223541 User submitted reviews online!!
Dr. Edmund A. Babler Memorial State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (636) 458-3813
CGID7947

Dr. Edmund A. Babler Memorial State Park

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   10   7   8   8   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$21
One of the best campgrounds for hundreds of miles around. We explored St. Louis from it but it does take a while to get to the city from the campground. Hosting staff are very helpful and the rangers are relaxed. Nature presentations are given on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$21
This is a great state park! Location couldn't be better, just southwest of Chesterfield. I stayed here two nights while traveling my sales territory. Nicely paved roads throughout the park. Sites are mostly level with concrete pads and patios. Most sites are shaded, but if you prefer there are several sites with no shade at all. Wi-Fi drops off pretty quickly the further you get away from the check-in booth. I used the hotspot on my iPhone and had full LTE service. Bathroom and shower facilities were clean and conveniently located from any site. I ranked this park a 9 out of 10 only because there's no water hook-ups. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$21
Rate reflects 30 amp service. It is also $8.50 to use the Missouri State Park reservation system. If you walk-in, you don’t have to pay reservation fee, but around Memorial Day weekend, that was not an option for me. I left a message with the reservation system, looking for Fri-Mon on a Memorial Day weekend and was VERY pleasantly surprised to get a call back the day before. I got site #2, which was the first one on the left, and despite being at the entry point, it was relatively quiet because there was no one on my right side and I had a huge grassy space there. There was no water hookup, but a convenient spigot right across the road. They sell 10 lb bags of ice for $2 and firewood for $4 at the check-in, which is centrally located with the restrooms and showers. Dump station is easy access behind restrooms, with a potable water spigot there too. As someone has said before, concrete pads are level, WiFi was excellent (you have to “Agree” to abide by rules when you logon—no biggy). I caution and reiterate an earlier review—be VERY careful upon making the turn into the campground. There is a rain culvert, which dips and creates a very significant bump to both RV and vehicle. Go as slowly as possible. Big hill down and up to campsite, but no strain. Roads are very wide. Your GPS or Google could tell you to go down Olive Road after exiting I64/40/61. Do NOT go this way with your rig. There is a very curvy, narrow, steep road that leads up to 109, but it is only suitable for cars. I would have given it a 10 if it had water and sewer hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
The rate reflects a 50 amp hookup site. The potable water is at the dump station. This is a wonderful state park that is just outside of St. Louis, and we have used it a couple of times as a base to visit friends and relatives in the city. It is about 30 freeway minutes outside of the city. It is a way off of the freeway, but that means no freeway noise. The roads are paved and the sites are nice, level concrete. They now even have very good high-speed Wi-Fi! This could be a model for what a State Park campground should be. One nice feature is that they lock the gates at 6:30, so no drive-by traffic in the evening. Of course, campers get a gate code to come and go as they please. One caution -- do NOT blindly follow your GPS directions to the park. It will lead you on some very back roads. If coming from the west, take exit Chesterfield Airport Road just after the bridge. Follow that road to Long Road, then Wildhorse Road, then 190 to Babler Park Road, to the Park entrance. If coming from the east, take the Long Road exit and follow the same directions. If this is not clear, call the park for further directions. In the park, go directly to the campground and the check-in booth. Do be aware that there is a very big bump as you turn to go into the campground. Our Verizon phone and data worked well with 4G. We could get satellite but most sites will be too tree-covered for satellite. We love this park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
Our site was concrete and flat. The dump station is large and easy to use. The big down side are no water hookups for each site. There are water faucets scattered through the campground though. We had 50amp electric that worked fine. Bicycle riding within the campground and on the bicycle trail is easy. There's a large swimming pool that's no longer in use. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
Beautiful campground. Nice, large, grassy, private sites. The camp hosts were very nice and had ice and wood for sale. The entry to the campground Is narrow and has a very large curb gutter to cross. We had an electric site in a section of the campground, but not all the sites did. Therefore, there were some campers using generators. Should all be the same. Would have rated this campground higher if it had water and sewer available. Otherwise was a great place to stay and not too far from St Louis sights. Unable to get satellite service because of the trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$19
We are here in off season. Park roads are paved, sites are all back in, there are NO pull through sites. Security gate closes at night, you will need a code to gain access. Off season gate closes at 6 pm. Sites are level concrete. Sites are nice distance apart. You will not feel cramped or too close for comfort. Fire pits and picnic tables provided. Water is available throughout the park at various locations, however during off season these are shut off. During off season, water is available at camp hosts sites. Dump station is clean and easy access. We stayed in 50 amp site. No problems with electrical. Free Wifi is available, but not sure to the distance and which sites will be able to connect. Verizon signal is strong as is satellite coverage. Easy drive to Manchester Road. Watch for deer - there is a lot in the park and on the drive into the park. There are quite a few raccoons too. Family friendly, kids love this park, there is grass at all sites and with roads paved bikes are a must. Terrific walking and bike trails. Overall a beautiful park. This is our third visit and we will return. The only reason I did not give a 10 is because of a curb. After you enter the park you continue on a beautiful wide road, from this road you need to turn into the camp ground and this is where the curb is very steep. Front ends of cars and back ends will touch or scrape. Be careful, drive over this very very slowly. There is two entrances (about 25 feet apart) and both curbs are very steep. The camp hosts were terrific the rangers drove through the camp often as did local law enforcement. Felt safe in this campground. Bring your bikes and walking shoes you will enjoy this park. All they need to do is fix the steep curb. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
