224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Sun-N-Fun RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 74 user reviews. Phone: (941) 371-2505
CGID801

Sun-N-Fun RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
800
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   1   6   7   9   8   10   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$48
If you are looking for a place to take the grandkids or just to have a nice pool with plenty to do, this is a good destination. We found the staff on this very busy fourth of July weekend professional, friendly and willing to take the extra steps to help you have a good time. We should have rented a golf cart when we made the reservations but did not, the park is just too large to get by without some mode of transportation, bikes, scooter or a cart. Once we realized this we could initially only rent one for the first day of our stay but we got a call from the office that they had a cancellation and kept the cart for the whole four days. The grandkids loved it. We also rented a "park model" home for my daughter and fiancée to stay in and that was clean and very nice too. They have a lot of events during the day and evening with movies by the pool using a big blow up screen. To be honest, the kids were so worn out by that time we never stayed for it. We will be going back to this resort in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Park sites were fine and there was plenty of room. However, SURPRISE... they charge extra to use their $5M fitness center. We only stayed there for the use of that facility. The charge was $50 per night which seemed high for July. However, we went for the amenities. When we were checking in, they said the fitness center was an extra $6 per person. We nixed the idea because of the already high nightly rate. I'm not sure what else they charge for but they seem to have lots of rules. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$50
We reserved a site that we could park our boat and RV. They assigned us a premium 60' site for 2 weeks, which we paid in full. Within 1 hour of pulling our boat in someone from the office knocked on our door to ask us to park the boat at the parking lot. I was told that anyone staying over 1 week had to park their boat there. I told him I had specifically reserved a site for my boat and RV. That didn't matter they had received a complaint. He said he would send the park supervisor. 2 days later the head of security showed up at my site to say that boats weren't allowed this time of year on the sites (March). I told her I wasn't moving my boat out of my sight. She called the supervisor and she and "another staffer showed up 10 minutes later to tell me they would call the sheriff and have me forcibly evicted. I would have 1 hour to pack up and leave or they would do it for me. We decided to leave without the sheriffs help and told them they had breached our contract and would be getting a summons down the road. There is no regulation for parking boats in Fun N Sun's park rules. By the way don't be mislead by the Wi-Fi hot spots shown on the park map, none of them work. You have to go up to the computer room to get on line. When asked about Wi-Fi was told everybody now uses smart phones so Wi-Fi is one the way out. Stay away from Sun N Fun! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$69
This campground is designed as a old-folks place. It is clean, appears to have lots of activities for anyone wanting to participate. It is near shopping of all kinds. It feels like a camper parking lot. Our site was difficult to get into and is very close to the next campers. Sarasota is a lovely area of Florida and I would like to spend more time in this area but would probably try another campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$60
The amenities (pool, life center, activities) are first class, but the RV sites are tight and run down. We would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
This campground is really a resort with numerous activities to keep anyone happy. A large number of sites are permanent park models but there are sufficient transient sites that one does not feel out of place. It is convenient to local shopping and within reasonable distance to Sarasota and its attractions and beaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$42
We stayed for almost three weeks and enjoyed it very much. The staff does a very good job with just about everything. We were very surprised to see the number of people working here. The facility is huge, so it takes a lot to do it right. In November, the winter seasonal activities are beginning to ramp up. We became spoiled with nightly visits to the hot tub. Our only gripe would be the tight roads which can be busy so when walking around it is good to pay attention to vehicle traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$44
