any park in Florida. The activity schedule will keep everyone involved. Pot Lucks, Dances, Educational Classes, Physical Activities, Pickle Ball, etc. are schduled throughout the winter. We have watched the facility change through the years and still have Riverside our favorite park in the nation. You will not be disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Park is neat and clean but do not rely on their website. There is no cable TV service at all. However we were able to get quite a few over the air stations. The biggest frustration is they never told us that golf carts are NOT PERMITTED AT ALL! Couldn't even unload ours from the truck. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$51
The Arcadia address is really misleading since this park is 5 miles east of I-75 at Port Charlotte (10 miles). It is about 45 minutes to Venice or Fort Myers. We only stayed 3 nights but the park, the staff , and the guests were outstanding. The best private RV park we have visited. It is primarily a snowbird park. Many activities and amenities available. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$36
This is an outstanding park. There has always been a large wait list for the winter months. 150 new sites are under construction and will be available by Sept. 2013. The park needs to add additional laundry, swimming, and support facilities to continue the 10 rating. Many are concerned about the rates increasing faster than the economy. Great staff, activities, and location in the country, but near restaurants, shopping, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Awesome campground. When the office/store was closed, there was always someone around to assist you if possible. Very friendly. Lots to do. Family and pet oriented. We will gladly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$51
Nice campground, very friendly/helpful staff. Interent is $5/night, No cable TV. Couldn't put up antenna due to tree. Nice laundry and dog park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$43
I've stayed here twice now, both times on a sold out Halloween Celebration weekend in October. The park is packed and at capacity with all sites booked months in advance. So review reflects the campground busting at seams. PRO's: Quick check-In, friendly staff, well leveled sites, grass well maintained around sites, good green space, some well shaded sites (about 25-35% of park), beautiful pools and entertainment area (shuffleboard and arcade), entertainment for kids, right on Peace River, bathhouse well maintained although they could use more shower stalls. CON's: Quiet time loosely enforced, not enough security when park is packed (vandalism occurred), planned activities didn't go well with not enough supplies or staff to run it, fire rings are constantly moved and not at each site. TIP: Sewer can be quite a distance back from your site, make sure you have a long enough hose and support it. If you plan on doing the Halloween celebration, register in May. Pay attention to your hookups - some site are 50/30 and some are only 30. Site 102-111 and 140-151 should have decent shade under treeline. SUMMARY: This is a good campground who handled capacity fairly well and I would definitely visit again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
This is a true resort. We were here during their off season. There were only about 10 people in the whole park during the week. If you need a place to relax this is the place. They have two swimming pools and a very large recreation area with Horseshoes and Shuffleboard courts. Cleanliness is the name of the game here. We stayed on site 333 which is close to the River and docks. We will definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$34
This is our first year to stay at Riverside - and we plan to make this our Florida "winter home". The premium sites are very roomy; activities are abundant, and the staff and snowbird residents are extremely friendly. So many activities you will never be bored! This park has an Arcadia, FL, post address, but it is closer to Port Charlotte (only a few minutes) to shop, etc. We are impressed with this "find". Showers/restrooms, laundry rooms are spotless and well maintained. Two heated pools, hot tub, pavilion for parties (which are many), outside entertainment. Peace River borders the park for convenient boating, kayaking, and occasional "gator" watching. Beats NE Ohio for the winter!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$43
We stayed here Christmas week. A very nice place to be. It is convenient to town but away from it. Being able to sit at the river and watch the wildlife was pleasant. Most residents are snowbirds, but the residents welcomed us, too. Very well kept and complete facilities. Wonderful staff. Many dog people and areas for the dogs to walk; we have two. Nearly all people pick up after their dogs. It was too cold to use the great looking pool. Lots of community activities. If we are in the area again, this is where we will stay. No cable TV might be a problem for some. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
We enjoyed our stay at Riverside RV Resort. We were there for 4 days with our group rally. It is a very friendly park and very clean. The rec hall and kitchen are spotless. Our group will be going back next October for another rally. The sites we had were shaded with some very big trees and it helped to keep us cool while we sat outside. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$31
The rate is based on a 3 month occupancy. This is one of the finest RV parks in SW Florida. The manager is outstanding and the staff are very helpful. I would highly recommend this park for your winter visit to Florida. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
