219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Indian Wells RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (760) 347-0895
CGID8110

Indian Wells RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
299
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   3   8   6   7   9   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$55
We have stayed here several times before and now it is getting harder to give this park a higher rating. Many sites are "sandwiched" between permanent park models so there is a very closed in feeling. This is especially true in the pull through sites. Our site (147) had a sewer vent pipe in it that created a nasty smell at many times in our motor home and site. The back in sites seem quite small and not suited for larger units. It is however quiet and clean and, as there are not many choices for "reasonable" parks in the area we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$27
Only stayed overnight but appeared to be clean, well run, and friendly. Spaces kind of close together paved with grass in between. Seemed mostly long termers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2014
$60
If you like feeling like a sardine at the bottom of the can, then this is the park for you! My husband and I have traveled all across Canada and almost 2/3 of the US, and this is, quite frankly, the resort with among the smallest sites we've ever come across. We have a 40' motorhome and we were given a site against the fence (back in only) between 2 very full trees. By the time we wedged our coach in there, we ended up pulling forward & trying again in order to push it closer to the coach next to us - there wouldn't have been any way to put our living room slide out if we hadn't made some adjustments. Thus, we lost our "patio" because of the need to move over. Since the "patio" is about the size of a postage stamp, we didn't lose much! I understand that February is a busy time of year, but if they can't fit you comfortably into a site, then one of 2 things should happen: significant discount off the $60+ a night fee or suggest another resort. All that being said, the park has many amenities, and I understand why people would gravitate there. A calendar of events, 2-3 swimming pools in the resort, laundry facilities, restrooms, off-leash dog area, and proximity to shopping & restaurants. The staff is also very friendly & helpful (except for the security guy, who flipped out because we'd parked our tow vehicle cross-ways, rather than straight on! We parked the way we'd been told at the front registration, but he was NOT happy with that! We re-parked his way, leaving the truck sticking into the roadway about 5 feet! Seemed legit.... yes, that's sarcasm!) However, we were unimpressed with this park and definitely won't recommend it or stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
Very nice park. Geared to seasonals, but they have overnight spots. Sites are narrow, but paved, with grass in between sites. Wi-Fi (Tengo Internet) is somewhat irritating to use, but once you get online it is satisfactory. We planned on staying 3 days and ended up staying 6. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
Nice clean park. Close to shopping and Joshua Tree Nat'l Park. Nice site across the street from the pool and restrooms/showers. Mostly long-term. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$36
We've stayed here a lot. It is a nice park, convenient to a lot of activities. Narrow sites, internet (Tengonet) very slow. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$54
Narrow sites. Good paved road. Caters to seasonal retired folks. Staff and residents seemed nice. Three pools and 3 shower areas so that was good and accessible and very clean. We only stayed two nights. Lots of activities offered. We had problems first day with TengoInternet, but the 2nd day, connection and getting set up much better. No way to buy TengoInternet code for a second computer. At other parks, I paid $5 so that we both could use our computers at the same time. The lady checking us in, said there was no way to give me a 2nd code even though she had a clipboard full of the slips. Very quiet spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$31
Price reflects the PA discount. This park has so much to offer. It's a very clean tidy park. The paved roads are in very good condition. The landscaping is carefully maintained making this one of the prettier parks that we've stayed in. There are three swimming pools in the complex. The rest rooms and laundry facilities were spotless. The park caters to the retired seasonal crowd. These folks take pride in their properties. Many are older park models but they are all well maintained. There is a real sense of community in this park. The residents here are among the friendliest we've met. Costco and Home Depot are about a driver and 5 iron away. Tons of options for groceries in the area. I highly recommend this campground. We look forward to returning here sometime down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$57
