217938 User submitted reviews online!!
Deerlick Creek COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (205) 759-1591
CGID80

Deerlick Creek COE

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   8   7   9   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
A super campground. Staff very nice, campground is on a lake and a beautiful one at that. Paved sites and paved streets. Restroom is the only weakness. The were not air conditioned and it was well over 95 degrees, so the restrooms were well over 100. Great pavilion for group dining. Install AC and this place would be a solid 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
Very nice COE park. Wooded with paved access roads and concrete pads. Picnic tables, lantern poles at every site. Some sites have water views and wooden decks. Quiet, close to the Black Warrior River. Access to lake swimming and fishing. Nice covered picnic area. Clean, but simple restrooms. Hosts very nice. Dump station. Wooded, so no luck with satellite TV. Only a few channels available on air. Approximately 10 miles from a grocery store, so make sure to take what you need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$12
Deerlick Creek Campground is located Holt Lake on the Black Warrior-Tombigbee Waterway northeast of Tuscaloosa, Alabama. The facility is in a beautiful forest along the shoreline that provides campers with access to water sports, boating, fishing, swimming, hiking, and biking. Sites are paved, large in size with a good bit of privacy, and full hook ups (W/E/S). I camped at Site 11, located across from the bunk house, and in my opinion this site was the best. Bunk house was super clean. Numerous on shore fishing docks are provided. I caught three respectable sized Crappie during my stay. Another unplanned benefit that I encountered was that the sites were stocked with ready to use (split and dried) fire wood at no cost. This added benefit was provided by the resident COE volunteer, a retired Marine. Thank you kind Sir! The campground is situated amidst a mixed pine and hardwood forest that displays colorful foliage along the riverbanks each fall. Deer, squirrel, wild turkey, migratory birds and blue birds all live in the Holt Lake area. Cell phone coverage was good. TV reception was nonexistent. Deerlick has the potential to host rallies as it has a huge outdoor pavilion which sports 8 picnic tables, electrical, water, and a huge BBQ. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
Campground is about 25 minutes outside of Tuscaloosa but it's an easy drive to get to it. Sites are very large and spaced for privacy from neighbor. Bathroom facilities were spotless and laundry facility was inexpensive. One negative to consider - a number of the campsites are positioned on the cliffs overlooking the lake with severe drop offs. Something to consider if this is an issue for you. My site 2 did not have a water view but the slope around the site was gradual which was preferred. Nice trails to hike - the trail to the swim beach is extremely steep. Same looked to be true for some of the trails to fishing locations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
I gave this a 7 due to the fact that there are no sewer hook ups and the bathrooms are clean but old and typical of state campgrounds and parks. The sites were level and private. Each site has a nice patio and fire ring. We had no issues with low hanging trees and we are 14 feet high. The people that run the place are nice. This is about a 15 to 20 minute drive from the University area of Tuscaloosa. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$14
A great Alabama park. Concrete sites. One loop has a steep grade that goes down to the river. Large rigs beware. Upper loop can accommodate large rigs easily. In the woods next to the Black Warrior River. Dump station. 30/ 50 amp power and water. Also a dedicated primitive area. Difficult getting TV reception due to trees. Road to park is a little winding from Tuscaloosa. You have to take it slow and has some low hanging trees. Very quiet except during football season. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Very nice walking/biking trail. Has boat access and beach area on river inlet. Bath houses clean and in good shape. Playground, pavillion for picnics and 1/2 court basketball. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
What a beautiful setting in a shaded, wooded area! They did not give us a pull through site but the one we had was beautifully situated. We would have liked to have stayed a few days here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
This campground is one of the top we have stayed at. We stayed at site 39 along the river. The cul-de-sac turn-around is small and those cars who wandered down our road had to do a 3-point turn to get out. My kids loved riding up and down the paved street on their bikes and scooters. All the sites are well designed with large level concrete pads for RVs and wood decks to enjoy the outdoors. The only negative thing I can say about the campground is the amount of poison ivy. Most of it seemed like new growth, but they need to spray around the sites before it gets bad. Even with that being said, we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$9
