214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (704) 588-2600
CGID7906

Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   6   7   8   3   3   7   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2012
$45
There is nothing "resort" about this campground. Mostly inhabited by rundown RVs. Our neighbor uses his grill for a trash can. The sites are not well kept. Very noisy as it is close to the airport. Price high for time of year. Would be good for families that use theme park. Check-in office is great and people friendly. Rate lower for call in vs. higher for online reservations. Would stay here only as last resort. It is convenient to downtown area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$63
This park is very expensive for what you get. To spend $63 a night is ridiculous. I can possibly agree with this rate when Carowinds Theme Park is open, but it is not open during the week any longer; last week was the last weekday openings. Rate should be lowered when the park closes for the weekday season. There is only a small pool for amenities which houses 1 of the 2 bathhouses. The only other bathhouse is in the tent section. There are no bathhouses in the other 3 sections. Campground is a mud hole and the few areas that have grass, are uncut so walking a dog is very limited. Their rules state a two week limit on stays, but there are obviously some long term stays which are rather trashy. There is no cable TV or Wi-Fi. I will only stay here if I decide to come back for the Carowinds Theme park, because this park gives me no other reason to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$59
The campground is located next door to Carrowinds and has a shuttle leaving on the hour or the 1/2 hour. The pool has two lifeguards, is clean but closes early at 7pm. They have a nice store, and the staff are friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our breaker and they fixed the issue. The pull through sites are large, and easy to maneuver. There were many shade trees but they didn't seem to be an issue driving the RV. My only complaint which seems to be an issue in many campgrounds are the bathhouses. They were not clean and usually there was a wait to use a shower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$60
Make no mistake, this is a run-down RV campground, not an RV Resort. At $60.00 a night we were staggered by how overpriced it was. Then again, we didn't use any of the facilities except the shower and we never went to the amusement park. If we had a bunch of kids with us and took advantage of the shuttle to the park, then maybe. Plan to be on dirt, under trees, surrounded by ants, on a fairly level pull-through site. The whole place seemed past it's prime to us. We stayed here for the weekend because we were tired of driving and this place was easy to find. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$60
We live just an hour away and decided to get season passes and camp. Over all I really like this campground. The location is great, right off the Hwy and close to stores. The pull through sites are good and actually the back in sites looked pretty good as well. Somewhat close but I have seen much worse. The people were super nice and this is definitely family friendly!! The pool is small and only stayed open till 7. The shuttle ran every 30 minutes, doesn't fit many but they do have two and will come back and get you if you don't all fit. Lots of shade spots and great for tents/pop ups. The bathrooms were clean at the beginning of the week, although showers could use some bleach. Being a holiday weekend, come Sunday night they needed some attention and TP!!! Love that we could go back and forth from Carowinds to campground to eat and get out of the heat. You can bring your golf cart if you have one. We really enjoyed our weekend and had lots of fun! We will definitely be back!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
Reading other reviews the writers are on target although we question the water issue noted. We have filters on the MH so that might have been the difference. Park is very old with only the power in one area brought up to 50-amp the apparent improvement. Roads are in disrepair and many sites become very muddy when it rains. Many trees have dead branches you must park under. Most RV sites have limited to no grass except for one where the person apparently was there awhile and even had flowers planted. Office staff was a mix of happy / friendly to grumpy depending upon the person. Would return for the convenience but the price reflects a “resort” and this is an old, stepchild park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
Stay here to attend Carowinds Amusement Park. Very out dated, they must have used their budget on all the cool rides. Grass not cut, water is nasty: not for human consumption. My two Pugs refused to drink it also. There is no cable TV so bring your satellite dish. The front desk lady had a Yankee Attitude. For the price, the only thing this park has going for it was proximity to Carowinds. There was a shuttle bus with a friendly driver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$65
