220396 User submitted reviews online!!
Myakka River State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 47 user reviews. Phone: (941) 361-6511
CGID800

Myakka River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   10   10   10   10   10   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
We love this campground! Some of the roads had some standing water due to lots of rain, but not a big deal. Bathrooms here are always spotless thanks to the volunteers. Sites are spread out and nice sizes. Also have lots of pull thru sites and plenty for a 40' MH easily! Staff is always friendly.....love fishing on the bridge, even though I don't catch much, watching all the gators and birds is always fun. Plenty of deer roaming the marshes during the day as well as dusk! One of our favorite stays in the Florida State Park system! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
Palmetto Ridge camping area is the newest gem in Myakka River State Park. Large sites, clean, modern facilities. Plus Myakka River State Park is our FAVORITE bicycling spot in Florida for spotting birds and wildlife. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
It was very confusing trying to figure out where to camp based on the on-line information. So, to sort it out continue reading. There are three campgrounds. None of the campgrounds are actually on the lake. Big Flats campground is the furthest into the park at 2.8 miles past the entrance. There is water and good, solid 50 amp service. This is where we stayed and it was very nice. Spaces were close but vegetation provided some privacy. There are camp hosts and it is relatively quiet. The road that goes past to the boat and tram tours is busy during the day, but calms down at night. We did not use them, but the restrooms and showers seemed to be good. There is a gray water dump station but not one you can reach by driving. The only dump station for the park is along the main park road about a mile from the entrance. The Old Prairie campground is close to the park entrance. The sites are very close together and it has a very old feel. We were glad we did not stay there. The new, modern, very nice campground is the Palmetto Ridge campground. It has full hookups and is very nice. We would probably stay in this CG if we visited here again, but we were quite pleased with Big Flats. As noted, this is a beautiful park with lots of good biking. Just be aware that some of the trails/roads are sandy and hard biking. We were not able to get satellite because of tree cover. We had very spotty Verizon data, sometimes 4G and sometimes nothing. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$26
New campsites and great pull-through for a 34' motor home with tow. New clean bath house with handicap access. Bike trails, hiking trails, be sure and take the boat ride on the lake. The guide was very informative and entertaining. Arrive early to get your ticket. Lots of alligators, birds, and other wildlife. Would highly recommend this for a winter get away. Sarasota is just a few miles away if you tire of looking at the alligators! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$28
We loved this state park. Plenty of bike riding (we rode 82 miles in three days), hiking, nature, and wildlife. Wi-Fi is available at camp store. We used our antenna and had plenty of TV channels. Our site was #76, paved, and right next to the restrooms. We were in the newer section and had sewer hook up. You can either bring your own kayak or canoe or rent one. They also rent bicycles. The restrooms were new and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$14
Rate reflects FL SR citizen. We stayed at Big Flats area, the older RV area. Still great but the newer Palmetto Ridge will appeal to the BIG motorhomes and 5ers. Full hookups, including sewer. Our favorite is still Big Flats and we were not disappointed. Rangers to volunteers are what makes this whole park great. Will stay here again and again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$26
Myakka was great! We stayed in the Palmetto Ridge campground which is tailored for modern motor homes with full water/sewer hookups - a rarity for State Parks. Hookups were fine, but sewer connection was a little loose on our site. Site was enormous. It was a bit overgrown but in a nice, natural way. We had a pull thru spot right across from the bathhouse which was kept very clean. Our 35 foot RV almost got lost on it. Campground is isolated and quiet. Great opportunities for hiking, birding, biking, etc. Sadly, my wife and I are new to RVing and we don’t have a tow car or bicycles yet. As such, Myakka is a bit limited as it is a really long (5 miles or more) walk from the campground to the bird trails, etc. We made it about halfway but still had a great time. There are many trails throughout that are close to the campground. We saw TONS of wildlife. All in all a wonderful place to spend some time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
