220250 User submitted reviews online!!
E.G. Simmons Regional Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (813) 671-7655
CGID793

E.G. Simmons Regional Park

Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   8   8   5   9   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
The rate reflects a senior discount; the regular rate is $24 per night. The park is very nice and large. For the most part, everything was clean and seemed to be well kept. Some of the fire pits did have trash in them. The park has two camping areas, designated East and West. The East area is larger and has somewhat larger sites; this is the area that we chose. The gate attendant let us drive through and pick a site before paying; that was nice. Most of the sites are very large, but there is essentially no vegetation to provide visual separation. Even though it was a holiday weekend the park was less than half full. Most of the campers seemed to be locals, so it seems that this park has not been discovered yet. It was fairly quiet, but there were some large groups, not near us, that certainly looked like they had the potential to be noisy. Since it is on the water, the no-see-ums were very apparent. Each site has water and 30 amp service, which seemed to be solid. The sites are grass and not particularly well defined. Our Verizon phone and data worked well. Satellite was not a problem since there are only a few trees. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
Nice no frills county park with spacious sites. Some back to the water so you can easily launch a kayak from your site. Several TV stations over the air. My Verizon MiFi and Sprint phone worked well here. A couple leveling blocks were required. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
We loved this park and campground. Nice paved roads, spacious campsites, and friendly rangers that keep things under controlled. Lot of places to fish, miles of roads to walk, nice picnic areas, and immaculate bathhouses. Since it's on the water (which is wonderful) don't forget your bug spray. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
The park was great. Large lots. We stayed on the east, or older section. We chose a back in site on the canal, but could not enjoy because of the "nosee'ems". No fault of the park. We were able to see some Manatee's there which were pretty neat. We would have no problem staying there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
This park only gets an 8 because of other parks we have been to. If you are over 55 you get the 18 rate. This park has a dump station that is easy in easy out. The sites are huge, walking is great and it is a very quiet park. Perfect for some down time. Easy to travel to the Manatee Viewing Center, Lipizzaner Stallion winter quarters, Ringling Museum in Sarasota and Siesta Key. Loved our stay here and would go again especially if I had a MIFI for internet. Have to have my email! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
Nice large fairly level sites. For the most part grassy. Many sites along channel leading to Tampa Bay. Good Sprint service and local TV. Very clean. Close to lots of attractions, yet in the country. Not at all crowded. Only reason this gets a low rating are the bugs. Big bugs, swarming bugs, itty bitty biting bugs. Mosquitoes and no-see-ums left me covered with welts and miserable. Only way to see campground or beach was to go in car with windows up or very fast on a bike. Spent most of the time in the trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
This is a very nice campground outside of Tampa/St. Pete. Large, deep sites, some shady on grass (sandy where grass has died). New well kept restrooms/showers including a large private room handicap accessible room. The only drawback is no-see-ums. It was breezy so they weren't much of a problem but it is probably buggy in the rainy season due to the mangrove brush. Some sites waterfront on canals leading to bay. Great for fishing - nice boatramps. Lots of parking. Several playgrounds and small beach. A very cordial young man at the office let us select site before paying. Fee is $24/$18 for over 55. There are 2 camp areas. Water was hot enough on the east side - don't know what someone meant in a previous post. First come basis so this was a good choice for us since all the other state parks (that take reservations) in the area were full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
Nice park. Sites are not created equal, and this park fills up on the weekends. Suggest you get there early and pick your site. Manatee viewing is just 20 minutes away, and this park is very convenient to Tampa. Staff was very courteous, and we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$18
This a beautiful park located in the country on Tampa Bay. Sites are all level grass, but roads are paved and it is easy to get large rigs in and out. All sites back up to the river which leads to the bay. Some of the sites are easy to launch canoes or kayaks from and boat camping is also available. Shower houses are new or recently remodeled. The showers are hotter in the west campground than the east side. There is a beach area with picnic area and all sites have tables and fire rings. Great park. Rate reflex senior discount, so regular rate is $20 per night. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
Very friendly. Very clean. Great layout. 1/2 hr drive to observe manatees. County park system has many other top quality parks. Close to stores and restaurants and laundromats. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
Supper size County park on Tampa Bay. Roads are good asphalt. Sites are all gravel & sand mixed and have a table, fire ring, 30 amps with water. Most are close to level but pick your site with care as numbers are very short and only good for tents or popups. Lots of room from side to side with large trees on small number of sites. Fishing from your site or you can go over to the super size fishing lot and use the two boat ramps. Park has new shower/bathrooms, screen room for large groups, two fishing docks in RV side, and playground for the kids. Gates are locked from 8:00 pm to 6:00 am. Picnic tables all over the park with parking space. Dump station was set up in correct way. No noise or overhead lights here. DTV will pick up numbers of channels over the air. Verizon cell phone was to the top. Lots of places outside park to shop or eat out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$12
Everything was fine here except the burrs and pine spurs all over the property. They were extremely sharp and got stuck in the dog's paws. We found that only walking the dogs on the pavement was an improvement, but not a cure-all. Human bare feet were also a no-no. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$12
Nice quiet park with a beach on Tampa Bay. Lots of tent campers. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$12
Very pleasant county park in Mangrove swamp and fronting on Tampa Bay. Popular with fishermen and small boaters. Slide your canoe or kayak right into the water from your site. Sites are back in grassy. Small beach area on the bay. Piers for fishing. No-see-ums can be a pain in warm weather. Raccoons everywhere but they didn't bother anyone but the bird feeders. $10 for 55+ We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com