224149 User submitted reviews online!!
Sanlan RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (863) 665-1726
CGID7984

Sanlan RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
531
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   6   7   9   9   9   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$38
Making my reservation by phone was easy and the person quite helpful. I just wish they had warned me about the construction causing rigs coming from the South to have to make a sharp u-turn. I had to find another way to get turned around. When we arrived we were ignored in the office. They give no discounts, saying they don't charge you tax. That's absurd. The state and county are collecting from the park so it's just wrapped into the price. The park is very large and most of it is park models or very long-term residents. A schedule of activities is published so there is much to do. Our site had a lot of little trash around it. The site was so sloped it took extra boards under the levelers to get level. The patio was level, so one side was too high to step up on. I asked for some shade and we had a beautiful big oak in the site. Annoyingly, everyone cuts through other people's campsites. Wi-Fi, if you can even get on but can't load a webpage then points off for telling me there is Wi-Fi at my site and there isn't. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
This is a clean and spacious park with a mix of mobile homes, full timers, part timers and short term. There is a lot of open space, trees, areas to walk or play with the dog. We had a premium plus lot which was concrete, extra long, lots of space between lots, great hook-ups, cable and free Wi-Fi. There's room for any size rig. My only request would be to put in a leash-free dog park. There are several areas that would be great for this. Also another laundry room is really needed. It is difficult to turn north towards town on the highway when exiting the park and there is a lot of road construction in the area. They do have a daily surcharge for a dog. This was the first time we had encountered something like that. We will definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
This is a very convenient well developed park for those visiting Lakeland/Central Florida. It is large and well laid out. Sites are level. The staff is very helpful and cordial and overall the stay was very good. The paved pull through sites are large. The rates are very reasonable for central Florida. Wi-Fi and cable are great. We would rate this park higher, but there are a few nagging problems. The grass has been high the last two visits and the park is quite "buggy" making outside leisure difficult--- so bring the Deet ! (in fairness mother nature has been providing much dampness there of late and that's life in central FL). The fully paved site we were in was covered with thick grass clippings which were wet, rotting and quite disgusting. The concrete pad was severely cracked and becoming deformed. Many of the sites around the park are grass, but are level. On the large pull through sites the separation between the sewer connection and the power/water pedestals is quite a distance, requiring the use of extensions for sewer, water and power. Fire ants are rampant. My wife and I were both bitten numerous times making our visit a bit uncomfortable -- but again that's life in central FL. More control over insects in the campground would be nice, but it is a very large park and such control might be too difficult. Access into the park is relatively easy. Access out of the park (to the left and northbound) is very difficult. One must travel south for quite a distance on Bartow Highway to find a location to turn back to the north if you are headed that direction when departing. We hope a bit more attention can be paid to maintenance in this park , but its definitely one we will visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Nice park, would come back if in the area. Very secure entrance gate with pass code to get in at night. 24 hour park ranger on duty. 50% here are permanent residents, then you have your seasonals, the rest is for short term stays. Our site was in the very back not far from the highway. There was a berm, which cut down on the traffic noise, no problem. The sites are very narrow. Cable TV very fuzzy. Wi-Fi was in and out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$37
Very nice park. Large enough site to even park the truck alongside. Never could connect to advertised internet,even from the office and heard others saying the same thing. Staff wonderful with local directions and very cordial. Too cold to use the pool, but it looked great. Pets are welcome and not pestered. I was glad to be there and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$43
Large park, laid out so it doesn't seem so big. Lots of activities available. Mostly a snowbird location with many people here for the season. Some sites grass, others are concrete pads. Wifi had excellent coverage but would slow down at times. Cable TV was OK but some stations were fuzzy. Connections at site are all male connections unlike most places with female connections. Office was out of adapters. 27 hole golf course adjacent to park. Lots of hiking trails that were a little tough for a bicycle. Swimming pool is heated but still a little cool in winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
