220784 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Griffin State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (352) 360-6760
CGID8107

Lake Griffin State Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   8   7   7   1   8   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
This is a small campground with little to do. There is a park, playground, some hiking and canoe rentals. We would probably not stay there again unless it was enroute to another destination and only for an overnighter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$19
Campground was OK. Though it is a bit dated, it is very well maintained. Even with a lot of trees we were able to get DirecTV at site #18. And the narrow campsite and road to the campsite were trimmed back so there were no scratches to the MH. The access to the campsite was tight but manageable. We had a long back in site which was no problem. But the campsite was a little more narrow than we prefer. All in all this is an older campground but it is well taken care of. The park rangers are helpful and courteous. We probably will check out other Florida SP. We probably will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$19
We were in site #13 a FHU site. There are 7 FHU (8-14) and 10 50Amp sites-2 are FHU.Sites are mostly short and unlevel. Ours was very long, but narrow. Most sites are shady. All sites are dirt. One bathhouse which was clean. Firewood is delivered to your site when you buy it. Park has playground, boat ramp, 2 short hiking trails, canoe/kayak rentals which are very reasonable $4 1/2 hr. There was a notice of a pontoon tour but did not happen while we camped. Most people come to fish. Campers were quiet, but there is noticeable road noise in park. Lots of road construction at entrance. Shops and restaurants are close by. Over air TV was OK, received most Orlando channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Stayed here for 2 weeks in early January. The park had dirt roads that were very dusty but there were a lot of trees and vegetation to enjoy along with a few trails for walking. The 50 amp service was fine and the water pressure was good. No sewer connection but restrooms were clean even though they were a bit dated. Good access to the lake via canoe which gave us chance to see wildlife up close. Not much to do in park and some of the sites were pretty tight for the bigger rigs. With the amount of trees you had a sense of privacy. Major construction on the highway outside the park made it difficult to get around but that will eventually be completed. About an hour north from Orlando. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$10
I rated this park a seven as it is not that big rig friendly. For rigs under 30 feet and ten feet tall I would give it a nine; and a five for big rigs, due to growth along and over the campground road. Also, there is an 11 foot high over hang at the office going in and and, out so you need to stay over to the right. Also, there are a lot of the sites are not level side to side. I did not see any that didn't need a few two-bys to level you up, side to side. A motorhome with out jacks might also have trouble front to back. A tongue jack should take care of the front to back on a trailer. There is not much for the kids to do in the park but fish or play on the play ground. They do rent canoes and kayaks. They do have a boat ramp but is steep and short. You are not on the lake but a canal that leads to Lake Griffin. The park is close to stores and is a good place to stop to see the area. As most state parks these days, it is short on money and it shows. The staff is nice and do what they can with what they have to do with. The rest rooms are very clean. We would go back if need to be in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20?
The best thing about this park is their bathrooms, with strong overhead fans to help against the heat. Our site was at the bottom of a rocky incline, and it rained on 2nd day and washed us out. "Lake" Griffin. There is a canal to the lake within the park, but otherwise no view of the lake. It is a short drive from home but we won't return or recommend it. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
This is a small State Park just north of Leesburg, FL and a very quiet park to spend a night or two while you are visiting the area. The sites are a little narrow with hard packed dirt/sand roads. Some of the turns are a little tight with a 40 foot motorhome. There are only a few big rig sites with 50 AMP electric. The restrooms and showers are clean and tidy. There is not much to do except relax. There is boat access to Lake Griffin and a fishing pier. The Leesburg, FL area has several attractions and old Florida towns to visit. The park is packed in April during the Leesburg Bike Fest that draws 100,000+ bikers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
It is a nice state campground, we have stayed here several times. There is plenty of fishing opportunities. There are great shaded sites and a nice playground but outside of that not too much for the kids to do. The campground is very clean and the staff are very friendly. It is close to shops and restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Nice, quaint little campground off of fairly busy stretch of Hwy 27 (Walmart 1 mile down the road). Most sites are very small, not able to fit more than 1 tent or trailer. There are a few larger sites in the back for big rigs. Staff here was very helpful and friendly. You can buy firewood at the gatehouse and they will deliver it to you by golf cart! Clean restrooms. Nice boat ramp and playground down by the lake, however no swimming due to alligators. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
Great park! The grounds were a little dusty, but that was due to the dry conditions. Staff was excellent. Campground layout was great. Great play ground area and lake access! We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
Excellent campsites with picnic tables and fire rings, fire wood for sale delivered to your campsite. Large sites, easy to back into. We have a 32ft trailer. A very nice clean park set in wooded area. Not a lot of extra activities. Park has a short nature walk area which is well marked. Canoe rental for lake access via a channel. Fishing available. We will go back there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$16
We had site #19. Each site has picnic table, fire ring/grill and water. 2 Sites have 50A service. 1 bathhouse in center of loop has laundry facilities. Small kindling wood free near bathhouse when available. Park has picnic area with playground, horseshoes and volleyball net, with athletic equipment available at ranger station. There is a dock where you can tie up boats, boat ramp, canoe rentals ($3 hr/$15 day). Amphitheater with movie screen and fire ring. 1/4 mi nature trail leads from camp area to picnic area. It was marshy when we camped(2005). Pets are allowed in picnic and camp areas. Bathhouse was very clean. All exiting traffic from campground must go through dump station to leave. Potential backups could happen if park is busy. Site numbers were on left post so they were hard to see when looking for sites. Nice foliage between sites for privacy. Sites are outlined by a fence. Wal-Mart is about 2 mi away and several restaurants are nearby as well. Road noise is louder than at most parks we have camped at. Park has largest live oak in FL and it can be climbed. Park hosted a Contra dance for New Years(2005) when we camped the band was the Flying Turtles, and they were fantastic. I don't think we've ever danced so much in our lives. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com