We camped on a Friday night for one night. The park was about 80% full. The sites were nicely spaced and the park was very nice. It has a nice bike path. I really enjoyed our stay. I'll definitely stay again when traveling through St. Louis area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$21
We have stayed in this park many times and really enjoy the closeness to St. Louis, but at the same time you are in a wooded and quiet area. The restroom and showers are always clean. We have always felt very safe in this campground even when we have been the only campers other than the hosts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
Prior recent reviews reflect our experience. Our site, 22, was owned by a very pesky cardinal who/which pecked incessantly at our truck. Sites have large concrete pads and patios, well maintained grass between well spaced sites, nice tables and fire rings. Excellent antenna TV reception, at our site we could not pick up the campground Wi-Fi signal. Sites at the end of the culde-sacs have a little more space. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$19
Babler State Park was just great and if it had water at the site it would be perfect! We used this as our base camp to go back and forth to St. Louis. There were many spigots for water located around the campground area. There was a dump station and 50 amp service at our site. A wonderful Visitor Center. The park itself is large and beautiful. We plan on stopping there again for our future visits to St. Louis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$19
We stay at this campground every time we stay in the St Louis area. It is a clean and spacious campground with level concrete pads. Some sites have trees; others are relatively clear, allowing satellite TV. The sites have electric (some with 30 amp, others with 30-50 amp). However there are no water or sewer hook-ups; hence our ratting of 9 rather than 10. Reservations are needed for weekends during this fall season, and the reservation require an $8 fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
Beautiful site and beautiful park with friendly staff. Check in was a little confusing. Be careful, we called and were told the sites had water when in fact water is available but not on the site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Missouri State Park web site says it has a pool. It does, but its not open. That was disappointing since we were here at one of the hottest times of the year. Park is pretty, and very clean. Showers were decent and cleaned every day. Sites were small but level. I just can't get over the pool thing. It looked like it had been closed for awhile. Someone needs to update the state park site! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$29
Nice campground, level site. Water available off site. A bit high priced with reservation system but nice to know you have a place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
Beautiful campground but a bit challenging to find. Our GPS took us in a back way that was stressful while towing a big rig! Turned out there was a better way in so use the campground instructions and not a GPS! The campground was very clean with concrete sites with ample space in-between sites. The bicycle trail was great! The only thing that would have made it better would be full hookups. Each site has electric and water is available in quite a few places though. We'll be back to this state park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
What a beautiful park. We were going to stay several nights, but the weather (heat) was brutal. We will return in the spring or fall as a base to visit the St Louis area. Sites are large and level, as long as you stay below #30. Be sure to follow the website directions in, not your GPS. If there were water hookups, a place for the dog to swim and a laundry would give it a higher rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
We stayed here three nights. We were able to make reservations and get sites across the road from friends. Water was available across the road and others did fill tanks from that source. There is a dump station in the campground near the entrance. Shade is good, access to major highways is nearby. We had a very quiet stay with the exception of a few barking dogs in a neighboring site. Roads are wide and access to the nearly level concrete parking pads near the entrance is easy. Visit the web site for photos and descriptions of many of the sites. From here we visited the Botanical Gardens in St. Louis City, played golf at a Gary Player golf course and attended a Cardinals ball game. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
Unfortunately, due to continuing budget cuts, this beautiful park is in a gradual state of decline. For example, the riding stables and the swimming pool have been permanently closed, and the park's nicest picnic shelter, built by the CCC, remains closed after having been damaged by fire two years ago. Due to reductions in personnel, the Visitor Center is now closed on Monday and Tuesday in the camping season, and for the entire off-season (November through March). There is some good news, however. The campground recently became 100% reservable, which means that the days of the locals, the homeless, (and others who are unwilling or unable to plan ahead), being able to commandeer campsites for up to fifteen nights at a time with a tent from Wal-Mart, are gone forever, too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$19
