220250 User submitted reviews online!!
River Ranch RV Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (863) 692-1116
CGID790

River Ranch RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
367
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   9   10   1   6   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$56
The listed daily rate was for a special rate of stay 5 days and get two days free. This is a very nice park with lots of activities on site; although, some are only on weekends. We had a site on the canal, and one day rented a pontoon boat from the marina. A two hour rental was $110. The biggest draw back to this park is it's location. It is a long way from everything, so be sure to stock up with everything you need before you get here. There is a store on site with some staples, but for any more than a day or two you will need to pack it in with you. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$65
We haven't been here in over 20 years and are wondering why, since it's close to home. It is a wonderful place: exceptionally clean. Most sites are shaded, all have a concrete slab for the RV, and a patio or deck area. Ours had a swing, and we backed up to woods. There is plenty to do including a rodeo ($15.00/$8.00) and petting zoo/pony ride (free/$5.00). There is even a church on site (casual dress). There is plenty of space to ride bikes and take walks. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$85
We had a beautiful site right on the river, with a dock behind the site. My kids loved that they could go right outside and fish by themselves. There was so much to do at this park that we did not let ourselves have any downtime. We wanted to make the most of our weekend. Some activities could be a little pricey but others were free or reasonably priced. We took the kids to the petting zoo where they spent plenty of time with the animals and feeding them. They played basketball on the courts and rode their bikes all around the campground, though we were there on a busy weekend - Classic Car show - so we needed to stay close together. The Car Show was a nice bonus and we enjoyed walking around and looking at all the cars. The kids also did some archery and watched people do skeet shooting (my kids were too young for that). We went to the Rodeo Saturday night, which was reasonably priced as well and was extremely entertaining. This place is the ultimate campground for a family. If you have a lot of time, you could really take advantage of all there is to do there. I feel like we got a good sampling in and we will definitely be back to enjoy the stuff we just simply ran out of time for. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$68
This is a wonderful dude ranch RV park that has many activities on the weekends. Horseback riding was $35 for an hour, the air boat ride was $25, there is a rodeo every Saturday night for $15 and a saloon with a live band Saturday night that was fantastic and played music from the 60's through today. We also rented two 6 passenger golf carts for $65 a day and there is a restaurant available Fri-Sun morning and a pizza/deli general store open 7 days a week. There are pools, a marina with pontoon boat rentals, free petting zoo, hay rides, etc.. We had 5 RV sites in phase 5 which is on the canal and comes with your own fishing dock that has a swing and built in seating. The only thing is be careful of the bugs. I was bit by red ants and friend was stung by a wasp. Spray yourself before going out and you should be fine. The landscaping and grounds were maintained perfectly. There were 15 of us for my husband's birthday and we will all go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
Once again, River Ranch meets and exceed our expectations. Our site in Phase III was magnificent. Plenty of space and plenty of shade. Picnic tables and fire pits (yep two sets one on each side of the motor home.) The activities were endless. Skeet shooting, golf, air boat ride, a round of golf, the rodeo. Didn't want it to end. On Sunday evening, when most everyone was gone, we drove the golf cart to the airport. Along the way were a few horses in the pasture. We stopped as they came to us and we petted them. It renewed our faith that life is good and gets one back to basics and away from the everyday hustle and bustle. We will come again and more often if we can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2011
$90
Very disappointing spent spring break there in 2011. If you plan on going during the week forget about any activities or rent anything. They close up during the week. The management is rude. Never go there again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$75
This is a beautiful campground. I was very impressed when we first pulled in. We stayed on the river and had a nice view. However, there is absolutely nothing to do. Staff was not helpful in assisting us to find activities. Most things were closed during the week. If you wanted to take advantage of some of the on site activities you had to make reservations at least 24 hrs. ahead. The campground is so remote that the owners and staff should have something going all week. I was so bored I ended up going to Wal-Mart 3 times and it was 30 miles away. When I asked about Disney discount tickets the staff told me they knew nothing helpful. Very annoying was the fact that the landscape crew worked all around us for 3-4 days and the constant noise of the leaf blowers, tractors and chainsaws really got on my nerves. I have to admit they keep it really clean, but enough already. I would like to relax since I couldn't find anything else to do. Overall, a nice clean park. Just need to come up with weekly activities. If you need something to eat while you are here, I recommend the Sizzlin' Grill on Hwy 27 in Lake Wales. Good food and reasonable prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$60
Wow! What beautiful sites. The best manicured park I have ever been in. We had our grandchildren with us, and the swamp buggy ride was neat, but a bit high priced at $25.00, and $15.00 for the kids. The rodeo was wonderful, and the petting zoo was a big hit. The staff was great. Great sites with wonderful decks. Made my 25' travel trailer look smaller than it already is. Great place, we will come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$60