We stayed here for four nights after extending our stay for an additional night. This is a very nice and exceptionally clean campground. The staff keeps the restrooms sparkling and the grounds are well manicured. The campground is located on the Peace River and there are four docks from which to fish from or just look at the river. They also have their own boat ramp. There are two pools and spa on the property, an activity center, huge pavilion where they had Karaoke on Saturday night, a nicely stocked camp store (with very reasonable prices, I might add), a game room with pool table, air hockey, video games and ping pong table, a large activity room with big screen TV, and a snack bar open on Friday and Saturday nights. They also have pancake breakfasts on Sunday mornings. You can rent canoes from the campground for "local" canoeing, or go to a local outfitter who will drop you off up river with canoes and pick you up later in the day downstream. The campground was very quiet during the week although there were a lot of campers parked there due to a very good "store and stay" program they have. On Friday afternoon, all the weekend campers rolled in, either with their campers or to reoccupy the camper already on-site. If this campground weren't three hours away, we would participate in the program. It's a great idea and relatively low cost. I would recommend this campground to families with kids of all ages. It really is a very nice campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$45
Wonderful place to stay and meet wonderful people very clean and updated camp store. You can have campfires here. Laundry room, Wi-Fi and great friendships that will last a lifetime with the repeat season campers. Very nice and friendly staff right on the river and get to see a lot of wildlife including manatees. Great place would love to go back ! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Great park, beautiful river, great fishing and boating. Park was well run and offered lots of activities for all ages. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
The park is very well kept. They have pet waste stations through out the park. Friendly workers and guests. Fire rings for all units. Spray for fire ants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
We participated in the "Store and Stay" program which allowed us to "store" our camper on our reserved site throughout the summer months and through October. The nightly rate is discounted slightly for "Store and Stay" customers. Our family truly enjoyed staying at Riverside because of it's convenience and relaxing atmosphere. Our camper was set up at all times making it simple for us to "get away from it all" and relax in one of the heated pools or simply walk or bike throughout the park. There is plenty to do as there is an activities director who makes sure there's something for everyone. The boat dock and ramp are good sized and there are separate fishing piers for those of us without boats. The "Navigator" is close by and offers canoe rentals or pontoon boat cruises down the Peace River. Riverside was very clean and quiet, and we loved having our own concrete patio to relax, BBQ, and eat our meals. During the last "Store and Stay" weekend (10/21/06), we had our first "Halloween" experience at Riverside. They hold contests for the best costumes AND they also judge people on how they decorate their campsites. It was a lot of fun for us and our children and we look forward to next summer!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$34
In Arcadia and not Port Charlotte. Clean, very large with a lot of storage of empty trailers. Park feels like one big storage lot. Not very close to beach. Be careful at night as snakes are all over the place!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
We stayed here based on all the great reviews. For the most part I agree with all the good stuff from previous reviews. A couple of negatives for us were. Our site (reserved with input from their staff) was nice but right next to a trailer on concrete blocks. It was fairly neat and clean but took away from the camping feel. We requested a new site the next day and the staff was very happy to help us. Overall shade is not too abundant in the place. Looks like maybe residual hurricane damage, because there are many large oak tree that have been cut back. The only other thing we found a little strange was the fact that many, many, people leave their rv's/campers on site when the weekend is over. We stayed over a weekend and into the week: by Sunday afternoon the place cleared out, but most of the rigs are just locked up and left for next time. By Sunday night the place took on a sort of "ghost town" feel. It wasn't really a problem, just strange to us anyway. Oh yes. This is not close to the Gulf Beaches unless you consider 30 miles close. I was told 8 to 10 miles on the phone and that is way off. All and all a nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
Very nice campground! Roads are paved and sites are a nice size. Plenty of room for our 31' with 2 slides. There were some HUGE sites in one area, but unfortunately these had no trees. Staff was very friendly and helpful as were the other campers. Lots of families with kids of all ages. There are 2 pools and a spa and being a holiday weekend, they stayed pretty crowded. Fire rings are provided and wood can be purchased. Please be careful with your fires as we have had lots of brush fires here in Florida and all it takes is one small spark. They offered some planned activities and a pancake breakfast (bring money). We don't normally use the showers, but I walked in once just to check them out - needed cleaning, but again, it was a holiday weekend and they were full. I was surprised they did not have cable, but our antenna worked well enough to pick up a few channels. There is a nice boat ramp and dock to fish from. Just be aware of the love bugs this time of year, they are swarming. For those of you not familiar with love bugs, they don't bite - they just make a mess of your vehicle and rig and are very hard to remove it you don't get them off right away. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$38
