223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Koreshan State Historic Site was rated 7 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (239) 992-0311
CGID8047

Koreshan State Historic Site

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   7   4   8   8   5   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
I am so sorry to have to give this campground such a low rating, but there is a big problem. When we arrived in the early afternoon and hooked up, the voltage was 117 amps, so all seemed well. We turned on our air conditioner and went for a bike ride. When we returned another camper had pulled in next to us and was running the AC. Our electrical management system had shut down our coach for low voltage. I looked and the voltage was going down as low as 100 volts. That is far too low to run modern appliances. I went up to the front desk and was told that it was an old system and that was just the way it is. When I asked about a refund, she said probably not and that the park manager was not available. On the way back to the RV I came across a maintenance person. He came by and decided that changing out the plug might help. He was very nice, but changing the plug had no effect. We backed without air conditioning. Finally, after dark, the voltage went up enough that we could turn on the power but could still not run the AC without having the voltage go too low. So, we were very glad we had made only one nights reservation. All of the positives noted by other reviewers are spot on. However, we would not stay here again unless they upgrade their electrical system. I would also note that I think it would be very difficult to get a big rig into most sites. We are only 27 feet long and it was tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This is a rustic park, but there is so much to offer in the surrounding area that any possible inadequacies are made up for by the conveniences nearby. It was rainy and hot, but we just went shopping and sightseeing during the days and enjoyed the nights in the campground. Within a few minutes you have every restaurant you could want and high end shopping at Coconut Point. Drive into Bonita Springs for Gulf access, it is much nicer than heading over to Ft Myers Beach. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
This was our second visit to Koreshan. The Koreshan Historic tour is excellent. This park has little to offer inside unless a quiet time is your goal. The surrounding area is very busy but nice. We drove to Everglades City (1h 10 min.) for an airboat ride. It was well worth it. Sanibel Island is about an hour away, once again through heavy traffic. This park is clean and neat but some of the sites are quite small. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$26
This park is starting to slide backwards. We usually like it here at lot, but will avoid the weekends now at all costs. The tent people that come in during that time are out of control. They are bringing in loads of crap wood, including old greasy pallets, and have "smudge pots" going 24 hours a day. Beer parties till late in the night, with lots of yelling and screaming coming from both adults and children. Children running wild down the roads all day and night. Cars and trucks come roaring down the paved camp roads at 40-50 miles an hour. So much for the 5 mile an hour speed limit. Only a matter of time before there is a serious accident. If you have to be here on a weekend, suggest staying at the far south end away from the tent only area. The sites are soft dirt, and really need to be updated with crushed gravel or limestone as many state parks are doing now. When it rains it becomes a muddy mess. The ants are horrible. Don't forget to spray around your unit or you will be over run with the critters. 30 amp service only and no sewer hookup, but there is a washer and dryer at the single bath house. Good AT&T signal and many channels available on roof top antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Koreshan park is close to our home and a perfect weekend getaway! The park is clean, well maintained, and full of history. You can rent kayaks, and it is pet friendly and close to stores, but set far back enough that you don't know they're there. Sure wish they had a pool. In Florida...ya gotta have a pool. We will continue to recommend and visit often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$27
Good paved roads, sand-gravel sites fairly level and fairly close with scrub plants separating sites. Bathhouse off to one side from most sites and rather far from some sites. Bathhouses dimly lite, but clean. Very nice tidal river side sandy nature walk with groves of large bamboo and other exotic trees leading to the Koreshan historic settlement which was very interesting with volunteers describing the history and philosophy of the Koreshans, and a very good tape show. I enjoyed this park, the river nature walk, and the Koreshan settlement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
Close to shopping and restaurants. Very "woodsy" sites. Not well cleaned between stays. Lots of bugs. Very small sites. Clean washrooms but they seemed "closed for cleaning" an awful lot. Would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Loved the historic site - very interesting. Sites are all very private and the park is absolutely beautiful. I will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
This was our first time here, and we loved the park. My only real complaint was that we should have booked a longer stay! Thank you to the previous reviewer, as we went on that suggestion and booked into site #14, which made us feel like we were in our own little world. We were here during the week, and the park was only a quarter full. Not sure how it would be on a weekend. Checking in, the very pleasant and smiling park ranger was extremely helpful and welcoming: a rare experience sometimes. Did not have time to canoe the little river, but it looked great and will do that next visit. We toured the historic site on a self guided tour, which is free for campers. Kudos to the people taking care of this site, as it was clean and well kept. Enjoyed the history very much. Only thing I would change, would be to have somewhere in the park to obtain Wi-Fi service, but AT&T cell phone and our digital TV antenna had great service reception. Looking forward to our next stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
