223589 User submitted reviews online!!
Buena Vista Aquatic Recreation Area was rated 5 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (661) 868-7000
CGID7972

Buena Vista Aquatic Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   2   3   7   9   4   2   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
The water front sites are good with plenty of mature trees for shade. Fire pits are big enough for a good bon fire. The restrooms were older, but clean. The power and water pedestal was old, the power worked but the water bib leaked enough to make a puddle behind the trailer. The sewer connection was uncovered when we got there and the threads inside were cracked and broken so I couldn't get a tight seal on my sewer hose. Not really a problem until it gets above 90 degrees and the aroma starts. We will stay here again but don't waste your time with the non water front sites. The door side of your RV will be on the side of the road and you will have to deal with cars passing within 6 feet of your door. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$46
This Kern County Park and campground is actually quite a ways outside of Bakersfield, on the other side of Interstate 5. This would not be a park to stay at to visit Bakersfield. The rate reflects $39 for a waterfront site with utilities, plus $7 for our towed vehicle. This is very expensive for a county park and very unfair to charge for a towed vehicle. We arrived at this park without reservations and without much knowledge of the park. The gate attendant lady seemed amazed that we would arrive without a reservation, even though there were many sites available. She asked what type of site we wanted, waterfront or not and utilities or not. Since we had no familiarity with the park, we asked to drive through so that we could get some idea of the layout and what we wanted. She refused, even though the park was not busy at all. That is the first time that we have been refused that common courtesy. We decided to go with waterfront and full hookup. She gave us a list of sites available for one night but cautioned us that we could only stay one night. (We found out later there were many sites available for more than one night.) She also cautioned us not to set up on the site until we came back and let her know which site we had chosen. We found a site and unhooked the towed. One of us drove back and the other stayed with the RV at the site. When we went back to let her know and to pay, she said that we had not done as required and that we had set up on the site. For some reason this became a big deal. Regardless, we finally got checked in with one of the worst park entrances we have ever experienced. The site and park is actually quite pretty. There are many, many rules, which everyone seems to ignore. There was trash around our site which we picked up. The park does seem in need of some TLC. The overall park is very large, and we had a great time riding our bikes around. It was quiet at night. Our utilities were good, and our Verizon phone and data plan worked well. We were able to find a site that we could use our satellite. So, overall, a nice park but way too expensive, and there is no reason to put up with a rude gate attendant, so probably will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
We will not be back for awhile. We have been coming here for over 30 years! In the last couple years it has gone down hill fast! The flies have been bad for the last 10 years. But these last two trips, one in June and one in September were awful!!!! The power grid is old and if it is hot it can't handle a full campground. The grass, that has always been the best part of this campground, and even the trees, are all dying! The sprinklers are either completely broken or just shoot out to make mud puddles! The lake is really low and they must not be buying any water because the aqueduct is full and bypassing the diversion channel. It is too bad because it is only a 2 hour drive for us and was very family and group friendly with the grass campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
We arrived at 5:30pm to a lake front site. The 30amp electric breaker would trip with 15amp usage. The picnic table was so termite eaten that it was unusable. Tree limbs in roadway had to be dodged. Bathrooms were dirty. No lid on septic hole, just two rocks which allowed septic smell to permeate the air close to the kitchen and bedroom windows. I called to report these issues the next morning and was told I would get a call back but never did. They wanted to charge $15 for a car to park at the site for the night or $7 to park for the night at the overflow lot which was far from the site. It seems as though the county isn't taking pride in their park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Nice campground. Spacious sites, fishing, boating. A little bit pricey. Regular site, $26. Not bad but were charged $7 more for the toad. Not right since it was "towed" in. Check-in was bad. I didn't have a reservation since we didn't know we were going to stop here. Girl seemed to be frustrated in finding us a place (there were plenty). The other girl was busy listening to her cell phone ring and being with the security guard. People lined up behind us. Didn't open the other window. Had a spot where we could observe the kiosk. Got worse later in the day. Wouldn't stay here in the summer. They have a HUGE overflow area. Way to many people for me. Check it out for yourself. Off season for me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Great park that gets very crowded at times. We stayed right next to the playground to it was noisy, but for us desirable with the kids. They do not enforce the quiet time, but the lights shut off by 10:30 so everyone heads back to their spots. Access to the lake is close for most spots. There can be a lot of bugs when it is warm and of course it can be very warm. The sites are very large with plenty of room between. The bathrooms are not the best, but were clean while we were here. I did not see any showers. Lots of trees for shade everywhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