WOW! What a great state park. We stayed in the newer section called Palmetto Ridge site # 61, an ADA site. The bath houses are nicer than my home bathroom. Spotless, granite counter tops, tile throughout. The park is 12 miles from light pollution which enables you to see the stars in an unbelievable fashion. The wildlife is abundant. You will most likely have visitors throughout the night. Deer at dusk, gators everywhere, pink spoonbills, and many others. This park should be on every campers bucket list. Happy camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$13
We started camping in a tent at this park in 1967. Very wet weekend then and standing water everywhere. This can be expected when camping in a Florida swamp. But, we had a great time. Much different in 2013. The loop we were in had 50 amp, full hookups. Loop was added 3-4 years ago. However, much rain here this year and the standing water around the sites was still there. This is old Florida. Be sure to drive around the park an observe the tropical environment, especially from the elevated canopy boardwalk. Lots of 'gators and water birds throughout the park. Our rate was based upon a Florida Senior resident. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
It is a beautiful state park with lots of trails and wildlife. I highly recommend the canopy walk and tower overlooking the area from above the trees. There is a marina that rents boats and bike and gift shop and snack bar/restaurant. You can easily bike from any of the campground loops to these places on the 7 miles of paved road. The newest loop Palmetteo Ridge is the nicest with 2 newer modern bathhouses, paved entry road, very large gravel sites, with an extra area for picnic table or tents. This area has sewer and more suitable for big rigs than the other 2 loops. The only drawback is the lack of shade. Site 72 is the shadiest, 80+81 partial shade. Big Flats seems to be favored by tenters. Since we wanted a shady site, we stayed in the Old Prairie which has a dirt entry road with several ruts. The small bathhouse was very clean, but old. The campground hosts kept the loop very clean. Summer is not the best time to camp there as there is standing water in several areas. Some sites flooded during heavy rains. No problems with mosquitoes, but I heard they can be a problem. Rate is $26 plus taxes and fees = $29. The Palmetto Ridge loop fills up first so you might want to reserve a site, if you want to stay in the newer area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
Very beautiful park, the sites are big and private, some with trees and shade. You can see photos of the sites when you reserve, which is very useful. Other than the trails and canopy walk, not much else to do. There is a boat tour in the summer of the lake which was fun, but if you've seen alligators before it may be boring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
There is so much to do here in this campground, it would take more than a week's stay to see everything. Short (20 min) drive to Siesta Key beach where we visited often. Also stayed in the park to view canopy, walk trails, explore the water. Lots of wildlife. Restrooms are very clean. Camp is well maintained. Can't wait to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$13
We really enjoyed our stay at Myakka River State Park. The campground area we stayed in did not have sewer, only the newer loop has that. But, our loop was very nice, shady and the bathrooms were quite clean. The campground host was friendly and sold firewood from their site, so that was convenient. The only downside was that there isn't much privacy between sites, but it really didn't bother us much. The park has much to do and one benefit of camping is you can watch the sunrise and sunset from the canopy walk. We camped here with our two grand daughters and they really enjoyed the park and the campgrounds. We would recommend this park to anyone looking to see real Florida. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$26
We stayed here during spring break with our two grand daughters. Overall, we were very pleased with the campground and the park. On the plus side, the restrooms were very clean, there was a lot to keep us and the kids busy. The park itself is really great! As mentioned before, there isn't much privacy (we stayed in one of the older loops) and it is quite dusty around the campsite. It appears that they are trying to get more plant growth for more privacy, but they still have a ways to go. The dump station was convenient and easy to access. As mentioned before, there is little to no cell phone coverage in the campground, and most of the park for that matter. There is Wi-Fi at the concession building and accessible inside and outside of the building. The park has much to do. There are many hiking and biking trails, a boat ride, tram tour, and canoe rentals. The winter is the dry season and the only place to canoe was in the upper lake. I hear it is easier in a kayak. We really enjoyed our stay. We rate this park at a 7+but would be higher if there was more privacy and sewer hookups in all loops. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$28