This is a wonderful campground with the BEST manager, staff, and owners in Florida. They do everything that is possible to make your stay and pleasant experience. New horseshoe pits, shuffleboard courts, additional laundry facilities, and an addition to the large pavilion are just a few of the recent improvements. The concert series that occurs during January, February, and March is OUTSTANDING! The price of $5. 00 per person provides you with a quality of entertainment that is Branson quality. There are also regular dinners, ice cream socials, bingo, pancake breakfasts, etc. The resident directed church service includes an outstanding minister, resident music, and guest musicians. The attendance will often exceed 200. It is very difficult to rent a space during the snowbird season. The problems with some of the other Florida parks, purchase of other parks for condo development places an unusual pressure on this facility for new guests. If you are fortunate enough to get a space, you will never look for another park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$38
The PO for this campground is actually Arcadia, FL but it is MUCH closer to Port Charlotte. I think the reason there are so few recent reviews for this park is that everyone wants to keep it secret. 2005-6 was our 2nd winter here. It is usually full Dec-March. Many people have been wintering here for several years. Most friendly park I've ever been to, with nearly too many organized activities. Great friendly staff. Highly recommended it if you can get space. We are going back in 2006-7. There are a few rental trailers available. Great for kayakers: right on the Peace River. No park models. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$30
This is one of the last remaining true RV Resorts in the State of Florida. No permanents or park models save two for the staff. One of the friendliest resorts anywhere. The management is TOPs, and maintain a very nice park. It has one major drawback and that is the effluent disposal plant. It is in a poor location and is over worked. Needs replacing. Stores, restaurants, shopping centers, Historic places are all with in a very short distance. However, one needs a conveyance to reach them as they are 5-6 miles away. The River should be better developed for esthetic reasons, after all it is the center piece of the resort, as well as recreational. They have done some things to this end, ie, new boat docks, new fishing docks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2005
$30
Very nice Campground with the best administrator in Florida. Campground is clean, well managed & the activities are great. Drawbacks here is that the dial up Internet runs from the locals off the PBX and consequently is very slow. I signed up for WiFi but it was too far from the antenna to be any good. The park is 5 miles from I-75 and has poor cell coverage and a fair drive to the grocery stores. Also no biking outside park unless you take your bikes via your vehicle. This is a great park for anyone with a boat, kayak or canoe, it was not for us as we like to bike & be near some amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$38
This was our first experience at RVing. Before we signed up at Riverside we looked at close to 100 campgrounds on both the East and West Coast of Florida: and Riverside is by far the best of the bunch for the money. The facilities are spotless, the employees are super friendly and helpful, the Park Manager is extremely accommodating. They have two decent size pools with a hot tub and the usual activities such as horseshoes, shuffleboard, etc. They have courses in astromomy, computers, arts and crafts, and quilting. Has a full time activity director and organized golf outings. This has been a wonderful experience for our first winter. We are looking forward to many more winters at Riverside. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$31
This is an excellent facility that has recently been expanded. It is in a rural area-only 5 miles from I-75. The park has a friendly staff that believe their job is to make your visit a positive experience. Shopping, restaurants, beaches, fishing, spring training are all within a few minutes drive. The traffic is much less than the Ft. Myers or Tampa area. There are only 2 park models in the entire facility. The snow birds arrive at the park in late fall, but the families dominate the facility in the summer. All sites have cement patio, ceramic restrooms, streets with storm sewers, a large pavillion will accommodate over 400 for activites, etc. There are activities for everyone. Examples include shuffleboard, line dancing, quilting, potlucks, live entertainment, water sports, fishing, etc. They have a very low turnover rate of winter guests. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$28
Although this is a nice campground - used to be a Jellystone park - it is in no way a 'resort'. The park is very clean and quiet and the staff very friendly. The sites are open with little landscaping and somewhat close together. Only a few have concrete pads. There are no eating, gas or other establishments nearby with the closest being at the Interstate about 3 to 4 miles. All in all it was a nice few days and we would go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$36
This is one of the finest RV facilities in the United States. It is near I-75, but away from the busy traffic. Beaches, fishing, tourist attractions, restaurants, and shopping are all very close. The park has an active summer and winter activity schedule. (Family in the spring, summer, and fall. Adult activites in the winter) The manager and staff are ALL very friendly and helpful. There is something in the park for EVERYONE. You will arrive as a stranger and depart with many friends! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$30
This is a beautiful well run and friendly RV resort park. It has everything you could want and is peacfully quiet and well cared for. The streets are all paved and the individual lots are grassy with hard stand for the RV. Each has cement patios and utilities in the right locations. It has very active social programs with something going on all the time. The laundry facilities and restroom/showers are immaculate. They have a nice dock on the Peace river with boats and canoes for rent. Fishing is available as is air boat tours close by. Restaurants are with in close proximity, but do require ground transportation to reach. Big plus, this is not a mix of park models and RV's, this is an honest RV Resort. Location is about 4 miles East of Port Charlotte, a very nice small city. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com