221782 User submitted reviews online!!
Williamsburg, Outdoor World was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (757) 566-3021
CGID7857

Williamsburg, Outdoor World

Camp Information
Sites
149
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   9   6   7   6   8   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$1
Rate is TT membership. Convenient to I-64. Campground hasn't changed in years, except getting more run down. Sites need gravel, they are pretty much just dirt, no grass between sites. Roads are narrow, bumpy and challenging to navigate with tow car. Lots of trees, so forget satellite. Cable is available for $3.25/day. Facilities just look dated and worn. Staff friendly and helpful, ample touristy brochures available for your stay in Williamsburg. Both indoor and outdoor pools, indoor spa, laundry and game room. Lots of seasonals both in campsites and cabins. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$1
Stayed here as part of Thousand Trails membership we got with the RV. Very hilly location and most of the sites not level. We stayed over labor day and arrived at noon on Friday and ended up with a very narrow space with three tree stumps that were always in the way. Our space was near the office and on top of the hill next to two permanent trailers. The other sites we were told were available were not adequate for our 38 foot RV due to the slope of the hill. Pool was nice but cable and WiFi are extra. The store was opened on request and no set hours. Close to Williamsburg but there are others in the area. Would not stay here again...and not renewing our Thousand Trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$3
We just spent 2 weeks at this park, which included Labor Day weekend. I was pleasantly surprised that the staff and campers were all very nice, happy and helpful. I watched the staff work very hard to keep things nice and clean, to ask people to follow the rules, and work hard to be helpful to everyone. The park is a short drive to a public library, 2 grocery stores, other shopping, parks and tourist attractions. I am very glad we stayed at this campground and would absolutely return. I rated this park a 9 because, as do most RV parks, there are things that need repair. The putt putt golf equipment and course are in very bad shape and the whole place could just use a face lift. Rate reflects Thousand Trails membership. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$65
This is a fractional ownership park. It is associated with Thousand Trails. I made the reservation through ReserveAmerica and thought it was a state park, my mistake. There are lots of people, kids, dogs etc. They have lots of organized activities too. So if this is your thing, this might be your park. For what we got (full hookups) I felt the nightly rate was really high. We camped in the quiet section and it was, although a long way from the pool or other facilities, even the trash container. There are lots of park models here too. The reason we came here is because we wanted to be close to Williamsburg so we could spend the day there, as it turned out Williamsburg is about 15 miles away. I would not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
This was a good campground for the money - our daily rate was based on our RPI membership. The park was busy on the weekend prior to Halloween, with many cars sitting close to the internal roads - which were paved and very narrow. Sites were dirt, spacing fairly tight and many were not level, as previously noted. We were happy when the friendly office staff urged us to select a site we liked when we arrived, and we found one (B43) that didn't even require our jacks. A combination must be entered to open the entry gate, which we liked. The 50-amp electrical was strong, but water pressure was a bit low at 30 psi. Each site also had sewer, a BBQ stand and a fire pit. There was some distant noise from highway 64, but not bothersome at our location in the middle of the park. We were not able to check out the restrooms, showers or laundry room due to our short stay and busy schedule. A grocery store was located within 2.5 miles, and a Walmart Supercenter at 5 miles. Access to Old Williamsburg, Yorktown and Jamestown was very good from the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$1
The rate reflects membership in Thousand Trails. Overall, the park is okay. It is older and you can tell it is past it's prime. The location is good with easy access to the Interstate. We camped here in a 42 ft fifth wheel. We came in late, but were able to find a site that could accommodate our length. However, the majority of sites are not level. The bathroom condition varies from building to building. The staff was friendly and helpful to us. The outdoor pool was closed for the season, but the indoor pool was open. My kids swam for a short while and liked it, but I was not thrilled with it. They did have a 9 hole putt putt course and to my surprise it was in good condition and fun. We would stay here again if returning for a short trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
Rate is with Thousand Trails. Overall -- This is the nicest Outdoor World Park we have seen yet. Staff was very helpful and many of the seasonal campers do a great deal to keep the park nice -- they were putting up a haunted house while we were there. Park location: -- Close to the "Historic Triangle". -- Some noise from the highway but not excessive due to all the trees. Sites: -- many were not level but only required the leveling jacks). -- utilities required long cords/hoses on some sites. -- Hard to get satellite reception as it is very woodsy. Amenities: -- Mostly paved roads - narrow but passable for our large Class A. -- Restrooms very clean and good water pressure for showers. -- Nice indoor pool and hot tub. -- Nice mini-Golf area as well as shuffleboard and horseshoes. -- Huge rec area and adult lounge. We will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