I can't count how many times we have stayed here. We have stayed for weekends and major holidays. Pricing has been from the low $30's to mid $50's. There are always some type of deal on, for percentages off or BOGO nights. Always super clean. We love that we can stay here and never leave if we take advantage of the restaurant on site (seasonal) or the outdoor bar which has a full grill year round. There are also many stores and places to eat very close. They are always adding new features to the park. Check in is always a breeze and they are gated and at the check in tower 24 hours a day. I would have to say we have stopped going during summer holiday weekends, because the resort is crazy busy, but that's because we don't have children and most activities are geared towards them during these weekends. They have live entertainment at the pool most nights and that's always fun. One lady bartender and has been here for years, is excellent and always remembers us when we come back. It is a large park so bring your bikes. I could go on and on about this resort and how awesome it is. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Very large snow bird park that is pretty empty in off season. Paved roads, grass sites and large pool. The 5 is for customer care. We experienced a very late night check in near our site. Only three of all the available sites were taken. So security parks the newcomer right next to us. With all the associated engine noise, loud talking, slamming doors, un-hook car, etc., etc. Parking late night arrivals should be on the outskirts and re-parked in the morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This was a very large campground with many mobile homes that appear to be used seasonally. Our site was okay. Nothing great, but nothing bad either. We were surprised to see that the facilities are advertised to be used by the local community. Although there is a snack bar and bar next to the very large pool, people outside the park can gain access to the facility by purchasing an arm band. It is a great place for kids. We did not have kids with us this time, so I would not really recommend it for "empty nester" couples. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
We loved this campground. Great place for families. We were in a shady back-in spot in the Queen area: easy pull-in and set-up. The King area also looked nice. There were so many things to do we didn't get through it all. The kids had a great time on the Water Slide, bouncing pillow, water ball, water obstacle course and simply hanging out in the huge pool. We were here Memorial Day weekend and the staff was great even though the park was 100% packed. The other guests were fun as well. We enjoyed the restaurant and bar: both very reasonable. We already booked here again for later in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
Park facilities were very nice, it has two dog walk areas where your pet can run and play off leash. The swimming pool was large and very clean and a nice temp even though they said the heaters were off. The sites for short term are near the front center and were decent sites with stone and fairly level, some had trees for shade. This is a great place to visit the Sarasota area and beaches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
If you want activities galore and lots of friendly people, this is the place for you!! The outdoor pool is amazing and the new indoor pool incredible. Dogs are revered like people, which is wonderful for a dog lover like me. What makes this park a standout, though, is the staff. Never have we encountered people who are so eager to please. We plan to return for our third winter season -- just can't stay away! The only off-putting thing is the sometimes bad sewer smell near the pool area. Otherwise, first rate! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
Lots of pros with this park - different areas to stay, so you can choose an open area or open with trees. Very friendly staff and workampers. Incredibly nice pool area, tons of activities for all ages, fabulous Wellness Center (fitness), spa on site, restaurant, etc.. Generally well maintained. Two dog parks - one quite large. There are outdoor dog baths too, which was nice. Cons - some areas are tight for big rigs - both in terms of maneuvering and your neighbors. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$66
Very big park with tons of organized activities and facilities. Close to town and beach. Reasonably neat and tidy. About 50/50 rvs and park trailers. I'd guess about 20% transients like us. We spent a week there, because other family members are there for the season. Reasons for the low rating: For the price, the wifi should work. For the price, the cable tv signal should be strong. The hookup connections were far from the parking spot, extending my electric cable and hoses to the max. Many of the sites, including ours, bordered a busy noisy street. The animals at the adjacent retired circus animal home helped us greet every sunrise. The helicopter school added to the daytime noise. All in, not great value for the money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$66
Our site was back in on grass with cement patio. Bathrooms are very nice and very clean. Utilities are fine. Folks are very friendly. Huge dog park, with a nice social hour. Tons and tons of activities; we met with the amateur radio group. Three hot tubs, two pools. We did not use the steam room or sauna. Poolside bar and restaurant. Close to grocery, hardware, and great Amish market. Poor Wi-fi. Great place to spend some time, not what I would pick for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2012
$60
