218867 User submitted reviews online!!
Mayberry Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 119 user reviews. Phone: (336) 789-6199
CGID7982

Mayberry Campground

Camp Information
Sites
106
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   7   8   7   10   7   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Fabulous campground for the price and area sightseeing. Individual owned, large, neat campground, with great views of the surrounding mountains. Easy access off the I-74 connector and just a few miles from Mt. Airy. Campground roads are gravel, but wide and well maintained. Ponds on site with catch and release fishing. Several picnic shelters for group gatherings/cookouts. Sites are large, gravel pull-thru or back-in, with grass “yard”. Sites are full hookup, 30 & 50 amp, sewer, cable TV and wireless. (check their website) Cell phone reception was great. Friendly owner, who is very helpful. We stayed here for 5 days in a fifth wheel and would stay again. Rate shown was with Passport America We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
OK place to stay at to visit area. Owners are very nice and willing to help and they have free cookouts for the campers. But be aware that the highway noise is relentless. Absolutely no shade at this campground, so if it's hot your AC will run non-stop. They had free Wi-Fi but we did not use it because of weak signal. Great water pressure and good power. We would stay at this campground again for an overnight stay, but no longer than that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
This is a nice campground for visiting the area. The campground is large and spacious with lots of green grass and two fishing (catch and release) ponds. The interior roads and sites are on packed gravel. Most of the sites are pull-throughs and have full hookups. Some sites are more level then others. The electrical pedestal contains 20/30/50 amp service. The voltage was good at about 120. On most sites there are two or three sewer connections. The bathrooms are inconveniently located near the front office. There are three bathrooms and one shower per sex. There is also a laundry, also located near the front office. There are two washers ($2) and two dryers ($2). Verizon air card was a little flaky but the cell phone (on extended network) worked well. The campground’s Wi-Fi worked well (at least at our site location). If the campground is full, it would feel crowded. This campground accepts Passport America Monday through Friday only. We would definitely come back here if we were in the area. Our rig is 32 feet long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
This was our first time staying at the Mayberry Campground so we decided to try out the park from a weekend stay (2 days ). We got there at 6pm and was able to check in at the office. They assigned us one site but they had a 5th wheel being stored on that site. We picked site #24 after return back to the office. I have a 30 ft travel trailer and it was very easy to back into our spot on the first try. The spot was level and covered with grass. The campground is laid out in a terraces with pull-thrus and back-in spots on the different sections. I have small kids so it’s not really geared to cater to families offering a lot of amenities. The other odd thing was that they don’t have picnic tables or fire rigs at any of the sites. They have community fire pits and the picnic tables are stored under covered shelters. They only have one bath house located at the office and it was generally dirty most of the time. We use our camper for that so that didn't matter to us. We only used it when the kids where away from the camper. You have easy access to I-74 (exit 11) and HWY 601, so it's an easy off and easy on. It’s very close to downtown Mount Airy to visit the local sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
A rather large well laid out campground. Unfortunately the camper next to us had a dog that they left out all day barking. This went on for two days and they finally left so that we had one day of peace and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were there on a holiday weekend so it was a little crowded at first. I would stay here again but only passing through. No picnic tables at sites or fire rings. Interesting house on the property where the Siamese twins. Bunker brothers lived. I never found a shower house but since we are self contained it wasn't a major issue. Roads are crushed gravel, hookups well placed and in good condition. Some sites are tight and others spacious. All seem fairly level. Dog friendly with fields to walk the pups. A good base of operations for sightseeing. Not a great park for children but sometimes that is a plus for older folks. Almost forgot, due to the lack of local cell towers, Verizon tablet reception is nonexistent, air card works well on the laptop. Never could use the Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
What a gem! This is one of the best maintained and nicest layouts we've experienced. Dozens and dozens of cable stations, dual sewer outlets at long pull thru sites, excellent gravel sites and roads, and 2 fishing ponds. And, best of all is the friendliness of the staff. Very helpful and interesting folks in many ways. There are several pavilions at various locations with fire rings. The hillsides are nicely terraced with sites at a variety of levels. And how about that crushed granite gravel! Anddry firewood, too. The only slightly negative points would be that there is no shade trees and that there is some distant highway noise. Either one was no problem at all for us. This park is overall one of the best we've experienced, and we really enjoyed the Andy Griffith Museum and Mayberry memorabilia in nearby Mt. Airy. We stayed several days before heading north. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$17
For the Passport America rate this is a great deal. Very easy access to and in the park with our larger RV. Level pull through and good working utilities. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
The staff at this park was very friendly and helpful. The gravel sites are large and mostly level with well located utilities. The check-in office is quite a distance from the sites and I assume that bath facilities were located there. I did not see any bath house in the actual campground area. The campground is convenient for visiting Mt. Airy and all of it's Mayberry memorabilia. I would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Really beautiful park. Multilevel with 2 small lakes. Sites are gravel (granite), level, plenty of space between sites. Very friendly staff. Dog friendly. Seventy+ cable channels. Wi-Fi too weak at our site. Manager says he is taking care of that presently and hard wiring the system. Very reasonable rate and value. Thirty dollars is the Good Sam rate. We stayed here with friends in a Motorhome side by side. Fire rings available and firewood sold at the office. I would recommend this park to anyone. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
Spent one day there had a good time.. Very clean, but the sites were a bit close together. No fire ring at my site. 2 nice fishing ponds.. Think this place is more suited to the older crowd.. Very quiet at night and the staff was wonderful. Good food close by (within 2 miles). I would/will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Located close to the interstate exit. The staff was wonderful. Had a long pull through site with full hook ups. All the roads and sites were gravel which was a little dusty due to the lack of rain. Anyway, for an overnight stay this campground fits the bill. Will use again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
