214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Brookside Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (518) 678-9729
CGID7913

Brookside Campground

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   5   7   8   9   6   1   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Pricy for what's provided even with PA, but much cleaner than others nearby. Spent most of the time in nearby towns as there's a lot to see in the area. We were in a pull through and never had anyone next to us in four days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Great place for the kids. Clean friendly family campground. All weekend long they had games and activities scheduled for the kids. Most activities had no additional charges. Bathrooms were clean and the park was immaculate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
I called to reserve a site and was given a "Deluxe pull-through." The basic price was $40, but with COA discount we paid $36 which we feel was about $16 too much. The scruffy trailer on the adjacent site was connected to "our" electric box so we had to go back and ask and they said to unplug it. The electric installations are old and dirty, with long grass round them, and the doors don't shut. The restrooms, although technically clean, are old and shabby with very few tiles left on the walls. I was going to do the laundry, but the only washing machine was very dirty on top so I chose not to use it. Also the roads are too narrow and not well maintained. We noticed that there are good playground facilities for children. The place is tidy enough, and the pool looked nice, but it falls a long way short of what I would expect for the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
A great spot to stop and see the area from especially with the Passport rate of $20.00 for full hookups (back-in site). Water pressure was good (50 psi) and good electric. Wi-Fi was also good. The owners are slowly starting to try and fix the park up. We would stop here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
First the rate: They take Passport America so I got a $20 rate for the weekdays. I paid the full $40 rate for the weed end. Owners live on site so the check-in was great. I got in very late and there is a phone that automatically dials to the owners house. They showed up at the store in 2 minutes. Weekdays it was nice to fish in the brook and relax in the pool. They step up things with kids activities on the weekend. Hopper Horses were a hoot. No cost for most of the activities and kids get prizes and stuff. Family owned campgrounds are the way to go. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Was here a few years ago. New owners have done a great job fixing up the park. One thing I love about this place is that you can feel very comfortable. The owners are very friendly and always available to recommend attractions in the area. Bathrooms and showers are clean. Their new store is a great improvement. Many more items. The mountain views are spectacular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
This "campground" is someone's private residence.. so the owners and their children are constantly outside fixing things up. There was a great pirate ship/play-fort, but it was filled with bees when we were there. They were trying to put in new grass and fix the showers (the men's showers had no roof?) and they seemed to be "pay" showers, although the end one worked without coins. There was a small playground and in the very back, a pretty stream ran along the tent campsites. Internet service worked great. There was a small arcade with a few video games. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
We are currently visiting Brookside Campground: what a dump. It has to be among the top 10 worst campgrounds we have ever stopped at. There's the muddy, rutty road, farm equipment littering the facility, many old, decrepit campers. The Office/Store is such a mess we were very nervous about entering the door: almost tripped over trash just finding the office. We reserved a pull-through: it was occupied, but when the owner said he would move the rig, it was impossible for us to even get into that site because of the big trees. We ended up in a pull-up site: the electrical/sewer hookups are on the wrong side, so you have to pull in, and back out when you leave. Have never before seen such a set-up, and we've traveled all over the country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This place will do in a pinch, but don't plan on a vacation here. As others commented, we experienced a party-oriented crowd but we only planned on one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
Passport America park (good for 2 nights only) so we paid half price for full hookups (30amp). Not a fancy place. Most sites are "pull-in" (back out when you leave). Seems like someone with a nice big yard decided to put camp sites on it to make some extra money. The office is part of their home. Sites are grass with rough interior roads being gravel. Big-rigs can get easy but should stop when you first pull into park and walk to the office to check in, as there's not any great places to turn around. Although park is 10-12 miles off I-87, it's an easy drive. We would stay here again for a quick overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
Sorry for the length, but I gotta VENT! Just got back from a weekend trip to Brookside Campground in Catskill, NY. We went there because it was close-by (within 50 miles), I had to be back home by noon today, and the other couple that was going with us was using their brand new TT for the first time - so this was a "shake-down" for them. We should have known that the weekend was going downhill when we arrived and were told that the sites that we had requested and paid for "together" were separated by 4 or 5 "cabin" rental trailers kept on-site year-round. So much for camping "together" and helping with the break-in trip. The music started about 8:00 p.m. on Friday, and only got LOUDER at 11:00 p.m., which allegedly was "quiet hour". About 4 or 5 large groups all tent camping, playing "music" from their vibrating base-stereo's most of the night. Since we were about in the middle of the CG, we got it from all sides. The music stayed obnoxiously loud until almost 4:00 a.m. When daylight came, people just wandered through our sites to go wherever they wanted; and worse, at our friends site, while they were inside the TT one evening, a woman stopped and "borrowed" their picnic table as a place to breast-feed her baby! When we asked about it, at the CG office, we were told that "It's a Holiday Weekend, so it's always like this!" Evidently the owners are only interested in packing in as many people as they can, with no regard to maintaining any degree of civility. The tent-campers came and went all hours of all days (7 miles to 24-hour Wal-Mart to "restock".) There were about a dozen nice sites (seasonal?) along the main CG entrance road, but these sites were covered with the road-dust from the people speeding in and out at all hours. To the point that people camped along this main road were putting piles of firewood in the roadway to create barriers to slow motorists down!. Saturday night a 2:30 a.m. power failure shut much of the music down, but it resumed once the power came back on at 3:30 a.m. Sunday night's midnight thunderstorm did little to slow things down. The shake-down went well, and we were OUT OF THERE, NEVER EVER TO RETURN by 9:00 this morning! Just HAD to vent! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com