We spent one night only as the surrounding cities have a no overnight parking ordinance in force. There are lots of amenities at this park and the staff seems very friendly. Our site was gravel, tight and located next to a very busy golf cart/bicycle path. My dog and I were nearly run over 3 times during our short stay and I witnessed several other near incidents due to the fact our rig and tow were creating a rather large blind spot. Normally, I would have found a park like this to be ok, but with the $60/night price tag I was extremely disappointed with the small stuff. The Wi-Fi was only usable at 6AM for me. I was up at 6AM because of some large creatures (bulls, camels, oxen, who knows?) make god awful noises. Otherwise, I was not even able to connect to the Wi-Fi. My husband did utilize the fitness facility and thought it was pretty nice. There are a lot of park models and I would assume many folks staying at this park all winter, which might make sense. For an overnight stay in the Sarasota area, I would look elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$48
OK this is a very big park but easy to get in and out of your site, if you don't get lost! Although we don't normally stay in a resort this big we had our grand kids visit us for the weekend and thought there would be lots to do for them, and there was. As far as the jumbo parks go, this is a good one and would recommend it to anyone looking for a destination resort with lots of attractions in and outside nearby who is not on a very tight budget. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$50
This is a huge RV Park, well maintained, but a lot of residential and vacation sites, road is paved but narrow for a big rig to negotiate, grass pad with concrete patio, p/t, picnic table, clean bathrooms, dog walk, grill/restaurant, hot tubs, pool, spa, fishing lake, endless things for the kids to do, stores, restaurants and lots of sightseeing close by. We would not stay here again, far too crowded for us and far too many kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$56
This place is huge! There are a couple of areas that RV'ers can camp at inside the park. One is the Queen section and the other is the King section. We are in the Queen and it looks like its a bit older. The King section looked like the sites were a bit larger and newer with more space between them. Our site was Q26 and had a narrow road between rows. Trying to make the turn to get into the site was a bit difficult. There were cars being motorhomes on the left side and a electric utility post on the left side to watch out for. We made it OK but it was very tight. I would have had it much easier if we were on the King section. The campground itself has many amenities, swimming pool, disc golf, lawn bowling, shuffleboard, horseshoes, and many many more things than can be listed here. There is a restaurant by the pool and a bar area. There is a children's play area and splash pool for them. There are dog run areas with bags and trash containers. It is a small city with mostly mobile homes in the park and sites for transient RV'ers in those two sections. It's a nice place if you like all of those amenities, but personally I prefer a bit quieter place to camp. We would camp here again if we were in the area and passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$60
It is a resort in so many ways. We love coming here with our grand kids. so much to do. Best beach in the state is 30 minutes or less away. Great pools, and oh those hot tubs. Don't miss this place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
Expensive place to stay, we came in on a special, but WOW! what a place! 2 huge pools, state of the art fitness center, spa on premises, entertainment almost daily and nightly, bar/restaurant on site, classes of all kinds, zumba, fitness coaches, you name it, this place has it. Fantastic fun, don't even have to go anywhere, there is an excellent library just down the street and a great fresh produce market as well. You can ride your bike for miles just staying inside the park! Fishing pond...Check out Ocean Blues in downtown Sarasota for some wonderful music venues and great food. This is a Good Sam park so they will discount a little. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$51
We spent February at the Florida Keys and decided to spend the month of March at Sun N Fun. The campground is truly a five star resort. For example, the new indoor fitness and pool area may be the best in the U.S. Easy in and out, restaurant, bar and lots of activities make Sun N Fun an ideal destination for the family. For those who like Pickleball, there are 6 outdoor and 3 indoor courts. We had a great time and will be back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$44
Only Disney gets a 10, but this place is a 9.8 for sure. It is huge and we came during peak season, and they was no issues at all. Great pool and hot tub area, with food and drink. Great new indoor pool for adults, with gym and steam room. Don't miss this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$60
This park is huge, it had more people than our home town! And, it was full! We had to change sites for our second night. They were very organized and friendly at check-in and escorted us to our site, which was a good thing since the place is so big! There are many things to do, the facilities are beautiful. The pool area is large, clean, and has plenty of lounge chairs. They also have a huge, new indoor pool and large work out room. There are two hot tubs, one hot and one not so hot. We would definitely stay here again. Our only complaint was that there were signs that said we couldn't bring our own drinks to the pool, I guess they wanted everyone to buy drinks at their bar, but I think when you pay over $60 for a site you shouldn't have to sneak your drinks to the pool! Also, when we changed sites they didn't clean up the new site very well, we had to sweep off the patio area before we put our rug out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$60
