223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Woolly Hollow State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (501) 679-2098
CGID7948

Woolly Hollow State Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   9   9   7   10   10   5   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$17
Our camping club went to this site for one of our meetings this month. It is one of the best campgrounds I've ever stayed at. All the sites were blacktopped and level. The new bathhouse was great. The only thing that my wife or I was needed, was there wasn't any soap dispensers. We will definitely be going back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This was our first shakedown trip in the "bus" after bringing it back from TX the week before. We've camped in RVs, trailers and tents before at other parks. Like good newbies, we got here just in time for the office to close and the sun to go down. There was no map available outside the office, but the spot was easy enough to find. Several of the spots, like ours, are carved into the hill, with a big retaining wall on one side of the pad. That made it tough to back in and find the right position that allowed us to hook up and open the slides. The position that allowed our slide to open without hitting the retaining wall was sloped enough the front wheels came off the ground, a no-no for our coach. In the end, I used some leveling blocks under the front tires and manually lowered the jacks enough to get some stability. The new bathhouse in the middle of the camping loop was hit by lightning and burned down recently. There were portable toilets setup and a new bathhouse was being built. Construction was at reasonable hours and never bothered us. There were some pull-through sites and mostly back-ins, all with varying degrees of level pads. The best sites appeared to be the ADA sites at the top of the hill. If they are available to the general public I'll try to get one next time. They seemed like new, level concrete pads that were very wide and would easily allow a vehicle to park without hampering traffic. Although there's no pool, swimming is available in the lake for a fee. They also have canoes, kayaks and pedal boats for rent. We rented a pedal boat for an hour and then swam the rest of the day. The playground was fun for the kids, as well as the short hiking trail that ended at the Woolly Hollow cabin. Another fact: the Central Arkansas Astronomical Society holds an annual open house on the beach of Woolly Hollow. We've attended before in a car but maybe next time we'll camp and walk over with our telescope. All-in-all a pretty good first trip. We'll be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
This is a nice peaceful park, a great getaway. We visited Conway but it does not really seem to be close to any big attractions. Maybe that's the attraction). Paved interior roads and site pads with concrete patio pad and gravel in between (ours 5" out of level). Sites have very good spacing and partial shade. This park is in perfect shape and well cared for. An excellent picnic table, lake beach for swimming (too small for boating), and fair VZW coverage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
Within the last year or so the park was completely refurbished and a new loop was added. Everything is in tip-top shape. Sites are paved, large and level. Nice trail system from short and easy to several miles and a little challenging. Lake was very low due to drought but I understand this is a fishing hot spot in better times. Verizon coverage was poor but useable. Some sites might be a problem for a satellite dish but most aren't. I had some trouble with my new trailer while I was there and the staff went way above and beyond to help me straighten things out. They don't give refunds if you want to leave early but they suggest you only pay a few days at a time so you won't lose much if your plans change. Will absolutely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Very nice sites with new, full hookups are well spaced with plenty of shade trees and access to the small lake. AT&T cell phone service was poor and Sprint PCS data access was non-existent. Several over the air digital TV channels were available. This is a good place to relax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
Clean and nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
This campground has been remodeled and is outstanding. Great big comfortable sites with 50 amp and all amenities. We stayed 6 nights and could have stayed much longer. The watershed lake was very, very low due to lack of rain but would highly recommend to anyone in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2009
$15
The campsites with electric hookups at Woolly Hollow State Park are closed for renovation and will remain out of service until early summer 2010. The park's tent sites (no electric service but water is located nearby) remain open. For further details, contact the park at: 501-679-2098. So actually we did not stay there, just noticed the "closed" sign on the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
We truly enjoyed our stay, our first at a state campground. It was clean, orderly, the staff helpful, and most of all it was quiet! There is lots of shade, two clean bath houses, level pads, fire pit, lake view and access, swimming beach with sand, water and electricity hook-ups, no sewer, just a dump station. All in all, in was a wonderful 4-day stay at reasonable rates. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$15
Beautiful park. Sites level and spacious. Restroom clean. Staff great! Definitely will be back for a longer stay! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
This is one of my favorite places to camp in Arkansas. The lakefront campsites are great and the park is kept very clean. Being able to take my kayak and paddle right up to the campsite is great. There is a nice hiking trail and the campsites are great. They offer boat rentals and there is a small store in the campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$21
We drove a 40' coach into this state park RV section and it was a big mistake. Directional signs were not very clear so ended up backing up a long way to get back to turnoff. Road is very narrow and took a lot of back and forth to get into site. Then had to move to another site to get 50 amp. More back and forth. Site backed up directly on the lake; very pretty. Stayed two nights. Dog friendly. Very hilly but sites are level and black-topped. Picnic table on gravel with full hookups. Electric was on wrong side of coach but we have a 30' 50 amp extension cord so it worked out. Sites are completely wooded but was able to get antenna aimed to DirecTV. Leaving was a real challenge as road went up and around 180 degrees to a higher level; the coach almost didn't make it around the turn. Scary. Park was very quiet and serene. The park is named for the Woolly's who settled in the hollow. There is a beach and paddle boats for rent. Would come back again but only with a smaller coach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com