218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Coronado Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (505) 980-8256
CGID8043

Coronado Campground

Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   9   7   7   8   8   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
We have been here before. Traffic noise is unfortunately getting worse but still a good place to be for a couple of days. Just used our earplugs. You pay $20 for 30 amp, and $22 for 50 amp. A good deal. They water their trees with the grey water you are allowed to dump next to the trees. (They need it!) No Wi-Fi, good TV reception on the antenna. Lots of long stayers but that is not a big deal, as they only occupy half the campground! A $10 fee for making a reservation is a lot of money but still we will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$22
The campground is 15 miles north of Albuquerque, NM and just off of I-25 on highway 550 and is operated by the city of Bernalillo. We really like this campground. The sites are long, there are shelters on each campsite, and even AstroTurf carpeting. Hookups are water and electric with both 30 and 50 amp sites available. The water hookups, for some reason, are on the wrong side of the camper, so you’ll need a longer water hose for water. We didn’t find the lack of sewer hookups to be a big of a deal because we were allowed to water the trees and plants around our campsite with our gray water. This campground serves as a good center of operations for exploring Albuquerque and Santa Fe. It is probably a bit far off of I-40 for those traveling that route (about 17 miles from I-40 to the campground). For history buffs, the campground is adjacent to the Coronado Historic Site. Also, there are many restaurants and other businesses within minutes of the campground. Our Verizon 4G signal is quite good. We give this place a thumbs up and will likely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$22
Great park...clean and a great location. I found the manager and the camp hosts to be friendly and efficient. Pleasant environment and a great location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
Great place to stay and reasonably priced. Staff was very friendly. Road and sites are asphalt and level. Each site has a adobe looking shelter with a table. The sites are wide and can accommodate big rigs with slide-outs on two sides. Water and electric only. There are both pull-throughs and back-ins. if you call and reserve ahead there is a 10 dollar fee extra. Hwy 550 is nearby but the noise was light. Passport America is Nov to Mar. Otherwise sites are as I mentioned. We really liked it here and would stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
Sites are large and well separated, each has a nice ramada and picnic table. Water and electric hookups are on opposite sides of the site, you will need a long water hose. Hwy 550 is right next to the park and is very noisy. Even though you are right next to the Rio Grande river, it is very hard to access. There is no stay limit here so there are a number of long term occupants, they have sites further from the noisy highway. Convenient to all services in Bernalillo and Albuquerque. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
The rate is Passport America. We chose this park to avoid the others very close to the interstate. Well, the highway 550, which is very close is as busy as an interstate, maybe even worse. Night sleep was only possible with earplugs. The other complaint I have is the low branches which almost got stuck under the AC when pulling in. Some pruning is due! Other than that, this park offers very good value for the money (if you have Passport America). The sites are fairly level and hookups are OK if you don't mind sharing the water hookup with your neighbor. The best thing is a little cassita right beside the concrete pad of your site, providing some shelter from the sun and wind. There is even a light and a fan which is probably much appreciated in the summer. We would come again, but then ask for a site in the far back to hopefully avoid some of the highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
We had a great 3 day stay at this park. The hosts on site were very accommodating; even shuttling us to the auto parts store when our Jeep broke down. Many of the sites are not level so be prepared with additional leveling equipment. Very nice playground, right on the Rio Grande, and next door to the very interesting Coronado Monument. Dog friendly, but not a lot of good places to walk the dog. Each site has a little shelter over the picnic table. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
Pleasant enough, paved pad w/step off on a carpet. Casitas are a cool place to set out of the sun. Pull throughs in the front row are best. Back units look to have been there awhile. Host very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
One of our favorite places, not many sites for big rigs, but all have water and power, everyone is super friendly, has your own casita for privacy, and great views. They are now charging $10 reservation fee. Has a dump station on site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