We stayed here in a 38' motorhome with toad and had no problem parking on site 14. Roads were very good; sites were shaded and had plant growth between sites, we were able to received satellite TV; only had 30 amp service, but ranger related that the park was due to be upgraded next year; received both AT&T and Verizon service. We really enjoyed this beautiful Florida park. Gave a rating of 8 because of the 30 amp service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
This is a great park for tent camping, but I would avoid it for any kind of big rig. You're limited to 30 amp service, and not all the sites even have septic, and there's no wifi. The sites are cramped, and roads are very narrow; backing in a big trailer is a major headache. It's near Tamiami Trail, so traffic noise is a constant at all hours of the day and night. The historic area is mildly interesting but not worth a special trip. Honestly, I doubt this park would even exist if the Koreshan Society didn't give the state money to keep it around. It's a dismal, nowhere, little park combining the worst elements of wilderness camping and urban living. The state is getting ready to widen the busy road, so you can expect construction and even more traffic noise. Stay closer to Fort Meyers and have a much better experience and be closer to the resort areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
This is a good park to visit if you want a healthy dose of nature and history, with civilization a stone's throw away. There are some short trails to hike along the river and through tropical woodland. There is access to the Estero River by way of a boat ramp, and canoe rentals are available. The campground is wooded, with plenty of foliage between most of the spaces, although some are fairly close together. The handicapped spaces are paved; the rest are dirt. Ours (#100) was relatively level. There is one central bath/laundry/garbage facility; restroom and shower areas were clean and well-maintained; water was hot and plentiful. There is a double dump station. Aside from canoeing, there is the Koreshan Unity village located in the park, and a short bike ride or walk away. (If you walk, take the trail through the woods.) The village features historical buildings and grounds from a now-defunct religious sect. The park is located quite near a major intersection, across which is a Publix supermarket. A little further up the street are an urgent medical care center, dentist, and emergency veterinarian. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$22
This Florida State Park is better than recent reviews would have you believe. Cons: All sites are 30amp and none have sewer connections. All but 4 sites are sand, and ours gave us no leveling problems. There is a minimal amount of road noise mainly noticable when emergency vehicles were using sirens, or straight piped motorcycles were on the road near the CG. Pros: The vegetation between sites affords a great deal of privacy. All camp roads are paved and wide enough for any rig to back into their site. There are some "trails" to the showers and restrooms but if the signed routes (cement sidewalks) are followed the access is easy. Showers are older but tiled and never did we feel they were inadequate, dirty, or uncomfortable. Hot water was plentiful and with all other showers in use, never did we run out of hot water. This is not a destination park. You won't find a lot of activities, any beaches, or even a camp store. There is a boat launch ramp, into the Estero River, in the park. It is a great base camp for visiting Ft Myers, Naples, or any of the island beaches and tourist attractions. There are many restaurants, grocery stores, outlets and "box" stores are within a 10 minute drive of your campsite. We would have no qualms about returning here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
This park has been highly rated, but I'm not sure why. This is not a bad park, but it is in dire need of updating and maintenance. To say that the sites are overgrown is an under statement. The park has a jungle like feel, and there is evidence everywhere of campers ripping branches from trees and shrubs in order to fit into a site. The roads are narrow and difficult to navigate for larger rigs. My 32' MH was barely able to back into a site. Trimming a few palms was necessary to avoid destroying my paint job. The site was very soft sand in spots. While trying to level one corner a few inches, my jack along with the wood block was pushed 6" into the soft sand. The volunteers at the park try hard to maintain what is there, but they are simply not equipped to deal with work on that scale. The restrooms while clean, are very old and in need of updating. Hot water in the showers ran out quickly. It may be a matter of taste, some people called the sites private, I call it "cave like". The tour at the park is top notch and the ranger did an excellent job. I would pass this park next time unless some agressive site maintenance was undertaken. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
This park is on land formerly owned by a group who called themselves the Koreshan Unity Settlement. The settlement still exists on the property but the land was donated to Florida State Parks about 40 years ago. The campground is small but extremely neat and attractive. Many sites are large and private. Some sites are shaded but others have an excellent combination of sun and shade. The old Koreshan buildings and displays are still in the park and are very interesting. Lover’s Key State Park is about a 20 minute drive but in a beautiful area as well. There is a dog beach near the entrance to LKSP. We looked for manatees but were unsuccessful. The area near KSHS has loads of shopping and beautiful houses. There is not a lot in the park to do beyond a good nature trail and the settlement. There is, however, loads to do nearby. This area is heaven for kayakers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
