224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Conroe / Thousand Trails was rated 7 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (936) 856-7888
CGID8056

Lake Conroe / Thousand Trails

Camp Information
Sites
315
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   3   3   9   8   2   9   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$3
"Clean" restrooms and showers is a relative term. In several of the bath houses June bugs were very prevalent. They did sweep them up a couple times during our 11 day visit. They weren't horrible but they could have been better. Our rate reflects having to pay for 50 amp service. Some Thousand Trails camps charge for it, some don't. They had several activities, some for kids and some for adults. Lots were somewhat level. Thousand Trails says they are making improvements to this park. There was evidence of gravel that will be put down soon. Don't know if it was all for roads or if they would also try to level out unit parking areas. They have several new cabins. Good access to the lake for boating activities. We would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$3
The rate cited is the Thousand Trails rate for a 50 amp site. Yes, the roads are rough, but this is a campground after all. Miniature golf is clean, pool is clean, spa/hot tub is outside and clean. Waterfront is in good condition (fire ants included). Maintenance was on the spot with handling calls and getting things done. Willis and Conroe are close enough and there are lots of things to do nearby. Some of the 50 amp sites did experience high voltage a couple times but the EMS kept us from harm's way until the voltage went back down to normal. Water was a problem one day as a camper drove over a stanchion and broke the water and electrical off which required a brief shutdown to repair. Some of the sites are narrow and side by side, sharing stanchions, but there is plenty of room to set up on the opposite side. We have been here before and enjoy the campground for all that it is...rough roads included. When you do get torrential rains they do affect everything, everywhere, not just the campground. Basically, the campground drains very well but you can find some low spots that don't; not a huge issue. The entire staff was friendly, courteous, efficient and helpful, even when busy. There are seasonal campers here but we have never had a problem finding a great site to set up our rig. We will return another day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
This park is sad and run down. We thought about staying there for 2 nights and possibly joining the TT zone. But the park was so run down, we only stayed one night. The asphalt roads have pot holes and ruts that it twist your rig as you are driving. The sites are mostly gravel, and grass. The pull thru sites are very narrow and show as back to back sites. They should just be single sites. I'm sure this was a very nice park back when it was developed and could be a nice park again if they would put some effort into maintenance, but I didn't see anyone working on any thing. The pool was clean, but needed resurfacing. They have put put golf, but be careful not to trip on the uneven sidewalks or fall into the large holes by the course. I wish this had been a nicer park. We will not be back to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$3
Met by friendly staff/camper at ranger station. First glance of the entrance was very nice well groomed. We were told to drive around find a spot we like then finish checking in. I liked that. Most premium spots already taken that offered 50amp ($3.00) a day. Plenty of 30amp. We ended up moving spots twice. Both times the utilities were in bad repair. We ended up with poor water pressure,and like most a dump connection that ran up hill. Not good. We had to step out onto our picnic table from our coach to jump to a dry spot due to flooding when it rained, and it does. The interior roads are dirt and rough broken asphalt with sever unmarked hazards in the corners. They are selling off parts of the park to Encore and private parties. This place is in need of serious repair and attention. It's a gamble if your stay will be good. For me I had mechanical problems and was stuck there. I will pass on this park in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$1
What's not to like about this park? Right on the lake, boat docks, big rig sites with ample room, friendly staff, pool and spa. Only thing we found wrong with this park was one restroom building only had cold showers and the other one was closed. We would return. Verizon 3 bars 3g ATT 4bars 4g Rate reflects members rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$5
We always enjoy this TT park. Were here for two months. Rate reflects TT membership. Bathrooms are 6 of 10. Verizon coverage is 3 of 5 bars. They claim WiFi from activity center is good :on the hill" - in the G-section, however we could not get a reliable signal in either G-5 or G-9. Just completely re-built the hot tub; it is VERY nice. Gate staff is GREAT! We'll be back next winter! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2013
$42