We stayed the month of Feb. Big resort. Very friendly, lots to do-you name it, it's here. Large outdoor and indoor pool areas. The new fitness center is outstanding. Family friendly, dog friendly, no apparent breed restrictions, but all well behaved. Lots of places to ride bikes and walk. The trail around Lake is very pretty. We felt comfortable here, and will return for sure. Our site was a little small in the Queen's area; will request King's area next time (These are RV only area's, other RV sites scattered through the park with park models) Quiet at night and near lots of other Sarasota sites. Had fun! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$62
This is a huge park, about 1700 sites with 3/4 of them being occupied by park models. Sites are reasonably spacious but can be likened to a parking lot (no privacy). There are constant activities, the dog parks are fantastic (bring your own bags), the pool is beautiful, and, although I didn't check it out, a huge new fitness facility. There is a bar and restaurant. Restaurant fare is basic burgers, pizza, etc. If you like hustle, bustle, and never a dull moment this park would be perfect during the season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$70
This park is run like a well oiled machine. It's really big and has lots of manufactured homes. If you want to stay in a place with lots of stuff to do, and lots of people milling around, cars zipping here and there, this is the place for you. It even has dog washes for the dogs and 2 really nice dog parks. It was nice, but we prefer something a bit smaller, more intimate and quieter. That's not a complaint just a preference. We stayed only one night. We will stay again for a night. It's a bit much for us for long term. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$62
Great resort! We were very comfortable here. Great location to explore the area and many many activities on site. The dog run was fabulous - very large. Our Brittany could run and run and actually get tired. The people were very friendly. We stayed here 16 days. We would definitely return and stay the season here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$39
This is a very big campground – I think there were 1,700 sites and most of them were full the week we visited. Felt more like a small city with all of the traffic (golf carts, bikes, people walking their dogs) than a campground. We had a back-in site on the pond, nice location between two park models but none of these sites seem to have much privacy – so if you are looking for a peaceful place to stay, I would go elsewhere. Pool was large and somewhat heated, two hots tubs were nice when not crowded. Lots of activities for children. Two dog parks. Security guards are very active here and patrol the campground constantly. Site was grass and level. Utilities were in the rear of the site: the electrical and sewer were in the rear left corner and the water in the rear right corner – bring your long hoses. Laundry center was good but very full in the mornings. I doubt we would stay here again unless it was off-season, there were just too many people around all of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$36
Price reflects monthly rate. This is a huge park approximately half park models and half camp sites (so the total number of units is probably double the stated 600) with paved narrow roads and either crushed shell or grass sites with concrete patios. There are lots of one-way streets. We left just prior to the opening of their multi million dollar indoor pool and wellness center. The park has tons of activities for the kids, lots of golf carts, bicycles, skate boards and motorized scooters and bikes. Recycling is required, and there are two off-leash areas and baths for the dogs. Access from I-75 is convenient. The Wi-Fi was continually up and down with strict rules of use, i.e. no downloads, etc. We did not eat at either of the restaurants. The park is a little too kid-friendly for our personal enjoyment but we would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$45
This is our 4th stay at this campground and we really like it. There are activities for all ages, including a great swimming pool with children's area, shuffle board, miniature golf, lawn bowling, jumping pillow for the kids and many more. The staff is very friendly and helpful, as are the other campers. The best beach in the USA (Siesta Key) is only a 15 minute drive away, as well as the Mote Aquarium, Sarasota Children's Museum, movies and many restaurants. We love getting out of the Ohio winter and staying here whenever we can! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
This is a nice resort style RV park with all the amenities and activities. Very clean. Large clean pool and good food is served at the restaurant. Some shaded sites are available and the size of the sites was acceptable. We had a problem with the cable TV but as soon as we called they sent someone over to fix it; very good service. The rate is based on a weekly special rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