Located about 12 miles from Tuscaloosa-Northport with many turns, hard to find. GPS helpful. It is on a hilly bluff above the Black Warrior River just upstream from a dam. It is a road in with scattered campsites many having overlook wood decks to the side of the paved sites. Very wooded. A fairly level bike path parallels through the woods on either side of the main campground road. Bathhouse good but can be a hike up the hills from some of the lower slope campsites. There is a beach at the river a bit off from the campground proper that I didn't bike down the steep hill to see. What goes down has to struggle back up. Rangers were nice and talkative. We would stay there again. Corp of Engineer campgrounds we have stayed at have all been top notch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
Great park - love being able to reserve specific sites!! The lake is great for fishing and the sites are large and private. Very peaceful and relaxing campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$22
This is our favorite campground. The Corps of Engineers should be exceptionally proud of this park. The roads are recently paved and the sites are all very level. The sites are scenic, spacious, wooded and provide an impressive degree of privacy. There are also very nice walking trails that aren't too challenging. The restrooms were very clean and the camp hosts were very friendly. We will return to Deerlick again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$9
Beautiful park with lots of walking trails and a great place for a short stay. Only one bathhouse for the entire park. On Alabama football weekends the place is filled with fans, there to attend the games. The gate is locked at 10 PM regardless of the situation when practically everyone is there for the ballgame. For night games this makes it difficult for all. I even offered to give the attendants a combination lock to use for one night. The walk from the gate is over a mile on a very dark road. Cars have to be left along the road with no security. There is a permanent resident who runs a shuttle service, which is probably the reason for being so inflexible about the 10 PM rule. Corps of Engineers could fix this if they so desired. Somebody needs to use reason. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$9
This campground is excellent!! Being a Corps of Engineers campground, there is no sewer, so you need to be comfortable with that when making a reservation. The campground has trails through the woods and around part of the lake. Also, there is a fishing dock. Be aware: sites 36 and higher are either very tight for anything over 30 feet or do not have adequate maneuvering room for a rig over that size. Site 36 has an extremely steep entrance: larger rigs will scrape their hitch and/or ladder. Do not be fooled by the site lengths advertised. We stayed in site #35. That site, along with #34 are fantastic. Lake view, large decks overlooking the lake, and a large fire pit area. Many of the pull through sites are pretty tight for larger rigs. Sites that are good for big rigs would be 9, 10, 11, 16 and 20. Reserve any of those or 334 or 335 and you will be very happy. We will definitely return here in the future. The price of $9/night was utilizing a Senior Access pass. Regular price would be $18. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
We stayed in site 34 for one night on our way to the Smokey's. Very clean, freshly paved roads, level concrete pads. We had a wonderful deck with a view of the lake. I would love to return and spend a few more days. The park was basically empty on Sunday, perhaps because it just reopened after renovations. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
What a wonderful place to stay! We used this as an overnight stop but wish we had longer. We had a large pull through site with a deck and a great view. No ant problems as was previously mentioned. All the sites seemed to be quite large, well spaced apart and with plenty of woodsy area between them. Would definitely return!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
Very nice campground. Had site right on the river. Not a bad site in the park. Did have an issue with ants. Not park's fault, but be prepared for the invasion! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
Camping here was a very pleasant experience. The sites are large and have fire rings, grills, picnic tables and on many sites: large decks with views of the river. All aspects of this park are top notch including the playground and bike trail. It would be nice to have on-site sewer, but as with most COE campgrounds there is only the single dump station. This campground is very much like real camping right out in nature, but with modern amenities. This is our favorite spot so far in Alabama and we will certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Like all COE parks we've been to, this is a model park that all campgrounds should follow. This park appeared to have been recently remodeled. The site we had was river front and had a brand new deck built on it. We honestly could not find a bad site in the place. All the river front sites are top notch and private. You will love this park. Although the park is remote there is a Publix grocery, restaurants and a CVS drug store about 10 miles away. There is a paved walking/bike trail that looks great but honestly we did not use it. There are a few other trails for foot traffic only. They are not paved. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$8