Pros first. this is a very nice camp ground. It has a huge rec center with lots of activity's as well as miniature golf, tennis, shuffle board, horse shoes etc. they have planned activities like bingo and djs and much more. Its very woodsy and shaded and the pool area is one of the best I have seen, 2 pools one inside and one outside a kiddie pool and a hot tub. They have a arcade and a store that they will open for you any time during office hours. Its gated with one way in and one way out. Its very shady and pretty with lots of trees and ground moss and its far enough away from the road to keep the noise down. They have a little fishing pond as well. It was very easy to find. The staff is very friendly. each camp site has a BBQ stand and a fire ring. Ours fire ring was missing and they promptly brought us one. Cons- The park is very hilly so be prepared to get creative when parking. The most level spots are at the top of the by the clubhouse.When you arrive you have to go find your own spot and then go back and tell them where you parked. When you pull in you go through the gate but the office is smack dab in the middle of the park so you have to drive quite a distance to get to it and follow the hard to see arrows and signs to get there as well as go past all the campers so if your unit is big I strongly recommend you either pull over in the road after the gate and disconnect to drive to the office or just be prepared for a tight drive through the park. There is no grass here its all dirt because of all the trees. when it rains it gets very dirty. If your at the bottom of the hill look out. We stayed in A43 which kept us away from the busy hustle and bustle of the clubhouse area and was still fairly level. But we did get a lot of traffic. Also if your just a zone member be prepared to be hit up to upgrade your membership to elite by the camp host. But it was no big deal. He was very nice about it and did not push. We stayed 5 weeks and if we ever get back this way we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$1
I think the other reviews pretty accurately describe the campground - it's an older campground that's fairly tight for big rigs (we're just under 59' long bumper to bumper when hitched up). We're here over spring break (lots of MD and VA schools are off- heck, it's why we're here!). The arriving process was a little weird in that you dialed the registration desk and said that you were checking in. She said she would open the gate but didn't give us any directions (e.g., drive forward until you see a small sign for the registration desk). The woman at the front desk was a little scattered, saying that it was especially busy because of spring break. I asked for recommendations for us since we were a big rig and she said we wouldn't like the sites, that they were wooded and pull-throughs but were pretty close to the entrance and highway. She said since it's first come first served, that we could camp there for a night and explore the campground, or drop the camper off and drive around. We're still getting our RV legs about us and hitching/unhitching is still a fair "to do" for us, but I'm really glad that we decided to drop the camper and drive around in just the truck. Back in the back (away from the road noise) we definitely would have been in trouble making some of the maneuvers hitched up! We ended up in their "A" set of campsites on the 4th road in. We *do* hear the highway all of the time but inside the camper it's not enough to keep us awake or anything. The site is just only a little longer than our fifth wheel is, but fairly wide. We've been parking the truck along side of the camper. The hookups for us are pretty centrally located on the site and convenient for water, sewer, and electric. The water pressure is pretty low - seems to run about 30 PSI based on my gauge. I'm using AT&T for phone and Internet (I work from the camper) and it's been sufficient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$1
Nice folks and well-kept campground. Lots of trees, so satellite is iffy, but over-the-air channels are adequate. Not much grass because of the trees. A little noisy from I-64, but site selection can minimize or eliminate this issue. Good 4G coverage from Verizon Wireless. Not a nice place to be during heavy rain due to poorly managed runoff, but campground drains quickly when the rain stops. Very dark at night, and flashlights are definitely necessary when walking after dark. We'll repeat, but only when the forecast is for clear weather. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
Rate for TTN. A campground not far from I-64 exit 231A but traffic noise not an issue. The campground is well located for access to the Historic Triangle, Jamestown, Yorktown & Williamsburg. Be sure to drive the Colonial Parkway which connects the three Historic towns. We rate this campground a little lower because we experienced flooding while here, during several severe storms. What was not obvious when we set up became obvious in heavy rain, and we had four days where it rained buckets, not constantly, but lots of rain quick. Our site B42, plus B41& B43, were in the main stream for run-off and more than once we had 2-3 inches of rainwater coursing through our sites covering everything on the ground. Once the rain stopped it didn't take long for the water to drain away. Staff here was very helpful and friendly, and they kept the amenities in good repair. We lost power our 2nd night, but the maintenance crew had it restored in less than an hour. The crew came around to make sure everyone had power back. The campground is very tight, and the roads narrow. From the entrance gate one must follow the little white arrows down the road to the office for check-in. There is little room to drive a big rig, or longer rig, through the maze of narrow roads. We were sent out, fifth wheel in tow, to find a site that suited our needs. No staff golf cart was offered to look for a spot to set up. This is a family oriented campground and is conveniently located. The 4th of July weekend was crazy here, but it was fun. The campground was packed and busy, but everything went smoothly. The outdoor and indoor pools and spa were spotless. The laundry room was clean and has four sets of machines. Some of the campground buildings are in need of maintenance/repair, and the roads need work. Mature trees line the roads and sites so you need to chose wisely. This was a fairly pleasant experience, in spite of wet feet, and we will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