Rate is PPA. We stay here quite often when passing through the area. Good 50 amp power and water. WI-FI did not work well on this visit, but has in the past. Verizon works very well here. Very convenient to all local attractions. Owners are very friendly. Campground is built on the side of a hill, but all sites are level and gravel. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This campground is just a few miles off I-74 so it makes for a convenient RON. If one is doing the tourist thing for Mt. Airy then it well serves the purpose for an extended stay. The access road to the campground is good. The interior roads and the sites are gravel and big rig friendly. Most of the sites are long pull thru which allow you to staying hooked up. There is enough room between sites to provide some elbow room. There are no picnic tables or fire rings. The bath house is near the office and requires a hike or getting in your vehicle to use it. That is also true for the laundry facility. There is a catch and release fishing pond. The power and water services were very good. They have excellent cable in that there are about 60 channels. Satellite signals are unobstructed because there are no trees in the campground. We did not check the OTA channels. The free Wi-Fi was just OK. We had no problem maintaining connection, but expected more than two bars of signal strength by being in the middle of the campground. PPA is not available Friday – Sunday. Verizon cell coverage was good. The staff was helpful and professional. The price is reasonable for what you get. Compared to campgrounds that really are, this is by no means a 9 or 10. Realistically, it is at best an 8, but all things considered that is enough to put it on a return list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
Rate is Passport America. What a hidden gem near an adorable town, about 2 miles from Interstate exit. Big open sites nicely spread out, plenty of pull throughs, as well as back ins. Free excellent Wi-Fi and cable TV. Level gravel sites. Good place for overnight stop or longer vacation. Covered picnic areas suitable for rallies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
We stayed here for one night at Passport America rate. This is one of the nicest RV parks we have ever stayed at. Beautiful area with nice long pull throughs. Good Wi-Fi, cable, 50 amp--everything we could ask for and the town of Mt Airy is a neat place to visit. All major stores, restaurants, including Walmart are nearby. We only wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
Love this place. People are great. Sites are easy and large. Perfect for us tourists. Clean, quiet and safe. Third time we've been here and we will return anytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Very large, attractive campground. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We came for one night and wound up spending three. No tables or fire rings at the sites. They are in the common areas. As mentioned by others, you pick your own site. No trouble circling the grounds in our 40 foot motorhome with the car still in tow. Only about 5 or 6 pull-throughs left when we picked; only a few of those were fairly level. Lots of long-term people; no one around us came or left while we were here. However, from what I could see, all sites were very well kept and maintained. I have no idea how they managed to keep this large area mowed with all the rain, but they did! I think they came by our site twice in 3 days; very helpful with wet grass. Restrooms and shower(s) are behind the office. Men's is 2 toilets and 1 shower, but clean and well attended (and air conditioned). WiFi worked most of the time. Verizon worked fine. Not much on site except a well-cared for campground. We enjoyed "Mayberr" and went hiking at "Mount Pilot." We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
Very nice, open park with friendly personnel. They don't assign sites and just tell you to pick whatever one you want as long as it doesn't have a cone in it (I assume that is one someone specifically reserved). All sites are full hookup 50/30 amp. Good location if you are interested in Mt Airy and the Andy Griffith museum, playhouse, home site and the "Mayberry" feel of Main St. Sites are long and level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
We've stayed here before. It is not a resort, but it is a nice place for an overnight, or if you have things to do in the area. Gravel pads are level. It's clean and quiet. A lot of cable channels. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Very nice. Rolling hills. Good gravel interior roads. Mostly back-in sites. Very friendly and helpful staff. We were near the end of a row and could not get the Wi-Fi. Generous site size. Very well maintained. Close to the highway but you do not hear road noise when the RV is closed. Very convenient to Mt. Airy (Mayberry). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$27
I found this park a great place to spend four nights. Not only because there is plenty to do in the area, but the park itself was a nice place to stay. There are no trees, so during the summer months it might be a bit hot, but during the Spring this wasn't an issue. The park owner is a great person to deal with and I found him very accommodating. The WiFi signal was perfect and didn't kick me off once. The speed was great, although the campground was only 30% occupied. I stayed near the office which as a wired WiFi emitter, while the other areas rely on repeater stations. The bathroom could have used a bit more attention, but were acceptable. I'm already planning on my next return to this campground. The rate reflects partial PPA and partial full price, since they limit the amount you can use PPA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
A individually owned, large, neat campground with great views of the surrounding mountains. Easy access off the I-74 connector and just a few miles from Mt. Airy. Campground roads are gravel, but wide and well maintained. Ponds on site with catch and release fishing. Several picnic shelters for group gatherings/cookouts. Sites are large, gravel pull-through or back-in, with grass “yard”. Sites are full hookup, 30 & 50 amp, sewer, cable TV, and wireless. (check their website) Cell phone reception was great. Friendly owner, who is very helpful. We stayed here for 5 days (Thanksgiving) and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
Stayed here 2 nights, sites are level gravel as are the roads. Not much for kids to do. Staff is helpful. There are no shaded sites, not great in the summer months. Stopped here because it is fairly close to Mt Airy and Old Salem. PA rate was only good for first night as the second was Friday, a weekend night. It is a place to stop is about all I can say, would look for another campground next time in the area. You will hear noise from the interstate, if that bothers you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
This is a large and clean campground with level pull-through sites on gravel. Wide roads in campground. Helpful and friendly owner. This would be a great campground for a RV rally. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Passport Rate. Nice quiet campground. Lots of very well kept grass. Only a few miles from town. Several small pavilions. Good satellite reception and good cable system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
This campground has a lot of potential in the coming years. The views of the surrounding mountains are very beautiful. This campground needs some shade trees. The roads are gravel but very well kept. It is a very large campground with 2 ponds and several shelters for gatherings. The staff was very helpful with directions and suggestions on things to do in the area. We visited the actual town of Mayberry and droved down to Charlotte to visit the speedway. We would love to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
This is a real nice park to spend the week-end and enjoy Mt.Airy,the home of Andy Griffin. The only thing is this park is close by a interstate highway, and it is loud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$34