Wonderful park: quiet, clean, and campsites were large, with picnic tables, grills and fire rings. Some sites have a deck overlooking the river/lake. We had a pull through site with lots of room. Walking trails and bike trail. Host was very friendly. Publix grocery and gas/diesel nearby. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
If your staying in Tuscaloosa in your RV then this is the place. Though only a few miles from the city, this campground seems worlds away. Nice sites and a quiet place even on a football weekend. The only reason I did not give it a 10 was the fact that the campground host did not have the courtesy of leaving the gate open after a late ending football game of which 75% of the occupants of the campground went to. So every one had to park their cars inside and outside the gate since the campground is a half-mile past the gate. So if your going to be back by 10:00 this is a 10 campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
If it weren't for the pesky camp host buzzing around on his scooter, looking for camper violations, this park would get a 10 (reminds me of Barney Fife). When checking in, they don't seem to fully understand what campers expect. The campground is very scenic, with most sites having good shade. Some sites sit on a high bluff, while some are on a low bluff near the river. Even the sites on top of the hill are mostly in the woods and very private and scenic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
This is my favorite campground in Alabama. It's 10 miles from nearest grocery story but the roads are pretty easy driving to be that far out. The sites are beautiful, large, peaceful and wooded. Some sites are near the water and have decks overlooking the water. It's easy to really feel like your camping here. There is a short trail along the lake's edge. The paved bike trail through the woods is .6 miles (not 6 miles per a previous review). The loops make for good bike riding for kids. I rode on the roads just outside of camp for 16 miles and only saw 2 cars. The beach is 1/2 mile away, small and has a steep hike back but you can drive to it and park close. It has nice hardwoods, birds and mountain laurel and lots of armadillos to watch (they eat the fire ants!). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$14
Enjoyed it the most. clean, quiet, great place to kick back and relax. Area we stayed in had large sites well spaced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$14
We've camped here twice. One week July 2005 in a Popup and Memorial Day weekend in 2006 in our new Jayco Flight TT. It was very enjoyable both times. We enjoy taking our 2 dogs with us and it is a good place for them since the campground layout lets us walk them many different ways during the day (and night). The restrooms are kept up well and the staff is very friendly. Most sites are large and shaded. There is a nice sandy playground with basketball goals, swings and teeter-totters. This is one of most favorite areas to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$16
Great place to stay if you enjoy wooded, large campsites and the peace of being in the country. A little far from shopping, but no big deal! Closest shopping center is aproximately 10 miles. Only complaint while staying here was the noisy dogs in nearby sites. Seems quiet time is not really enforced. Not a real problem, just slightly annoying! Several large pull through sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$16
All sites are set up around heavy trees. All sites have a lot of space, table, fire pit, and great view. Sites are cement and roads are blacktop. Great view of lake from number of sites. On Golden age card price is half. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Although we like all the Corps parks, this one is probably our favorite. All of the sites are relatively private. If you are lucky enough to get a site down on the river (there are only about six), you will be treated to a large deck hanging off the side of a hill. You can then sit under the trees and watch the river traffic. Most of the sites are large level concrete pads. Even if you can only get a site up on the top of the hill, many of those sites have large decks overlooking the river down below. It's very scenic. In the six or so times we've camped here, we've never had a site that was less than great. There is a playground for the kids. The swimming area is accessible by walking down a steep hill in the woods, by taking bikes down a long hill, or by car. In the woods not far from the campground is a very nice paved walking/bike trail that makes a big loop. There is also a hiking trail down at the river level that circles much of the campground. A few of the sites are 16 feet wide and close to 100 feet long - so big rigs are welcome. Don't expect to go out to get a quick gallon of milk, though. The park is a long distance from any stores - a plus as far as I am concerned. Nevertheless, this is a great place to spend time with the family enjoying nature. Be sure not to leave your food on the table at night - or the racoons will clean the table for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2000
$15
A real nice clean campground. Great for the kids and beautiful scenery. US Army Corps of Engineers Campground. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com