Stopped here on the way to Big Foot, stayed one night. Price includes dog fee - $2, $1 each. Wide open spaces, long concrete site, concrete pad for picnic table, paved streets, corners a little tight. We checked in after hours, met the evening Ranger - very helpful, drove us to our site. Exceptional water pressure! Electric & sewer good, Sprint cell & MiFi worked well. Wi-Fi available, saw strong signals but did not try it. Park is very well maintained, would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
We stayed only one week & had wished we spent months here! Wonderful community environment with activities every night to partake in. Clean swimming pools (2), immaculate facilities and grounds. Combined transient and permanent sites with friendly & considerate neighbors and staff. Great hiking with golf carts allowed in all areas for those with limited walking abilities. This has to be a premier park. Shopping close by. We have nothing but wonderful comments on this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$45
A nice RV park locate beside their own private nature preserve. Park has decent amenities in good condition. Utilities worked well. Access to and in the park was easy for our larger RV. Park has a lot of Ontario snowbirds during the winter who were friendly and pleasant. Nature trails around the park in the private nature preserve were nice for walking, biking, and even suitable for golf carts if you travel with one. Rail trail in front of the park that is a short bike ride / walk to a gorgeous nature preserver (Circle Bar B and Hancock Lake). We were in a pull through site in the "sunset" area of the park under a tree that left our RV, grill, and chairs covered daily with a heavy coat of greenish / yellow pollen. it took some work after our stay to remove the green stains from everything. Also, didn't appreciate people knocking on our door Sundays trying to solicit us for money; once asking for breast cancer fund donations and second time for campground employee retirement party. This park was nice but pricey, there are no discounts anything, and they are VERY clear that there are no refunds for any stay for any reason. We would stay here again but far away from any trees next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$48
Easy access for big rigs. "Vista view" parking spots are really long with cement pads & patio area. There's plenty of grassy space between rigs too. The only strange thing here is the distance between the utility pole and the sewer connections - about 35 feet. I had to break out my 2nd water hose to connect everything up. Luckily I have an extra long shore power cord too. Wi-Fi IS available, but there are tons of snowbirds here so IF you can get logged on the connection is really slow just because of the amount of users online. Have an air card if you need internet in the middle of the day! We liked this place and would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$40
Professionally managed and clean. Mostly full timers with a mixture of permanent housing and RV's (both permanent and transient). Office staff very friendly and helpful and the grounds were well maintained. If we return to the area, we would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
Nice campground. Not a lot of shade. Friendly staff and close to town. Concrete patios available. Nice close weekend getaway for us. Ask for shaded site in summer if possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
Well maintained, large, secure RV park with a mixture of park models and RV's. During the summer the park is for the most part empty. While I was here over the weekend there were about a dozen travelers for the entire place, not including the full timers. The park is gated with a secure access code that can be used 24/7. The park is satellite friendly as you have a wide open sky, however the cable feed was excellent so I didn't bother. Note you will need an adapter to connect. WiFi was excellent as well as cellular internet connection availability, I was able to work all day without issue. The roads were easily accessible by any big rig vehicle. Grounds were well maintained, rangers were always present and the park was generally very clean. The pool appeared decent and they have a ton of shuffleboard courts. This is primarily a snowbird park during the winter months. There are a few negatives for this park. The rates during the winter are high and the discounts for weekly and monthly rates during the summer were only one and two dollars per day respectfully. The sites also were somewhat tight for those with larger rigs in the interior pull through section and I did have to dig out a board to level the rig, though smaller travel trailers or motor homes should be fine. A majority of the sections for the RV's have very little shade which can be a concern for those staying here during the summer months. This is not would I would consider a destination park but is nice for those looking for long term or want to explore the surrounding area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This is a great park. Probably hard to get into in the winter, but was great during the summer. Shore services was very good. Site we