215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Highlands Hammock State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (863) 386-6094
CGID804

Highlands Hammock State Park

Camp Information
Sites
138
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   9   9   8   9   7   1   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$11
Florida resident senior rate shown. Least amount of privacy than any state park at which we have camped in over 20 yrs. There is no brush or separation between sites. To provide ID and separation between sites, they have site markers at the beginning and ending of the site! As you travel from US 27 to the park, there is the "Last" convenience store, gas station about halfway or 2-3 miles from the park entrance. If coming south on US27, don't turn on ALT 634, go another 1/2 mile to 634. At the park entrance and 2 other places on the road in, there are "Speed Tables" that are worse than speed bumps and will rearrange your camper if going fast enough. I did. Hard to see them. The park is very convenient to Sebring. We were in site 10 for 5 days which backed up to the woods. We were lucky our next door neighbors were pretty nice and quiet as we were almost camping together although both of us had large sites. Perimeter sites are the best here. Don't get an interior if you will be there on the weekend. New restrooms are very nice but a long way from Site 10 side of the park. The showers closest to us were shut down but sinks and toilets worked. They had a septic problem at the next closest showers so we were forced to go to the new one. There is another facility but they seemed to be cleaning it every time we went there. Do visit the CCC history museum. Did not go on any trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
Another nice Florida state park. Sites are generally level with moderate privacy. Park sponsors coffees and potlucks, has crafts classes. The CCC Museum was small but very interesting. The tram ride was worth the price. Lots of hiking trails, wildlife to observe. This was our 2nd visit and we'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$12
FL citizen Sr. rate. Park is beautiful 'Olde Florida' type park. Some sites huge. Almost all shaded dirt and shells, a few paved but are supposed to be handicapped. Park rangers and volunteers are fantastic, they take a lot of pride in the park and it shows. Showers and restrooms are spotless, even the older ones. Make sure to see the museum and CCC projects and take the trails, they're great, also very well kept and wide. Very relaxing. Will be back soon! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
One of the nicest "old Florida" state parks. Roomy sites. Shaded. Lots to do for adults and kids. Very scenic. Lots of wildlife. We would definitely come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$12
This is the oldest park in the Florida park system, and is not a resort park if that is what you are looking for. But we love this park. They have a restaurant open now, and a Museum that is interesting about the works of the CCC. A tram that will take you to parts of the park that you will not see, except for riding the tram. Lots of places to ride bikes and hike. The Rangers and volunteers are always nice here. The not so good. All sites are not level, some soft sand spots and the service box and water may be over fifty feet for a few sites to get your RV on level ground. Also, may be on wrong side of RV hook ups. We will be back as we like this park. Rate of 12 dollars is for a Senior's Florida resident. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
Found the CCC museum interesting. Now has a full service restaurant on-site (did not use). Fun hiking trails with a wild orange grove. Clean campground, friendly efficient staff. Try to get a perimeter campsite if possible. Some of the interior sites are very close together. County road goes through the park. Use care if biking or walking on the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
We stayed in site #104. It is a non-reservable site. We were moved from our original site #41 due to soft wet ground and flooding from recent rains. We went to look at the original site and it looked like a big rig or truck had torn the ground up getting out of the soft dirt. Site 104 was very pleasant since no one was around us. This park has too many sites very close together. Luckily not many people were camping this same weekend either. It was the first time we had not seen this park crowded. There were lots of mosquitoes during our stay. Several people in our camping group reported not being able to go on the trails due to the mosquitoes biting them. During the day in the campground it was not too bad but as soon as dusk came they were out full force. There were no ranger led events except for the tram tour. FL Parks now have a geo cache trail for all the CCC parks that ends in HHSP. We visited the CCC museum and had a nice chat with the volunteer worker. We were able to get WiFi from our site, probably because we were close to the office. We had to park our RV carefully because of the low hanging tree branches in our site, since park is very shady. No smoke problems this time-not as many people cooking outside I guess. TV was not the greatest for over the air. We checked out the Lake Placid Orange Growers visitor welcome center, the Lake Placid Farmers market on Saturday morning downtown, and Henscratch Farms and Winery which was a very nice place to visit. Also stopped at Webbs Candy shop on Hwy 27 on way home. Lots of old FL places to check out in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2012
$26
This is the only Florida State park to which I would not consider returning. Sites were very close together, so the view out of our camper, in every direction, was a close-up of another RV. It appeared that the smaller sites were in the older part of the campground, so if possible, get a site numbered 115 or above. Those were somewhat larger and were close to the newer bathhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$22
This is the best place to camp in January that we have found. Huge campsite and plenty of shade. We have been going to Highland Hammocks for 4 years now over Martin Luther King weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$24