Large full-hook up sites available. Fire ring & picnic table at each site. Cell service is poor; however, with a booster it was usable. New bath houses, tons of paved & unpaved trails for biking or hiking. A little far out of Sarasota, but really the best choice to camp in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
Wow, this is the best state park I have stayed at. Wonderful sites , large and lots of space in between. There are lots of things to do in the park, beautiful trees with moss and the wild life it wonderful. Do the treetop walk. It is a great park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$26
Myakka River is a really nice state park with a really nice campground. There are three separate campground areas in the park. "Palmetto Ridge" is the new section that is geared toward large RVs. Palmetto Ridge has full water, electric, and sewer at all sites. Some sites are pull-through. The sites at Palmetto Ridge are gravel. "Old Prairie" and "Big Flats" are the older sections. These are smaller areas and don't have sewer hook ups. Old Prairie is near the entrance (across from Palmetto Ridge). Big Flats is near the lake. The problem with the older sections is that there is not much buffer between camp sites. Mostly just a wood fence section separating the sites. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
We loved all the wild life we saw on walks, drives, and bike rides. Though the wild hogs have been the bane of the camp rangers, they are still fun to watch. We stayed in the new section, which was perfect. Huge, wide, long sites with full hookups. Very level with crushed limestone and bordered off well. Lots of room between you and your neighbors. Suggest the back loop of the park, as you will see less traffic and get more shade. At the time we were there, the park hosts were in change over, and it showed. I am sure once they come in again, it will relieve the burden on the park rangers to keep the common areas and bathhouses up more, though the bathhouse was clean for the most part. Our site 78, though deemed as "ready" was not tended to before we arrived. There was gravel all over the picnic table, sewer hookup pad, and grill. Apparently last camper had wild children allowed to be as destructive as they liked. Fire pit was full of ashes also. I think this will change once the camp hosts return. Very minimal AT&T signal, so could not use my wireless internet, and could not connect at the camp cafe. But we did pull in 38 channels on our roof top antenna. We look forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$29
We loved this park! If you are a nature lover, you will too. We stayed in the new portion and had a huge, private, full hookup site with picnic table, grill and fire pit. I don't usually use the showers but I did here without hesitation, they were so clean. I also did one load of laundry. We had turkeys and deer right at our site. We biked many miles and saw wild boar, lots of deer, alligators, snakes and numerous birds. We heard owls at night tho' we never saw one. We did the air boat tour. Staff was friendly and stopped at our site just to warn us of poisonous snakes. We stayed three nights, never missed Wi-Fi or cable! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
We have stayed here before and usually try to stay here for a week when we visit Florida. Park is great, with helpful staff and nice sites. This is a regular stop for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$29
Our second stay in the Palmetto Ridge loop. It is the new one in the park. Very spacious level sites with a fair amount of pull through sites and sewer at some sites. Very quiet at night with good privacy. If there were Wi-Fi at the site this would be a clear 10 rating. So you have to drive to the concession building about 4 miles away. One of the best campgrounds and state park we know of. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Great place to bike and see nature. We mainly stayed here to be close to the beach, only to find out there was so much to do here. Canopy walk, tram or air boat tour. Were able to walk to the bridge to see many alligators. Next time will spend a few more days here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$21
This is an older park and the sites were somewhat close together. We were in the Big Flats campground which was close to the lake and allowed for excellent birding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$28
We got one night at the new campground section; extremely nice with paved roads, clean crushed rock large sites, with a very new-clean-shinny bathhouse; lacking only more clothes hooks. A real 10+. The next night we had to go to an older section due to reserve availability that was dirt roads and sandy sites with an older tired bathhouse. The real plus is the paved nature road with nature trails, a bird watch board walk, a tree top walk between two ~ 75 foot towers, and a concession shop and restaurant at the end of the road with lake boat tours and rental bikes and canoes. Park is great for biking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$29