We stayed at this park several times on our way to and from Florida and have had good experiences until this last stay. We decided to stay for a week and were prepared to pay the website listed weekly rate and were promptly told the website was wrong, prices are now $33.50 a night not the $30 that was advertised. Staying a week we did get one night free but the bait-and-switch tactics left me with a bad taste in my mouth. The park has easy access for travelers, utilities work well (except for cable, which was snowy during the entire week), and the grounds are decent. At $33.50 I think Mayberry is overpriced for the amenities, or lack thereof, that they offer. No pool, no community room, etc. I don't know if we would stay again, only because there aren't many other options in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Nice campground, nice view of rolling hills, level, clean, etc. as previous reviewers have said. I do think that management could be a little more "customer friendly". The office hours are a little strange. Closed on a weekend mid afternoon? And, yes, they do consider Sunday a weekend night, PA is not accepted. you do come into the CG and pick your site, however if there was a map posted outside the office you would be able to immediately spot the pull through sites rather than driving around. Also, several phone calls requesting the password for the internet were not returned. Having a CG service background, our phones are monitored and customer requests are answered in a timely manner. Good spot for a weekday overnight, just try to arrive when the office is open. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$57
Prior reviews are spot on, although we did not have an issue with the I-74 noise. Our wifi was very week, site 70. My guess is that there is only one antenna, at the office. My guess is that sites closer to the office will be quieter and have stronger wifi. Cable TV was excellent. Our rate included one night (out of two) of Passport America. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
Nice place for an overnight stay. Wi-Fi was good. Lots of cable channels. Level gravel sites (they let you pick your own). Easy access from the highway. The coolest thing about this campground is that it is on land that was owned by Eng Bunker (one of the original Siamese twins) and still belongs to the Bunker family. Eng's house is still standing on the property. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
We used this park as a stop over. The sites are all gravel and our site was level. There was a hard rain during the night and the site drained rather well considering. Our only complaints were that we were not given a Wi-Fi password at check in. By the time I was set up and unhooked, the office staff had left for the night. All in all not a big deal. The other problem was the amount of dog waste on one of the playground areas. You were not able to walk through the area without stepping in it. It appeared as if the grass had been mowed without first cleaning the area. We will stay again but hope the waste issue is solved before we return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
We tried Mayberry Campground after leaving another campground in the area that did not live up to our expectations. Mayberry was exactly as advertised. It was open, easy to access, clean, and friendly. It is not the type of campground we typically prefer though. We like the more secluded, shaded spots and this was definitely not that. We stayed at the upper most terrace and it is worth noting that the cable was not hooked up on those sites and the Wi-Fi was very weak. But we chose that site to keep our kids from bothering everyone else in the lower sites and to have a better view of the mountains. What others have said about the road noise is right on. It is loud and it is constant. At least at the upper level sites. Maybe if you were in the lower sites it would be muffled somewhat. That being said, the sunset over the mountains both nights was well worth it. So even though it was not our typical campground, it was nice and served as a nice base camp for visits to the wineries and Mt. Airy. We did fish the two ponds and actually caught a few too as a bonus!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
We visited the area in the fall, this is a nice campground. People were very friendly lots to see in the area. We would stay here again. Used Passport America, Internet was good too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
This is our second stay here, we used PA 2 nights and regular rate for 2 nights. Cash for PA nights, CC accepted for regular rates. We asked at check in which sites have the strongest Wi-Fi signal, we were told it is good everywhere. Not so, the site we selected had a very poor signal, wish we had better info from the staff before we selected our spot. Verizon cell signal is extended network, so we could not use that connection. Now, for the good stuff, hookups are laid out logically and are in excellent working order. The pull through sites are long and level. The owners are hard working, friendly folks. Easy access from I-77 and I-74. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we've ever stumbled upon. The sites are spacious, clean and open. They all have full services, including park-wide Wi-Fi that works, cable TV and 50 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We think this may be one of the top 3 RV Parks in the US! Excellent facility, very friendly owner and staff, excellent utilities, free fast Wi-Fi at the site and free cable TV. This park is a great value. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Very nice campground. Friendly helpful staff. Mainly setup for full connection campers - there is a bathroom and shower faculty behind the office which was clean but very small. We have stayed there several times over the last 3 years and the park is slowly expanding [a good thing]. The area is great with lots of festivals and other activities. We will return there several times in 2012! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$16
Fourth time here for an overnight as we pass through the area. Bathhouse much cleaner than last time, but unfortunately reeked of cigarette smoke which I think is coming from the office attached next door, as there was no one else in there the whole time I showered. Was coughing by the time I left. Real shame. Hopefully they will build one someday that is separate from the cigarette smoke filled office. Once again really nice big pull through with the convenience of not having to disconnect "the toad". Good Wi-Fi, water pressure, 50 amp, but weak cable stations. Price reflects half price week day Passport America, but be aware that is cash only. Will return again when through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Nice clean CG. Cost includes a GS discount. Stayed here overnight on our way home from Myrtle Beach. CG was clean and sites level. The bathrooms were clean. This CG is obviously a stopover CG or a home base to explore Mount Airy, and all thing "Andy Griffith". We did go "to town" but beware, the sidewalks roll up at 5 pm so be there early if you want to mingle in the stores and look around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
This is one of the nicest RV parks we have ever stayed at in 6 yrs of RV'ing. The owners and the entire staff are what you want when you drive into a campground. They are super nice and helpful with recommendations of things in the area. The park is well manicured in the grassy areas and the interior roads are smooth even though they are gravel. The cable TV is super with a lot of channels. The internet Wi-Fi is great and the cell signal is also good. The view is awesome and they have good accommodations for groups and rally's. It is easy to access of I-74 and only about 3 or 4 miles from down town Mt. Airy. We already have a future reservation. Check it out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
We camped here in a small motorhome with PPA discount. All sites seem to be very level and the overall appearance of the park is very clean and orderly. All utilities work well and the wi-fi and cable TV is a plus. The staff is very helpful and friendly, and we will return on our next trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