Terrible, jarring roads, could cause damage to rig if not careful. Sites were horribly un-level. Management is not visible; rules not enforced allowing campers to do whatever they want. Saw one site with 1 trailer, 3 cars, and 6 tents. Noise was obviously a problem. No control whatsoever and lack of caring on part of the workers. Bad, bad experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$1
What a nice place! We enjoyed the preserve and will be back. It was a bit cool for the pool, but it is quite inviting as was the hot tub. The roads are in need of repair, and the site we were in wasn't quite level, but it wasn't real bad and our leveling blocks were sufficient. We recommend this preserve. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$0
This is the worst Thousand Trails we've visited since 2000. Roads are horribly maintained: huge ruts, cracked asphalt. Site was very unlevel, forcing us to use 5 jack pads on one side. We were parked on a site in front of Bass Lake - nice location, but poor site. It flooded during the rain storm Sunday. The water was shut down without warning and remained off for a long while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$5
We are TT member, so were staying on per-paid nights. Very nice park. Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful sunsets over Lake Conroe. We stayed in Site E-17 for 2 weeks. Very nice, big lot. In that section backs to trees and is very quiet. Verizon coverage 2-3 bars of 5. Recycling for aluminum cans only, no plastic recycle = disappointment. Nice and clean pool. Showers 7 of 10. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$11
The rate reflects our membership dues . We have camped here before and the only improvements we could see that they have made are 50 amp sites. There are so many now that it's hard to find a site that you don't have to pay extra for. In the area with the 30 amp sites the roads were full of potholes and the sites were full of ruts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
The roads in this park are TERRIBLE, no maintenance in quite a long time. The restrooms and showers are clean but well used, show age. Sites are showing age and no repair of sites. It is quiet here and shopping is close by. The lake is way down and no fishing or boating is going on. Rate guessed on membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$21
Rate reflects calculated cost of membership in Thousand Trails. This is a large, quiet campground that shows average maintenance effort on utilities, grounds, buildings, etc. It is gated and secure. The sites are spacious (except for pull-through, shared services) but "lumpy." On the positive side: you can just keep moving forward/back and side-to-side and you are pretty certain to get perfectly level. (Grin). Bad interior roads; some broken pavement, some gravel. Absolutely and without a doubt the WORST Wi-Fi I have ever seen: a strong signal but little/no internet access; with 5 bars I was able to connect maybe one time in twenty tries, then stay up for no more than a few seconds. When I asked park staff about the quality of the Wi-Fi their answer was: "Yes, it is bad. No, we are not working to make it any better." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$3
This is an older Thousand Trails park that needs some work on the roads and some of the campsites. Heavy units have caused large pot holes in both. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$3
The Nitty Gritty first. Interior roads suck and some are really rough. "A" & "E" sections have the 50 AMP hookups and "E" section roads are in the best condition. These sections are back in sites but loads of room to maneuver. If you pick a site with 30/50 hookup you pay for the 50 ($3 PER NIGHT) whether you use it or not. Spring has sprung in east Texas and the trees are starting to leaf out and shade is welcome during the day. The only reason we don't give this a higher rating is the condition of the roads. This park puts on a real family program, as shown during spring break week, and our stay here was capped by a visit/performance by Sarah Getto, excellent!! Conroe has the best shopping A to Z and HEB grocery is only about 2.5 miles away on TX-75. The restrooms and showers are spotless, the manager and staff here are great folks, the laundry facilities are cleaner than most but over used so you have to wait for a turn. The beach is okay, the mooring and boat ramp in good condition but we didn't hear anyone talking about fish they may have caught. We spent two weeks here and it was relaxing and restful. We would come back here if our travels every take us back through south and east Texas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$1
There are three buildings containing common areas. The welcome center being the first left on the way into the park. The activity center housing the store, laundry, and large rec room. The family center which is actually the chapel, an adult lounge with pool tables, and a fitness center. The park in general is in need of repair, but is in better condition than many in the Thousand Trails parks we have seen, with the exception of three Florida parks which are in great shape. There is free wireless internet that can be accessed from the activity center and your RV if you are in the sites close to the club house. We have enjoyed our visit here and would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