Sites at Palmetto Ridge are huge. Most are well screened with native vegetation. The sewer connection is about 9" off the ground and towards the rear of the site so you'll have to bring lots of hose and support. The park itself is fabulous and 17 miles to Siesta Key with its beautiful beach. Only real negative is very weak cell phone coverage: at our site 79, no 3G Verizon on iPhone and only 1 bar from AT&T on the iPad, though that's not the park's fault so no rating deduction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$29
We camped on PALMETTO RIDGE. The site was spacious, level with full hookup, BBQ and firepit. This campground is pretty new, so showers and restrooms are new and cleaned every day. The sewer connection is a bit above ground. This is the best campground in all the state parks we visited. The park itself is great with lots to do, and the beaches are a short drive. Wi-Fi at the comfort houses would be great improvement. We will come in spring again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$29
We stayed in site#10 in Big flats which is an older campground. We've been here before and chose this area even though the newer area had opened with FHU. We like being closer to the action and Big flats is closer to marina, bird walk, tram rides, air boat ride and stores. It was a short 15 minute bike ride to the canopy walk. TV reception was non existent but we knew that last year. Cell phone for Verizon and ATT was fair. Our Mi-Fi would not work here though. They have widened the spaces and taken away the middle sites in both older campgrounds to give more room. Campground was very quiet at night and we enjoyed our campfire and solitude even though it was New Year's weekend. There was no partying going on in Big Flats from what we could tell. Park has many trails and bike routes as well as a small museum. There was also a naturalist out on Saturday with animal skulls and pelts and footprints to educate people in the park. Even though it was a holiday, the park wasn't too crowded. But because of the warm weather, we did not see as many animals as last time. The birds were plentiful but the gators were able to stay in the water since it was mild, so not many opportunities to see them. They have removed the playground that was at the picnic area to enlarge the parking lot for the boat parking. While in the area we went to Rosa Fiorelli winery, Hunsader Farms, Crowley Nature Center (has farmer's market on Saturday mornings), Yoder's Amish restaurant and Alpine Steakhouse. For most of these, use the back gate it will save a lot of time driving. We might take a site in the newer section if we come back. We drove through it and it looked nice but sites are all gravel which in our experience in FL means ants. Roads are paved though in the newer area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
Florida senior rate shown. Outstanding park. Sites 49 to 90 all look new with curbs outlining nice level site area, fire rings and picnic tables. The showers/restrooms looked brand new and were cleaned daily. Site layout, spacing and vegetation between sites assured all of privacy. We saw no bad sites in 49 to 90. There is not a lot of overhead shade. The best spots are on the perimeter of 49 to 90. There is less privacy, but more shade in the old prairie and the big flats campgrounds. These are older areas with older facilities. The Myakka Outpost has a gift shop, cafe, firewood, and some basic items. The elevated building looks new. There are canoe and kayak rentals, air boat rides and nature hikes. There are many trails for hikers and bikers. Don't miss the canopy walkway and the 70' viewing tower. While we were there, there was a 12 to 14 foot gator sunning or swimming every day below a bridge between the camping area and the Outpost. Cell service is very limited, people were standing on top of vehicles and driving to a specific area to get anything intermittently. TV reception, even with a fixed antenna was good. There are no nearby stores or restaurants. This is a great park, one of the best of the 20+ Florida parks at which we've camped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
This review is for the Palmetto Ridge campground, which is one of three campgrounds within the State Park. The campground is well designed, well maintained with appealing spacious sites. Each site is level with a pad of solid packed limestone gravel. The access lanes of the loops are paved and wide enough to handle big rigs. At least three of the pull throughs have a length exceeding 100-feet. There is plenty of the native Florida vegetation to provide a feeling of privacy. Satellite reception is good for the pull through sites because they have fewer trees. Verizon service here is very weak and there is no Wi-Fi at the campgrounds. This campground has sewer connections and they are not well placed. The connection is above ground and there are no threads. This engineering wonder makes dumping the tanks an enduring struggle. We do not recommend any RV over 30-feet to stay at one of the other two campgrounds. Both are prehistoric and ought to be demolished. We would like to return to Palmetto Ridge Campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