We paid the campground's Passport America member rate for full hookups. This relatively new (3+ years) park has excellent level sites on terraced areas, with many pull-throughs available. As noted, picnic tables are situated only in the pavilions. Everything was clean, modern, and easy to access with the RV. One lack is shade, for there are no trees near the campsites. Our visit included several Murphy's law situations. The cable TV connection (which was working just fine on other sites) failed at our site. Office staff provided a 75' coaxial cable to hook us to a nearby vacant location, but the resultant pictures were a bit more fuzzy than the reception others experienced. Wi-Fi signal strength was rated by our PC as "very good", but the new Wi-Fi system refused to recognize our ancient laptop to complete the connection. Through it all, park staff were unfailingly concerned and helpful. Although our score dropped a bit with the minor problems, we also realize that these were glitches unique to our experience, and were not park-wide shortcomings. We will gladly stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
We stayed here having read previous reviews. This is a wide open large RV park with no shade, but terraced loops. Yes, you can hear the traffic from the interstate, but from most sites it is not visible so you just see the distant hills. There are no picnic tables except in a few scattered pavilions. The only shade is from your awning. There are two small playgrounds. Cable is excellent. We had trouble twice with the internet needing resetting (or so we were told) and each time took 4 calls to the office to get it corrected. The advantage to this park is that it would be easy-in/easy-out for an overnight OR it would be a good base for the sites of Mt. Airy, Pilot Mountain, the numerous vineyards, and shopping. We used it as a base for a week and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
This park is big rig friendly with many pull through sites. Internal roads and sites are gravel. Situated close to Mount Airy for convenient shopping. Staff was friendly. Park staff was friendly. However, this park charges resort prices for a plain Jane facility. The rate shown was a monthly rate with the only amenity being cable TV. Wi-Fi did not work well, if at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
I love this campground! This is our second time there. It's very easy to get in and out of. Right off the highway. They take Passport America, but we stayed on a weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
We stay here frequently and always find it clean, friendly, and a fund place to stay! It is conveniently located to area North Carolina wineries in the Yadkin Valley and a short drive takes you on the Blue Ridge Parkway and to Virginia sites. I highly recommend this campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
Large campground convenient to Mt. Airy ("Mayberry RFD") and the Interstate. Staff was pleasant and helpful. I subtracted from rating because the facilities are lacking. Only one rest room near office at the extreme end of this large campground. ("We're working on that," was the staff response; excavation was in progress to add more sites.) WiFi: claimed to have multiple repeaters around camp but had difficulty connecting and maintaining connection, even with my booster antenna. Needed more gravel around our site: potentially muddy at the rear where access was needed for storage of wiring and hoses. Okay place if self-contained and little is expected in terms of facilities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
Found this CG in the Passport America directory and agree with other reviews. As we came in on a Friday we paid the Good Sam rate of $27 plus tax. A good all inclusive price for 50 amp, water, sewer, good cable lineup and Wi-Fi. Our only problem was that we could only stay two days. So it is on the must return to list. Great, friendly people here. They had a hot dog roast that all were invited to during our two day stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
Once again had the pleasure of staying at this convenient park enroute back and forth from our home in Florida. Big roomy gravel sites with full hookup, cable and great WIFI connect is only 30 bucks. 15.00 during the week with PA. We were there on a weekend, but still received a Good Sam discount. Brand new laundry room to open the Monday after we left. We had brand new picnic table at our site, but many have not been added to sites yet. Bathroom is end of a modular office and basically clean, though the trash had obviously not been dumped in weeks and the single shower had not been cleaned in a long time. Nice that they allow you to cruise in and pick your own site. Hoping this park will continue to add new features and landscaping would be a nice addition. Our cable connection was very fuzzy, but may have just been that one site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
This is a great park with big level sites. The placement of the utilities was well thought out. The Wi Fi and power are good as is the cable TV. Everything was included in our Good Sam rate. This looks like a new park so didn't see shade. We plan to return to this park yearly on our way home from Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$29
We stayed here just passing through. This is a Passport America park and it is quite nice. Owners are very friendly and helpful. We will come back and stay longer and explore around the area at some time in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
The Mayberry Campground is new and growing. An easy drive from I-77 and I-81, the campground is big-rig friendly and you are escorted to your site. The staff is laid-back and very "Mayberry RFD." Water, electric and cable TV work well; Wi-Fi is a little sluggish and weak. As this campground is on a hilltop it can be very breezy and there are no trees (yet). The sites are level and graveled with granite gravel. Again, Mayberry is a work in progress and a very pleasant place for an overnight stay--just don't expect a swimming pool, tennis courts or other stuff. We stayed a second night due to weather and enjoyed a rest day reading. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
This is a nice, well kept park with a very friendly staff. The sites are large and easy to get in and out. The whole park is gravel and so could be a bit dusty. The cable TV was great. It's very handy to historic Mt Airy. Wal-Mart and other shopping is close by. We had great service on our Verizon phone and air card. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$29
This campground was nearly sold out when we arrived. We were surprised being so late in the year. It is a nice campground although still fairly new. No shade trees to speak of, but not an issue at this time of year. The pads are gravel but fairly level. No defined patios at the sites, just a grass area. The owner was putting on a "camper appreciation" weekend while we were here. He supplied food on Saturday for the whole campground and a band played Bluegrass music. The park is still expanding and getting campers does not appear to be a problem. Close and easy location to explore Mt. Airy. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
We loved this campground. Our gravel site was fairly level, spacious and close to the bathrooms. The bathrooms are very clean. We had full hookups with cable TV and Wi-Fi included in the cost. There was a play area for the children and bike paths. Pets are welcome. The staff was very friendly. The highlight was going through the town of "Mayberry!" It was very nostalgic. We would definitely stay here again when we're in the area. Our rate reflected the Good Sam's discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This is a fairly new campground. The sites are very spacious and easy to access. We did have problems with the Wi-Fi, hit or miss about getting on. This park is located close to town so you can take in the features of the inspiration for the "Andy Griffith Show". Very enjoyable. Laundry was not yet installed, but will be very soon as almost everything was complete. We liked it here and highly recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
We really liked this park. It wasn't real busy so they gave us use of their golf cart to ride around and find the site we wanted. It is very big rig friendly. Our site had two sewer hookups. Very nice. I would highly recommend this park to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