Very wooded campground, maintenance trimmed an overhead tree so our rooftop dish worked most of the time. Roads are narrow and twisty but we had no trouble carefully maneuvering. The entrance is gated so you have to use an intercom to gain entrance the first time and follow arrows quite a distance to the interior office. You leave your RV parked in the road so you can walk (or drive a toad if you have a MH) through the place to find a site. Office advised us not to drive larger RVs around looking for a site. No golf cart to use to do this. If you want WiFi it's an additional charge. Sprint cell phone and internet access worked OK. Our site was level and large, whole CG has lots and lots of trees so very little grass grows. Only 2 washing machines and 2 dryers. Fair amount of road noise from I-64. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
This is a VERY good campground, I didn't give it a 10 only because some of the sites are difficult to get level in. It has beautiful trees, the grounds are kept very nice - we've been here 6 nights and would love to stay longer - very peaceful place - but must get on down the road! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
We chose this thanks to Passport America rate offered (19.50 +3 +tax), and were quite happy. Visited with our family of 9 on a 12 month US tour (ourBigtrip.us) and really liked the trees! I wouldn't recommend coming in after dark, the trees are right at the road edge, and maneuvering is tight. The inside pool was open, and very clean as was the spa, the showers and RR were spotless and hot water was appreciated. We'd visit again, and appreciated the kind staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
We were pleasantly surprised with this campground. On first sight, we thought it seemed a bit outdated and cramped. Once we settled in and spent time there, we found out what a beautiful park it was. Our site was gravel and level. We had plenty of room on our site. The neighbors were friendly but quiet. The manager is top notch. Everything is nicely maintained. The location is excellent for sight seeing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
This was the first and will be the last time we stay. As far as the activities at night (they had a DJ) that was nice. But with all 1000 Trail Campgrounds you pick your own site, after you drive around looking. That would be nice if you had a towed vehicle or golfcart (we don't). So my wife and daughter drove down a few hours before I left northern VA to get a site. My wife was given a hard time because our RV wasn't there at the time of her arrival. They finally did allow her to do this, after a indepth discussion and threats to go to the local KOA to camp. The site was very shaded and close to the office and pool. The hook ups were on the opposite end of our motorhome: front verses the back. If we were to turn the motorhome around, they would have been on the wrong side and our fire pit and picnic table would have been on the wrong side. The road getting to the site was pretty tight but not too bad (for me anyway). We did have a noisy neighbor (blasting their music from the open doors on their truck.) The staff drove past them several times but didn't say anything until someone said something to the office. The 1000 Trail campground system of finding your own site is ok, if you are retired and can show up to the campgrounds on either Wednesdays or Thursdays before the normal weekenders show up. So for us, the normal weekenders, it doesn't work. Would we stay there again? No. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$1
We joined Thousand Trails this past summer, and Outdoor World is part of our contract. We drove over to see this campground shortly after joining TT, and at first we were not impressed. At first glance the sites seemed tight and uneven. The campground is obviously an older one, built before today's "big rigs". We decided to give it a try while visiting Colonial Williamsburg, and I have to admit, we were pleasantly surprised once we were set up. You get to pick your own site, and then tell the office staff where you are. There were several level sites that were long enough to choose from. The staff was super friendly right from the beginning. Cell service (AT&T) was excellent, and Wi-Fi was available for $5/day or $15/week. Since it was a Halloween Weekend, there were a lot of activities planned. All common areas were neat and clean. Our only complaints are: water pressure drops on occasion, and the location of some of the trees in/near campsites can make maneuvering tricky. We were very happy, and will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$1
We are Thousand Trails members so it was "free" for us to stay here. This is a very old park with very narrow streets and mostly uneven, small sites. There are more tall trees here than we have seen in one place in years. Don't come here expecting to use your satellite TV. You might find a site with a view of the southern sky, but don't count on it. They do have Wi-Fi at $15.00 per week. The staff was as friendly and helpful as any place we have ever stayed. This is a family campground and there are lots of things to keep kids entertained while they are here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
This is a membership campground, however they will let you "try it" a time or two w/o becoming members. The campground was clean, hook-ups good, roads nicely paved, however narrow, I had a difficult time on some of the curves (36' 5er). Shaded, most of the sites are pretty level. This is an older campground, the sites appear to be not planned out real well. We were told to pick out a site and let them know where we were. We did find a nice end plot. A majority of the sites are permanent "cabins". There was a little highway noise, a few sirens but pretty quiet overall. We would come back if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$1
Very nice campground just off I-64 and Route 30 with good entry roads. Sites are fairly level side to side, but many on hilly terrain. Hookups are easily accessible - most sites are full hookup. I chose a handicapped site across from the office/store/pool and was very pleased. Indoor pool was fabulous, the spa very relaxing, showers/bathrooms spotless, laundry clean and well cared for ($1.25 wash/$1.25 40 min. dry), member lounge was clean, nice and good library. Game room with lots of pool tables and working games, mini golf well cared for. A little road noise from I-65 and Route 30, but, no train noise as with other area campgrounds. You could hear the train whistle in the distance if you were listening for it. A Wal-Mart supercenter a few miles away, and several Food Lion grocery stores. Most eateries/attractions along Route 60 and within an easy drive. Very nice stay, friendly and helpful personnel. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com