214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Ottawa's Poplar Grove Trailer Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (613) 821-2973
CGID7813

Ottawa's Poplar Grove Trailer Park

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   7   3   9   4   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
The family who runs this park is very friendly and helpful. The indoor pool looked clean and well taken care of. It seems to serve as the community pool for lessons and aqua fitness classes. I am guessing that this was a more lively park in its day as there is a now an out-of-service waterslide at the front of the park. This is a park with a lot of potential that could use some renovation/upgrades. As an upshot, it is well situated near Ottawa. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
OK spot. Folks that run it are super though. They took us in after another park with whom we had a reservation, decided to close up early for the winter. A lot to be said for hospitality. Pull through sites are short. Our 30 foot motor home didn't leave room for our car, even disconnected. Also, not the most level sites we've seen. The washrooms, showers are rustic, but well maintained. Wireless internet is solid, and fast, but is $5.00 extra per day. (Not included in the rate quoted above.) Oh, and the park is on one of the approach routes for Ottawa airport. It can be a little loud first thing in the morning, especially the short hop, prop planes. Still, overall, not a bad spot, and handy to the city. We would probably come here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This park has two completely different sections. One lower section has W/E/S and is quite closely packed. Most sites in this section have a front to rear slope, making it difficult to level motorhomes. The upper section has mostly W/E and no services. It is more like state parks or provincial parks with a nice tree cover and a fair distance to other sites for a better privacy. The washrooms are older and could use some renovation, but they are clean. There is an indoor pool, but the room has only a few small windows, and is therefore quite dark. Wi-Fi is 5$ per 24 hours and works quite well. Weekly and monthly rates are available, but I don't remember the price. Especially on weekends there is a lot of smoke from fires, making it difficult for people who don't like to be smoked like fish. In conclusion, a good place to visit Ottawa, but a little investment to bring the sanitary facilities up to modern standards would make it better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Not worth the money. We wondered why such a mature park so close to our Nation's Capital wasn't packed full on Canada Day Weekend but it didn't take long to figure out why. These owners have maybe been in business a bit too long. They have lost the 'passion' that is needed to operate any kind of business that deals with the public. Sites are very small. Pull thru sites are even smaller. Make sure if you are in the 'back in' sites you have a very long sewer hose as the sewer is located near the front of the site or at least was for us. We had to pull out the trailer in order to dump. Very large slide and water slide have been grown over and sit at the front of of the campground as you enter. Wood and ice good value but not much else at the store. Lots of open space and sites for that matter. Could be a great park but would need an investment of time along with a 'customer service minded' general manager. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This is our 'home park'. Only 15 minutes drive from home. We will spend many weekends here. Tennis courts are older. There is a playground for the kids. There are open sites (no trees) available if you want to use satellite: you might want to mention that when checking in or making a reservation. The pool is great, but the hot tub was not working. Not sure if it has ever worked. Water slides outside haven't worked for at least a decade. The first time we visited was about 10 years ago and they didn't work then. Pretty basic park. Very quiet and enjoyable experience. If you don't have a towed vehicle, closest grocery store is a 15 minute walk away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
The previous reviewers are correct: this campground is very worn. The roads are paved, but small. The campsites are very small and unlevel. My 37 ft motorhome barely fit into the campsite. Our towdolly and car had to be parked in the next site. Dish satillite could not be received, due to the trees. Several planes flew overhead during the day, but not at night. The tennis courts had grass growing through the cracked blacktop. The indoor pool was clean and a good size. The office person was very friendly and helpful. Ottawa is a beautiful city and well worth the expense. We camped three nights and enjoyed Ottawa. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
The previous reviewer is right on the mark, I just want to add some more info. The longest pull-through sites are 60 feet long, all sites are at a 90ยบ angle and the roads are not overly wide, so with an over-sized RV you might have a hard time to get in and you might have to unhitch your toad. Almost all sites require front to rear leveling, but this has the advantage of draining well. The campground is on a major road into Ottawa, some road noise is present especially during rush hours, but for most people this would not be disturbing. We are fairly sensitive to road noise and did not find it a problem. Depending on the wind direction planes on their final approach into Ottawa fly overhead, but we did not hear any planes after 11 pm, nor were their any early morning flights. Wi-Fi is $5 per day, less per week or month. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
This is an older campground. Buildings are showing their age, but still are well-kept and clean. Some of the equipment listed for activities are closed due to what appears to be longtime wear and lack of maintenance. Sites are fairly tight, giving some difficulty for bigger rigs to set up in back-in sites. The campground is located on a major road leading into Ottawa, so access to local attractions and sights is easy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$31
This campground is 8 miles south of the Ottawa city limits on Rt.31. The drive into downtown Ottawa is not bad, but parking in the city runs about $10.00 per day. There is also a public bus available. This is an older campground in need of some sprucing up. That said, the campground has level pullthrus with shade, picnic tables and fire rings. There is a large, heated, indoor swimming pool which is very nice. Staff members are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com