We stayed here for an overnight on a very hot day in June. The office is closed on weekends but they had our site info taped to the door. We left early the next morning so we never saw any of the staff. This is basically a seasonal park, mostly park models, and this time of year looked deserted. Our pull-through site had good access and enabled us to keep our car hooked up. We weren't provided any park info other than a basic map; never did find the restrooms, except for one at the bathhouse at one of the pools. Price seemed very high for what we got at this time of year, but there aren't a lot of options in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
Rate is for Passport America, even though the current book has it as $17.50 for W/E site. We got a FHU one, which we didn't need for just an overnight stay. When asked about it, they said all of the sites are the same price now, and wouldn't move us because it was too hot?? Would probably look for something a bit cheaper for just an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$58
Read the reviews and decided to stay in spite of the negative comments. Specifically it is 3 miles from the Indian Wells Tennis Garden where the Open Tennis Tournament is held yearly, so the commute was easy for us and none of the other factors dissuaded us. We are self contained including having satellite TV, Internet satellite mounted on the roof, our own washer and dryer onboard, and both of us have cell phones so those amenities are not required for us. I agree the park could use some updating but the proximity to our primary reason for being here made all of that not a factor in the decision. It is off the highway so there is only city noise during the day, very little at night except sirens occasionally. The site was a pull through concrete drive more then long enough for our 40 footer with the toad parked behind, with shade trees over the drivers cab and tall bushes to provide separation from the park model that sat next to us. The 42 foot quad slide rig next to us was closer then I like, but when owners lower their shades all day long every day I take it as and indication they don't want to mingle and respect that. I have more then enough to do to keep me busy with my own life without relying on park residents to need to be friendly. If they initiate I will respond, but it isn't why I was here. Yes, the price is higher then I like to pay, but for the benefit in time and travel distance I will live with it. The office staff were efficient and had our reservation ready to go when we arrived. We got our mail delivered here and they have an efficient system for distribution of our mail. We checked out the pool, but that lasted 15 minutes because it is small and very much utilized, too crowded for my taste! There is a rather constant parade of small business owners ready to wash my coach and car which I had to decline. Shopping is all around with a Super WalMart, and Costco less then a mile west and Ralph's grocery store 1.5 miles south of the park. The electricity is 50 amp and clean, the water pressure is about 60 psi so use a regulator and the sewer connection required one length of hose to reach the in-ground access port, all the amenities an full time RVer should need. We were told when we asked that their Wi-Fi was "not the best" and it is TengoInternet, which I am not fond of under the best of circumstances. To attend the BNP Paribas Indian Wells Tennis Open was our agenda and this park met that need. If I decide to attend in the future I would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$60
This park is way too expensive for it's condition and services. First of all it is mostly a trailer park with the trailers in a mix of condition. There are many permanents and seasonals. We were placed in a tight back in with older trailers on each side. There are pull throughs available but even though we booked early we couldn't seem to get one. Wi-Fi was not working even when we went to the office. We ended up at Starbucks. No cable either. This place needs serious updating from the restrooms to the laundry to all other services. We will not consider this park for future visits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$54
We stayed here for 1 week and the nightly rate is pretty steep. The pull through RVers are sandwiched in among the permanent park models. The back in sites are around the perimeter. This is a "stay for the winter" park. There are activities everyday. The facilities are clean and well maintained. Everybody is friendly. The Wi-Fi is horrible in the park. There is cable hook-up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$54
We always enjoy staying here while visiting friends in the area. Our first time for a spring visit here. The park is MUCH less crowded than in the winter. The weather was not hot yet and there was no rain so we had a wonderful visit. They do need to work on the dog run. My dog wouldn't even walk into the yard as it is need of upkeep. The rest of the park appeared to be in good order. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$65
We were here for Stagecoach so we didn't use the facilities or activities. Staff was great. Area was clean and well kept. Sites are open and close together but everyone around was very friendly. Exiting the drive the next morning was a challenge because everyone from the events on-site camping were leaving. The traffic was backed up due to the traffic lights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$70
