223495 User submitted reviews online!!
Oak Haven Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (413) 245-7148
CGID7950

Oak Haven Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   9   8   9   7   6   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Park has a few full hook up sites, but black water and grey water connections are separate. When we tried to hook up, we could not dump grey water since the connector neck was full. This park has $showers, which is something I have never understood, none the less, we had to use them since we could not dump grey water. I question big rig access to most of this park, the road to our site was up a steep incline and very rough. To leave we had to take a very circuitous route from our site. WiFi reception was spotty. We would keep driving rather than stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This park served our purposes for an overnight on the way to Maine. Although 15 miles off the interstate (I-90), it does run parallel to the highway, so you can continue out the other way. The ads show nice shady sites, but those are the seasonal sites in the back. Over nighters are put into a confusing open field with boulders exposed. Tough to pull back out of the pull through sites without being very careful of where you go. No sewer hookup, but dump station available. Found the bath house dated but clean, though refused to use the "pay your quarters" showers. This always annoys me, and would rather pay extra upfront on the camp fee than this "nickel and dime" thing. Supposedly saving water? One shower was leaking badly and could not be turned off. Laundry room available, with 2.00 washers and 1.50 dryers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Just needed an over night spot on our trip to Maine. Saw good reviews and reasonable price for this camp ground. Park is well maintained with very friendly and courteous staff. Would not have a problem with staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Very nice park with a very friendly staff. As soon as we registered we were invited to come to the free Mother's Day breakfast. Most of the sites are huge seasonal sites and we had one of those. Most transient sites are in a large field which wasn't as nice as the site we had. The only negative was the narrow, rocky interiors roads. I would come back here whenever I'm in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
We stayed in Oak Haven for a month while in Massachusetts. We found Oak Haven's staff and owners to be very friendly and very accommodating. We were in the seasonal area of the park instead of in the sunny wide open grassy field area. The pool was the cleanest I have ever seen. The plantings were eye appealing. The grounds were well manicured. The roads were narrow with dirt and gravel surface and they kept washing out with all of the rain, but they were quickly repaired. There were many seasonals but all of them were friendly and helpful. I will stay here again next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
This is a mixed use campground. See previous reviews. However, please note that this is a mixed use facility with the good sites on seasonal rental. We as well as other weekend visitors were relegated to an open field with no shade. Hence the '7' rating. I recommend for spring and fall visits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
Price reflects a discount coupon. This was an overnight stop for us. Great customer service, easy check in and escort to the site. Site is in an open area, no shade, grass and dirt, and fairly level. We were within eight feet or less of the camper next to us. Good water pressure but electric was marginal at the best. Water and electric only for those of us just staying over night. This is a family park with lots of kids running around, but they seemed to be under parents control and quieted down around 10pm. The park does have a lot of activities going on. If in the area for an over night stop this serves the purpose. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
We came for a Rally and this is a great place. Nice open field for groups and big rig friendly. Hookups were good, TV via bating OK and Verizon cell and broadband both good. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
The rate reflects a weekly rate. The campground is very nice. Lots of seasonals, but everyone was friendly. The sites we were in were shaded. Very convenient to Brimfield. The roads could use some work as there are some potholes. My site had 50A plugs and breakers but they had been disconnected. The voltage was low. I think it would have been a real problem if it had been hot during the weekend when all of the seasonals were there and a rally was going on. We use the Hughes Autoformer so it wasn't a problem for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Family run. Excellent customer service. Spread out sites. MANY family oriented activities. Immaculate laundry rooms. Showers had to be paid for. Pool is large and clean. Manicured property. Evening barbecue and friendly campers. Horseshoe tournaments. Decent size and orderly camp store. Weekend green market across street. Love this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