We stayed in site #15. Our site was shady and had a large concrete area to park on. It was wide enough that we parked in center and could still open our cargo doors and not step on grass. The picnic table was also on a concrete side section. Our site was very level. Site comes with electric, picnic table and fire ring/grill combo. All sites are back ins. We had a water spigot next to our site. There was a spigot about every 4 sites, so you do not have to go far to get water. There was a vault toilet near us and a larger bathhouse near the center of campground. No laundry facilities are available in the park. Host can give you a map of nearby stores and attractions. Firewood was available every night from 6-6:30 pm for $4 bundle. Park is very quiet but had lots of families camping on weekend, most people were checking out on Sunday so I suspect it would be peaceful during week with everyone gone. Hosts were friendly when we checked in. When you get here, you go right to your site if you have reservation. They will come by later with your car tag. If you don't have a reservation you pick a site that is not taken and they will come by to collect payment. There is a nice visitor center with a movie and a Naturalist program for all ages. You get a badge if you finish and can add pins the more times you participate. There is not too much to do in park besides biking and the visitors center. Pool is permanently closed due to maintenance/age issues, it is a shame because it was really hot we were here and we would have enjoyed it. There is also tennis courts and baseball field near pool area, they don't look like they are being maintained though. We saw no playgrounds in park. They have an equestrian area but it was closed when we were here. Not sure if you had to bring your own horse or could ride theirs? We were able to get plenty of TV channels and Verizon and ATT worked here well. We saw people with satellites but you do need to chose a site without trees for that. We spent the day at the Jefferson Memorial Arch and Grant's House, both were very good parks and highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$17
This is a really great campground. This is our second time to stay here while visiting folks in St Louis and it works perfectly for that. The sites are relatively level and large. The hosts are helpful and nice. One great added bonus is that there is a locked gate to enter the park at night so we felt secure in leaving our RV here while in St. Louis. We came on a Sunday and had no trouble finding a site. Of course this is off season, which is also reflected in the rate. Note that there is a steep down, then up on the road into the campground but not a big deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
We arrived here on a Saturday evening after Labor Day with no reservation: a big mistake. This campground fills up on weekends. We had to settle for one of the last dry camping sites that would accommodate our 32-foot motorhome. The host was very helpful in accommodating us. We moved to an electric only site the next day. Potable water is available at the dump station and at various locations throughout the campground. Interior roads are paved and sites have cement pads. Most picnic tables are also on cement pads. There are three loops. Two of them have a limited turning radius. Negotiating them with a towed vehicle or a trailer is impossible. In spite of being busy, this is a very nice campground. We would camp here again. The rate reflects the cost for a site with electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$19
It is very well kept, and our site, with it's paved pad was easy to back into. Water was available between ours and the next site. Showers and toilets were very clean, but some distance away. Shady sites were available, along with others with more sun. The camp hostess found us a site, and then visited to collect the fee after we had set up camp. Very good value for money, considering the service and condition of the park, and we would certainly stay again, especially overnight, or if visiting St. Louis which is just down the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$19
In addition to the other reviews, this is truly a beautiful park. The visitors center offers an interactive nature walk, thoroughly describing many of the animals to the area as well as trees and plants. Bicycle riding can be done however there are several long, fairly steep grades, so be aware.The pool was closed due to budget cuts and the park hosts were not aware when, if at all, it would open again. We stayed there in August, 2009. Rate of 19 dollars in a 40' MH. Will return again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$19
The park has electric and primitive sites. Electric connections are 50 amps and 30 amps. Many sites can be reserved but some are available on a first-come-first-served basis. The hosts were helpful in getting us a site. The campground was crowed but most sites have plenty of room, all have a nice fairly level concrete, fire pit with grill, and a post for lantern. Firewood is available near the dumpsite. The main showers and restrooms were clean, we did not use the outhouses positioned farther from the camp center. The pool is for the park and not in the camping area. The campground was clean and enjoyable. We would like to visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
Absolutely beautiful place. Nice level concrete back-in sites with 30 amp service. There are some with 50 amp, but I didn't see them. Many sites are available for reservations, others are first-come first-served. Would be perfect with water hook up and even better (if that's possible) with sewer. Trees prevented satellite line of site, but local channels came in clearly with roof antenna. Pool is elsewhere in park. We stayed here while visiting friends in the area. Wish we could have just stayed and enjoyed the park more instead of visiting. Reservation system works well, be aware of service charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