We made a trip from GA to PA and called when leaving PA to get a site. Even though it was a festival weekend he reserved the site for us. We arrived late and one of the owners waited up for us knowing we were coming. He was super nice showed us to the site and offered to help us set up. We asked about BBQ and he told us about Little Richards it was great. The fishing in the ponds are great over 3 days I caught about 60 bass small but fun! The kids had a blast at the playground and fishing with DAD. Nice location to town and shopping. Camp store is very limited but they can tell you where to get anything you want. 5 min. to Wal-Mart and food. This is a new campground and is still growing. Awesome week and we could not have asked for a better end to our trip! Bathrooms are a issue but can work with them. I would stay here above much others. Plenty of short day trips in the area. Pilot mountain, Mabury Mill on the blue ridge parkway, and the property is historic also. I would tell anyone to stay with them for a night or a week. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
Nice park as you roll in. It is laid out very well with gravel roads and sites. Cons: Only one shower, two toilets and one lavatory per gender. Located in same building as office. No doors on stalls only curtains. Being NC they smoke in the office and it drifts into the bath area, nasty. The office/bathrooms are at the entrance to the park, meaning quite a hike for most. The WiFi was sporadic probably too many users at once. Road noise from I-74 but it was cool and we had windows closed. No laundry although they have one all built but not inspected by the State yet. Pros: Price was great for what you got. Well maintained park. Sites level. Water and electric close and on proper side. They are constantly working on the park. Staff super friendly and very talkative. We stayed 2 nights and toured Mt. Aity (Mayberry). Great cable TV reception. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
One of the best campgrounds we have stayed. Not cramped, level and well kept sites, full service. Very friendly staff who went the extra mile to make you happy. This trip got even better with our dogs staying at a local "doggie day care" Beagle B&B in Dobson, about a 10 minute drive from the CG. Will refer others and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
Very pretty park with decent size, level gravel sites. All utilities are modern and well placed. Wi-Fi was sporadic but our Verizon Card worked well. Good cable TV selection. They do need to address the shower/bath situation though. A park this size needs more than one shower stall for each sex. Their information says they have a laundry but it is not yet finished. Above rate was Passport America for 3 days. Satellite owners would have no problem from any of the sites. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
Great place for overnight or to spend a couple of days to visit local wineries and Mt Airy attractions. Big rig friendly. Sites are not large, but no problem with room for slide or awning. Good internet. No shade, maybe in 5 to 10 years the trees will grow. Laundry not yet completed/open. Looks like they are adding more sites. Many sites don't have picnic tables. Place for the dog to swim in the fishing pond. Friendly folks. We stayed at the Passport America rate. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Clean, well-kept, helpful and friendly staff. Lovely setting with rolling hills and 2 ponds. The only minus is that there is no shade, but that was not a problem at this time. Near interstate, but for that convenience, you get the noise. Was not a problem for us. Enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Campground owner and staff are very friendly and try their best to please you. They do however need to concentrate on improving what they have instead of making more sites. They need a decent laundry, not the 2 washer and dryers they only recently put in-not nearly enough for a campground this size. They also need a pool, bath house and picnic tables at each site. The lack of picnic tables at each site is due to the fact it cost more for someone to cut the grass if they have to move them, but you have to make your customers happy! Sorry the other reviewer didn't get to visit Andy Griffiths hometown, go for a ride on the parkway, eat at Snappy Lunch or see the shops down town that bring back many memories of Mayberry TV show from the 60's. WiFi not always available at sites not near the office, and when they are a lot of people trying to access it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This park is fairly new. It is located on the former farm of Eng & Chang Bunker - famous Siamese twins of the late 1880s who lived and raised families here. There were few trees at all and a medium sized pond. The sites were spacious and easy to get into and out of. Not much else in the way of amenities. We were close to Mt Airy which was fun to explore. The North Carolina Granite Company was just as interesting as all the Andy Griffith stuff! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Okay place to stop for a night as long as your not looking for anything fancy. Clean, but nothing to do. Very dusty: our car and motorhome had a layer of dust on it before we hit our spot. Can't say too much because we only spent the night, got out the next morning. Never left the park so not sure what's around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Great access right of I-74 at route 601, real close to Mt Airy. Good roads for big-rigs. Large spots. Family run private campground and their pride shows, roads and property were immaculate, beautiful old farmhouse with view of pond. Good clean bath facilities, but limited in number (full-hookups at every site though). We had fun fishing in ponds (there are two). Caught several nice largemouth bass from the bank, saw some pictures of many 5-6 pounders that have been caught here (on display in office). Nice people on staff. Owner himself led us to our sites with golfcart. We thought we would have to leave later than checkout time: it was confusing that there were two different checkout times (1pm and 3pm) on the check-in paperwork. When I talked to the little weekend girl in the office (very sweet) about it, she just laughed and said "well, that shows you how flexible we are!" I love it! An answer like that really shows just how laid-back and friendly this place is: like everything in "Mayberry" should be! Those down-to-earth attitudes will keep people coming back. We liked Mayberry CG very much, and will stay here during every trip to Mayberry we'll make in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
The "lake" here is a retention pond, but cute anyway. Our second time back here as we passed through here last year to visit with relatives in the North. Wonderful to have this high speed free WiFi, with fast internet included in rate. Full hookups with 50 amp and convenient placement of connections at a fantastic price of $16.00 a night with easy access to the highway. Free cable TV included, and you satellite people will be in heaven with the open spaces. Only bad thing is they have done nothing in the last year to plant any trees for shade, as this place sorely needs. We are having a record heat wave here and the A/C on all units in the park are going full whack. This would not only help us, but also their cost of supplying electric to us, not to mention give it some character. It is an old farm field and could use some charm, but I am hoping this is coming in the future as the owners seem to be trying to make a go of the place and really care about it. Looks like they are starting to supply picnic tables at a select few sites (ours had none) and added a few picnic pavillions. Roads and sites are crushed rocks with no concrete patios or pads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We've camped here several times and have nothing but praise for the place and the staff! The man who owns it, treats people like they own it and can't do enough for you to make you comfortable. Not too good for kids yet, but it will get better as time goes by. He is adding sites and amenities all the time. Great place to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