Don't normally give a "10" but this place has everything!! Visited bath house at different times of the day and it was always clean (except for some TP balls kids had thrown onto the ceilings. Park is huge. Easy to get in with 40' RV and toad. Staff helpful, grounds crews working hard all over. They are building a new indoor Rec center with pool (to include exercise bikes in the pool) and other amenities. Will be done in January which is their season. Have been here before and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
Very nice! Pool was great and the bathrooms\showers are very clean. The overall camping aspect was nice. There are no trees or shady areas. It's basically a field with hook ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
The campground is certainly a resort. They have many activities to take advantage of. We were here during their summer kick-off and the pool did get quite busy. But the place is huge and there was room for more. They also schedule use for birthday parties for non-campers. It all made for a very busy weekend for the swimming pool. Fortunately, the place was calm and relaxing during the week. I would stay here again, but steer clear of their summer kick-off weekend! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
Great park they help you get to your site. Gravel sites with great slabs to walk on. Very friendly staff. I see more upgrades since last summer. We stayed in K-60, & K-59. Nice shaded spots. The whole "k" area is nice. Close to the pool which is a BIG attraction. Only this week end was some kind of kick off weekend, and the whole city of Sarasota got in free I guess. Turns out that is how they promote season passes. I was not real happy to pay for a premium site and then the whole city gets in free. By the end of the day the water was a little yellow it seamed. We will return but check to see what events are happening first. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
We chose the standard site (dirt) and were right on the lake. Couldn't have chosen a better site in our opinion. A little close to the neighbors, but not a real problem. A lot of walking and biking can be done. Facilities were clean and staff pleasant. Pool and spa, miniature golf available and if you have a canoe or kayak a good size lake to get some exercise. Not far from towns and beaches to do a day trip. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$60
This is a large park, so plan on doing a lot of walking if you don't get the King or Queen section. These are also the sections dedicated to RVs and not park model trailers. Very friendly staff, great heated pool, two hot tubs (one that's adults only). In season they have a nice lunch buffet. The pool has a pool side bar. The kids will love the place, pool, in season and on weekends a huge water slide, putt-putt golf, tennis, chip-n-putt, horse shoes, disc golf, and shuffleboard. Besides the water slide, all is included. The sites in the King and Queen area are level, most have concrete pads, most are pull through. Wi-Fi was available for free as was a computer room. The laundry room was clean and air conditioned. The bath houses were spotless. It's about a 15-20 minute drive to the beach, all shopping is within 5 miles and all new stores. We'd stay again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
In the past I have rated this park 9-10, however, this trip we were very disappointed. We took advantage of their 'pay for 2 days, stay for 3' promo. I was informed that the weekend we chose was their summer kick-off and many activities were planned for kids, including crafts and the Hippo Slide. We had our grandchildren camping with us so this sounded perfect. What we were not told, was this event was open and free to the public on Saturday. The pool, slide, hot tubs, etc., were packed liked sardines all day and night on Saturday. In addition, the Friday night before, there was a high school banquet held poolside and again the pool was overcrowded with rowdy teens. The putt putt golf equipment was in terrible shape, and there were no kid-size putters available. The bath house was semi clean but had ants crawling on the walls and floors. I think it is unfair to campers who pay to use the facilities, not to be told that they will be sharing it with locals coming in free. We would not have booked the same weekend had we been told. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$49
We had a waterfront site. It was a nice view but very tight and did not have a pad. Everything was OK until it rained. Our site turned into a mud hole. We had to check out early as it was too wet and muddy to go outside. The rest of the facilities were very nice. We would return but only if we got into the concrete pad area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$64
Pluses: Great facilities, good restaurant, lots of activities, nice pet play areas (2). Minuses: LOTS OF PEOPLE and narrow roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$65
Wonderful park with something to do all the time. Great restaurant with breakfast buffet. Very pet friendly with 2 separate pet areas. Enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$50