We spent 10 days here and used this campground as a 'home base' for sight seeing in St Louis. It is about a 45 minute drive to most of the attractions. Sites 1-12 offer 50 amp service the rest of the campground is 30 amp. There is no water hook up at the sites - there are conveniently located water faucets which some people were running hoses to just to fill up (you can't stay connected). None of the sites have sewer at them. The dump station is located in such a way that you may have to go out of the campground to access it or your site after dumping. We were traveling with our grand children and were looking forward to being able to use the pool the website indicated was at this park. Needless to say we were disappointed to learn that it is no longer open. There is also no playground in this campground - another disappointment! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$16
This is the most spacious site we've camped at and lovely woods setting. Not having water at the site is a bit annoying, but there are accessible faucets. Worst was they have closed the swimming pool due to new competition from a nearby water park. But there is good biking in the park, and the 225 mile Katy Bike Trail is only a few miles away. We had a very peaceful stay. We'd love to come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
RV park part of much larger state park with many facilities (swimming, picnicking, horse back riding, etc.). RV portion completely shaded with wide and long paved sites, including paved patio, picnic table, BBQ stand, and fire ring. Firewood available from park host for a fee (of which there were three, rotating). Dump station and potable water behind shower building. Restrooms and showers cleaned daily (closed from 10 till noon to do this so schedule wisely). Road wanders through woods to site with some sharp curves but plenty of sites for big rigs (our is 40'). Lots of kids on the weekends as school just started. Long way to St. Louis from here but freeways close by (I44 and others). Park is hilly but sites are level and well separated. We loved it and would go back in an moment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
Nice camp a little difficult to get to but very quiet, gates lock at 9 pm but you are given the gate code to enter if after 9. Back in sites large and level on concrete, and the host when we were there was very friendly and helpful. Would use this site again and recommend to all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Sites are nice- level, concrete. Easy to get around. There are very few showers for the size facility-3 for each gender. It is a shame they are not better cleaned, for it would make this campsite a 9 at least. Because you can pull in an find any vacant site, you can wind up with "mixed" campers. We had a group tent camping one night next to us singing-playing guitar all night. If there were coordination or gate house it could separate the family/quiet areas from the party animals. (I don't hold the CG responsible for the behavior of other campers- it is not reflected in the rating, only a suggestion) The hosts did do a good job of notifying campers of impending severe weather. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
This park is located in the town of Wildwood. St. Louis Zoo (free admission) is 25 miles away. The arch is 30 miles away. This is a fantastic park with a lot of room between RV sites. We saw deer, racoon, turkey and numerous birds, including our first Pileated Woodpecker. There are water hydrants nearby some sites, but you might need a y connector and 50' of hose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$14
Wildwood, Missouri. Missouri Parks continue to be upgraded by 1/10 of 1% sales tax. We had a very wide concrete pad for our fifth wheel and long enough for the truck, too. 50 AMP service. Spacious, shaded, forested, totally a beautiful spot. We stayed the full 15 day allowable, and it was over a 100 degrees the whole time! Dump station and water fill are in the full sun, so very hot. Hard to imagine this is really a metropolitain area, just outside of St. Louis. Hiking and biking are available. Pool nearby We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$14
The park was absolutely beautiful. The host was very friendly and helpful, and the showers were warm and clean. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$14
I would have rated a ten, but there were only 3 showers available which at times meant waiting in line. Otherwise park was clean, bathrooms always clean (no soap, though!), quiet at night, and nicely spaced sites. While there wasn't a play area in the campground, my 7 kids found plenty to do "exploring" in the woods. There is a pool in the park, not the campground, but we never had an opportunity to visit it. I would certainly visit this park again if I were going back to that area! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Nice state park in a beautiful setting. The campground was updated in 2002. The roads are in great shape, and most of the sites have level concrete pads for RV parking. The shower/laundry building is brand new, and very nice. The camp sites are spaced far enough apart that I did not feel I was camping on top of my neighbors. Only 43 elec sites, 19 of them are 50 amp. The park fills up quickly and four of the Elec sites are for the handicapped only. There is an Olympic sized pool at Babler, but no other water activities (fishing, etc) in the park. Nice biking paths, hiking and equestrian trails, visitor center, and picnic grounds. The campground also has a dump station and laundry. The swimming pool and playground are not within walking distance of the campground. It is a very easy drive into St Louis from Babler. Get on I64/Hwy 40 at Long Rd, then 23 miles to the Arch or BuschStadium. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2002
$17
Beautiful state park with campground. All campsites are wide with concrete pads and picnic tables. Fire rings are located on most sites. The park has trails for walking and horseback riding. There is a swimming pool located in the park just a short drive from the campground. The park has a nature center as well. If you are planning on visiting the St. Louis/St. Charles area, this would be a great place to stay. It's a thirty minute drive west of St. Louis. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com