The campground sites themselves are crammed together on sandy often not quite level ill-defined sites but with good paved roads. A new bathhouse is very nice and clean. I did not use the older bathhouse. The plus for the park are the nature trails and boardwalks through the swamps and forests, and for biking along the circular nature drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$22
Beautiful state park located in an old oak hammock. Most sites are shaded and have access to walking trails. Biking on three mile loop through park with many waking trails and catwalks through cypress forests and CCC Musuem. We love this park and will come again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$12
This is a old park with lots of wild life. There is a lot of places to ride bikes inside and outside of the park. There is a guided tour by the rangers that I don`t remember how much but I think ten dollars each that you ride a tram around the park where you will see lots of wild life.There is a CCC museum that is interesting to see. This park open in 1931. The rangers are great. The not so good is depending on what sight you have it may or may not be a good one.The power box and water may or may not be on the right side or may be all the way in the back of your site.Also all sights are not level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
I have stayed in this park several times in a big group rally. This is a nice park built by the CCC and has a nice CCC Museum as well. Sites are close together and difficult to understand the boundaries but is clean and very pretty. There are activities many nights my favorite being "Soup Night" where the Park Rangers make several Soup varieties and they are sold for $1 each. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$22
The park is great, beautiful trails. The campground is rather random in it's layout some of the pull through sites are probably the best. They have paved the roads recently; much better than a couple years ago. The lowest number loop is mostly occupied by tents and tends to have a lot of noise so be aware when booking your site. Also there is one water and electric hookup for each pair of back in sites, so you may find that the hook up is in front of your coach. Many people pull into the site to connect but this puts the fire ring behind you too. Best bet is to have extra hose and power extension in case you're site is on the wrong side. Unfortunately the restaurant closed at the end of October, the sign outside said “closed under current management” so I would assume the Florida Parks Department will be looking for a new tenant to run it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
Great park with a variety of sites. We had one that was very easy to get in and out of, but had no shade, but since it was April it was not bad. From May to October would be brutal though without shade. Had some mosquitos on some of the trails but that is to be expected. Plenty of opportunity for wildlife watching and photography. Biking is a great way to see the park. One thing that I didn't mind, but some might, are the military jets doing runs at the Avon Park Air Force Range sometimes pass overhead. They are pretty high up but the noise is noticeable at times. We live within 3 hours of this park so I know we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$22
An older park with some awkward shaped spaces and tight turns. There are shared electrical posts which mean that every other post is on the wrong side. Have a good long extension cord. We took the park tour with the ranger which was informative but not real exciting. A decent park, but not remarkable. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
This is one of Florida's oldest state parks. The campground is not quite as nice as some of the others, as it is poorly laid out with some very sandy dirt roads and others paved, lots of large trees making backing into tight spaces really challenging in some spots. Big sand traps complicate the situation as well. The sites are close together with some large trees, but no lower level vegetation to screen you from the other campsites. There are about 2-3 times more campsites for the same space as there are in the newer parks so it can get to be pretty densely populated, especially on weekends when families show up with lots of tents, kids, bikes and vehicles for weekend get-togethers. Friday and Saturday is very active, Sunday-Thursday it is mostly retirees from the northern states and Canada in motorhomes and RV’s and there is about 50% occupancy. The park has beautiful, well marked hiking trails of all kinds mostly 20-30 minutes long, easy to walk with boardwalks and level pathways, an interesting CCC museum and a restaurant. Great corps of volunteers who maintain the sites, provide activities and assist in the office. Dump station is a BIG negative with long lines that block traffic at busy times. Avoid leaving on Sunday if at all possible! Showers closed one day for low water levels. There is a lot to like about this park and we will return with planning to accommodate for the drawbacks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
Park gets a 3 because of dump station location. Park itself is more of a 7 borderline 8. We left on a weekday and the line at the dump station prevents you from being able to leave. You have to wait in the line just to get by it. We did not dump and asked someone in the other line (yes two different lines) if they could let us pass. So either plan on leaving really early or late. I would not want to be anywhere near this place on a Sunday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
I loved this place. I was there on a Thursday night when only about 1/2 the campground was full but they really fill on the w/e. I did not experience the smoke problem described in other posts but could see it happening with a full campground. The place is absolutely lovely - be sure to take the $4- Tram tour around the park, and there are numerous 30' walks through various ecological areas. This was one of Florida's first State Parks, built by the Civilian Conservation Corp. They and nature did an outstanding job! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2008
$19
