220713 User submitted reviews online!!
Indiana State Fair Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (317) 927-7510
CGID7920

Indiana State Fair Campground

Camp Information
Sites
170
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   7   8   6   10   9   7   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
The location to downtown is excellent. The campground area that was open when we arrived was on the edge of the large parking lot that required the you back the rig over a curb and up against the fence. The sites were all sloping forward and even with blocks under our front jacks we could not get level. Also the sites are very narrow, but given the number of campers they allow each to take two sites. There was another campground area that looked nice, level and shaded, but it was gated off while we were there. The fair grounds are great to walk or ride bikes around, and there looks to be activities going on most weekends. They had a National Fly Ball competition and model train show going on so we went to both. Unless I had a reason to be close to downtown I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Rate was for FMCA Rally. Fairgrounds are near downtown Indianapolis and in the older, poorer part of town, but plenty of security during our stay. Sites varied from fairly nice to not anywhere near being level. Plenty of room for rally. Great venue buildings. For those not with a rally, instructions on the electric boxes to call the security number to pay for your site. Garbage barrels right in front of MH and picked up daily. Would stay again even without being part of a group. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Grassy but solid sites. Verizon 4g was exceptional. I was here with FMCA rally so price is just a guess. They had over 1800 rvs here for the rally. Only had 30 amp power but full hookup. Water pressure was extreme -- blew the end off one of my hoses. Pressure reducers at the faucet are a must. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
We actually did not have a nightly rate since we were here for the FMCA rally. Our site was perfectly level, but many were not. Downtown location. Lots of security. Plenty of room for rally. Great venue buildings. Enjoyed 50 amp full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
We stayed as part of a large Rally and had a grass site with no hookups. Based on what we saw during our 8 nights here, I am not sure that we would stay here if we were not part of a group. One of our friends was rear ended at the entrance and it took an hour and a half for a cop to show up after they called for one. It is not a very good area at all so we would be inclined to stay elsewhere and drive in. Sites varied from fairly nice to not anywhere near being level. Batwing TV reception was very good and Verizon connected at 4G. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
As previous reviewer said, sites 300-310 are the best. When you get into the fairgrounds stop and call the security number. They will assist you to a campsite. Mary suggested site 304 which was much better than where most of the campers park. Level sites. May be a bit unnerving when you hear the first acorn drop on your roof. 90# water pressure and best electric power we've seen in 8 years of travel. Was able to set up satellite TV on tripod behind rig. Strong 3G Verizon Wi-Fi. Garbage barrels right by a nearby tree. Picked up daily. Although across town, it only took a few minutes on 32nd Avenue to reach the speedway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Located in the middle of Indianapolis, it provides a great location as a home base while visiting this great city. We parked along 42nd street on the north side of the fairgrounds under several large oak trees (spots 300-310)are in the shade. There are lots of activities at the fairgrounds, so there are always a number of people around, and 24 hr. security offer great peace of mind while in the campground. We stayed there for a week during the later part of May. Price quoted includes all taxes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
We wanted a central location to visit family. This site certainly qualifies, as it provides easy access to downtown area and the Broadripple neighborhood. This is a no frills, parking lot type camp area and if not for its location, could not command the rate. Security is 24-hour accompanied by all-night lighting and perimeter fencing. We felt very safe and appreciated our proximity to everything the city had to offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
The entrance is through the main gate on 38th St. Just East of Meridian St. Once on the fairgrounds take the first left. The parking spots are basic with all the necessary stuff. Lots of night security lights. The 170 count is for those occasions when they really cram them in. Questionably if there is enough room for much in the way of slide outs. Fortunately this is rarely the case. So there is usually adequate room between units. As mentioned the campground is central to everything. The sites on the South end are deeper and more level. Up at the North end the sites are shorter with a drop off. Mostly gravel with few trees for shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
A great park for seeing the local sights. Centrally located and pretty quiet for being right in the middle of a major city. Camping area brightly lit with security lights at night. You park and call security to pay. We enjoyed walking around the huge campgrounds, watching kids at the Mini Indy race course and harness racing horse exercise. Many events at fairground. A real bargain for such a central location. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
We love it here. Big rig easy in, easy out. If you care about such things, you may want to find out what is going on while you're there. Parking lots can get full and noisy during the weekends. The only down side is you never know what gate is going to be open, so getting in and out of the fairgrounds can be tricky. We'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Located near the center of Indianapolis, this campground offers easy access to all sites in this capitol city. While others may have mentioned the neighborhood which surrounds the area, you must remember that you are in an urban city. Security is always around, and during the time of our stay, there were many activities. Just behind the fence is the popular jogging, walking, biking Monon Trail. We stayed for two weeks visiting friends. The sites are grass and gravel, all offer 50/30/25, water and most have sewer. We shall return next time in Indy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
The front desk was friendly on the phone. Bathrooms and showers were clean. The sites are so cramped in we had to park our truck across the other side of our fifth wheel; we couldn't even put our awning out. Our area was messy with debris around it; fire ring full of cigarette butts, etc.; we asked the office to come clean up. At one time a camper caught on fire and left the site full of burnt trees. The front desk put us in this site even though there were many to choose from. Not caring for the trees bothered me the entire stay. We were stuck here for 1 week unfortunately. I couldn't wait to leave. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
The Indiana State Fairgrounds is a HUGE establishment. There is something interesting going on there almost every weekend. I don't know what all this "unsafe" talk is about. The fence is around the whole fairgrounds, not just the RV section. I stayed here for a week in a motorhome and felt perfectly safe. Granted, the RV Park section doesn't have any other amenities than a bathroom and showers but the place is clean and has 50 amps at every site. You can park on either gravel or grass. You can park in shade or out in the open. It's only 4 miles from downtown. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2007
$30
The high fence indicates that you should keep all doors locked, that is if you've survived the drive through the neighborhood to get to the fairgrounds. A very rough part of town. This is not a campground but more like a cross between Katrina and a prison. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Most sites were not too level, some were grass, the rest gravel. The view is of parking lots and buildings. Ok for a short stop but we wouldn't want to stay for any length of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
The high security fence is there for good reason. NOT a safe park - NOT a safe part of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com