217805 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Richardson Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (530) 541-1801
CGID8061

Camp Richardson Resort

Camp Information
Sites
108
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   2   2   4   2   10   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
It seems like this place is used as a cash cow for the operators. $40 is mighty steep for simple 30A & water. It is all about location & demand. The CG is old & appears not to have any upgrades since it was opened. No such thing as a level site. Interior roads are rutted. Most sites are large but difficult to tell where one ends & another begins. The good is the beautiful setting & we happened to have a very helpful young man at the hotel front desk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
The location is about all this campground has going for it. The site was unlevel in every direction. While our site was extremely large, it was very hard to get into due to trees on either side of the entrance. The guy at the registration hut was not very helpful. You had to buy tokens for the bathrooms so we did not use them. No laundry facilities either. The sites were wooded but very dusty. They allow ATV's and mini bikes that were noisy and kicked up a lot of dust. Quiet hours are not enforced. Amenities such as the ice cream shop close early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Sites were cramped and hard to hook up; 6 bathrooms and 6 showers for 108 sites were completely insufficient. Facilities were old and run down. Check-in was difficult and slow. Showers were so bad (cleanliness and wait) that we skipped them and went on to our next stop. Find somewhere else! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$55
I hate this campground! It fully embodies ALL the reasons a person would NEVER want to camp! Everyone is packed in right together like sardines in a can. The whole campground is small and although it is at Lake Tahoe, it is NOT at all like being in nature, which is the main reason for wanting to camp in the first place. It is extremely noisy with both road noise, because it is right on the road and people noise, because there are too many people all cramped together and you can hear EVERYTHING, ALL the time; day and night! We would definitely NOT recommend it! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This place was a disappointment. We paid $40 per night for just water and electricity. They also wanted additional $5 per night for our towed car! Since this just did not make sense, I asked at the main office and they canceled this charge. However they did not cancel the charge of $3 per dump, for use of the dump station. This was the only time in all our stays at RV parks in the west that we were asked to pay extra for the dump station. The sites and the roads were unpaved, just dirt. We had dust all day long with every vehicle that drove through. This caused our A/C to malfunction and we had to service the filter. This resort includes some cabins and a beach. But if one wants to drive over to the beach you have to pay for parking, even if you are a guest at their campground. The only positive point was the location, very near to both the town canter and the Lake Tahoe attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$49
The park is extremely dusty. When other cars drive by your place you are covered in dirt. Personnel was somewhat friendly when we checked in. When our son got sick the next day we had to leave and they wouldn't credit the remaining day. Granted, when you sign the check in slip it said they wouldn't do that, but come on!! Also, the price is in my opinion way to high for what they offer. In addition, you have to pay extra for the dump station! We will never stay here again that's for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
This place is not as "zoo-ish" as it always seemed when we'd drive by in the past. Most the big crowds are there to rent bikes and the campground itself is nice and quiet. Some sites are tight and close but there are some nice bigger sites as well. There is a mix of full to partial hookups. The lots and roads in the campground are dirt so be prepared to sweep and 'swiffer' the inside of your RV daily. To us that was no big deal. Bears frequent so keep ice chests and food inside at night. Staff was over the top friendly and really accommodating when the firepit at our site wasn't going to work for the night when our entire family was coming. They were even going to bring a back-hoe to move a boulder to make it work for us. In the end, they put another site on "hold" for us to use the firepit for that night! Lots of trees. Don't miss the ice cream at the parlor: their 'kids scoop' is the same as buying a triple-scoop at Baskin Robbins! Great place. This is the only place in Lake Tahoe that we will be going back to next year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Beautiful area and a fun but rustic park. Extremely dusty! A few loads of gravel on the roads would have made this a much nicer stay. Nice treed campground, but absolutely against any kind of pet. Close to lake and town. Only issue was that they put our 27' trailer in a space made for a 20' max trailer and it took a half hour to get it in there. Staff was nice and we would stay here again if they do something about the powdery fine dusty roads that coat your entire RV when people drive in and out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
Camp Richardson as a whole is a "10", but we stayed in the RV park. There were no paved roads, all dirt. The sites that we stayed at had only water and electric, no sewage, so we had to use the showers on site. It was hard staying clean because of all the dirt, and I think there was a lot of ash residue from the fires a few years ago, so my kids got really dirty, more so than usual. The staff was super friendly and went out of their way to help us! I love the resort there and they have their own beach with a very good restaurant called "The Beacon". They also rent watercraft there and have a general store. I would stay there again if I could get the full hookup sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Campground staff was very friendly and check-in was easy. The campground was all dirt and pine needles, and there were many pine trees for shade. The setup of the sites lent well to letting our young children explore a bit, although it was not filled up when we were there. We were in site 33 which was a bit tight, but there are more roomy sites available (obvious from the map on their website). The bathrooms are rustic but clean and bug-free, and the free shower had great water pressure. The walk to Lake Tahoe was less than 10 minutes, but you do need to walk across the 89 freeway (which is not incredibly busy) to get there. The beach area associated with the Camp Richardson Resort is long and sandy with a beautiful view and offers fun water activities for all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
Camp Richardson is nice in that it provides easy walking access to the facilities at the site including a restaurant, bike rentals, beach bar, etc. Also, the salmon viewing facility is about a mile away and is worth the short walk. The campground is well kept. The only complaints is that the sites are dirt and expect to do a significant amount of leveling. The staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
We stayed in the “RV Village” at Camp Richardson and had a very poor experience. The camp kiosk attendant allowed her family to occupy a space near us. Although Camp Richardson’s stated rules are no more than six people and two vehicles at a campsite, they had at least five vehicles and ten or more people, with five tents crammed on one tiny site. They partied until well after midnight, and our small child learned some new four-lettered words to share with his pre-school class. The bathrooms and showers were horribly filthy…even by dirty campground standards. While the location is good, the poor facilities and horrible camp management cannot be overlooked. Skip this place unless you don’t mind filthy facilities and loud, obnoxious partying until the early hours of the morning. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com