We enjoyed the 8 nights we spent in this park. The roads are in bad shape and you really have to take it slow. We kayaked from the boat ramp and enjoyed the lake. The pool is large and very nice. Open til 11:00pm and mostly adults in the late evening. Our site was level enough and the grass around it was mowed. The activity center is well stocked with games etc. The park is close to restaurants and shopping. We will definitely come back. The reason for the 8 is the roads and many of the sites were not well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$1
The staff was friendly. The rate was $0.00 for TT members. We had a pull through site with 50 amp. It was paved, but not in good shape. We did not pay extra for electric as this is one of the few "older" sites w/50amp. It was a side by side site and thankfully no one was on either side of us. It was fairly level. The side by sides could be very close if you both have slide outs. We had a picnic table. The roads need a lot of work. Many, many activities. Our Verizon cell phone and aircard worked great. We had many over the air TV stations, as there is no cable TV. Not much shade. There are 2 small laundry rooms. The grass was well mowed. There is a boat dock on the lake. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2009
$1
When we camped here, it rained much of the time and all the camp sites were very muddy. Our RV sank 5 or 6 inches into the mud and others were deeper, since the gravel on the sites is much too thin. Sites are not level and the pull through sites were very narrow with slide-outs right up next to the neighbors. The roads are bad, too. Wi-Fi was too weak to use. Staff was friendly, but not especially helpful. Park is secluded and quiet. Warning: after we checked in we discovered there is a $30 per day charge to leave your camper here unattended! We intended to make a few overnight trips in the car during the two weeks we were there, but decided against it. We will not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$3
We have been coming here at least once a year for several years, we were here in Dec. 2009 and are returning in March 2010. According to the TT web site, work has begun since Dec. on road improvement. It's about time! The roads were terrible. The pull-through sites are also in need of major work. 50 amp service electric, costs $3 extra a day for new 50 amp sites, no charge for the few older 50 amp sites. We are TT members, so no charge unless we get a new 50amp site. A good huge field for pet walking behind the activity center. Wi-Fi at the camp site is provided. However, you need to be in sight of a tower to hold a signal. The system is not really adequate for the number of sites it is serving. If very many are on line at the same time, you will have problems holding a signal. They are long term leasing too many (prime) RV sites. Also they have replaced a lot of RV sites with permanent park units that are being sold for essentially full time occupancy. It is located within minutes of Willis and Conroe. Several flea markets and thrift stores are in a reasonable distance if you enjoy that sort of activity. Many of the Tombal antique shops have gone out of business. Huntsville has some nice antique shops and it's not far away. Houston is easily within driving distance for all sorts of activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$1
We used our Thousand Trails membership. We were in site A11 with 50 amp and a table, on gravel, grass otherwise. It had just rained and there was standing water at the electrical box plus along the site. We have good telephone and internet. The Wi-Fi is slow. The paved roads are coming apart so there are holes and bumps. Otherwise, it's a good park and one we will return to. Personnel are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$1
We fell in love with this fabulous resort. The staff was fabulous and went well out of their way to make our stay even better. The lake is just beautiful. Our site was not the most level, but it was right on one of the smaller lakes, so it was worth it. We played pickle ball while here and enjoyed the court they had set up for it. Very close to everything you need and close enough to enjoy all that Houston has to offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Very friendly staff. Beautiful park. I do plan on returning to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$2
We camped here in section A using our Thousand Trails membership. We had 50 amp, water, sewer, a table and fire ring. Our site was new and was large. As with all Thousand Trails parks we've been to, we've been very happy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Gravel, grass & dirt large sites. Typical TTN RV park, needs work on internal roads and leveling of sites. Handy to Lake area and Houston. Nightly rate a guess as we are TTN members We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com