220505 User submitted reviews online!!
Alafia River State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (813) 672-5320
CGID8067

Alafia River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   10   8   8   9   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$11
Wonderful wintertime park. I think the facilites are newer than the 1998 opening, but there is only one shower per sex, so be prepared to wait. No laundry. Old Florida can be seen here on the south prong of the Alafia River. TV and cell service is fine. Not full hook up, but has easy dump station. Pet owners have to be cautious because of alligators.Otherwise it is a very pleasant, quiet place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$11
Alafia had lots of things to do. Hike, Bike, horse trails, playground, fish and killer mosquitoes! That was the only thing bad about this place really. Because it is a state park, they are not allowed to spray for bugs. Staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the two weeks we stayed there. (Reduced rate due to military disability). There was an issue with the taste of water. It would either taste like sulfur or chlorine depending on which site you were at. The camp host said it was due to the lack of people using the water and not mixing properly. It killed our filter. We moved around to most sites. 27 was the best back-in. HUGE lot behind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$11
Nice park with large sites especially in the horse camping area. Clean and well maintained park. There is only 1 shower and rest room for all of the 30 sites, so sometimes there is a wait. The trees on the roadway and some sites need to be trimmed as they rubbed our roof. Verizon service is great here. No Wi-Fi, TV, or sewer and 1 dump station. Good mountain bike trails, hiking trails, and horseback riding trails. The water has a slight smell, so bring your own drinking water. It's about an 8 mile drive to the grocery store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$11
This is a beautiful, well maintained park in a very peaceful setting. If you like quiet this is the place for you. This is quite a gem in the Florida State park system and we would definitely return here just for the peace and quiet. If you like mountain biking, this park is actually a reclaimed phosphate mining area and many bike trails have been established throughout from novice level to experienced. Rate reflects Florida senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
Camped in site 22, a large pull through site with trees, fire ring & picnic table. Sites are spread out for privacy. Bike trails are some of the best for FL. Equestrian facilities and accommodations are significant at this park. Reserve America does not include all the sites at this park, so if you can't reserve on-line you have good chances to get in if you call the park directly. About 10 miles to grocery. etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$16
Park is situated close to a lake and generally in nice surroundings. Showers/Restrooms are clean and in good condition. There is only one shower (in each men's and women's bathrooms). Sites are level and quite spacious. Can recommend this park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
We camped in site #27. Site had concrete to park MH on and picnic table, with fire ring/grill combo. Trees too small for shade anywhere in camping area. Campground 1/2 PT 1/2 BI sites. BI sites are much more private than PT's which are right on the road. 1 loop is for campers with horses, though anyone can book. Park is building a barn with stables so maybe all sites will open to anyone in near future. Only about 3 sites have water view so don't go by what you see on ReserveAmerica. Baths are solar heated and were clean. We were able to get many over the air TV channels here. Not close to town so the night skies were beautiful with stars. Water is sulfur so it does smell. Bring bottled if it bothers you. We tried out the easy bike path Sand Pine. Was really fun but very intense in turns. Mostly flat, although the other trails are not. No swimming here so for us this will be a cold weather park in future. March was very hot in FL. Also checked out nearby Paynes Creek SP which has a museum and hiking trails, it is about 45 minutes away. Also nearby is Bunker Hill Winery in Duette. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
This is our third time to this park. The bikes trails are great. Although we don't have a horse we stay in the horse sites. Much bigger and better view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
Paved interior roads and sites. Extremely large green space between you and your neighbor. Sites are level and provided with a fire ring and picnic table. Most sites don't have much shade. The park has a forested area for hiking, mountain biking, and horse trails. Most stores are about 12 miles away although there are a couple of convenience stores within a few miles. Satellite TV worked great along with full bars on Verizon cell. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$23
Great park! We went to the equestrian sites. They are bigger and right on the water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
This is a great park with miles of hiking, equestrian and mountain biking trails. I even hesitate to rave for fear it will become too popular. The sites are huge and well spaced and the whole park is very clean and well kept. The place is really quiet at night. The only drawback is it's distance from many amenities. Tampa is almost an hour away, drive time. Though there are local grocery stores close by. Sewer would be nice as would Wi-Fi, but then it wouldn't be much of a Florida State Park. Great place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$12
It was very difficult to find space available in January. We reserved a space for 3 nights and a second site for the next 6 nights. A single space was not available for 9 consecutive nights through Reserve America. Space was not available for the 10th night. The park office insists on your using Reserve America to make reservations. The park staff is extremely friendly and helpful but refers to Reserve America’s status for reservations so you may as well too. Electric (50 amp) and water, no sewer hookup but a dump station is available. Sites are very large and far apart in the horse area. The rig parks on asphalt with a grass and sand site. Few or no trees at site. Site #‘s 1 and 11 would be ideal for 2 families or friends since they are close together and the awning side would face each other. They are also the closest sites to the bathrooms in the horse area loop. Very quiet park. We will return. Extremely weak, intermittent, and unreliable AT&T connection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
The sites are paved and level and some even have paved patios. My site had a beautiful view of the 5-acre lake and was next to the restrooms.The sites are very private and far from the next neighbor and had a fire ring and charcoal barbeque stand. Best park I've been to so far in Florida. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
Parks has two loops. The larger loop is for RV people with out horses and smaller one with or with out horses. Sites have lots of room, deep, 50 amps, water, fire ring, BBQ cooking equipment, table, and are close to level. Roads are asphalt and like new. Gates are locked at night. Verizon cell phone was to the top. DTV will pick up lots of channels over the air. Park has small 5 acre lake to fish in, four mountain bike trails that are tough. Large picnic grounds near RV sites with everything plus playground for kids. Lot of money was put into this park and it shows. Price was half off, people who live in state receive a discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$10
We had my parents with me (60+) so it was only 10 a night with electricity and water. You had to go to a dumping site. It was infested with mosquitoes. They were everywhere. However, before they attacked starring at the stars was beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
This park is a very isolated and quiet park to choose to get away. My husband and I stayed here for a week and we really enjoyed our stay. The facilities are clean. You can go on the website and pick the site that you want. We actually saw a pack of wild pigs running loose in the campground. That was wild! Not sure if they were wild or just loose from a local farm. There is a large area and trail for bike lovers here. The people here are very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
Alafia River State Park is a fairly new park and the camping area is open prairie. You can see most of the other RVs in the park from your site. The sites are about 1/2 pull through and 1/2 back-in. None of the sites are real close together. The great thing about this park was the hiking and mountain bike trails. We would stay here again in order to explore more of the trails. The nearest grocery store was about 7 miles from the park. There was a convenience store just a couple of miles down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com