We spent Father's day weekend here. We like it. It was a quiet campground. A lot of seasonals but they were very nice. The park is well kept, the plantings were very nice. This is a very clean park. The pool is built in, the whole length was 3 ft deep. They had large wooded sites. The safari field, called snobs hill, was lined with trees but the inside of the safari field was a huge grassy lawn, 3 rows of campers with a communal fire ring for each row. I'm glad we did not camp there. Bingo on Friday night $10.00 games special was $20 and coverall was $30.00. It was a hot weekend and the pool didn't feel that crowded, although they supplied lounge chairs I brought my own. It ever one was at the pool at the same time I don't know that everyone could fit their chairs. Pool was very clean. Sat. night they had Texas hold-em. I brought my projector and we had movie night. They didn't bother you about putting your fires out. I like that. I'm an adult and I don't have to be told when to go to bed like other campgrounds. The store is very skimpy, no milk or eggs here. Some household goods, pool toys and ice cream bars. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Overall we liked this campground. It's only an hour from us so it makes for a good weekend trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
We selected this site for the location: this park would be perfect for the Brimfield Antique fair. The park is mostly seasonals but for the most part, they keep their sites clean and neat. The dirt/rock roads are rather tight, especially when trying to back into the sites. We were near the laundry room/restrooms so Wi-Fi worked well. The black/gray water hookup is different from anything we'd encountered before. There are two tubes: one for black and another for the gray water. Not difficult, just different. The owners are nice, helpful people who go out of their way to help make your stay pleasant. They also have lots of planned activities on weekends. If we get back to the area, we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We had a party of five families on four sites for Independence Day weekend, 2009. We were assigned spaces on McLeod Field, which is essentially a dirt and grass safari area with no trees. There is a large fire pit in the center of the "U", so none of these sites were given a fire ring, so plan accordingly if you like to cook over an open fire. (There was some evidence that you could request a ring). We had rather cool weather for July, so the direct sun wasn't a problem, but I imagine that this area bakes when the weather is hot, so ask for a shaded site if you have little kids. We chose Oak Haven because of its proximity to the Stafford Motor Speedway, where we attended their 4th of July event, and the reasonable rates for a holiday weekend ($38/night), although we felt a $16 guest fee per adult was a bit excessive. The facilities are very nice, with a brand new rec hall (still under construction at this writing) and a pretty new pool. The campground roads are a bit rough however, with ruts and uneven surfaces. In fact, one of the little kids in our group took a nasty spill on his way to the playground one day. One of the conditions we found not quite so desireable was a strong sulfur smell to the water supply on three of the four sites we had. This caused an undesirable smell inside the RVs, especially in the toilet and bath areas. When we mentioned this to the office, they denied that there was a problem. One of our neighbors who was not part of our party, said that he was having an issue too. It did abate during day 3 and 4 of our stay, so the advice is to run your faucet for awhile before hooking up to your water system. It's generally common courtesy not to cut through people's sites, but we found that the seasonals near us apparently thought that our transient area was "theirs" whether the sites were occupied or not, even driving a car through at one point. We tried to position our vehicles to give us some privacy, but they walked through anyway. (Senior citizens no less). They keep the place very clean. The bathrooms were spotless and they sweep out the fireplaces after you leave. There is free Wi-Fi, and you can order your favorite (local region) Sunday paper at the office at no additional charge. Overall, we found camping at Oak Haven a pleasant experience and would camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Nice campground even though it has a lot of seasonals and most of the interior roads are rocky and rough. The office staff were very nice and eager to assist us. When Debbie found out it was our anniversary, we were put on a vacant seasonal site instead of a site that was situated in the middle of a camping club. We were impressed with them including the owners. The reason we are giving this campground a rating of 1 is the day after we left this campground and were 160 miles away in Maine the owner called us and accused us of stealing a satellite tripod that she said was on the site. There was NO satellite tripod on the site when we arrived. We used our own tripod which we purchased and have used for 5 years. We don't take too kindly to being called a thief. We will not camp there again and will not recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
The owners were very friendly. However, the roads were very rocky and hilly, difficult to navigate with bikes and big rigs. We did have a very large shaded site and the pool and playground were excellent. The store was not stocked at all-I couldn't even buy a roll of paper towels. It is also difficult to see the sign for the entrance. There were lots of activities to select from on the weekend for the kids and adults. If we didn't have the big problem with the roads and the store, this campground would be rated higher. Roads need to be repaired. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
The main campground may be quite nice, but we were put on a holding site, with water/electricity, and packed in with others who were overflows. Even though I had confirmed a reservation for one night, when we arrived, I was told they normally only take full week-end reservations on holiday week-ends. We thought the price was very high for the site and services. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com