This is a city-run RV park. Was very disappointed with this park. There is mainly long term trailers here that are well over 10 years old and their covered picnic areas look like storage units. Many look like these people were displaced. Camp host has 5 vehicles at their site. There is electric and water faucet is shared between 2 sites. Many people are dumping their gray onto the ground (hope this is just gray water). Not sure how this park received such high ratings. The site was 20.00 a night, which I thought was over priced. Would not recommend or stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Park is very clean. staff is friendly. We had a storm blow through so the pool got closed. The showers were excellent!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Great location, everything was very good. No complaints about anything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
This was a spotless park and i enjoyed staying there until i moved to a new spot and it had rained that night but next day i noticed a distinctive stench only to realize the guy next to me which was a long term resident was dumping his Grey water with a hose at the tree which was closer to my site than his-DISGUSTING. I can't believe this is legal in New Mexico public campgrounds, but he wasn't hiding it he was just letting it flow and it stunk. Now i noticed allot of long term residents some probably been there the better part of the winter because of the heat strips on their hoses, wow what I thought was camping could just might be somebody else last stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Was disappointed at first, but after a week, this place grows on you. It's small and mostly safe & quiet; there is also an overflow dry camp area ($14). Most campground sites are not level- many RVs using jacks and blocks. Shade trees and shelters at most sites, though still sunny, also rather dusty. Only one shower per gender,water is not hot, only runs for 20 seconds and then you have to push the button again. Pretty views of Mtns. and river from top sites, and lots of room to walk dogs. Close to town and I-25.Laundry down the street, casino next door. Call for reservations ($10). Too bad that a lot of the sites have "permanent" residents, so real campers can't get in. TV works fine on antenna, also VZ cell and aircard. Good deal overall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
Great views of the Sandia mountains, quiet CG and a nice place to stay for touring the area. The hookups are a little strange, just need long water hose. Dump station on the way out is very convenient. The management is very friendly and helpful. Some seasonals that have been there a while with sites not in clean shape, but all in all, a place we'd come back to. Sites are level and good sized and each site has a nice shelter from the sun and weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
We had business in Albuquerque and decided to try out this campground. We were very pleased with the setting and the sites. We had a 50amp pull-through. The water spigots are in odd places so be sure to bring a long hose. The shade trees were most welcome and a rarity in most NM campgrounds. We enjoyed the sheltered picnic tables. My husband checked out the bathrooms/showers and said it was pretty clean. The dump station was clean and easy to use. The only thing that we thought was odd that you are allowed to dump your gray water in order to water the trees as I asked the campground host. There was a permanent pool of gray water around a tree from the RV next to us and there was an odor coming from it as gray water does contain organic matter from preparing food and washing dishes. We did not do this practice. The highway is VERY difficult to cross due to heavy traffic so I suggest turning with the traffic (west) and turning around in the nearby casino parking lot. Then, you have a traffic light which makes it a lot easier to travel east toward I-25. It was a very peaceful, clean, scenic and overall quiet campground even though it was close to a busy highway. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
We use this park as a stopover when traveling to Durango, Colorado. It is right on Highway 550 and easy to get in and out of. The picnic tables are enclosed in adobe pavilions which are painted with Indian symbols, making them very interesting and unique. The park is not fancy, but it is comfortable. It is within walking distance of a casino. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
Beautiful campground, quiet eve though relatively near the busy highway. Nice location near the visitor center. Friendly host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
This nice little park is one of Albuquerque's less known gems. A couple dozen paved pull-through sites with electricity and water. No sewer, but a clean dump station. The park is maintained by the City of Bernalillo (10 Miles north of Albuquerque). The manager is super friendly and dedicated to keeping park nice. Most all the sites have an adobe style shelter. It's far enough from Route 550 to keep the highway noise to a decent low roar. It's next door to a Casino, if that's of interest. A nice place to stay if one is visiting people in Bernalillo, Placitas or Rio Rancho. Only a mile and a half from I-25. Good base for exploring northern New Mexico or Albuquerque proper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com