Overall camping at this resort was wonderful. We camped with small children and they loved the Petting Farm and Pony Rides. The Swamp Buggy ride was also a big hit, as was the rodeo. The rodeo seemed to have fewer entries than in the past but still very entertaining. We stayed on site 357 which is a premium site with beautiful shade trees,a large deck, fire pit, and 3 swings. The picture on the website shows a wooden table with 6 patio chairs around it; however, there were no chairs to be found and we were not able to enjoy eating outside. Also, this site is NOT designed for large fifth wheels like ours, it is for motorhomes so we had a very hard time backing into and exiting the site due to trees. Neighbors on nearby sites said they had never seen a fifth wheel on the site before. We love the campground and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
It has been over 8 years since we stayed at this fantastic campground and what a pleasant surprise we experienced. The grounds have been manicured, and all of the buildings were upgraded. The Rodeo was better than ever, and the folks we ran into were very friendly. The security guard on his golf cart was not only friendly, but extremely helpful and watchful. We'll be coming back here again and again as the activities from boating, horseback riding, skeet shooting and so much more are so much fun for everyone in our family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$60
Large ownership campground 30 miles in both directions from any store or gas station so be alert to where you are if you stay here. Adjacent activities all at fee. Several different areas range from standard to premium. Standard area has small plain sites, limited if any vegetation, many park models/permanent residents in trailers, Confederate flags, and resident decorations on their lots. Going upscale gives larger lots and more vegetation, some with built-in outdoor decks with huge trees and palms. Best spots are most expensive and on the "river". Arrive and look over the spots first to see what suits your preference. Sites on river are a 10, sites in standard section are a 4. Facilities are modern, 2 pools although a bit small for number of lots. Wi-Fi only in the clubhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$55
A very nice and interesting park to stay at. Many things to do in the park. Not too close to a town, so one has to drive a few miles to go to restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$75
We visited for the first time during Memorial Day Weekend and stayed at site 262. Check-in was very organized and a golf cart drove me to/from my rig at check-in. Driver drove us to our site, even offered to help guide us in. Site was clean, huge concrete pad, wooden bench swings, fire pit and a table. Wonderful shade trees. Pool was clean. Used access cards for the pool and bathroom. Resort owners seemed overjoyed to have campers on the weekend and were very friendly. Security drove around all day and very friendly. Golf carts for rent or you can bring your own but you need insurance. Very nice amenities and plenty of things to do. The resort website explains it best. Would definitely go back!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$57
The park was very clean. We stayed in site 390. It was big and very nice had fire pit and swings. There is a lot to do there or just chill out. Camped there with two teenage kids. Good bike riding and golf on site. We are planning to go back soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
Very nice campground. Beautiful sites, very spacious, very well taken care of. We were in site 383 (the best site in my opinion). Although you do have to pay for any activities that you want to do, just staying around the campground is plenty of fun. Nice pools, good bike riding, fishing, boating, and much more. One of my favorite campgrounds! We camped with 2 young children and a dog. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$89
Was actually disappointed. Not a place for a pop-up. When we arrived the site we picked online (full shade) was not available because the owner showed up. The site we were given was full sun from 11am until 5pm. The stores, saloon, etc. were only open on weekends. A little pricey for the site, and activities were a little pricey (horse back riding was $35+ tax for 45min - a lot for 5 ppl) but they do offer a free petting zoo.Bathrooms in front of phase 4 were very clean, but the womens room at the bathroom in the back of phase 4 had a constant unpleasant "odor" Overall very clean & neat, no trails, nature/hiking etc. We stayed in phase 4, but phase 3 is definitely nicer. Very nice place if you feel like doing nothing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
We stayed in here the month of march. We stayed in phase 3 and it was great! This is a must see resort. Lots to do here for activities and a great place for families. I will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$55
Pretty clean park. All activities are pay to participate. Rodeo, Miniature Golf etc. Worth the trip. Have camped here numerous times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$80
There are several sections to this park with Phase 3 being the most desirable. We were unable to secure a phase 3 site and were placed in phase 2. This was our first visit and we found ourselves comparing River Ranch to Disney's Fort Wilderness. We all agreed that Fort Wilderness wins hands down. Had we been in phase 3, we might have changed our view of this resort. The bottom line is that $80 per night can be described with one word: unreasonable! The only way we would come back is if the rates were much less or we were guaranteed a spot in phase 3. In spite of the price, this is a nice park with some nice amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$75
This is our 3rd time going to River Ranch in four months. Excellent as always. We got the last spot, at the last minute and it was tight for our 40 FT motorhome which is unusual for this park. There is so much to do and everything is immaculate. It is an excellent resort experience with a little cowboy flare with the Sat. night rodeo. Plus since they have accommodations, friends can come along and rent a villa or hotel room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$65