were in was great. They have a lot of smaller sites with soft sand. The ones in the back are long concrete and close enough to level. They were improving some of the smaller sites by adding concrete. We had the site very close to the showers and it was very good and clean. My AT&T Cell phone worked here and my Verizon Air Card was also good. No problem with Directv in then back area, but some of the smaller sites are in trees. I would stay here again any time I am in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Very nice snowbird park. They do a better job than most of separating the permanent models from the RV's. Has lots of grass and green space and trees, with ponds and hiking trails. Plenty of open sites that are satellite friendly. Free WiFi that works well all over the park. Most sites are on grass and need leveling help, except for one small pull-through section with cement pads. We were here during off season and it was open and quiet. During season it is probably packed. Sites in the front sections are very tight while sites in back sections are roomy. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, allowing us to pick the site we preferred. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$50
This is a very large Park. It's part park models, and part RV. From our site, in the big-rig pull through area, it would have been too far a walk to the pool / laundry, and trash facilities. They need to put a second set of facilities in big-rig area, other than the bathrooms. Overall they keep the grass cut and the grounds are well kept. There are several small lakes and picnic grounds to enjoy. Not too many tree's in pull through area. Good place to relax and stop over for a few days. Grocery is within a 10 minute drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$48
What a great RV park. We had a concrete big rig pull through site with concrete patio. The staff was always helpful, always someone around to ask questions. The campers were very friendly and as most campers, very helpful. We will stay here next time in the Lakeland area and would recommend it for anyone. All roads can handle the big rigs and the sites were very roomy. As I said, what a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$66
Dog friendly. Lots of things to do, golf, games, hiking. Beautiful park for hiking nearby. Clean, roomy showers and baths! Most of the staff I met was friendly. One woman was very rude but everyone else was nice. We loved the roomy sites and grassy areas. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$31
We are here in the off season so we almost have the place to ourselves. This is a very nice park and you can tell the pride the owners have by how well maintained it is. Our site is huge. It is nice looking out your window and seeing cranes walking by. Good bike trails, pool and lots of places to walk your dog. The people working at check in were friendly. If in the area we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
We spent 8 days at Sanlan and found it to be what an RV Park should be. Actually, it's more of a resort than a stop over RV park. It's picturesque, great walking trails through shaded areas around a 27 hole golf course and small lakes. The staff warmly welcomed us, and people working on the grounds were friendly. The laundry and bath facilities were very clean and updated (unlike what has been reviewed previously). On the negative side, this park gets filled quickly for winter months, so check in before arriving to be certain there's an opening. Be aware, they have a rule that is not to be questioned or broken, no matter what. Do not reserve a spot for longer than you plan to stay, because they do not refund for any reason. We had an ant infestation that kept us up at night. Because of this we decided to end our stay, even though we had planned to extend our stay longer. Luckily we only had one night left on before we'd need to reserve more nights. We asked for a refund, and were were abruptly turned down, even when I told them that I'd been asking the office to help us with the ant problem. We were told someone would come and spray several days before we decided to leave, but that didn't happen until the day before we left, after we told them we were leaving early. They apologized and sent someone over to spray, but alas, no refund. Other than that, Sanlan is a lovely spot. We had a charming send-off as we left the park when ak very large lazy alligator was sun bathing by the exit lake. We took pictures, but thankfully he didn't smile or move. We would stay here again, but would search out a spot without ants, and we'd be aware that there are no refunds-ever. This is a great snow-bird second home retreat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
I sold my house and was in between homes, so I stayed at Sanlan until my new house was completed. The staff is great! They will do anything reasonable to make you happy. They couldn't have been more kind and accommodating to me. The sites are large and the park is very clean. The residents there are also very nice. I could only find three negatives about this park. 1) No fire rings, 2) the bathrooms and showers were very dirty (no ac), 3) you have to walk a distance for a dumpster. If you are in Lakeland and are looking for a safe, nice, quiet place to stay, head over to Sanlan! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$23