This park now has three circles for camping. Old Prairie, Big Flats, which probably have 30 amp, water, and probably no sewer. The new section which we have been awaiting is PALMETTO RIDGE CAMPGROUND which has water, 50 amp electric, and sewer at the site. Laundry at nice new shower houses is $1.50 for wash and $1.50 for dry. Showers are new, clean, well lighted and large. There is so much to do at this park, hiking, biking, boat tour of Myakka Lake, fishing. Also very close to Sarasota, 9 miles, for shopping, and a little further to one of Florida's finest beaches. We live about 80 miles away, so this will be a good weekend destination. Myakka River State Park will be a 10 when growth separates sites more completely and trees give more shade. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
This is a very nice state park. It is less than 20 miles to Sarasota with plenty to do. The beaches are about 15 miles from park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
Campground was easy to access off the interstate. Well nestled back in the woods, far enough off the road to have no road noise. We were on site 19 which was a good site for our 27' TT w/slideout. We had electric problems with the power box on 19 but site 18 was close enough to plug into its power. Reported the power issue to ranger stations and they said someone would come and fix it (never did.) They just did not rent out 18 while we were here. Checked with other campers of their 30 amp plugs, and they said they had no issue. Could not even run the AC for more than 10 minutes on 19 power. Plenty of sites were empty for walk up campers even though website shows they were booked. We had nice campers all around us, kid friendly, pet friendly. Fishing was good only at the bridge on your way to the furthest campground, talapia only. If you have a boat bigger than a john boat, do not bother to bring it as the water is too low. Bathrooms were kind of old but feasible and clean. There is a dump behind the men's room at the furthest campground: only accessible with a portable dump. For early morning bike rides or walks you will need your camera as plenty of animals to see. We saw deer, fawns, turkey, wild pigs, raccoons, owls, snakes, rabbits, plenty of gators along the water areas. Full hook site is $25 at the one camp area, they said there are 4 at each section of camping, but I only found one in ours. Outpost stores are nice and have general supply of camping stuff plus plenty of gifts. Has bike rental, canoe's, two air boats for $12 per person. Would most likely go and stay again but choose a different site unless they have the power fixed at 19. We stayed for 3 nights. Good bike riding from your campsite to the rangers station and back is 6 miles roundtrip. Anything longer than 30 foot, they tell you will not fit, but with certain sites you have plenty of room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$29
New sites (nearing completion as of 12/27/10) will be fantastic! Much larger and more private than old sites. All have full hookups, unlike old sites. Bathhouses looked amazing from the outside. Cellular service is sketchy at campsite, but solid at "Concession" building. Concession has food, gifts, boat, bike rentals, and FREE WiFi. Wi-Fi also available after hours in parking lot near building. Lots to do at park. We saw many deer and armadillo. On warm winter day we saw DOZENS of alligators basking on the shore (your mileage may vary). Canopy walkway was impressive (1 of only 9 in USA, 30 in whole world). Beaches at Siesta Key (25 minutes west) are whitest I have ever seen. Public access paths and parking lots just north (and probably south) of the main beach offer much less crowded experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$26
We stayed in Big Flats #52 which was acceptably level. Sites are close together and trees have to be maneuvered around. We originally were at #9 which was also level but when we returned to hook up the campers next door had an obnoxious smoky fire going that gave us a headache within 2 minutes so we had to either switch sites or leave (it was that bad). Luckily the ranger office was open late (Friday in season until 9 pm). We were sooo happy. This is a great park. Take the 1 hr. air boat tour, largest air boat in the world. Great info from guide. Every visit we like Myakka State Park more. Wi-Fi is standard crappy camper quality up at the Myakka Outpost boat basin, good for email and little else. Great gift shop upstairs. We noticed police set up near campsite entrance checking that people had their registration tags showing in window and pulling people over if they didn't. Nice that they have that security. I know it's practically un-American to say but I would LOVE a no-campfire section in FL campgrounds. I have breathing problems and campfires make me sick. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
