224079 User submitted reviews online!!
Ocracoke Campground, Cape Hatteras National Seashore (National Park Se was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (252) 473-2111
CGID7980

Ocracoke Campground, Cape Hatteras National Seashore (National Park Se

Camp Information
Sites
136
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   10   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$12
No water/electricity at the sites, and no hot water showers. Bathrooms are pretty basic/rustic. Lots of sand spurs they were everywhere. Very nice beach. Not many CG choices on the island, and they close this one at the end of October for the winter. The rate reflects the National Park Senior Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$23
A beautiful campsite. Despite the fact that there are no hook-ups on site, we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. We did take advantage of the 50% discount resulting from the National Park Senior Pass. Even though it was the end of April, we were often attacked by large mosquitoes. There are only limited sites for RVs of 40 ft or more; check at the gate. There is a free dump across the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$12
Large National Park flat campground with nicely spaced asphalt sites though about 30 feet deep on 4 loops. Bathrooms were clean. Cold water showers in separate shacks ("shack" accurate description) Sand spurs in the grass so check shoes for stuck on ones before getting back in camper. (yeh, really stick in van carpets and then in you) Right by dunes and gorgeous Atlantic beach. Dump just across the highway by nice nature trial. Stayed 2 days and enjoyed it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
This is a wonderful inexpensive alternative to some other facility in the area. We truly enjoyed it there. We drove our Jeep on the beach, that was great experience. WARNING: there are some kind of yellow flowers and small spiny cacti that will stick to everything including your dog, and they hurt. The last day of operation was on 10/10/10, and we had to leave this little bit of paradise even though it was 83 degrees, and the campground had a lot of individuals there. (US government I guess.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$10
This campground has over 130 sites in four loops along the dunes. There are no hookups but they have modern bathrooms and outside cold showers. Pretty campground but not much privacy. Some of the people were able to pitch their tents under the undergrowth for protection. A quick walk over a dune to the big, beautiful beach. The closest National Park Campground in the outer banks to the beach. Very peaceful campground but we did have some jerk keep his truck running most of the night with his headlights on our site and the one next to us. The Pleasure Way next to us from Quebec left around 1:30 am and found another site in the campground. A nice bike trail 3 miles into the village and the village has anything one would want – markets, restaurants, visitor centers, docks and shops. We would definitely stay here again and you can find a spot most nights except in the summer the holiday weeks. One guide told us why anyone wants to camp here in the summer is amazing because it is hot and the big swamp bugs come out in force to bite you. You can make reservations for the campground and with a pass it is only $12 a night! Great little island and especially visiting it during the spring and fall! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
Delightful dry campground tucked behind the dunes. Open with scattered low evergreens. Water available (to fill tanks). Dump available (just outside CG). No Cellphone Service or gas stations on Ocracoke. Sites are well spaced with paved pads. Multiple "trails" across dunes to beach. Only 3 miles to Ocracoke Village. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$23
A nice campground with sand dunes between the camp sites and the ocean. A good place to ride bicycles, walk along the beach, and eat great seafood in the nearby town of Ocracoke. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$23
Fantastic dry camping spot right behind the dunes on the Outer Banks (Hatteras Nat'l Rec Area). Listened to the surf as we drifted off to a restful sleep. Steps to a gorgeous wide beach. Relatively few campers this time of year. The campground was closing in a few days. This one stays open the longest off all the NPS campgrounds at Hatteras. Skeeters were quite bad. A lot of souvenirs (bug bites) to take home. Also, watch out for jellyfish. Saw a number washed up on the beach. Oh well, that's camping. Only 3 +/- miles to great town of Ocracoke for some cheap eats and good company at Howard's pub and Jason's Restaurant across the street. Dump station right across Hwy 12 from the campground. Also, can take on potable water here for your RV. Friendly rangers also, they accept credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com