Rate reflects Passport America rate. Very, very friendly staff: they go overboard to accommodate you. Sites are well kept, far enough apart for privacy yet close enough you can speak to your neighbors. Large campground with almost no trees for shade, all hookups are new and easy to use. Great Wi-Fi signal all over the park and cable TV was available although we didn't use it. Very good place to camp if you want to see Mt. Airy and the surrounding areas. We will certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Park has very nice, very friendly staff. Since it is a new park, there are no trees for shade, but that is nice to know if you have satellites. This park is a pleasant surprise for Big Rigs. You won't have any problems parking. I will definitely come back to this park in the future and recommend it highly. Also I was given a free night for staying a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
I agree with the last review of this campground; this is a great place to relax and let time slow down for a few days. The staff was very friendly and always looking for ways to improve their campground. Good Wi-Fi, clear cable, very large level sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
As previously stated: Quiet, nice owners, generous sites. I only used it for an overnight stop on my way to Charlotte, but it is on my list for a future visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This is a Passport America Park - for three nights. Rate quoted is the regular nightly rate. We loved this park and kept extending our stay. Came in for three nights and left three weeks later. The owner and staff are wonderful and very accommodating. They have an interesting policy - first come first served, you find a site you like that is open and it is yours. There is so much to do in the area and very close by are a Super Wal-Mart, grocery stores, restaurants and tourist attractions. We loved it here and will return again when we are in the area. This is one of the places we left and said "boy I'd love to work camp here". Just a wonderful place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
Rate was for pull through. Passport America accepted for 3 week nights, but not on holiday. This is a quiet new campground, very nicely graveled roads and sites, with well maintained grass areas. There is no shade, and no pool, but the campground is lovely. Sites are spread out on hills, and all level. Full hookups, with cable, on all sites. I could not get good wi-fi service. We were only here for one night, but will return to stay longer another time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This is a great CG for peace and quiet. The owner was very gracious and attentive. The layout of the sites is probably one of the best we have seen. There are really no amenities here yet but there is plenty to do in the area to keep you busy for several days. We were able to choose our site, have good free Wi-Fi and enjoy the view. We would highly recommend this CG for any camping size vehicles, even 45 footers! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Our first stay at Mayberry, but will not be our last. Staff in the office was terrific! Sites are level. A beautiful park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
This is a very nice campground. The sites are long and wide. It was definitely designed for big rigs. The layout is just perfect. The lady in the office couldn't have been nicer. I will definitely stay here again. It isn't far off of I-77. I stayed here as a Passport America member. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
This is a great park. Away from highway noise, large sites, plenty of space between sites. Great Wi-Fi and cable TV. The office staff is VERY friendly and accommodating. Sites are level. Water supply piping is protected from freezing up to point of your connection. There are double sanitary connections widely separated that allow most any size rig or configuration to be easily accommodated, a nice touch. Location is close enough to mountains for day trips. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
The friendliest staff I have run into here in this part of NC. Very low-keyed RV campground and close to the highway . If you get here after the staff is off, they tell you to go settle in and in the morning come to the office and check in. Mt Airy is just down the road a few miles and has some things to do. At this campground you need to entertain yourself, read a book etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
This campground is one of the nicest I have visited. The roads and RV pads are crushed granite. The pads are all level and have 2 sewer hook-ups: one at the power pole and one in the middle. There are no extra charges for Wi-Fi, cable TV or 50 amps. If you want a campfire, they will bring you a firepit and free wood. It does not have a laundry or pool at this time. The owner said those are in the plans. I have never had owners bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable like these owners did. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
One of the best campgrounds we have visited. There is nothing to worry about here: large sites, level, well placed hookups, interior roads are large and in great condition. No problem getting a satellite signal. Most importantly, the management is very very nice. They will go well beyond the call of duty to make sure you are happy and have what you need. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
Nice park, owners, and guests very friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi is iffy. We stayed 3 days and enjoyed it, we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
Nice campground. Two fishing ponds. Level gravel sites with grass between sites. Very friendly staff. Pet friendly. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
Great little campground, rate reflects the average of Passport America + 1 night regular rate. Owners are hard working and will do anything to help you. Sites are on levels, my site was long (pull thru) and level. Easy hookups, well placed, and in good working order. The Wi-Fi was down, the server CO was called right away and had it back up very quickly. We did not use the campground showers. Do not rely on your GPS to locate this campground, use their directions. I'm looking forward to a return visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
Rate reflects average with Passport America good Monday-Thursday. Nice new facility with stone roads and sites. It is a little pricey if you pay full price for the amenities available. Wi-Fi works on some of the sites but not all. It is close to town and shopping. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$13
One of the nicest Passport America parks we have used. We were only able to stay one night, but would like to come back for a longer stay. The sites are very nice with full hookups (50 amp) and free Wi-Fi. No shade, but not a problem for us. The owners and staff are super nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We stayed a week in July and we enjoyed everyday! Owner was helpful in every way, always asking if we needed anything. I love the way the grounds are bright and clean. The sites were far enough apart that you felt you had privacy. Every campsite is a good one. There are no bad campsites. This is our campground of choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Comfortable and nice new park with full amenities and large sites, convenient for our one night stopover off the highway. Wi-Fi signal was strong. Clean restrooms, though they were very small in a mobile type building. Perhaps the permanent style is coming later? Cute little fishing pond with lots of geese that my cats enjoyed watching from their perch on the front dash. Watch out for "goose droppings" as they are everywhere. Sites are gravel with field type grass. Park would be perfect if they added landscaping, patios, and picnic tables, which might be in their future plans? Can see the interstate from the park as it is so open, but the noise was very limited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Nice new open park for satellite dome reception plus large spaces for long RV's like ours. Many are pull throughs for over nighters. There's also plenty of grass that is kept mowed. Good power and water pressure, too. We are here for a few months and expect to see some glorious colors surrounding the campground this Fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Stayed here 5 nights to tour all the Mayberry sites. It's a nice place to stay but not much in amenities like a pool or playground. The only negative I would give is that there is only one shower and two toilets with a shower curtain for a door in the ladies room bath house. I never had a problem waiting for either since most of the units staying there was self contained. Do yourself a favor and eat at The Depot restaurant in Dobson. Great food at reasonable prices. