223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Dinosaur Trail RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (403) 823-9333
CGID7808

Dinosaur Trail RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   7   7   5   4   8   7   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
We stayed here for the first time about 4 years ago - hated it! But we forgot we'd stayed here (lots of traveling in between... the memory goes!), and booked again. Frankly, I'm glad we did. The upgrades are many - neater sites, the lawns are cut, less arbitrary dirt areas. We're a 40' motorhome with a roof-mounted satellite, so we wanted to be sure there were no trees in the way. We opted for a "tree-free" site, although we were given the option of a back-in with trees. We had lots of space around us, as we were on our own without anyone on either side and a gully to the back of us. We had 50 amp power, water, sewer - although it's a little confusing. Many parks in Drumheller don't seem to have sewer at the individual sites, but this park does. The staff was friendly, the park was neat and clean, and the ground squirrels (if you have a terrier!) are plentiful. If I have any complaints at all, it would have to be the mosquitoes. Make sure you have Off! in abundance, and we found having the Off! lantern on our patio worked well. It actually meant we could sit outside after 6 PM! I'd stay here again. It's a little further out of town than some parks (10 km), but we liked the quiet. And a 10 km drive is nothing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$65
This place is okay and is considered the best place to stay in the Drumheller area. The park is a bit out of Drumheller, but is close to the Tyrell museum. They have sites both in the trees and out in the open. Larger rigs will be stuck in the open. Sites are a good size but quite packed in and privacy is nonexistent. Staff is friendly and quite helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$44
Overpriced and busy! We stayed in a back in 15 amp site. Very close sites together. Showers are not included in the camping fee. 1.00 for 5 minutes. Pool was nice for the kids, and it was warm. Looked like they had some activities for kids, but ours didn't take any activities in. Also very limited cell service. It's OK for an overnight stop, but I don't think we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
WiFi is available but often had to move close to office to connect. Next time would get a site next to the river. Sites not level. Shady sites in main area near the river. Quiet when kids are in school. Can't imagine what it would be like in summer. A bit pricey for what's offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Very nice RV park. Sites are large and level. Very convenient for visiting the Royal Tyrrell Museum and the Canadian Badlands. Rate reflects Passport America rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
This place is just okay and it's the best place to stay in Drumheller, so that should prepare you. First off, you do not book a site based on a map and length of your vehicle, you tell them the length and then they try to pack in as many units as they can. You should be able to park your vehicle in front of your trailer and not be out on the road. All campers know this, but here you can not always do so. So the road is filled with vehicles parked sideways or sticking out and this is not good for anyone trying to move around the grounds. We camped in the trees. If you do not have a reservation in the treed areas, then cancel and book somewhere else. The pool is nice, the kids liked it at least. The staff was very present, always around in their golf carts, so that was nice to see. The kids also enjoyed the playground although it is kind of isolated from the sites. All in all, not worth the money considering what you can get for less elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Of all the RV parks in Drumheller, this is the one to stay at. The other parks are very run down. It is a bit costly but well worth it, at least for us. It is the closest to the Tyrell Museum, which we visited. The park is actually called Dinosaur Trails RV Resort, but I would not call it a resort, just a great park. Interior roads are some paved and some good gravel with very few potholes. Our back in site was very wide so we had no trouble getting the 5th wheel in position. There are no pull-through spots. The lower part where we were is on the Red Deer River. Our area has large shade trees and all the leaves were golden brown and quite beautiful. There are wild rabbits around to add to our dog's fun. Washrooms and showers were clean. I did not use the showers as they charge for their use. I was told that Wi-Fi was strong but they charge $3 per day so no thanks. There was no traffic noise. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Rate is daily rate for 50 amp full hookup back-in site. Roads and sites are gravel with large trees in abundance. Lots of shade but it also means none to very, very limited satellite reception unless in the upper area of the park which was closed when we were there. Wi-Fi is TengoInternet at $3 per day, but it worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Campground (the lower part) has very mature trees, nice grass and was quiet at night. Very close to the museum, go-cart racing, as well as the attractions in Drumheller. Having said that, we had a great time just staying at the campground swimming in the pool and camping. Staff were very nice, and patrolled the campground quite a bit for excess noise. Made it a very family friendly environment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$48
This is a really nice park, just a few miles past the Royal Tyrell Museum and if you're into dinosaurs this is the place for you. We didn't have a reservation and got in on a Friday night, no problems. We were in a new area with no trees but the view of the Badlands was awesome. I would have rated this campground, (resort would be stretching it) higher except for two points. They had a water boil advisory in effect and we never travel with water, gotta save that gas so that wasn't good. The other point is they have a sign on the washroom doors stating they are closed for cleanup from 12:00 till 1:00. When I tried to use them at 09:00 in the morning they were in there cleaning. There is a signoff sheet in the bathroom that indicated what time they actually cleaned them and it was 9:00 in the morning and 7:00 at night that day also we were there two days and I don't think they mopped the floor once. Apart from that the rest of the place was clean and by the way you have to pay a loonie for a 5 minute shower. We like this place and would stay there again in the future even though the price is a bit steep for what you get. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$43
Very nice park, although the grass was looking a little rough as it had been very dry in the area. Lots to do with the river right bedside the park and some nice walking trails. They charge for Wifi (didn't use it cause we have an aircard) Good entrance to the park with nice wide sites, with lots of shade trees (unless your in the new Arizona sites). The staff were friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$15
This Holiday Trails Resort is a terrific campground for adults and families alike. Some of the sites are very open and can get hot in the summer, but there are plenty of treed sites in the main body of the resort. The kids will love this place with the bunnies that they can try and catch. Close to the Red Deer River for canoeing and lazing around on when it get's too hot. Staff was very friendly, the wifi on the outer edges of the resort was hit and miss. Close to Drumheller if you need to hit the stores for anything. A must see is the Royal Tyrrell Museum, a definite must see. The scenery, although stark, is amazing, beautiful sunsets and sunrises. I would highly recommend this to anyone, and have. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
The Dinosaur Trail RV Resort is located out of town but close to Royal Tyrell Museum. Signage to the campgroud is good except when entering the road to the campground office. Office staff friendly but not very efficient or very knowledgeable. Access roads to sites a little narrow and could do with more maintenance. Mixture of established wooded and very open gravel sites. All sites are flat and most have full hook-ups. WiFi worked the first night but then went down and the office staff didn't even know! Very expensive for facilities and ambience provided. Not really a resort more a Canadian campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
This park is west of town on Dinosaur Trail. Don't confuse it with other parks in town (which are less than adequate). The closest part to the Tyrell Museum, 15 minutes to town, treed and grassed sites with full hook-ups and WiFi that works ($3/day). Along the banks of the Red Deer River, great for dog walks, kid friendly too with playground and pool. There are really no down-sides to this park. Even in 35+ degree heat, power worked great and big old trees gave us lots of shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com