223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Turtle Beach Campground (formerly Gulf Beach Campground) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (941) 349-3839
CGID799

Turtle Beach Campground (formerly Gulf Beach Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   10   7   9   3   6   10   10   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
I originally reviewed this as a "2" because of not being able to get into the campground site and not getting a response when I wrote asking for a refund. However, on my second attempt emailing them, I did get a written and a verbal response, and I was told that my money is being credited back to my account. The lady explained to me that the sites are small and tight and that situations like mine do arise. She also said that the sites are easier to get into if you are in a motor home instead of a travel trailer. However, that it is a nice campground to access to one of the most beautiful beaches. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
I gave it a 7 due to the lack of "perks" but, really, the location is THE PERK. I love this place! Have reservations soon and cannot wait. Hoping there will be no red tide but other than that, I expect to have a wonderful time there. It isn't fancy, it's "old Florida" at it's best and staying there takes me back in time. The front spaces that a previous poster stated had been closed off has been converted to picnicking areas for campers with nice tables, grills, etc. This area is fairly well shaded. If you are looking for a "resort" try Sun n Fun, Royal Coachman, or maybe Horseshoe Cove. If you really wanna go to the beach to camp, this is your spot :) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$60
We spent 2 weeks in Feb 09 and plan on 2 trips in 2010. It was clean, quiet and they are very friendly. The pub across the street is great. The beach is not as white as Siest Key Beach but it was never crowded and very clean. A small place with no frills, but you're on the gulf. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
When we first arrived, my wife and I did not like the place at all. This is probably one of the least appealing places we've ever stayed. The sites were very small, and it is basically setup like an alley with dirt camp-sites on either side and one small paved road through the middle. The campsites on the right backup to a 6 foot wood privacy fence with a couple 2 story condos/houses right next to it. One of the houses overlooked the campground. The left side backed up to a chain-link fence with a parking lot for beach access to Turtle beach and a boat ramp. Not very private. There was only one bath-house/laundry and it was showing it's age and had a slight odor of bleach. The toilets were clean and it was air-conditioned, but the place just look dilapidated, with rusty hinges on doors, broken shower latches, pitted shower heads, elongated toilet seats on round toilets, etc... We stayed for a week, and after a few days at the beach the convenience started to grow on us and we began to overlook the shortcomings of the campground. The people in the campground were very friendly, although a couple were inconsiderate blasting their TV's outside and talking very loudly to relatives on speaker-phone. The beach was nice, although some may not like the sand which is brown and black with a rough consistency and tends to stick to everything. There is a white-sand beach further down Siesta Key called Siesta beach if you don't mind driving, but if I were going to do that I would've stayed somewhere else. The park next door had a boat ramp on the inter-coastal water-way. I tried to fish the canal, but had no-luck. There's also bait shop and boat/kayak rentals at the marina across the street. I give it a 7 overall but only because of the beach, the campground would have only gotten maybe a 3 or 4. Also, for some reason they closed off the first 6 sites closest to the beach (the best ones), maybe for environmental reasons now that the county owns it. We paid a weekly rate of $205, plus $14/week for cable and $14/week to run your AC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$60
This campground is now called Turtle Beach Campground. Its small with about 40 or so sites, all back in so not great for big rigs. The closer to the beach the more the site costs. Some are shaded, others in sun. The beach is right there, lovely to have such easy access any time of day or night. Its a relatively quiet beach for Sarasota, and not the white Siesta Key sand but darker and more gritty, still quite lovely. Showers were just so-so but the beach is the thing here. There are two restaurants right across the street. No pets allowed. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2008
$50
The no pets ruined it for us. That's why people camp! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$31
Recently purchased by the county from private owners, the staff told me they were about to start a major renovation next year. It is densely packed, reasonably clean, and uninteresting as a campground. Noise was not a problem for us but as crowded together as the sites are, it could happen very easily. Staff was friendly and helpful. The real reason to go here is to be a short 100 yard walk to a very nice Gulf beach and a beautiful sunset. The surrounding area is fun and easy to travel about in. Go here for the beach, don't expect much else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Hard to back in to your site if they are filled to capacity. Very friendly staff and the other campers are helpful if you need help backing in! Beach is RIGHT THERE- you can't get much closer and still have shade trees. We loved this place. It used to be private but the county has taken it over. It's located in a residential area, which makes you think you took a wrong turn getting there. This place is a gem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
This campground was much better than expected. Had an excellent site very close to beach, nice and shady all day. Friendly, helpful staff. Very clean facilities. Grounds maintenance daily. Other campers were friendly. Our children had a wonderful time playing in the ocean. Would highly recommend to all other campers. Will definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2004
$55
Poor customer relations and they lost our reservation! Talked to campground owner who could care less - said he was fully booked all year and did not need us. Squeezed between a public beach park and high condos, sites are small and lack some privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$44
At first glance the park sites look small and you will wonder how you will ever fit. The staff will go with you to your site and help you back in. The overall cleanliness and awesome beach views will make the small sites seem trivial. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpfull and the friendliness of the fellow campers made this a campground worth coming back to. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Friendly park located on Siesta Key, south of Sarasota. Only one space front the Gulf but all spaces have access to beach. Some months booked up a year in advance so call before showing up. The sunsets were beautiful, and the fellow campers were the friendliest we have ever met. I think they do not allow rigs over 36'. We are booking for next fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$40
Not alot of extras but a very nice place. Sites are small, but the campground makes up for it by being right on the beach. No site is more than 200 yards from the Gulf of Mexico beach. Nice place to explore Sarasota from. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com