Reserving a space at this campground requires that you call the Kern County parks department during a very narrow window of time (8 AM - 12 PM weekdays only), and it took many attempts and one very long on-hold period to get through to the person handling reservations. The reservation staffer who answered was not rude as such, but their tone and attitude was very much "I'd rather be doing anything but talk to this person right now." Upon arrival at the site, be prepared for the extra $15/day fee ($12/day off-peak) to park a towed or separately-drive vehicle at your camp site. The frequently-asked questions PDF on the campground website states that 2 motor vehicles are allowed at the camp site and that the first vehicle is included in the reservation price. Unfortunately they consider a motorhome to be the first vehicle, and a towed/separately-driven vehicle is subject to the additional fee. The camp sites were nicely maintained, with simple but adequate grass landscaping. The campsites have large, mature trees that provide shade for the picnic and common areas, but that do not overhang the camper pull-throughs. There is a nice picnic area with fire ring for each campsite, and campers are advised on check-in where to keep their camping gear so as to not get it soaked by sprinklers each morning. There is a heavy insect presence at this campground, owing primarily to being next to a large body of water in a warm climate. Bring insect repellent and/or a bug zapper - you WILL need it! If you need to buy these or other supplies, the nearest shopping is in Taft, CA or Bakersfield metro, about 18 miles either West or East respectively of the campground. The park does have a small supply store, but their inventory is very limited. The campsite was quiet on the Thursday we arrived and through Friday. Saturday and Sunday however were a whole other matter, as campers with watercraft were starting and running their watercraft at their campsites prior to taking them to the boat launch. The campground would do well to disallow this activity in the camping areas. There is an enforced quiet period, but that only applies from 10:00 PM to 7:00 AM. In conclusion, this park operated by Kern County is a reasonably nice facility, but there are a number of drawbacks that would make me hesitant to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2007
$30
We enjoyed the campground the evening we arrived. There were spaces available even on Thanksgiving weekend at this lakeside county park. When we woke up in the morning, though, the wind had shifted, and they were dumping dairy sludge on fields less than a mile away. The stench was unbearable, so we left immediately. Since this is the off season, sites were only $21. Plus $4 because we have a dog. Plus $5 because we have a toad. Ouch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
This campsite is nice. It has a lot of grassy areas, trees, and a little bit of shade. There is also a nice play area if you have children. However, the lake is small and muddy, and not ideal/ potentially dangerous for swimmers with the boats on the water. We camped there in October and with just a few boats on the water. The water is choppy and is not good for wakeboarding. If your main purpose is to wakeboard, this is not the ideal place for you to camp. In addition, they erroneously gave us the wrong campsite and then made us move even after we had all of our chairs, tents up. They did not try to accommodate or compensate us for our troubles even though it was their mistake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$39
This place would be good except for all the flies, excessive oder from the cow farms, people walking through your site, and the excessive heat in the summer. If you there in the winter, and the weather is all right, it's a nice place to stop for a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$23
The campground at Buena Vista Aquatic park was not very busy at the end of February so we had a choice spot at the lake front where waterfowl were literally foraging in the grassy area at the waters edge and right in front of our campsite. The view of Lake Webb as the sun was setting was awesome as was the view, on the other side of the lake, of the snowcapped Temblor Range. A 35 mile drive to the other side of this mountain range is the Carizzo Plain national monument. Buena Vista park was a great overnight stop and the drive through the town of Arvin to Tehachapi Pass in our 31' MH was scenic and an easy drive. We will definitely make a return trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com