We stayed here for three days while attending the Stagecoach Country Music Festival. The resort is only 3 1/2 miles from the festival grounds and definitely reasonably priced compared to festival rates, and quieter than sites at the festival. It is an older, very clean park with a mixture of permanent, seasonal and temporary RV’ers. The staff that I encountered was very pleasant and helpful. Wi-Fi is available, but requires a passcode obtained at the office. The men's restroom/showers can be cramped when three or more trying to use it. The park is convenient to shopping and restaurants. The park is geared more for adults as I saw no areas set aside for children. There was no area for larger dogs to walk or exercise except the street. I took mine to the grass area outside the park along Jefferson St. and a vacant, desert lot across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$27
We have four requirements when choosing a park: Good internet service; good dog exercise area; clean grounds/facilities; and big-rig friendly, meaning easy in/out of park and sites. Wi-Fi: Tengo Internet, only 1 free password per site, bandwidth grossly inadequate for number of sites, extremely frustrating because of slow and sometimes non-existent service. Dog Walk: One tiny fenced area provided in park, again inadequate for this size of park and number of dogs. There is an empty field across the busy 4-lane highway in front of the park, but no sidewalk on park side, so you must cross street at your own risk. Cleanliness: Excellent. Garbage picked up at site in morning. Washrooms/laundry rooms clean. Showers clean but small and hard to maneuver in for an active person, can't imagine anyone with mobility issues being able to comfortably use one. Big-Rig Friendly: Yes. Easy to navigate around all roads and sites in park. Comments: Nicely landscaped with mature palm trees, fruit trees, lawn, and pavement. No dust or gravel in park. RV sites are interspersed amongst permanent park models. Three pools and two spas are clean and well maintained. Free exercise/weight room, horseshoes, bocci ball available. Park is located in Palm Springs/La Quinta area in good location for shopping (Costco across street, Wal-Mart close by, and many other shops, restaurants, etc., to choose from, with golf courses galore nearby). Lots of activities for those interested. However, the Wi-Fi needs to be upgraded. The bandwidth is grossly inadequate for the number of sites in this park and is slow at best, non-existent a lot of the time. This is not the only park we have been in that needs to realize that they would have a lot more people staying longer at their parks if they provided good internet service. It is not a matter of entertainment only, and many of us (especially full-timers) need it to work so we can live this lifestyle. Just my two cents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$52
This was our second stay at this park and lucked out to get assigned the same site we had before. Even though the sites are somewhat narrow we have found it is easy to get into for us (40 ft. fifth wheel). The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. We will most likely continue to stay here when visiting friends in Palm Desert as it is convenient to them and the businesses in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$28
This park has a combination of park models and RV sites. The sites are fairly close together with little room to sit outside, and if we did, we had a view of our neighbors sewer hose. The interior roads have room to maneuver, and our site was level. Towards the front of the park there is road noise, but we had little noise further from the road. The facilities are all older and could use a little TLC but are adequate - small pools, 6-machine laundry rooms, small showers, ping pong table, 2 pool tables, small fitness room, and a meeting hall for planned snowbird-type activities. Good Cable TV channels. Nice landscaping. I only tried their Wi-Fi twice and it was slow, (Tengo internet), so I went back to my air card which worked very well. The office people were very nice and helpful. The price reflects a Passport America discount. It was an OK place to stay and visit family, and I would stay here again, but I think the regular price is too much for what you get. But everything is high priced in this area. I usually winter in Arizona where you get nicer facilities for less money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$19
Passport America saved $$. Nice clean older park. Several Park Models, yet plenty of spaces available, many are pull-throughs. Wi-Fi was free strong signal. Three pools: all the right temperature. Two spas: both were nice. BBQs available at all public areas. Clean laundry rooms, and each with 6 machines. No picnic tables! Operators were extremely helpful. For a Palm Springs area park, with the PA discount, this is a very nice park. Great workout room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$52
While the attendant and her husband were very friendly at the check in desk, the park is sort of a mish-mash of trailer homes and RV lots and RV storage. There are three pools that looked nice, but the bathroom/showers were very old, cupboards coming off their hinges, showers so small you can barely turn around. Good thing I showered at night because I couldn't change in the tiny little area provided. The park is well lit and I felt safe. For the money, it was kind of creepy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$59
