218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Choke Canyon RV Park (Calliham Unit) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (361) 786-3868
CGID8091

Choke Canyon RV Park (Calliham Unit)

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   8   8   10   7   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
Nice park with large spaces. The staff was exceptionally friendly and very helpful in every way. All sites are back-in but easy to maneuver. The bathrooms were clean but very outdated and in poor repair. The bird sanctuary was shut down due to the discovery of artifacts in the area. The wildlife and bird watching was great. Biking and hiking were excellent. We recommend checking for availability and making reservations before making the trip to the campground. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$22
$22 per night was for a 50-amp electric and water site. A daily entrance fee is also charged unless you have a $70 Texas State Parks Pass, which is good to cover entry fee to all state parks for one year. Most sites are level with asphalt pads. The park does have trees but they wouldn’t provide much shade in the summertime. The picnic tables are covered and each site has a fire ring. The park is about one hour S of San Antonio. If you like hiking there are many miles of trails and miles of roadway for bike riding. Fishing/boating is available on the reservoir. Spacing between the sites is generous. We received four bars 4G on our AT&T cell phone. We used our Millenicom Jetpack as a Wi-Fi hotspot and it worked very well. There is Wi-Fi at the office which is 2.2 miles from the campground. We received 30 OTA TV stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
We just spent 3 days and 2 nights at Choke Canyon State Park - Calliham Unit. Some aspects of the park were great - others were not hence a rating of 7. At one time, this was a very nice state park. On the positive side, the park scenery is very beautiful with large, level RV sites all of which have 50AMP service. All of the RV sites were back-in and the road conditions were very good. The area around the day use areas and camping loops was freshly mowed and maintained. All in all, the park is very quiet and peaceful. There is an abundance of wildlife in the park (deer, rabbits, birds, wild hogs, etc.). On the negative side, it is obvious that the park is not being well cared for as a general statement. The bathrooms, while clean, were in bad need of repair and updating. All of the hiking trails needed maintenance and especially mowing. One of the hiking trails we traversed had a massive tree down that had been there for a quite a while. The bird blind and bird sanctuary was no longer being maintained. All ranger programs had been canceled. The South Shore Unit, which is primarily a day use and boat launch facility, has all but been abandoned. There are no rangers at the main entrance (self-pay) and with no mowing or maintenance around the picnic areas. Most of which were being taken over by over-growth. Finally, I have to comment on the friendliness of the park staff. We travel to lots of Texas State Parks and almost never had anything bad to say. The staff at this park were a little on the unfriendly side providing one word answers and almost no interaction with the campers. This place was obviously a great state park for bird watching and viewing a while back but no longer. We saw about 22 different species but did most from the road. It is a shame it is in the state it is in. Other information that didn't influence the review but is useful. There is no Verizon signal in the park. Highway 72 from Three Rivers to the park is in rough shape due to all of the big rigs heavily using the roads for the local shale oil development. Finally, loads of bugs in the mornings and evenings - take your bug spray We enjoyed our trip due to the bird watching and wildlife but won't be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$22
A thoroughly enjoyable campground. As others have noted, the sites here are nicely spaced, so it wouldn’t feel too crowded even if full. However, there was hardly anyone here when we stayed, giving an even greater sense of privacy. With deer periodically wandering through, it was almost like boondocking with hookups. Cell service was spotty, but antenna TV was okay. There’s a convenience store located not too far from the campground, but any major grocery shopping is a long drive. Burrs are a huge problem here for dog walks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
Facilities worked well, site was level, easy to back into, internal roads are good. Quiet park, very empty. Very poor Virgin Mobile cell signal. Staff were friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
