223482 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Solano County Park Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (530) 795-2990
CGID7858

Lake Solano County Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   8   9   8   8   1   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
I arrived a few days before the holiday weekend and there were only a handful of sites occupied. The neighbor a few sites down said it had been pretty empty for a few days. So why were the bathrooms dirty? Dead bugs, leaves, and dirt on the shower floor. Thank goodness I have a bathroom in my rig. The park filled up for the holiday weekend and apparently they do not have restrictions for the number of people on a site. The site next to me had 3 large tents and a travel trailer. The site next to them - part of the group - had 4 tents and no travel trailer. Security knew because they cited them twice for loud noise. The park does have full time peacock residents that are beautiful. I had to get work done on the RV and Camping World is about half hour away. Great store/service. The park location is good for visiting San Francisco and Point Reyes National Park. Wish I had more time exploring San Francisco - a great place to explore on foot. I would stay here again if nothing else available but would spend extra time looking for something else first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
The infrastructure is older and because it is county run, a lot of deferred maintenance. Roads are narrow, and you must be careful with trees as you drive. There are only a couple of sites with sewer and the dump stations are in the middle of the park (which for us meant driving around the park again to get to them). But it is a pretty setting, lake is nice. We rented a canoe and had a good time. Winters is also a nice dining town (supposedly 1/3 of UC Davis employees make up residents). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
A fine campground adjacent to Putah Creek. We stayed riverfront which carries a "premium" campsite fee of $10...and worth it. An easy creekside hiking (the "Shoreline Trail) trail about 1/2 mile long. About 1/3 of the sites have electric and water. Additionally, a few of those have sewer hook-up. Nice spot. Rustic campground and fits well with the surroundings. We would and will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$19
Rate reflects a senior discount for a site with electric and water. Charming, quiet, treed, rustic park with friendly greeters (peacocks) and helpful camp host. Some spots could be difficult to get into for a bigger rig, but we were able to find a perfect one for our 32' fifth wheel which was an easy back in. We only needed an overnight stop, but would have loved to stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Great park to visit. My family along with a family we brought along with us stayed here and had a great time. We came in two vehicles in addition to my travel trailer. They limit each sight to 10 people and we were right at the limit with the two families. They charge $10.00/night per additional vehicle and the first pet is included in the original per night charge. $1.00/night per additional pet. They have two sites for the public that have water sewer and electric. Reservations can only be made by phone, it is best to call on a Saturday as if you call during the week you will probably get voice mail and they will return your call when they can. I played telephone tag with them just a bit. There is no online reservation at all. It is called Lake Solano but there really isn't a lake at the campground, it is right next tothe Putah creek. Beautiful place with wild Turkey's & Peacock having free roam of the park. They advertise big rig access but it may be a bit tight in some spaces. I have a 31' model pulling with a SUV and anything more and I don't think I would have been able to park in my sight, in fact I had to go against the signs of traffic direction to get out of my space. I don't know if they would have had heartache if they would have seen but that's what I had to do. I would highly recommend this campground and I will visit it again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
We had two family's on one site. Friends camped with us in our travel trailer which sleeps 9, we had 10 all together. Thankfully we were able to sleep some little people doubled up on one of the lower bunks. The park states limits at 8 campers per site but the ranger said the limit is 10 max so we made out. Very friendly staff but limited due to budget cuts. You cannot make reservations via computer, they must be made by phone and you will probably play telephone tag just a bit as you must leave a message and they will return your call. Best to call on Saturday, when we arrived in town and called they answered right away. The park is beautiful! If you are expecting a polished and manicured campground, then you may be disappointed. It is clean and well maintained, we didn't use the park facilities as we would prefer to use our own. There are only two sites available to the public that have full hookups with water, sewer and electric, #34 and #56. There are other spaces that have water and electric only, and of course spaces that have nothing. I look forward to coming to this park again, we had a great time with our friends and the kids had a blast! Wild turkey, and peacock have free roam of the place. Big rig access in the lower area can be tight. We had to go against the marked traffic direction to get our 34' (tongue to bumper) TT out, pulled with a relatively short wheelbase sport utility vehicle. It is doable, with some care. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$29
It is a great place for a short trip in the winter months. Summer here can be hot and crowded the bees are bad in summer as well. There is lake fishing and boating nearby you can fish the river but they have seasonal rules. It is nice for riding bikes and walking and they have a seasonal nature center. The price is right and the people are friendly and they don't bother you unless you are very loud. The gate locks at 8pm so plan accordingly you can park a car outside the gate if you forget. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
We have been here a few times, and each time this location gets worse! The grounds are not kept up, the grass isn't watered, and due to county budget cuts, there are no "park rangers" at the facility. The restrooms leave a lot to be desired. I will NOT return to Lake Solano. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This county park is really nice except that budget cuts are playing a negative role here. Too many sites don't allow a 11-12 foot high RV to access them because of over hanging branches that normally would easily allow it to set up. What a shame. One guy working a few hours per week could fix this problem. Guess it's just part of the not-my-job culture as lots of workers are doing other things at this park and in my opinion could fix the problem in two days. I will not go back to this wonderful place until I can be assured that over hanging branches and limbs won't damage my roof a/c's and satellite dish. On the plus side, the setting is terrific, the sites are mostly spacious, the young lady at the front gate was very accommodating, the Peacocks were entertaining and the Summer weather was wonderful (warm during the day and perfect for sleeping.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
This is a nice park located only a few miles from Lake Berryessa with plenty to keep you busy. Putah Creek is known nationwide for its outstanding trout fishing. Whether summer or winter, this is a fun and relaxing place to be. There are a few bike trails that run along the creek with plenty of wildlife to view. The first morning camping, we stepped out of our trailer to find 40 wild turkey walking right by our spot. There are also about a dozen free roaming peacocks that make their rounds through the park and seem to be very used to people. There are plenty of nice big bathrooms throughout the park with free showers also. Each site has its own picnic table, fire pit, and very spacious area. Sites 30-67 are located on the bottom side of the park with a wooded atmosphere and are located very close to the water. However, if you are pulling over a 35 ft trailer, it may be a little tight in most of the spots. We have a 35 ft 5th wheel and only found a few sites in this area that we could get into. Also, expect to pay $10 more a night for sites located right on the water since they are considered Premium but in my opinion are worth it. Sites 1-29 and 68-90 are located in the upper portion of the park with a background of rolling hills and the sites set in the middle of a clean cut park with many beautiful maple trees. There is a “Day Use” area across the street that also belongs to the park that offers plenty of water sports in the summer time. However during the winter months, all that is available is bike trails and picnicking…still fun. The only downfall about the park is the Rangers close the gates at dusk and reopen them at dawn. There are 2 camp hosts that are permanent residents that will be available to let you out if needed. Just plan ahead and it shouldn’t be an issue. Overall we were very pleased with the park and look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
This is a pretty park on the Putah River, just east of Winters and about 10 miles north of Vacaville and just south of Lake Berryessa. Their phone is 530-795-2990. Sites are spacious with plenty of walnut trees and shade, grass, and free-roaming peacocks. Picnic tables and grills at each site. Very peaceful and quiet, especially during the week. Free hot showers. No WiFi and weak cell phone reception. Dark at night (which we like). Fishing on the river a few feet away. No sewers, but two dump stations. Note -- they lock the gate at 6 or 6:30, so plan ahead. We enjoyed the setting so much we stayed a few extra days just to unwind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com