221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Sunset Bay State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (541) 888-3778
CGID7823

Sunset Bay State Park

Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   7   9   9   8   10   6   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
Good quiet site with lots of bays in small groups, all with tables and fire rings. Check in was a bit of a hoo-ha but the site was well worth it. Would definitely return. Note the site fee includes entrance to the nearby botanic gardens. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$26
This is a beautiful park along the Pacific Coast. The park has a protected beach with a great sunset view and hiking trails connect it to two other lovely state parks. An enjoyable nine hole golf course is next door. The park is near Coos Bay but feels isolated and peaceful. This was an excellent and relaxing spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
Another great Oregon State Park. This time we picked a spot right up by the entrance and I don't know if this was the low point of the park, but the ground was very, very soggy and mushy, and they hadn't had any rain so it wasn't because of rainfall it was just very mushy, this made for walking around the campsite very muddy and nasty. You are in a dead zone as far as cell service and TV reception. Our stay was very nice, but it wasn't as nice as we had in the past because of the spot we were in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
This is a great park. All trees and nice spaces, but they are a bit narrow for a big rig like mine. The beach is a bit of a walk but it is spectacular. All this place needs is Wi-Fi and it would be a 10. It was a great spot for the end of our trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
We loved it here! The only reason we didn't give it a 10 is because there is NO cell phone service here. The park is run very well by a friendly staff (we especially liked a particular host)! We recommend this park and liked the full hook-up site we were assigned (there's plenty of vegetation between sites for privacy) and would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
With only a couple of faults this is still a real gem. Many of the sites are a tight fit, but at least they try to encourage the use of size appropriate sites so you don't wind up with a class B in a 40' site and a larger unit gets turned away because there is nothing left that it will fit in. We squeezed our 55'LOA selves into a site rated 51' max. Beautiful park, left as natural as possible. Looks like it was laid out in the pre slide out era so sites can be tight, especially for slides on both sides rigs. Picnic tables are disgusting, as they are in many parks. Looks like they have never been cleaned. In the shaded and very damp park the tables are so yucky you don't even want to sit at them. A simple job of going around a few times a season with a pressure washer would do wonders for the tables. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
The drive through town was quite seedy. But, the campground was far enough outside town. Great coastal beauty. Accessible tide pools. Great botanical garden. Maybe 20' between sites, but vegetation create privacy. Friendly staff. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
No 50 amp service, was disappointed but we still stayed. Friendly staff and residents. Planned on staying longer but with no 50 amp we just stayed the one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
I don't remember the exact amount we paid, but it was close to $25. We stayed here in a 40' RV. It was a little tight, but we made it. It is a nice campground & you can walk to the beach. There were tons of blackberries growing when we were there. The gardens at Shore Acres were very pretty. There were still roses in bloom & the Dahlias were spectacular. It was a close drive to Bandon, Coos Bay & Charleston. We didn't get cell, internet, or TV so we did a lot of reading when we weren't out sightseeing. If you're using a GPS, be careful, ours took us off 101 & Across a very narrow, winding road with low hanging trees. Not good with a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
This is a very nice campground, however they had said big rig were not a problem so we picked a site that was one of the largest. The park layout is OK, however the sites are a straight back in, not on a slant, so yes it was difficult to get the 40' 5er into the spot, but we did it. The cell phone reception is very poor. We had to go down to the beach in able to make a call, so our cellular data card didn't work to well either. We couldn't pick up any TV and there would be no way to get your dish sighted in. The trees here are very tall and a lot of them. There are no sites that are not always shaded. The other thing that really bothered me is they only a few sites with sewer, but they don't have a dump station for the camp, AT ALL..? Other than those things it's a beautiful camp about 1000' from the beach, nice paved walking/biking trails, up the road is a beautiful botanical garden that is part of the state parks so your entrance fee is your campground parking tag. All in all not a bad spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Another favorite park of mine to go to. We always get one of the first three spots on the right as you come in because there you can get cell service and HD TV. If you are only spending one night, this is kind of a drive back in there on windy roads, but for three or four days its worth it. Great Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
This park is beautiful! We only stayed one night but will be sure to stay for at least a week in the future. Very clean throughout the park. Bathrooms were nice and the landscaping makes you feel like you're in the rain forest. Just beautiful. Blackberries growing all over so we picked a bunch and made a fresh blackberry cobbler! Would highly recommend this park to everyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This is a beautiful park located right on Sunset Bay with great hiking and tide pools just a walk away. We stayed in site b03 and was secluded with lots of greenery and bushes between sites. No TV reception and due to trees no satellite signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
This is a great family friendly park. The roads are very narrow, we had trouble getting our 31' travel trailer into our site in the "D" loop. We travel with 3 dogs who love to swim in the water so we had to drive to another beach for this purpose. We camped here the end of July and never did see the sunshine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
2d visit to this park. Pads are blacktop. No cable or TV or Wi-Fi. Some motorhomes had satellite antennas up so may be satellite TV. No cell phone signal. Walk to golf-nice course in valley to the east. Walk to beach and very nice beach park. $24/night for full serviced site. Recommend this park We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
Great campground. It would be a '10' if it had Wi-Fi and cable TV. Watching the sunset which gives it its name is a glorious experience. We'll definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