We were on site #22 in Big Flats. Our site was very tight and unlevel. Others were better and wider. We did have vegetation on one side but most sites did not offer any privacy. Campground is working on adding FHU sites near the Old Prairie area. They will be removing all interior sites in both campgrounds to give some more room to the sites. Laundry is in Old Prairie area. TV reception was good. ATT was not. Verizon was better. Wi-Fi is available at concessionaire. All sites have fire/ring grill, picnic table, and w/e, most sites were shady. Bathhouse was clean when we got here and we saw host cleaning each day. Park offers many activities. Some we tried were: airboat ride, tram tour, ranger tour, campfire program as well as a visitor center. We also hiked and climbed the canopy walkway and tower. Park rents canoes, kayaks, bikes, and has 2 shops with a quick service counter including ice cream available. Saw a lot of wildlife with many types of birds. Park has a Jr Ranger program for kids. 3 Playgrounds available but they are showing their age. So much to do that we never left park. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$26
We loved this park. Sites a bit on the small side, and no private changing area in the bath house, otherwise would be a 10. Overall, the park was a lot of fun, with so much to do we never left the 3 days we were there, except to go to the grocery store, only a few minutes away. I'm glad to hear our guess was right, that they are making another camping loop, with FH! Myakka was a beautiful area, and lots of wildlife, birds to see. We had a great time hiking and exploring with our dogs. Camp hosts were friendly, and always cleaning around the bath house. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
This is a standard Florida State park, restrooms were clean and rangers helpful. There is no privacy between sites in the campground that we were in, the one most distant from the park entrance. The sites are close together and are essentially in one tree lined field so maneuvering is easy. There was still plenty of shade. There is a large lake that is infested with large and fearless alligators. Indeed this park has more gators than any I've seen outside the Everglades NP. You can canoe on the lake but you would not want to overturn the canoe. Fishing is excellent in the lake. There are lots of critters to see in the woods, you will see wild pigs in numbers. There are plenty of birds but mid summer is the worst time to see them. There is no swimming in the park and the beaches mostly are available in the Venice/Englewood area. Less than an hour away. Sarasota beaches are theoretically available, but most have no public parking. The nearest shopping is in Sarasota, probably 15-20minutes away. There is a store in the park and they rent canoes and kayaks. They also run a air boat tour. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$24
Myakka River is one of the best State Parks for wildlife. The water level was low this year, but we were still able to canoe in part of the river. We saw many gators in the river and in the lake. We also saw wild bores, deer, eagles, sandhill cranes and many more birds. The road thru the park is paved and good for bike rides. The sites are small and offer no privacy, the road thru the campground is not paved and is very dusty. The wildlife make up for the camping part. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$24
We stayed for one night and could have easily stayed longer. The sites have picnic tables and fire pits and are shaded and quiet. The bathrooms are very clean. We saw wild hogs, deer, water birds. There are nature trails, air boat tours, canoes and bikes to rent. Great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$22
We stayed here for 1 nights and had a great time. They an airboat cruise for $10 that was well worth it. We love to photograph wild life and we saw over 20 deer, about 8 wild hogs, 7 turkeys, numerous alligators, many, many specious of birds and lots more. I believe we took more photos here than any other place we have camped. The camp is a typical Florida state park. Nice restrooms, lots to do like films, boat rides, trams, and lots of educational stuff. The sites were fairly spacious. There is lots of sand. It rained while we were there. The camp is around 10 miles from Sarasota and it’s numerous attractions. We have visited the Amish is several locations around the US and heard in Intercourse, PA about the Amish vacation area in Sarasota and looked it up. There is a very nice Amish Restaurant called Yoder’s that has been there since 1972. It is real Amish, not the retail type as one up the street. We ended up eating lunch there 3 days and had enough left over for dinner both nights. The cell phone service is very spotty at the campground. All in all, it was a great campground and location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$23
Class A State Park with a Class C campground. Cramped in many sites, while roomy in others. Can be smelly close to dump station. Heavy foliage makes for lots of shade, but poor chance for satellite use unless you have a portable antenna, then still iffy. Sites 19 thru 23 good for big rigs, and portable satellite antennas. Lots to see and do within park, plus a full service restaurant will be available right on the lake, summer, 2008. Already made reservations for winter 2009. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$22