Nice park for the scenery and quietness. It was a bit overpriced for what you get but you're still camping on Carowinds property. Staff was quite friendly. Bathhouse left you feeling dirty after you finished your shower. For a campground that advertises all the money they spent getting it up-to-date, they sure forgot to do something with the bathhouse. We'd camp here again but only to attend Carowinds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$45
We camped here for opening weekend of Carowinds. The best thing about the campground is the location. A shuttle (with friendly drivers) runs to the main gate frequently. Unfortunately the sites were small and very close. The grounds were sloppy looking (uncut grass) But the location would make us willing to return. Friendly staff. Bad thunderstorms with tornado warnings on our second night and the security went from camper to camper letting us know there was a shelter set up in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$36
Stayed here during the off season. You can't make the turn into, or out of the pull through sites without driving through grass/mud. Interior roads are narrow and need some TLC. We didn't come in off I-77, so we didn't have any signage about where to turn, so it took some exploring to find the entrance to this RV park. Okay for our purpose, but wouldn't go out of my way to stay here. Staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
The main thing that this campground has going for it is that it is on the Carowinds property. It's definitely not worth $60. Even the $40 off-peak rate is too high for what you get.The grounds are not particularly well-maintained and the campsites are not level. We suffered an ant infestation which we carried with us for the rest of the trip. I realize that there aren't many choices in the Charlotte area, but I would not recommend this one. There is a KOA in nearby Fort Mill SC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$53
Staff was very friendly. All facilities were extra clean. A little pricey, but, the shuttle is free to Carowinds. Regular parking at the park is $10.00 each day. So, that offsets the camping rate. The lodge has the best discount tickets available for Carowinds. Children under 48" tall are required to have on a life vests in the pool. This is negotiable after talking to the life guard. Pull thru sites are lacking grass, but all other sites have grass. Very nice campground. We will return to Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort. Call ahead for directions, the campground direction signs are missing near the end. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$69
We stayed at campground so I could take family to carowinds on season pass. For $69.99, the roads need to be repaired, there are a lot of pothole, and mud coming through. There is a tram that rums every thirty minutes to the park. If you have any disability, I recommend you drive yourself. I was about 25 feet from the tram and was told to run, i told the driver that it ain't gonna happen because I have had back surgery. When I got about 10 to 15 feet from the door, he shut it, and drove off. This happened on July 4, 09. I will not renew season pass or stay at a campground that has no respect for handicap people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$59
We stayed here for three nights to allow the kids to Carowinds (Amusement Park). Park provided shuttle service to and from the park free of charge, pool, miniature golf and a very nice lodge. Facility does not have cable TV. Many restaurants and stores close to CG. This place is good for a max. three night stay. Carowinds can be covered in two days. One day for the rides and one day for the water park. More then that and there really is nothing else to do. Staff was extremely friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$59
This is conveniently located to the park and lots of things to do! the grounds are terrible, the grass is not cut, the roads have pot holes and mud holes. the staff was great! The kids have to wear life jackets in the pool; not sure about this? They do have putt putt but it needs to be redone. The price for what you get I think is a little high. They just need to clean up and make sure they are giving you $50.00 worth. I would check the KOA up the street! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$57
The staff here was great. They were very friendly and knowledgeable. Shuttle to Carowinds entrance runs every thirty minutes from thirty prior opening and thirty after closing. My wife and children left the park after dark and the driver made sure they got to our site instead of just dropping them off at the shuttle site. There was good wireless internet access at our site which was site 91. I saw one wireless antennae on the roof of the Trading Post and two at the dump station each pointing a different direction. There was one more that I saw in the center of the Maple section. There may have been more but I didn't see them. The Trading Post "Lodge" area was very nice. The store area had staples and a few extras. There was a nicely updated small play ground, shuffle board and putt putt area. There is a nice pool (closed during our stay, out of season). The only con was that it is in the flight path of the Charlotte airport and you can hear the jets early and late but we have a sound machine so it was not an issue for us. We will definitely stay here again especially thanks to the staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