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Excellent Overall Park. Just Stayed The Weekend. Super Nice Hosts That Were Very Helpful. Do Not Have Picnic Tables At Sites But We Were Offered A Table. They Have Large And Small Sites. Plenty Of Room For Any Size Rig. Nice Walking Areas. This Is A Newer Campground And They Are Adding Sites And Improving All The Time. Plan On Going Back Soon. Limited Activities, But The Area Has A Lot To See And Do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Campground is large gravel area with little to no shade. Owners are trying to make it nice but it is still hot in the summer. Maybe in a few years it will be worth staying at again. Be preparted to run your air conditioner day and night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This is the best kept campground we have used. It is very new and improvements are constantly being added. The owner is an "RV-er" himself and he is building a campground that he would want to use. Although there are no picnic tables at the site the owner showed up with a very nice folding table for us to use as soon as we set up. The owner is a descendant of the famous Eng and Chang Bunker Siamese twins from the 1800's. His mother gave us a tour of the old farm house on the property that was built in 1900. It contains pictures and antiques that belonged to the twins. We loved the campground so much we stored our 5th wheel there so we can camp several times this summer. Don't miss this great campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Pros: price and location Cons: the sites in the row we were put in had no space between sites. We were unable to use our awning. There are no picnic tables provided. However, our site was so close to our neighbors that we would not have been able to use it had one been provided. Site is a rock driveway only as wide as the camper. As it rained while we were there, we were walking in standing water to get into and out of our camper. We were unable to access internet. We were told that the house blocked it and that they needed to add a repeater. My husband is in the middle of his last class prior to completing his MBA. Therefore, having wifi is a must as he has to log on and post to the class. Having no wifi was a big problem. There are no trees to speak of. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
A campground that only has full hookups/ Wi-Fi/ and cable. The Wi-Fi is a good strong signal from every site. On the campground map it shows over 65 sites, but walking around they are working on putting some new sites in, and now there are close to 90 sites or more. They are have big plans for this campground and expect to add a swimming pool, playgrounds, store, campfire pits and much more. Right now there are no tables at each site but the bathroom was clean and there are two catch and release ponds.. The sites are spread out and there is no privacy but it is still quite peaceful. You can look out towards the Blue Ridge Mountains in the distance but you do hear the interstate near by. The campground sits on the former farm and homeplace for Eng and Chang Bunker (the famous Siamese twins) and their descendents. They are buried at the little white church near by and the downtown regional museum tells the history of their story. The campground is easy to get to and very close to all sorts of restaurants, Wal-Mart, and any other stores or gas stations that you might need. Very interesting. Other places to visit are all the wineries in the area (29 of them) especially the Shelton Winery (one of the most beautiful wineries we have seen), the regional museum and the largest open granite pit in the world. The visitor center downtown has maps and there is a drive through tour where you can see these sites as wells as the Bed and Breakfast which was Andy’s homeplace. There is even a winery right downtown! The Blue Ridge Mountains are close by as well as a couple of state parks and other historic sites to visit like the JEB Stuart birthplace. Lots to do and visit in the area. RV friendly, a number of free parking lots around town but the best place for a large RV is the post office parking lot. We were in a tornado watch again and had thunderstorms around midnight. Traveling in the middle of NC and western part in the months of April and May we have been told to expect this but as much as we have loved NC, I think visiting the area would be safer during other times of the year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$13
This was a nice, clean park that is new. The owners were very nice. The roads are all new gravel and the grass is growing nicely. There are two fishing ponds. No pool or laundry yet but this is a very nice place to stay for a few nights. The campground feels like you are out in the country but town is only two miles away. Wal-Mart is two miles, Lowe's Home Improvement Store is three miles away and the main highway (Hwy 601) has banks, fast food, auto parts stores, etc. The Wi-Fi worked well, and the water, sewer and electric is all new. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Owner is very nice. Campground is fairly new and still being completed. Access to sites is very easy. All sites are full hookup including cable. Internet is good. Would have rated campground higher if it had a pool, play area, store, etc. Owner said they are planned as he is completing campground. Nice place to stay if most of your plans are to visit nearby towns and/or attractions. Would definitely stay there again when visiting area. Price is great! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$13
We stayed here for 3 nights and paid $13.25 each night as we have Passport America.The park is very clean and the owners are friendly and offer suggestions as where to eat and what to see.It is very close to attractions and shopping in Mount Airy. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
This campground is still under construction in some areas but for the most part it is great. It features nice big lots and a shelter for cookouts and gatherings. Two private fish lakes are neat. It is a country setting close to town. There are no activities at this time nor country store. Take it with you in and use it up. There is a great staff. We enjoyed it. We will go back next year. There is lots to see around the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
The owners of this campground are the best, of any campground we have ever stayed at. They are very willing to help with any problems you might have. We were having trouble with our slide-out and Benny (the owner) fixed it for us. There is no pool or playground for the kids. It is a new campground and my understanding is that these things will be added in the future. The sites are not right on top of each other, like most campgrounds we have stayed at. There is not a lot to do at the campground, but there is plenty to do within a short drive. If you want a quiet, relaxing getaway, then this is the place to stay. I do not recommend it, if you have children, they will be bored. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