We stayed in the Big Flats campground. It is wooded and quiet with 30 ft. dirt lots. Interior campground roads are also dirt. There are two dumpsites, one convenient to this campground that doesn't have vehicle access but one can roll a gray-water tank to with ease. There is one laundry facility for 2 campgrounds. The park is popular on weekends with many visitors enjoying boat rides on Myakka Lake, viewing alligators, renting canoes or bikes, visiting the large camp store and snack bar. Two areas allow close-up observations of egrets, anhingas, and herons from the water's edge. Another trail has an impressive wooden tower one can climb safely to see the "canopy", looking down on the tops of palms and oaks. Many people bicycle the 8-10 miles of paved park roads. The park is about 9 miles from i-75 and about 45 minutes from downtown Sarasota attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
We stayed at this park for 2 nights. It was very nice, and the sites were shaded with large oak trees. I will tell you that there are 2 camping loops at this park...The one up near the gate is the Old Prairie loop, and this one looked crowded and sites looked close together and not as much shade as the loop in the back that we stayed. The camp was pretty crowded with tent campers, and it was a little loud at night until the kids went to bed, but we just watched a movie and with the A/C going it was pretty quiet. If you want to have a campfire you are not supposed to gather wood from the forest, they want you to bring in your own firewood. So, if you don't know that you can't have a campfire. The park staff was very friendly and helpful. We took our segways, and toured the park, but didn't go down any of the trails. We saw some deer and lots of birds and alligators, of course. This park was great I would stay here again. The ranger said that January through April is real busy especially on weekends and she said that it is booked up 11 months in advance during those months and that sometimes the park is flooded out with 5 ft of water during the wet season, so call ahead to confirm even if you do get a reservation. The park is very close to the Sarasota area, and we went to the John Ringling Museum...a must see! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
This was our first experience at Myakka River State Park and it will be our last. The campsites are very dirty and are extremely close together. We heard our neighbors snoring. The people who camp in this park are very rude. They are not your typical friendly campers. The showers and bathrooms do not get cleaned until 1:00. A morning shower will require you to shower in the dirt and filth from the night before. We will never come back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$24
We came here for the many miles of hiking trails and biking roads, and found that many of the hiking trails are too far from the trailheads to reach without backpacking and overnight stays at primitive campgrounds. But a ranger volunteered that it is OK to cycle the hiking trails, and that opens up great possibilities for many loops out and back. I spent several wonderful days cycling and getting a great workout. Roads are often too sandy to cycle and trails are rough (many roots and often the surface on the prairie trails resembles a plowed field), so a mountain bike with shocks front and rear is a real plus. The best hiking trail is from the trailhead to Mossy Campground, 5 miles round trip. Other activities include canoeing / kayaking and horseback riding. You can rent bikes and kayaks. Animals abound, and we saw plenty of hogs (a real pest), deer, and gators, and countless types of birds. It is a birders paradise, but we're not birders. We saw some pretty expensive telephoto lenses in use. The facilities are dated (built by the CCC in the 1930s) but kept clean and seem to be in good repair. There are only two washers and two dryers, and they're surprisingly expensive, so do laundry elsewhere. There is a small snack shop, but the nearest grocery store is in Sarasota some distance away; stock up before you arrive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
Excelent state park, very nice campground with a lot of things to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2004
$22
We loved this park! We did a 10 mile bike ride (although you can go further into the prairie to ride) We did hikes, and rented a canoe to go thru the Myakka River. They have an outpost store where you can buy some supplies as well as go on an airboat ride or tram ride. There is a 7 mile scenic drive within the park. There are 2 campground sites within the campground. We saw numerous animals - deer, eagles, gators galore ! It was a wonderful time. We had a great site, it was very large and not near any traffic - just the sounds of nature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com