We had a great time at this campground. There were many outdoor activities to do that were all included in your resort stay. Mini golf, shuffleboard, basketball, Olympic size pool, hot tubs, horseshoes, putting green, tennis, and I'm sure I'm forgetting some. The staff was friendly and helpful. We thought our cable TV wasn't working on a Sunday night during our stay and a very helpful park staff came out in the dark with a replacement cable and assisted us in the "after hours". There is a 24-hour manned gate. There are many residents here but my family enjoyed the campground and it was such a nice place to be. There were a lot of family friendly activities in the surrounding area like the aquarium, state park, and others. I would definitely camp here again in the warmer months to really take advantage of the outside recreation. We camped here for 4 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$48
Really nice campground. While I rate it a 9, there's tons of stuff to do and the bath houses are a 10. Beware that at this time, Fruitville Road is under construction and you have to enter the campground through the campground entrance which makes for some narrow lanes as you maneuver back to the original entrance lanes and welcome center. Consequently, entering without running up against a curb is pretty sporting, but can be done. In the area where we're located, there are some side-by-side water hook-ups, so come prepared with plenty of water hoses. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$50
Just a short posting to inform everyone that this is one of the finest campgrounds we have ever stay in. NO complaints what-so-ever!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
They are having a special rate in October of only $25 a night. We were given a pull-though site, close to everything with excellent Wi-Fi connection. The place is fairly empty, but there is still a lot going on. Excellent, considerate staff. This place has it all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
This probably would have been a 10, but only Disney gets that. We stayed over 4th of July, so it was crowded but the friendly staff had everything under control. This place has a great pool, tiki bar area. The restrooms were spotless, and the service, trash pick up, etc., was top notch. We will come here again for sure. A lot of year round models here, but no trashy stuff at this place. Don't let the 1500 site thing scare you off. We played shuffleboard, mini golf, and had lots of fun at the huge pool, with two big hot tubs. Great Place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Great Park! Sites are big, so campers have some privacy. The park has a great swimming pool with a bar and grill. Now they have pickle ball courts, it just added to more things to do at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
We camped here in early May and the place was not crowded at all. It's very clean and well-maintained. Sites are shaded. Some have concrete pads. The pool is huge and the pool-side bar is nice too. The Wi-Fi was okay, but slow. We will certainly be camping here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Love this place! It was not crowded when we were here and had a lovely shaded spot which is very important in Florida at this time of the year. The staff were friendly, the pool is wonderful and the slide for the kids is great fun. Even some adults used it! The winter crowd had just left and I was surprised that is was quite empty, a rare scene here. We really enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$59
Very, very nice. This is a huge park with amenities we've never seen before: Olympic pool, two hot tubs, restaurant, poolside bar, mail room, wood shop, lapidary shop, stained glass shop, ham radio station, bass pond with big fish, three fenced dog parks, tennis courts, shuffle board, lawn bowling, two putting greens/mini golf courses, etc. People are friendly. If you are an active senior, this is your park. The price is high, and, the spaces are close together, and some of the turns are tight for a big rig. But, after you are settled in, there is tons to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$42
We were visiting family in Florida, so I chose to stay at Sun-N-Fun in Sarasota, because I have very fond memories of visiting it when I was a child. Now my kids will have great memories, but I thought it was a tad expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$52
We really like this park and find it as activity-filled and relaxing as being on a cruise. There are too many varied activities to list them all, I could hardly list them all...large heated pool, two nice hot-tubs, a huge wood shop, stained glass & jewelry workshops, all sorts of sports, huge workout room, exercise classes, yoga, karoake, trivia, bingo, maj jongg etc etc. The Resort is half park models and half RVs for a total of about 800 sites. The sites are pretty narrow and some parts of the huge park have very nice landscape while other (less expensive?) areas are fairly barren. Everybody is very friendly. The location is great - restaurants, shopping, beach, and all the Sarasota has to offer is 10 to 20 minutes drive from the park. It's near I-75 an hour from Tampa, 90 min from Fort Myers and within day trip distance to Walt Disney World and many other Florida sites. The natural beauty of Myakka River State Park is only 30 minutes away. The cable TV is good but the Wi-Fi doesn't seem too strong. We're staying 17 nights, this year, and are likely to come for 3 months next winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