This is our 3rd stay at this park. We were in site #52, and were camping with a group. This park got a low ranking from us for this visit due to the smoky conditions in the park. Since it is in a low lying area the smoke doesn't seem to dissipate quickly. We noticed this on our last visit also. There is a high volume of tent campers and they are usually cook over a campfire, so there is a lot of smoke and with colder weather more people like to have campfires. We do also but the thickness of it drove us back inside for breathing conditions. If you have breathing problems take notice and go here in summer when there should be less of a problem. Otherwise we had a good time here for the Thanksgiving weekend. We took part in the annual Turkey Trot 5K, biked around Lake Jackson, played shuffleboard, hiked a few trails and had ice cream at the restaurant. We attended a CCC campfire talk by former ranger that was very interesting. The park gets high marks for lots to do. The only thing they don't have is access to water for canoeing or swimming. The armadillos are friendly as well, but we didn't see any other wildlife this time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
Hiking trails and paved bicycling loop are both excellent. Most hiking trails are easiest to access via bikes, since most are located off the long (long) bike loop. Trails are a nice length and almost all are heavily shaded. There is a self-service restaurant on the premises with items priced from $2 (some sides) to $7.50 (baskets); they include the usual dogs and burgers, some sandwiches, several salads, baskets. Very nice ice cream bar. Restaurant hours limited, and vary with time of year. Adjacent camp store is minimal. Our campsite (none paved that I noticed) was fairly level, but some were obviously not. Campsites are somewhat close together. We were there Thanksgiving weekend and many families were there, in both RVs and tents. The result was a very smoky campsite with a great many children running around and screaming, and little respect for space. Some nice photo opportunities on the trails. Of the several restroom buildings, only the new, larger one could not be called rustic; it had two women's showers, both with actual doors, whereas the smaller huts had only curtains. Water was hot. Restrooms were clean right after cleaning, but had no soap at any time for handwashing; right before they were due for cleaning they were pretty cruddy, and the showers clogged with hair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
What a beautiful campground! There was wildlife all around (crafty raccoons included) and awesome nature trails. The staff did all they could to make our stay enjoyable including bringing us fire wood when they ran out up front. The only complaint would have to be the showers. The showers closest to us were antiques and not at all clean. I don't think the showers were cleaned once during our 4 night stay (same piece of soap on the floor and dead mosquitoes on the wall every time I showered) Lucky for me I'm not squeamish and plan to return here. Showers aside I loved this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$10
Our first stop after we leave our home in the Keys. Good State Park, we have used it many times. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Nice camp ground with a lot to do. Many walking trails and large off road bike trails. Staff was great. Rest rooms where clean. Campground was full. There are a lot of children on bikes, scooters, and running around but where not out of control and quite at night. In the late afternoon a staff member would drive a golf cart full of firewood selling it. Sights where small and slightly unlevel and a little work to get into but not bad. I would go back but may think about a pull through site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
Very shady & wooded, however, the inner spots are accessed by dirt roads that are tight! Took a few tries to get my camper backed in. Thank goodness for other helpful campers that guided me in. Friendly staff and clean! Would definitely come back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
Nice 50 foot wide sites. Sites have picnic tables and fire pits. There are wonderful hiking trails, a tram tour and a restaurant/store. There are nature talks and musical entertainment. Most interior roads are paved, the sites are not. There is a laundry. There is a playground. There are bike and horse trails. There is a museum. There park is only four miles from town. There is gated security. There is a bicycle rental available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$15
I have been here a few times. Rangers are friendly. The sites are very shady, but a little close to each other. Fire rings on the ground, you can buy fire wood at ranger station. Hiking trails and some bike riding. No swimming area or water/river to canoe on. However the Park is very peaceful and relaxing. They were even armadillos walking in our site, and that was cool. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$10
One of Floridas nicest parks. Sites were fairly well spaced out and shaded for the most part. A few pull through sites, but mostly back-in. Must make reservations through Reserve America which requires you select a campsite. If you've never been there before, it's pretty hard to know which site to select. When I was there, the ranger let me change sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Best park we have stayed in. This is what camping should be like. Very family oriented - kids riding bikes and playing all the time. Beautiful oak and pine trees. Located in the state park - lots of places to ride bicycles and see nature. The bathroom (closest to our site, #85) were the cleanest I have ever seen at a campground. Showers were great - no problems at all. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$19
Wonderful experience of the Nature of Florida! But the sites are too close together! That can be a plus or minus depending on your neighbor and mood. Our neighbor was super and it enhanced our visit. Could go the other way however...ground was dirty sand. Had to wash my white dog's feet with the outdoor shower after every "walkie"--the campground was filled with armadillo holes-watch where you walk and try to keep your dog's nose out of the hole! I did not see a 50amp site and I walked the entire campground with my dirty-pawed pooch. Lotsa shade trees, tricky getting satellite but we maneuvered our 40ft diesel on Site 38 and found the signal. Loved the park discovery trails--many short, level trails with a "themed" focus ie orange trees, huge Oak Tree, cypress swamp etc. Tram tour informative and full of happy, questioning tourists! CAUTION: We came from Southwest Florida and followed our GPS which routed us on a single-laned county-maintained dirt road with soft, steeply sloping shoulders through an orange ranch. This kind of experience makes for funny RV adventures in hindsight, but it was nerve-wracking at the time. Avoid Crewsville Road on approach from the southwest! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$22