We have stayed here before and had never had such a bad experience. Coachella Music Festival brought in the rowdies who partied until after 2:00AM. The restrooms and especially the showers were littered with big gobs of shampoo on the floors, mystery materials, plus 3 or 4 used plastic razors in the shower. The traffic along Jefferson is very loud, although not the fault of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2010
$58
We were in an empty site with empty sites on either side which made lots of room for pop-outs. The reason for that is the spots must have been landscaped in the days before slides. Paid for a week and after a few days the bomb-shell! Open burning! Yes, you cannot smoke in any building in California but any guest of questionable intelligence can hold other guests hostage inside their units with acrid smoke seeping in through doors, windows, vents and pulled in with fans. This also applies to charcoal fires. Scratch this park off our list! Not worth the price for a slum park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
This campground is in a very convenient location and has easy access. There are many permanents here. The pools are small but clean and can get quite crowded and noisy when children are visiting. The sites are large enough and we had a pull through which was very nice. There is no free Wi-Fi. If the permanent spots were more up to date and better cared for, this resort would get a higher rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
We camped here for one night heading north to the Olympic Peninsula. Price is for Passport America. Regular rate is about $56 for a one night, pull through site. Narrow pull through sites. Barely enough room for the sides, and no room for the awning. Sardine-like canned feeling, but for one night on the road it's okay. The exit from I-10 is dicey and congested. But, no road noise or railroads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2010
$39
Needed a place for a one night stay with electricity. Have a 30 ft travel trailer towed by a suburban. We were given an overflow spot with Electric/Water/Sewer. Very tight spot (#308). Due to a hedge and a turn in the road, the spot was difficult to back into. The spot was so narrow, the motor home to my right had to retract his awning into his spot so I could back in. If the motor home had a slide out on his passenger side rear, I would have been unable to open my slide out. When my trailer door opened there was less than six inches of clearance between me and the trailer on my passenger side. My trailer was between the painted lines on the asphalt. The asphalt was uneven and I needed a one inch board to level my trailer side to side. I had to maneuver my suburban to not block the road when parking. The woman in the office was nice but I will not return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$26
This is a very clean older park with a lot of full timers in older, but well kept rigs. Sites are narrow and there is some noise, park is right in town. Pay for Wi-Fi and most sites are back-in but no problem there. I would stay here again passing through if I could pay Passport America price only. ($26 is PA price). Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$49
I’m generally not a Passport America fan but in this case I’d make an exception. We paid the full rate but PA membership would have paid for itself. I’d estimate that 80% of this location are occupied by people using it as a winter retreat. There are lots of permanent installations and Park Models. At this time of year it was relatively unoccupied. They do a nice job of accommodating folks like us just passing through. It is convenient to all of Palm Springs and Palm Desert. We’d certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
Sites are tight and close together, but still easy enough to get around on the interior roads, with a big rig. Nice cable TV, but have to pay for the Wi-Fi. Lots of friendly people, Very friendly employees, very quiet place. Wake up call every morning at 6 AM by the Mourning Doves. Easy in and out with a HDT and 35 ft trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
We stayed at this park primarily due to it location near PGA West. We were pleased to be able to get a Passport America rate, even on a weekend in December, in a warm weather area. We were in Site 15 which was plenty big enough for our 40 footer with 4 slides. Nicely paved and well maintained park. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$22
Rate was for Passport America. Several miles off I-10 but easy to find, east side of Jefferson. Was required to make phone call for reservation though would be more convenient for me to do via email. Beautiful park. Spaces close together with many full-timers. My space was a back-in and barely accommodated my 24 foot rig. On side of utilities resident had built permanent structure right to the utility post. Other side nice lawn with about ten feet to next space. Nice, very reasonable considering area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com