This place is a mad house. A lot of permanent housing. We were so far from pool and laundry facilities had to drive and even that was difficult with one way roads. I think we will find another place to stay next time We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$45
We had a site on the lake that was lovely. This park is very large, almost like a small town. Pristinely clean. It has two hot tubs and an olympic pool. There's a Tiki Bar for nightly entertainment, and Sunday poolside entertainment. Also a restaurant with nightly specials that were tasty and reasonable. There's all kinds of work shops: from dancing to sewing lessons. You name it they have it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$38
My husband and I really enjoyed this resort. The people were very friendly and helpful. It is a very large resort so it's easy to get lost in. There are a lot of full timers (mostly Canadian) during the winter months and it gets very crowded. They have a large heated pool and two outdoor hot tubs. There are lots of things to do at this resort to keep you busy. The downfall to this resort is that the sites are nothing spectacular and a little tight. The restaurant only serves breakfast on Sunday mornings and there are no other restaurants close by. You definitely need to have a vehicle if you plan on eating outside of the resort. During the winter months it is very crowded!!! We would stay here again because the price was right and we had a very enjoyable time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
Previous reviews give a pretty good picture of the place. The campground is very big, but individual spaces are tightly packed. Lots of permanent residents. They are well organized with lots of handouts when you arrive. For us the strongest point was the pet friendliness, including one enclosed run large enough to play serious catch with your dog. A weak point is their WiFi setup, which is not robust. They have lots of coverage, but weak and variable signal strength-- it needs work, and they know it as is shown in their WiFi handout Q&A, in which they basically blame you. They even suggest in the handout that you think about getting a Comcast or Verizon account if you need full-time service! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
We stayed here for two months at special monthly rate. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly, lots of planned activities from pool to woodworking, etc. but events do not really start until near November when we left. The pool/spa area was exceptional, we felt we were in the Bahamas with all the tropical plants. Great bike riding as the park is huge but fairly empty until the snowbirds show up. Several lakes within the park to walk around, fish, or just look at but location was near year-round park models. Three great activitiy centers, 3 laundries, very pet friendly with two areas fenced for you dog to run and pet wash stations. Great place, won several awards, high security, gated. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
After camping three different occasions, we decided to "park & leave" for the month of August along with another family. We camped the first two weekends in August but decided to leave during the middle of the second weekend because our teenagers were harrassed by a member of the staff. The management was not professional handling the situation and we were insulted and also realized that this is basically an adult campground and not family friendly therefore we were not welcome. We will not return and suggest anyone traveling with teenagers to look for another campground for a family friendly camping experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
The amenities are exceptional. Showers were the cleanest I've ever seen. There is a lot to do for seniors and families as well.The sites are level. However, there is a relatively small area for short term stays. The park is primarily for "snowbirds" and there are a lot of park models that are semi-permanent fixtures. The sites are small and somewhat shaded. I would camp here again, but I really did not like having a semi-permanent "neighbor" with all their stuff outside. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
This park looks good from the front check in area. We were put on a site in the back with mostly permanent residents. The pool area was nice the sites were awful. Like being in an old trailer park, most of the permanent trailers are old and run down. We camp in state parks often and are used to things being mowed and our site being clean upon arrival. This site was full of ants and had not been tended to in quite some time. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
We camped here with friends for Spring Break and enjoyed our time there. The biggest bonuses are the pool, bar, and family activities like shuffleboard, mini golf and billiards. The roads are paved and easy to ride your bike or roller blade on. We were disappointed that we couldn't have a fire ring. I called two days before our arrival and was told we could as long as it was above ground but when we arrived suddenly we could cook over a fire but couldn't have one for entertainment. Some of the best camping memories are over an open flame! Sites are mixed in with permanent residents but we got used to feeling like the outsiders after a day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$65