This State park is in town and you are constantly reminded of this by the traffic/airplane noise. The Koreshan tour was a 10 out of 10, our tour guide was great. The sites are narrow, unlevel, and sandy. The bathhouse is tucked away behind vines, and the trails to are over grown. Other than explore the Koreshan's, there is not much to do. Our three rating came from the sites, bathhouse, and a noise problem we had with neighbors. Our neighbors decided to get hammered and play loud music two nights until 2 am. The first night I called the Ranger and no one would answer the 24 hour line. The second night the ranger issued them a warning and nothing was done. We will not be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
Had site #49. Site was partly shady and enclosed by palmetto bushes so it felt private. Site was narrow as most of them are but deep enough for our 35 ft MH. Site was all sand with fire ring/grill, water, 30AMP electric and a clothes line. Many, many ants in area and you are warned when checking in about them. There is 1 bathhouse in center that everyone uses, checked it out when we arrived but did not go back in for rest of trip so I cannot comment on cleanliness, but it was a dated bathhouse. There is a laundry facility at the bathhouse as well. There is a volleyball net in camping loop and a ball is available at ranger station. Picnic area is right next to camping area so it was an easy bike ride to playground. Park is mostly full Jan-Mar when there are many ranger programs and the settlement is very busy with demonstrations. Nothing happens the rest of the year except on Sat-Sun there is a ranger led tour of settlement area at 10 am for $2pp. We rented a canoe ($5/hr) to go up the Estero River. Not much in the way of animal life in the park while we were there. Mainly birds and squirrels. There is no swimming in park so we headed to nearby Lover's Key SP for the beach. Shopping is very close by with grocery stores as well as outlet stores. The Ranger who gave the settlement tour said the SP system was looking at closing the campground after the season near Easter, to upgrade the elec and water and maybe do a prescribed burn in the park since it has been many years and the undergrowth has become so thick. Very family friendly park as there was a church group and lots of kids on the weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$24
This is one of the most beautiful campgrounds I’ve ever stayed in, and for $24 in South Florida near Naples and Ft. Meyers, wow! It’s not on the beach, but it does have a river running next to it that is popular for canoeing. It also has its namesake, a historic site, to explore. Each site is surrounded on three sides by tropical vegetation, giving the site a tropical garden feel. Each has a picnic table, fire ring, and hooks for a clothes line. There is a 30amp electric and water hookup, but no sewer, although there is a double dump station. There are also adequate bathroom and shower facilities. I don't believe there is a laundry. There is no Wi-Fi. A Publix grocery and some restaurants are a 20-minute walk from the sites. Sites are mostly reservable, but if you arrive and are lucky enough to grab a walk-in site, you can stay for up to 14 days. We intended to stay two nights but ended up staying for four since it was so nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$23
60 sites - $23 plus taxes. This campground is very interesting. The sites are all a good size with shade – water and electricity. Pretty campground. The restroom is in the center of the campground with a laundry and hot showers. There are grapefruit trees around and palm trees. On the grounds there is also a playground, picnic area, boat area and you can rent canoes to travel the Estero River which used to be the main route for goods to be shipped before route 41 was built. It is right off route 41 and the bike trails along that route. The rangers were very nice here and there is also the Koreshan Unity Settlement to visit on the park grounds. This is a must see and is a bike ride away from your site. This was a religious communal society established here in 1894. The grounds and many of its buildings were donated to the state of Florida in 1961. There are many buildings to visit and the walkways along the Estero River are quiet and peaceful. This was a hard working group who believed in hard work, education, the arts and music, security, order and a sense of achievement. There is a self-guiding trail using guidesheets or sometimes a ranger or host takes people on a tour. The self-guiding one is free and the host led tour costs around $2.00. The buildings are furnished and they have put up glass so that you .May with a cool breeze so it was very enjoyable walking around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This camp ground is not very big, which made getting around easy. It was very nice, peaceful and quite. The sites are separated by foliage. The rangers and employees were very nice and helpful. There is a river to kayak on, which is very nice. We saw a lot of wildlife. Not too far down the road on US41 at Bonita Springs is a dog beach, where your dog can run free on the beach with the other dogs. The Historic site in interesting. We stayed in site 15. Only down fall was these things falling out of the trees, which made a mess. We saw a lot of fish in the river, but did not catch anything. If you're looking for a small, very quite camp ground I would stay here. The local seafood is very, very good and the beaches are not too far away, but there was a lot of traffic. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
Though sites are close, the trees and shrubs give the feeling of privacy. Trails lead to the river and boat ramp, and some canoes are available for rent. It is a wilderness river area. The picnic area consists of acres of nicely wooded and grassy field with grills right at the river. The old Koreshan community is a museum village and is reached by long stroll (15-20 minutes), short drive within the park, or by bicycle. Great park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
Restrooms were very clean and centrally located. There is a boat launch and canoe rentals available along the Estero River. There also is a historic Koreshan Community within a quarter mile of the campground with old homes, etc which can take up a few hours of viewing. There are no guided tours but it is nice to be able to go at your own pace. Neat site. Very close to the Estero River. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com