218572 User submitted reviews online!!
Tennessee Fairgrounds was rated 6 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (615) 862-8980
CGID8054

Tennessee Fairgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   9   8   8   5   4   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
It's hard to rate this park because it isn't fair to compare it to most rv parks. If you know what you are getting here, it probably rates higher than the 5 I gave it. If you try to compare it to a "normal" rv park, it would probably rate lower. Thus, the mid-range score. It's all about the location--close, easy access to interstates, downtown, and to major shopping centers. And the price is much better than those nicer parks that are further out of town. We felt quite secure here, even though the neighborhood ranges from industrial to low income housing. We stayed a Tuesday & Wednesday. Wednesday night flea market vendors started showing up, and told us (very politely) that other vendors would be coming in starting Thursday and we were "in their spot." Okay with us since we were leaving then, anyway. We didn't call ahead, and we were never contacted by anyone to collect payment. Utilities include sewer, water and electric, and the sewer was just an open hole in the ground--no cover, but worked okay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This isn't a campground, but a vendor RV parking for the fairgrounds. If there isn't an event, the lot is fairly empty. It's first come first serve and good for just staying over night, which was all we needed for our visit. Even though in the city, we felt safe and it was quiet except for racing at the track on the grounds on Sunday afternoon. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This is one of the strangest parks we have camped in, but for us it was perfect. We go to Nashville to go out to the music venues and not to hang around the RV park. We have stayed in nicer places (Seven Points, Cedar Creek, and Nashville Country) but none were as convenient to our haunts downtown and the Station Inn and Bluebird Cafe. It was two miles to lower Broadway and less than a mile to 3rd and Lindsley and Douglas Corner. We were almost by ourselves the whole time, maybe five other RVs at the most. It is basically one strip of the parking area around the fairgrounds, about 100 yards from the motor speedway track and a similar distance to the agricultural buildings of the fair. The sites are up on a little hill and you can actually watch the cars race if you pick the end space (we did). It is very quiet and we felt safe here because the sites are so visible to the streets below. To be sure it is primitive and not beautiful, but it has full hook ups, a great location and quiet. We had to cover our bedroom vent because the street light was right above us and very bright. Next trip to Nashville we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
The Tennessee State Fairgrounds is a great place to stay if what you are looking for is a spot close to downtown. It's about 2 miles due south from Broadway Street. At $35.00 a day it is a great value in the Nashville area. We have stayed here twice, once for two weeks a few months ago and three weeks this time. It's not in a great area but it's isolated from the surrounding neighborhoods. Although we were the only RV here most of the time we never felt unsafe while we stayed here. Other RVs came and went on the weekends depending on what events were going on at the fairgrounds. It's like every state fairgrounds. There is a asphalt strip up near the middle of the fairground that has space for about 20 RVs. Other than the bathrooms and showers there are no other amenities, but you do get full hook-ups with 50 amps. There is an overflow area of about 200 spots but we rarely saw anyone in them. We will stay here every time we come to Nashville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$1
When we phoned ahead to make sure that the camp sites were available, we were told to choose a site and that someone would be around later to collect the fee. There were two other rigs there, but no one stopped by. The park is centrally located and made a good over night stop on our way home. Electricity, water and sewer hook ups were conveniently located and worked well. The sites are very closely spaced. No restrooms or showers were in the vicinity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This is convenient for touring Nashville. It is not family friendly, nor is it in a great area. It is accessible to a lot of entertainment venues, with that in mind I say it is acceptable to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Connections are old and outdated (if there were other campers we couldn't have used sewer, as the hookups are at the back of the space, directly behind your trailer). A community road passes through the middle of the RV parking, so there is a bit of traffic. It is also in a very rough section of town. Despite that, we felt relatively safe. The fairgrounds next door had a couple of events, the only one of which we actually heard was the stock car practice laps. It was a convenient place, and that's why we stayed here, and is the only reason to stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
Sites are on fairgrounds property and are just a place to park on pavement. Full hookups (rather uncommon for fairgrounds), although my sewer tap was clogged/full and would have overflowed had I used it. 50-amp plug was hard to insert all the way because the cut-out in the box for the cord was in the wrong place. Sites are narrow and short for big rigs, but everybody just sort of did what they could and would hang out into the "street" if necessary. There was grass on the other side of the street, so maneuvering wasn't too bad even with rigs sticking out. Location is convenient to downtown and the Lane Motor Museum, and for southbound travel out of Nashville, which is why we picked it over the RV parks on Music Valley Drive. The rate was $35, which seemed quite high for what you get. My experience is that a fairgrounds space like this should be more in the $20 range. But it has a lot of sites and would likely have space available when other RV parks are full. Rating of 3 takes into consideration the relatively high price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com