I would highly recommend this campground as good value and easy access off the highway. For good Internet stay in the sites behind the office ( Site 88-89 ). We could only see one central bathroom so if you are camping with someone like we were that had a tent trailer choose your sites around the office. Thy also have camping cabins. This is next to a major amusement park but was quiet on the Tuesday evening we stayed here. Might get noisy on the W/E. Just as nice as many KOA sites at half the price. It is Big Rig Friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Very good campground, stayed at site 90 for 5 days and had to deal with a red-clay muddy mess for 3 of those due to T.S Fay since the grass was gone from this site, but it understandable due to the drought in this area of the country and we made the best of it. Wi-Fi was great, didn't have to leave camper to access the internet. We had to change our plans twice due to T.S Fay and Staff is very accommodating to our changes and very friendly. They have a security patrol that comes through about every hour or two. I would suggest that the park lower their rates since the park was closed during the week and only open on weekends before they finally close for the year. I will return to this park in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$49
Great place to stay when visiting Carowinds. They sell park tickets at the 3-day advanced internet price, which worked well for our last minute decision to visit the park. Shuttle was nice also and staff was quite friendly. Electricity was strong enough to run A/C and water heater on shore power. The sites closer to the lodge are quieter as there is some sort of factory near the sites away from the lodge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$49
Campground entrance was a little hard to find but once we found it, access was pretty easy. Checkin staff was great and had us checked in and heading to our site quickly. We were in the older part of the campground, site 78, but it was easy to get into and was level side to side but extremely unlevel back to front. Site was spacious and close to the pool (very nice), playground (our 5 year old loved it) and the mini-golf course (free). The tram to Carowinds was also very convenient and ran promptly on the half hour as advertised. Just an FYI to families. I wouldn't recommend Carowinds theme park on a Saturday if you have children. Sunday seemed to be a much better time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
This campground has the best staff ever. Not only are they very friendly and helpful, but you can tell they are proud of the campground and love working there. The entrance is a little hard to find so pay attention to signs. You will pull in right next to the big wooden roller coaster at the back of the park, but it's very easy to get into once you are there. The shuttle to Carowinds is great. It runs right on the half hour as they say, and the drivers are always so helpful. We visit this campground often as we are season pass holders for Cedar Fair Parks. We have actually even stayed here when we were in the Charlotte area for a show or to go shopping for the weekend. We really enjoy this campground; it is one of our favorites. It does not have cable or park wide Wi-Fi but it is very clean, has a great pool, playground, and free putt putt. We will return many times over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$40
This CG is next door to Carowinds, which makes it super convenient to the amusement park and only 14 miles from the Charlotte downtown area if you're taking the kids to Discovery Place (kids interactive museum downtown). This appears to be the best place to stay in Charlotte proper. The trolley from the CG to Carowinds will save time and parking $$. Access from I-77 to Carowinds (Exit 90) is easy. Just follow the signs. The Cracker Barrel between exit 90 and the CG has RV parking as well. There is a "Blooms" Grocery Store on the other side of the interstate. CG is older and most of the "original" sites directly behind the check in lodge are not very level (Sites 75, 76, 85, etc.) so if you have a motorhome over 35', go to the new section on the left as you come in. We chose site 189 and it was flat and long enough for the motorhome and toad parked end to end. Roads and sites are paved. Sites in my section was not crammed together. Staff was super friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Too cold to try the pool but it appeared clean. Kids enjoyed the playground. Didn't have a need for the shower facilities or restroom. Camp store has some basic groceries. No cable but picked up 5 local channels. Overall, it's a nice CG and a safe place to stay for a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$39
Camp Wilderness is a really clean and well ran campground . Easy access to I-77 just south of Charlotte . All sites are paved and wide . They also have a shuttle bus to take to back and forth to the theme park that runs every 30 minutes . A great campground for family's with young children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com