This was our first time at this park and we loved it. Staff very friendly and helpful. Plenty of trees and wildlife including deer, aligators, raccoons. etc. Great marked hiking trails and lots of them. The cypress swamp was beautiful. Many sites have great shade, so much so that it was hard to find a hole to aim my sat. dish through. Another nice touch is nightly firewood delivery service they have. Each night a trailer full of firewood for sale makes it's way throughout the campground. A nice size bundle was $4. Very cool. The only downside we found (as others have said) is that there is little privacy as most sites are very close together. The ground on most of the sites is dirt covered by lots of oak tree leaves, but it is dirt underneath. We didn't really find either of these drawbacks that big a deal. The bathrooms we clean but old. A brand new modern bath facility was nearly complete and should be open any day. One thing we noticed also was that during the week the campground was full but quiet. On Friday night that changed dramatically as other families rolled in. Saturday morning it was bustling with younger people riding bikes and playing. We enjoyed both the weekday and the weekend crowd. We will definitely return here soon. We camped here in a 23 foot TT. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2006
$20
This park is easy to get to and roads in and around the park are good. We had site #68 and the site was deep enough for our 30 ft class A and toad but the neighbors were inches away from us on both sides. The utilities are on the wrong side in this site but we didn't have a problem reaching them. As noted by others the sites are really packed together and although there are many trees around to make the park look a woodsy they unfortunately don't provide any privacy. We've had great luck with FL state parks so far but many of the campsites at this one are terrible. Incredibly crowded and noisy on the weekend late into the night. We checked out the pull thru sites recommended in a previous review and while they were better, they were still close together with no privacy. The new bathhouse is still under construction. Existing bathrooms/showers were older and not spotlessly clean but certainly usable; two bathhouses also had a washer and dryer. The dump was pretty easy in and out. We enjoyed lunch at the Inn and the CCC museum and we loved walking the nature trails but don't see spending $$ to be wedged into these mini-sites again. We'd rather go without hook-ups and stay in the primitive camping area where the sites are spacious, quiet and afford some privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2006
$20
This is one of those parks with an extremely active seasonal community of loyal regulars. Although there is supposedly a limited stay, we spoke with several folks who stay here for much of the winter. The campground itself is composed of small sites, close together, with the parking pad composed of dirty sand. It is impossible to walk in here wearing sandals, and keep your feet clean. The people here are really nice, which makes up for the campground deficiencies. Loyal campers have added many nice touches to the campground, including a small kiosk with bench from which one can dial-up the internet. We would return if we were in the area again, particularly if we picked one of the better sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2005
$20
My favorite campground. Sites 130, 132, 134, 136 the best (pull-throughs for larger campers). Building a new bathhouse right behind them and you're close to the horseshoes, shuffleboard and playground. Excellent walking trails, an interesting museum, tram ride through the park, and a restaurant with GREAT desserts (wild orange pie and warm blackberry cobbler). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$24
Our overall rating of this state park is very good. It's a wonderful property with a nice CCC museum, tram nature rides, Friday night fish fry (very good), and a friendly staff. The sites at the campground are VERY close together and the hook-ups can be very far away. The CG was full the weekend we were there, but everyone was well behaved. The showers were clean, but old and could use a remodel. The courtesy phone for local and toll free calls was convenient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2004
$20
Our site was a pull thru site. It lookes as if long ago it was a wide site and they decided to add another site right next to it, making it very narrow. The campers next to us had their fire ring 2 feet from our rv. Hookups can be a long distance from rv. Some of them are on opposite sides to rv as well. Most sites not very deep. Not a lot of vegetation between sites. Lots of trees. Each site has a fire ring/grill, and a picnic table. Parking area is dirt/grass. Bathhouses are very old and need updated. Hot water was plentiful. There was a boil water notice up when we were there that they Rangers had neglected to tell us about at check-in. Playground was nice and in the camping area. Group fire ring. There was a CCC museum at park. Free admission. Restaurant on site that has a fish fry every Fri night. Open for lunch every day. They also have a small store that sells ice cream and necessities. Several bike/walking trails. Tram tour($4 adults/$2 kids)lasts about an hour and half. They take you to areas of the hammock that are off limits. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Highlands Hammock is a nice campground. There is not a whole lot of privacy at most sites but they are nice. I liked the "Wonder years" atmosphere at night with a lot of activity from everyone and a lot of nice people. All types of campers and trailers to be seen. Bathrooms were nice. There are a lot of trails within the park but they are mostly all paved and a lot of people on them. The reason for a 7 only is the lack of privacy within most of this park. This is a big thing for us. But other than that a great park. PS- Watch the terrible drivers in Florida. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com