Beautiful Pool with hot tubs, Tiki bar and lots of activities for the young and old. Friendly, clean park. Office was always very busy more of a 'business' than an RV park. Front desk attendants could be friendlier however, we all have our days. The word Resort suits the place well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$51
Busy roads with cars, rigs, carts, bikes and walkers. Hot tubs are huge but so chlorinated that it bleached my swimsuit. We paid about $30 a day for the first 5 days and decided to stay one more day. They charged us $51, claiming their rates had changed. Fire ants all over site. The big positive is the pool area, activities and closeness to Sarasota and services. The big negative is the park is mostly mobile homes and park models with the RV sites sort of mixed in. Would return if we had to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$42
Our family loves this campground. This is the second year in a row that we spent the Christmas and New Year's holidays here, and we can't wait to return again next year. It is a very large campground, but the staff and the guests are all very friendly and helpful. When we first arrived this year our cable was not working. The person that escorted us to our site immediately called maintenance and they had the problem resolved within 10 minutes. They have a very nice children's pool and a very large regular pool, along with two hot tubs. This campground is what every campground should be like. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$39
Very crowded, the sites were very small, not manicured, fallen leaves and acorns everywhere. Feels like a shanty town. Nice pool and restaurant on site, friendly staff. Will not return due to crowding. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$34
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sun-N-Fun. We originally planned to stay one month to visit friends in Sarasota, but wound up staying over two months over the holiday period. At over three typed pages, the list of park activities was impressive. The staff was super nice, especially to newcomers like us. Our grandkids came for the holidays, and had a ball. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$52
This is a fun park. The pool is huge with a bar and grille. The sites were nice but narrow. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. Upon arrival staff escorted us to our site and got us anything we needed. On premises there is put put golf, fishing and a game room. This park is great for the whole family. The staff was very friendly and i would return in the future. Close to the beach and shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$40
As the previous reviewer said, it is a bit on the older crowd side. That being said, we were just in the Keys, and the older crowd there seemed to be more lively, happy, and welcoming. Here, it's kind of a click situation. If you aren't here for an extended winter stay, you really aren't part of the crowd. The pool facility here is the best I've seen at any RV park (we've been to a lot lately) and the laundry facilities are nice. We did stay in two different sites while here. The first was in their "deluxe" area and was very nice, with good tree coverage (no satellite use, but they have excellent cable and wifi) and great locating in this huge park. The second site was much further into the park, one of their "premier" sites and was a huge disappointment. While all the other premier sites around us had grass and were well maintained, the one we got was dirt and sand. Our jacks sank into the soft sand and we tracked dirt into the rig constantly. Given the size of the park, you'd think they would take this site out of the mix for a short time to fix it up to the standard of the rest of the park, with either gravel or grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$65
Very nice LARGE park almost a small city. A lot of traffic in and around the park! Sites small for the price, large amount of planned activities and classes. Very large pool with a nice bar & restaurant & two large hot tubs. A lot of people in and around the park the majority of them seasonal residents. Dogs allowed but no retractable leashes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$34
Our monthly rate for January was $1027. The pool area with a bar, restaurant and two spas makes you feel like your are in a first class resort...which you are. They have non-stop activities that even include a nationally recognized lawn-bowling facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$40
Clean, but busy. To many old people! Lawn bowling shuffleboard, all sorts of activities. We aren't ready for this. 1500 sites, lots of Park Models. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Sun-N-Fun is a beautiful Florida RV resort. This resort has both long-term residents as well as many RV sites. The staff was very friendly as were other campers and residents. The pool area was very tropical with a heated olympic size pool , 2 jacuzzi's (very clean) with a seasonal poolside bar and grill. Children are very welcome as well as pets. There seems to be something for everyone as they have many sports & facilities on the property to keep busy. We saw many riding bikes, walking and enjoying themselves. We had a wonderful and very relaxing time here and our child enjoyed it just as much as we did. We will be making a trip here again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com