An excellent state park with very large, well laid-out sites. Not a very busy mid-week when we were there. It was hot, but the electric was strong and reliable. Very weak Verizon internet signal, and cell phone service. We would definitely stay here again. Rate reflects site charge and $5 per person daily park fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Great State Park!! Previous reviews whining about mildew in the showers and bags in trees were not evident to us. The showers and restrooms were clean and water was plenty warm for a hot shower with great water pressure. The sites are VERY spacious, and the park is, overall, very well maintained. I'd give this park better reviews if they would construct a fishing pier. As it is, there is nothing for the on-shore angler other than a rock jetty. It's pretty dangerous to climb all over those rocks to get to the water. We'll sure be back to this one though! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Stayed here for 10 days. Lovely campground with spacious sites. Quiet in spite of being fairly full on the weekends. Since there is no sewer hook-up, we decided to shower in the bathhouse to save filling up our gray-water tank- mistake! Showers were cold, water was just warm, not hot. Tile walls were very mildewed. Otherwise, a pleasing stop- lots of deer, bunnies, many kinds of birds. Would certainly stay here again. The $20 price reflects using a Texas State Parks Pass; otherwise it would have been $28. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
We liked having a view of the reservoir and being able to walk down the mowed pathway to the water but the park is not being maintained. There was a plastic garbage bag caught in tree right at front of site 1 foot off ground and other garbage in grass and in shrubbery. We saw a parks staff person/volunteer drive in a little ATV on roadway around sites but never actually got out of vehicle and walked into the sites. Don't even think about letting your dog run around on the sandy beach area or anyone walk on it without shoes as there is a lot of broken glass. Most of the glass was in areas where there was also rocks and vegetation so less likely for a person to walk on but certainly a pet could. I must have picked up 20 pounds of broken glass, pop cans, and other garbage from beach! We checked out the 2 showers in both the men and ladies shower house and decided that there was no way that we would use them as the tiles looked very grungy. Everything about the RV sites looks run down and it seems no money is being put into maintenance or improvements which is a shame as this is a rare park in the TX State Park System and worth preserving. It is a great place to stay for a couple of nights if you don't have a boat. It is a long way from town so wouldn't recommend staying for just the one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Probably one of the nicer state parks we've been in. There's several sites with great shade trees, huge sites so you have great privacy. Excellent wildlife to be seen. Sites near the lake have less privacy, as there are trails to the lake right in the middle of site that are the only way down. Fair amount of stickers that followed us everyone (in the RV) We'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
We have camped here for the past 23 years. The park has changed its focus quite a lot over the years. When we began our camping at Choke Canyon, the big attraction was the wildlife. There were deer, javelina, turkey, and a few big cats. Now the state has decided that interaction with humans is bad for the wildlife, and they prohibit feeding the animals; they no longer trim or mow the wild areas, and have basically changed the park to a bass fishing location. They have removed the playground equipment in the RV area. It is still a nice park to fish, watch birds, and get away from the city, but it isn't what it used to be. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
Everything about this park is good, especially this time of year. We didn't see the fire ants that a previous poster mentioned. It must have been too early in the season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$8
We went to this park planning to stay a night, ended up staying a week. The park was beautiful, wildlife everywhere, lake wonderful. We would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
I won't rehash all the great things like extra long level pads, gigantic spots, fire rings, nice picnic covered shelters at each spot, etc. The spots are all super wide and soooo easy to back into. The spots are so well laid out that Stevie Wonder could back into the spots. This place is a TEN from a physical campsite perspective. Excellent. The workers at the Welcome Center was super friendly (my 17 year old fell in love with the really pretty Blonde working the desk), but they aren't very knowledgeable about the lake itself (like what kind of fish are in there.) All the spots are near water, but you do have to walk through some pretty insect infested brush to get to the water. If you love birds and rabbits and deer and butterflies, and hummingbirds etc., then this is a 10/10 place. While I was hooking up the utilities both a deer and rabbit came right up to me. Here is the bad: OMG the fire ants. I mean they are everywhere. There are mounds everywhere. There are ant trails everywhere. I got so