Beautiful, incredibly meticulously maintained RV park. This is however not a campsite type place. Lots and lots of activities from the Rodeo every Sat. night to airboat rides, swamp buggy, boat rentals, very small video arcade, country store with pizza, sandwiches, hot dogs, a Smokehouse BBQ Grill restaurant, Saloon (Bar w/ some dancing), hayrides, petting zoo, country western wear store, Kiddie Crafts, and so on. Several pools and bath houses. Everyone brings, or rents Golf carts to get around as the place is so large. Rentals are $60 for 1 day or $50 a day for multi-days. The RV sites are all paved and many have wood patios, swings and fire pits etc. There is also a marina and canal front sites with docks. These are all owner lots and many of them are rented out. There is no where close to go. Once you are there, that is your destination. Probably 10-15 miles to Wal Mart and five miles to the closest gas station with convenience store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$50
This place is amazing! So much to do and the lots are the best I have ever seen! We stayed in phase 3 under the Oak trees, the views are awesome! Sites are very large and have stuff like lights, fire pits and seating. We rented direct from an owner. I would highly recommend this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$80
If your on vacation and looking for a "Disney" style RV resort, look no further that River Ranch. It was a bit too pretentious for my taste but once you get over the fakeness, it was actually quite enjoyable. We stayed on a site on the canal. Each site has its own dock which is wonderful. There isn't any shade on these sites so I would probably avoid them during the summer months. We biked through the other sites (phase 3) and this is probably my favorite. Heavily shaded with beautiful old oak trees. Some lots even had hot tubs. Just gorgeous. River Ranch has the tourist attractions from their idea of a rodeo to a "hay ride" through the park. This resort is located in the middle of the state with nothing nearby so come prepared. We will probably give River Ranch another try but there are many other resorts which are calling first. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$70
Little pricey, but the best campground/resort camping we have ever been to. Great stuff to do, especially for the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$80
Great resort !! Lots of activities. Air boat and swamp buggy rides, fishing, boating, shooting, airport, restaurants, stores, tennis, swimming, hot tub, meeting rooms, rodeo, and the huge annual street rod show the last weekend each January. We stayed in phase 3 which has very mature Oak trees with Spannish Moss hanging. Most of the sites have wooden decks with fire pits. all my fellow campers were wonderful and we enjoyed them as well as the seasonals. The clubhouse is magnificient. Security is perfect as well as the maintenance. The office staff was courteous and efficient. We also stayed here last year for the Veteran's Day weekend. All my impressions were highly favorable and my rating for this resort is 98/100. If there were no barking dogs during both of my visits, my rating would be 100/100. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$45
1st clas resort, Great for horse lovers, Miles of trails. Saloon and rodeo are fun. Fishing, mud buggy, golf, airport, skeet shooting are all on resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$50
Beautiful park. Lots of family activities:rodeo,airboats, swamp buggies, horseback riding. Went with 4 other families who all enjoyed themselves. Our second visit and plan to return. Only drawback- some tight sites w/ double slides due to trees. Prefer phase 3 but a few of the privately owned sites need some TLC, but most are lovely w/ swings, multiple decks and built in fire rings. A+ facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$40
This is an absolutely outstanding campground on a true resort with a hotel and time-share cabins, but the campground is basically separate because it was previously sold out to individual site owners (many of whom rent to the public). The closest city is 25 miles away, but the resort, which bills itself as the world's largest dude ranch, has pretty much everything, including an air strip, general store, clothing store, put-put course, corny hay ride (with really bad singing), skeet shooting, real petting zoo, pony rides, horseback riding, pontoon boats with river access, swamp buggy rides, and more. Be prepared to pay extra for everything. Our biggest gripe was that there was no playset for the kids (ours are 2, 4, and 6 but had a ball anyway) and everything was so spread out that you had to pay the $50/day for the golf cart rental. The staff was nice enough, although we could have done without the security guard (a retiree with a "Security" sign on his golf card) knocking on our camper at 10:00 p.m. to tell us to move our golf cart off of the grass on the side of our campsite. We stayed in #235 on Stallion Lane, which was typical of the "Phase 2" section with nice size spaces, wooden decks, a swing, etc., plus an orange tree dripping with nice fruit. However, if you can make reservations in advance, you absolutely must ask for a "Phase 3" space on Gator Alley, Bobcat Lane, or Possum Path because those sites will absolutly blow your mind. They are huge with amazing decks and yard spaces, but also a canopy of amazing oak trees that is as beautiful as anyplace I have ever seen. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$35
Great RV sites, very large and clean. Most have wood decks, swings and fire pits. Two nice pools with hot tubs, tennis court, marina with a restaurant, Saturday night saloon and rodeo. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$35
Condo campground with all concrete sites. Saturday night rodeo, marina, golf, tennis, skeet, airfield, saloon, restaurants, private docks on canal sites. Most sites have decks some with swings, fire pits, etc. First Class Operation. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com