New and very nice park. Large, well graded sites. Wi-Fi worked well. Friendly and helpful owner, offered directions and recommendations, picnic table or fire ring if we wanted one. Cable TV excellent and easy to aim satellite dish, only trees in campground are small and newly planted. Nice landscaping. We used Passport America for first night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Very nice campground and I would recommend it. Clean, spacious sites w/modern hookups. Owner was very nice and laid back and has lots of plans for expansion in the very near future. Campground convenient to Mt Airy and I-74. They were not crowded (less than 25 other campers) and we had our choice of sites. We did not use restroom/shower facilities, but when I looked in, they were very clean and spacious. There are no fire rings at the campsites, but they may be in the future plans. Trash receptacles placed conveniently around area which eliminates litter and keeps the grounds clean. We had a quiet weekend and are planning to return soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Very convenient to both I74 and I77.We were guided here by networking with other campers...great place to go. We stayed on top of a hill, overlooking one of the lakes and the mountains. Owner was terrific (even gathered and brought us firewood) and they had lots of great ideas of what to do in the area. Mount Airy was totally charming and Pilot Mountain was beautiful. We ended up staying 3 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$27
Put it on your list! It is convenient to I74 and about 5 miles from Mayberry - er - Mt Airy, NC. The previous reviews about modernness are true, the hosts were friendly and helpful (if only I had followed his advice, my water lines wouldn't have frozen). Sits are gravel, wide and offer spectacular views. I only wish it wasn't just an overnight stop. Next time it will be for a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$13
The campground is but a year old. It was laid out with considerable thought. All sites are pull-thru with modern hook-up pedestals. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Expansion continues. This will be a first-class campground deserving a higher rating in less than a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$12
Nice clean park well laid out by a real camper,no pool, all hookup well located. Price reflects Passport America discount. We will stay again if in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
This is a very clean, neat park. Facilities were well thought out and were in excellent condition. This is a Passport America park, so we actually paid $13.25 per night including tax. The park is a little over 1 year old. Owner has plans to extend the park into an adjacent wooded area (for shady camp sites). The spaces are reasonably wide and there's no trouble with slide outs. No picnic tables or fire rings (but it was rather cool and windy during our three-day stay, so outside activities weren't a priority.) There are two covered pavilions for group activities. If I'm in the area again, I'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
All roads and sites are granite rock. Sites are long, wide, and level. All sites have 30/50 amps, water, sewer, and cable TV with lots of channels. Wi-Fi was strong, worked well, and was free. You have a small fishing pond to fish in. Small amount of road noise off I-74. Very long walk from bathhouse to any sites and up hill. No fire ring or open fires here. LED lights on hookup post and corner post. All in all a very nice park to visit. Staff was great at check in. Mount Airy is home of Andy Griffith, Snappy Lunch, and Floyd's Barber shop. Tour the city, it is a lot's of fun. Lot's of new sites, pool, playground, and bathhouse in planing. DTV will pick up couple channels. Verizon cell phone worked great. We will return anytime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
This park is a open field type with no trees around the sites. The park has a lot of new sites all sites are gravel. The owners are very nice and try to please. We were told to ride around and choose a site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Excellent park, very quite..Owners very nice and helpful. It cant be beat for a nice relaxing time and lots to do close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
A work in progress but a great campground already. The sites are long, level, with full hookups and not too close together. The location is convenient to I-77, I-74, US 601, and 52, on the edge of Mount Airy (Mayberry), and not far from the Blue Ridge Parkway, Winston-Salem, and the local Vineyards. All in all a great location. You are treated like one of the family by the owners and the office staff. They are so friendly, helpful, and accommodating. We were there for a month and will stay there again when we are in the area. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
I had to move to Mayberry from another campground that was sold out. I wasn't disappointed - the sites are large, but gravel (interestingly, crushed granite!) Hookups are easily handled with almost everything new. Agreed with previous comment that it is a work in progress - not much vegetation yet. Owner is very friendly and most helpful. The proximity to Mount Airy is convenient. Mt. Airy was the setting for "Mayberry RFD" and is a delightful community. We'll sure be back with our motor home to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Owners on site and they were super nice. This is definitely a "work in progress", but has great potential. The owner is working daily to finish the park. Lovely views. Convenient location close to I-74 and Mt. Airy. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This new park is a work in progress. Owner projects 70 sites by the end of August. Pros: Quiet except high level by I-74. Very nice, helpful and friendly owners and staff. Minimum rules. Safe wholesome environment. Water tasty (but see below). Wal-Mart 2 miles away, also eating and grocery stores. Most sites have a choice of 2 sewer points. Great 50 amp hook up. They will allow you to pick your site. This park is not listed in Trailer Life yet, so not real crowded. Owner is very relaxed and allows washing of TV and rig. Sites are crushed granite pieces, packed tight. Plans are to have 70 sites by 9/1/08. Has nice picnic shelter. Eat at East Coast Wings next to Lowes...has all kinds of food which is very good! Also Snappy Lunch in town (pork chop sandwich). Yum! Cons: Neighbors dogs run free, however friendly and caused no problems. Low water pressure and volume. This is to be fixed at the end of this month when they hook up to city water. Wi-Fi worked OK most of the time, considering there is only one antenna (to add another antenna in the future). Bathroom only has 2 holes and one shower. No pool or laundry on premise. This park could be a 9 with not much problem in the near future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Extremely nice park. It is still under construction, but the finished work is superb. Very nice grass areas at each space. Level. graveled pull through space. Staff is very friendly and helpful. They have big plans for the park, and will be resort quality when it is completed. Great destination park as well as overnight. Close to many state parks and the Blue Ridge Parkway. If ever back in the area we will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
The owners are very friendly and helpful. Although the campground is still very much a work in progress, it is being worked on full-time, and it is going to be a first-class campground. We got the feeling that the owners are very committed to that. They were very concerned about all our needs being met. Also, cable and WiFi are now up and running. This is a convenient location for anyone visiting Mount Airy and its many attractions. Very easy in and out. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
We were one of their 1st campers. All sites have 50/30/20 amp electrical, water, sewer and cable coming soon. WiFi is also promised in the near future. Campground is set on a rolling, golf course like setting. There are two ponds and lots of grass. There are no trees yet, but they are installing shelters to keep you out of the weather. The streets are even paved with granite. It is located just outside the nice tourist town of Mount Airy where Andy Griffith grew up and based the TV town of "Mayberry". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com