This is a beautiful park, very quiet. We came here to hike. There are some nice and long trails. We will return to this park next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$48
Though we were only here for a few days, we will return to this park if we're in the Lakeland area again. The park is a large and busy park but the sites were large and the many long term residents were extremely friendly. Shortly after we arrived, some of our neighbors stopped by to introduce themselves and say hello. We had little interaction with the staff other than at check-in where they were nice enough. We found the park, restrooms, and laundry to be well-kept and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2008
$32
Very large park, too big. Not a bad place. Only good for a one night stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$40
We registered for a 5 night stay and eventually left after 30 days. Prior to leaving, we paid a deposit for a 60 day stay next winter. The site that we occupied was 40 feet wide with ample space to park our enclosed car trailer as well as our motorhome, and still have full use of the cement patio. Our Golden Retriever was a welcome guest for an extra $1.00 per day, and we also paid an extra $1.00 per day for our trailer. We rode our bicycles for miles on the private trails where we saw many alligators, numerous birds, and even made the 15 mile return ride to Bartow on the old rail trail. The large percentage of seasonal residents were friendly and welcoming with many from Ontario. The facilities were clean and convenient, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only negative was the weak Wi-Fi signal. We found that we had to go to the main office to get a good and continuous signal. This park is a little more expensive than some others, but the amenities and activities that are available make it worth the little bit extra!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$32
We stayed in this campground for two weeks. It is well situated half way between Orlando and Tampa. It's about a 30 mile drive either way. Lakeland itself is a small city that is easy to get around. Lakeland has two great malls for shopping. (One big new outdoor type, one traditional indoor mall type.) The new outdoor mall has a great moving theatre, most comfortable seats we have been in. Some great restaurants as well. The campground feels very rural, yet is only minutes away from great shopping. Wi-Fi worked great! Cable TV gave us around 80 channels and was included in campground fee. The campground is very picturesque, (NOT the new pull thru area) with lots of trees with Spanish moss. The laundry room had about 10 washers and dryers and were reasonably priced. Washrooms and showers were very clean. Lots of area to walk dogs without every leaving the campground (it's very big). But do keep your dogs leashed. We saw several crocodiles sunning themselves. (Right next to the dog walk!) We had a great time and can hardly wait to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$37
This is an extremely large park populated primarily by retirees in “annual on sites,” “monthly metered sites,” or mobile homes. The remaining 150 or so RV sites vary tremendously in size and quality. Most sites in the Sunset Circle area are grass with concrete patios and are adequate, but the Ranch View section has extremely narrow sites and not a blade of grass. Long-termers accurately refer to it as “the sand box”. (We would not have stayed if we’d been placed there.) If you play shuffleboard, you’ll be in heaven here. Laundry was clean and large. Cable was good, but required an adapter to connect. The Wi-Fi was excruciatingly slow. For the quality of the campground and the amenities, I felt it was over-priced, and I felt absolutely gouged by the pet policy. They insisted our beagle mix was a “large dog.” Anything over 12 pounds, by their definition, and charged an extra $1 per day (it’s fifty cents a day for “small dogs”). For what? A charge for cable or Wi-Fi makes sense, but they don’t provide any service for my extra pet charge. To add insult, this park had more un-scooped dog waste than any other we’ve seen. Also, they advertise Good Sam, but they do not honor it, nor do they discount for weekly reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
We spent nine days here and will return. The sites where we were had lots of space and shade. The sites are grassy with a concrete patio. Staff are friendly and helpful. We arrived on a Sunday. Before we got to Sanlan, our truck died (12 miles away, on the interstate!). Chris called around for us and arranged a tow truck. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$21
We had a son move to this area and choose it strictly from the location. It turned out to be one of the nicest parks that we have stayed at. We only spent 5 days here but it would be easy to spend a month or more. Roads are all paved and most of the sites have good size patios. They are connected to a golf course, putting green and driving range. There are several fishing lakes to choose from. No license needed, just a free permit from the park. There are miles of nature trails. Enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com