bit so many times that it wasn't funny. I got bit hooking up the utilities. I got bit setting in my lawnchair. I got bit going from the trailer to the picnic table, aaaggghhhh. But the ants were nothing compared to the mosquitos. The moment the sun goes down they are out. And they are our worst then any place I have ever been. You simply cannot go outside for any reason at all, I don't care how well you are covered up. Not one of the campers had anyone outside and not one of them had any visible light turned on or showing. Don't leave any lights on outside: my yellow light on my camper was so covered that you could not even see if it was turned on or not. So if you are the type that likes to sit outside around a nice campfire at night after the sun goes down, this isn't the place. We had lit a fire before the sun went down in order to do smores for the kids. We sprayed ourselves well with DEET and went outside for a few moments to do the smores and just immediately started getting attacked. It was so bad we simply abandoned the food and came back inside. This park has a good boat ramp. The recreation center with the pool and everything was closed down for maintenance though. There is no sewer connection so we bought our blue grey water caddy on wheels. The bad part is that the dump station is a good 1 mile from where the trailer was. (I think that about 90% of the folks simply dumped their Grey tanks into the bushes when no one was looking.) Anyway, a nice park, lots to do during the day, night is like a ghost-town. No stores nearby so bring in what you need. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Roads in park are asphalt and in fair shape. Our site was long, wide, level, asphalt pad, had a table under a cover, fire ring, 50 amps and water. Not all sites have the fire rings. Not a lot of trees at RV sites. If you have a tree it may only cover 5% of your RV unit. One bathhouse for 40 sites and it is a long ways to walk to it from some sites. You have 19 tent only sites couple miles from here. Park also has large number of small cabins if you need one. Lake is large so fishing would be good here. It is 19 miles from I-37 to this park. On way to site we saw a large group of wild turkeys and then in RV park a numbers of deer were running around late in day. Verizon cell and air card did work but were slow and weak. Summer months would be no fun due to the heat. It is six miles one way to buy anything so stock up before you come in. Web site said park had Wi-Fi. That may be true at the office but no Wi-Fi in RV park. Office is four miles from RV park. Park was very quite at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
We were a walk-in and had no trouble getting a spot. I saw maybe 15 empty sites. I agree with all the other posts: this is a very nice, quiet park away from it all. If in the area I will stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
Nice state park with huge gravel pad and lots of grass. Covered picnic table. Good park for birding, nice lake. Nearest town and services are about 15 miles away, so stock up beforehand. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
The nightly rate does not include the $3 per person park entrance fee. There is a separate tent section and two RV sections (also a section with little cabins). This is a lovely campground with nice-sized lots...not all crammed together. There are no pull-thru lots but the back-ins are "do-able". There is no camping at the South Shore as of this date although there may have been in the past. Gravel sites, grass yards. 30 and 50 amps are available. Be aware that there are no "walk-ins" as there are in many state parks. We didn't know this and had planned on staying a week, but found out all the RV sites are reserved for the coming weekend so we will move on. One thing I didn't like was that you have to drive through the campground first (4 miles from the office) and pick out 3 sites you like. Then you have to drive back to the office and they will let you know of their availability. I guess this is because of reservations. This is a bit of a bother...but it did allow us the chance to pick out what I think was the nicest site there! Fishing is reportedly great but watch out for the alligators! Lots of different birds, deer, raccoons, etc. Just a very nice peaceful campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$20
Three Rivers is about 12,000 people, but this is for sure in the country. Great fishing and hunting, we were here visiting family and we are for sure out of the hustle of life out here. Nice park, limited shade, just due to being in West Texas, not many trees out here. Nolan Ryan's Waterfront restaurant is just down the Highway as well as some great Mexican food in Three Rivers. Overall, this is a great park for the hunter or fisherman, or just wanting to escape for a few days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$12
We stay at the South Shore Unit. It's at the south end of Choke Canyon Reservoir. It was a clean quiet park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com