We did not actually stay at the campground. We tried to but could not. When I called while in route I was told there were many spaces available that would hold our 40 foot motorhome. We were 30 minutes out. When we got there, the lady said there was one spot we could get into, it was 40 foot and to drive the motorhome to it and park and come back. We drove in and there was no way we could even try to back it into the spot. Besides, there was another RV already in the spot. The road was too small to hold "big rig" rv's as the state ad said in the Woodall's directory. This campground was listed as one of those that was for "Big Rigs". So, from what we could tell, don't try this park if you are a large rv. In fact a guy at the window behind me said he had a hard time getting his 34 foot trailer in a 38 foot site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
First of all this park should have been listed under the city of 'Charleston' rather than Coos Bay as it is closer. If you are looking for parks in this area take a look under Charleston to get a better idea of what is available. As with all the Oregon State Parks we have visited this park is well kept and clean. The park lays in a gully and is heavily forested. During the winter months the campground only receives about 1 hour give or take of direct sunlight making the park cold dark and a little claustrophobic feeling. We saw several sites that would accommodate rigs up to around 38' with a toad but over that you are pushing your luck. The nearby hiking trails along the coastal cliffs are a must to see and absolutely beautiful. For the same money we will stay at nearby Bastendorf County Park next time which is identical in appearance but has many more sites that can accommodate larger (up to 40') rigs with ease and has a little less cover and more sunlight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$23
This is a beautiful and friendly campground but not really suitable for 40 foot motorhome unless you are very lucky. We had reservations and tried two different sites that were technically long enough, but because of the slopes and very tight roads and sites, we had to leave. Would not have had room for our toad. Moved to Oceanside RV, an older park on the beach about a mile away and were quite happy. Enjoyed the beach and hiking here though. Botanical Garden is lovely. Wish we could have stayed here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Sunset Bay is amazing but we were disappointed with the actual campsite. On the first night there a group of rowdies arrived and kept us awake. The host just across the road seemed oblivious! Does anyone know what these Hosts do? All they did when we were there was sell firewood and they were not very friendly, and wouldn't even make eye contact. The beach is an easy 5 minute walk under the highway, safe yes, but sometimes flooded! The beach is awesome with tide pools to explore and you can take your dog (on leash) on the beach. Ranger will ticket you if the dog is not on leash as some guy found out! The Rangers need to be more active with trouble makers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Sites are very shaded, cool and always damp even if there is no rain. It is very close to the ocean, about a 5 minute walk and wheel chair accessible. It is a great beach for exploring after the tide has gone out. Dogs are allowed on the beach on leash, watch out the rangers will ticket if you have your dog off leash! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$21
We stayed here for 6 nights due to the beauty of the park and the whole area. The workampers are so friendly there. There are lots of trails to walk the dogs which have great views of the ocean. Don't miss Simpson Reef with so many seals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
A spectacular setting. Sunset Bay itself is spectacular and there's great hiking and wildlife viewing nearby as well has some spectacular gardens. Most sites are very well shaded. Nearby trails along the rocky coast are amazingly beautiful and a joy to us and our dogs. Although the camp is across the highway from the sea, there's a pedestrian tunnel under the highway making it safe for kids and pets. Some sites are tough to get into with a trailer, and the booking website will let you know which ones might be tough. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$16
A very nice state park, very clean all around. The RV spaces are very limited if your rig is over 35 feet though. Space D31 fit our 34 footer plus truck, but little room to spare and this was one of the largest spaces there. Easy hike to the beach, very quiet and pristine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
We had a great time at Sunset Bay. Our kids had a wonderful time collecting shells and exploring the tide pools which are just a short walk from the campground. If you stay between Thanksgiving and New Years, be sure to see the lights at nearby Sunset Bay Botanical Gardens. The display is absolutely amazing and the admission is free with your paid camp site. The campground is heavily wooded so there is little sunlight in the winter, even on sunny days. The park is very clean and the camp hosts were great. The showers adjacent to the yurts are newer and quite nice with individual locking doors. Worth the short walk from the main camp if you wish to shower. All facilities were immaculate. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
This is the one for kids! With a sheltered bay, small camp loops, a FANTASTIC interpretive program with a center and evening programs, included free admission to Shore Acres and Cape Arago, this is a hidden gem in the world class Oregon Parks system. Sunset Bay attracts the best volunteers, and the Interpretive and other Rangers are top flight. Because the park is very much loved, the sites tend to be "hogged out" by summers end, so don't expect manicured grass - expect no grass. But do expect clean everything, friendly people, and if you have any kind of right attitude, you WILL leave smiling. I prefer the perimeter spots, but even a center tent spot is passable with a self contained RV. The only real challenge to Sunset Bay if you are unlucky and don't get a full hook site - you have to travel several miles up the road to a county site to empty your tanks. It's easier to get into Sunset Bay weekdays - and you can easily spend a week just taking in all this park has to offer. This year Labor Day was bad for Sunset Bay, with a death and more than one serious fall, and yet staff handled things with amazing professionalism under challenging circumstances. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
This is a beautiful state park. Only a short walk to the ocean, and plenty of things to see to keep you busy for at least a week. Including crabbing in nearby Charleston. Only a few sites for big rigs. Lots of trees, limited TV reception and no cell phone reception. But beautiful campsite. Reservations are a must. Especially on weekends. We had to move to another site for Friday and Saturday as ours was booked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
The location is actually about 12 miles south of Coos Bay town. A nice little camp site and the location was a short stroll along a path to the beach and day-use area. A little out of the way if you want to enjoy the Oregon Dunes. If the pad was a little bigger so that we wouldn't be in mud (it had rained before we arrived), and the fire-pit was surrounded by mud. Lots of trees and bushes so lots of shade which is great if it's hot but in the cooler days there's little sunlight to warm you up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com