206911 User submitted reviews online!!
Wekiva Falls RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 50 user reviews. Phone: (352) 383-8055
CGID812

Wekiva Falls RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
823
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   6   4   5   7   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
This is not your typical quiet campground. The rules are very relaxed. They allow non campers and locals to use the facility with the exception of the campground guest pool. They allow dogs and the dogs are also allowed to swim in the natural spring area. Many activities: Canoeing, natural spring, 30 foot water slides ($ 1 - 15 for all day), kids play areas, zip line($ 5- 15 all day), guest only heated pool, tiki bar Think of this place as a Spring type atmosphere with heavy drinking on weekends and holidays. Throughout the week I would think its more quiet. The campground is rather large with 850 sites, so its a great place to book at last minute or if the nearby state parks are booked. AT&T 4g service was great, we streamed Netflix without any issues. We stayed at site 743 which was not the best because of the non shade and the one palm tree right in front of the site that blocked the view and provided no shade. The water was turned off twice on two different days because of an issue. The electric tripped the breaker once throughout our stay. The last day of our visit we had no problems with electric or water. We had a great time and planning to go back again. The staff is helpful and friendly. However, do to the heavy drinking use common sense to avoid problems and stay away from areas where obvious binge drinking is going on. Most of the rowdy crowd from what we saw stays near the DJ and loud music at the main entrance to the natural spring. At the campsite their shouldn't be to much of a commotion. Some campers played their music throughout the day but at night after 9pm it was pretty much quite. I think the non quest have to leave at 7pm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
This is a great family park. Something for everyone to do or not do. Biking, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, swimming, and more! I was a bit concerned about the sulfur scent from the springs, but it is barely noticeable and then only occasionally. Every staff member we encountered was very helpful. We will definitely stay at this park again and highly recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$43
Stayed here 3 weeks in Feb. After seeing some of the reviews, was a little concerned, any concerns were unwarranted. Friendly staff, dogs yes, uncontrolled, no. Had no loud music, motorcycles or anything else at night. It could get a lot busier when it's warmer due to the swimming but overall was quiet while we were there. Seems they are working hard to improve the campground, some areas look like they were neglected until the new ownership.Trash did set for a while but was picked up; even the man picking up the trash was friendly and stopped to talk. Management put down pet friendly ant powder when we first checked in to try to deter Florida ants. Met some really nice snowbirders that have been coming for years. Would definitely stay here again. Enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$17
We camped here for the month of February. The park was quite busy, but because of its size, there were lots of empty sites. The park was kept clean, although garbage would sit for many hours at the waste cans waiting to be picked up. There were a lot of dogs, and some barked constantly but most were leashed. For the size of the park there are not a lot of washroom facilities and no showers at the pool to use after a swim. The sites were fairly level, but many of the concrete pads need to be replaced. The park is working hard to get picnic tables at each site. The sulfur smell from the springs was noticeable some days but was not overly obnoxious. The springs swimming area was fun to try and was very popular with the young crowd on the warm weekends. Of course along with the young crowd there is loud music which would be annoying if you were parked near the picnic areas. There is almost no security at the park, and since it is open to day users, we found this aspect disturbing although we never heard of any campers having any issues. The natural areas of the park are beautiful with lots of birds and fish to watch in the river. Canoeing and kayaking on the river is available. We probably would return to this park but only for a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
We stayed for the month of Feb. There are 800 sites here and probably that many dogs with no training. And loud motorcycles at all hours of the day and nite. Staff friendly, clean park but noisy. We will not stay here again unless for passing thru. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$49
Many of the sites have utilities in a common/shared areas which requires extended water hoses, etc. to reach utilities. I did not have a 2nd 25' hose with me, so I needed to change sites. Office was accommodating, but many of the sites are unlevel and appear in need of maintenance. I would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
We saw this place on Living Social and got a 3 night stay with two canoe rentals and a $10 credit at the Tiki bar for $75. Having just purchased our travel trailer we thought that this would be a good outing. The campground is pretty much wide open with very little privacy or shade. Parking is on grass and most site have a cement pad. The smell from the Sulphur Springs can be intense, but it didn't really bother us. We came here shortly after hurricane Sandy passed Florida. It was windy the entire time that we were here. We arrived on a Sunday and should have gone canoeing then, but decided to wait. A front passed thru that night and it got really cold, so we never used the canoes. We also didn't realize that the Tiki bar was only open on weekends, but they allowed us to use our $10 credit in the store. The location is nice, out of the way. There just isn't much character. I would think canoeing the river would be nice and there was quite a bit to do within a relatively short drive. This park seems fairly popular with locals who visit the spring on weekends, but it was really quiet come Monday ( the cold temperatures didn't help). Because of bears in the area trash pickup is at 9am and you can't put it out before 7am. Not being a morning person this was a bit of an inconvenience, but not a huge issue. The staff, in general, was very nice. I wasn't impressed enough to return, but was not unhappy with the experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
PARTY ON! That says it all. If you are young or young at heart, this is a great place. In the summer, this is not for those looking for a quiet place to settle into retirement. We stayed here for a few days and enjoyed the entire time in the water, watching everyone have fun and hanging out after hours. We look forward to bringing our camping friends here to play. Not for everyone, but definitely a place we will visit again. Clean facilities, great staff, good security and interesting hook-ups. (Yes, they are weird.) Wish we lived closer than Tampa. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$400
We are staying here monthly and the 400 is plus electric- We have been here since March 10, 2012. The people who come in during the day on Saturday and Sunday are mostly young FAMILIES and not a bunch of drunken hillbillies. As with everywhere we have stayed in our 2 years of full timing there are a few problems, but no more than anywhere else. We are not one of the million dollar set, but we feel we live comfortably and feel comfortable here. If you come during the summer months, don't expect most of the amenities - they close the clubhouse and pool tables and open the tiki bar on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
My wife, myself and two small dogs stayed here for four nights and had a great time. The resort is large, green, active and fun. We were in a shady area but there were sunshine sights available also. The park is well maintained and the staff helpful and friendly. They have a large artesian well flowing in the middle of a swim area that empties into the nearby Wekiva River. Quite impressive! They also have a separate swimming pool. They have reasonable rates for kayak and canoe rentals. We fully enjoyed our stay and intend to go back with our grand kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
I was here on a monthly rate for 2 months. This campground recently became a KOA. It appeared to me that most of the residents were Snowbirds wintering over and enjoying the warmer climate. It is very large park with over 800 campsites and a Lagoon in the middle with a large fountain and swimming area and a Tiki bar at the end. On the surface it looks pretty nice to be able to go sun bathing or swimming there and socialize with other campers. They also use this Lagoon as a day use center for the general public and charge them a fee. On the first really warm weekend in March the general public came by the truck loads. The KOA provides a DJ and music right in the lagoon. So now you have a bunch of young, rowdy, drinking people and a DJ playing music at an unbelievable loud level. These people did not care whom they bothered and by later in the day were obnoxiously loud and boisterous. Their vehicles were parked everywhere including campsites. No family would want their children to be associating with this kind of trouble makers. No senior citizen would want to go to the lagoon either. These people just took over and the campground management just counted their dollars. The Sheriffs cars were there to keep the peace. Why would you need continued police presence unless you expect trouble? This all goes on for 6 hours on Saturdays and Sundays all summer long. As a very frequent KOA customer with over 450,000 KOA value points, I was shocked. KOA better take another look at their franchise with Wekiva. KOA campgrounds are supposed to be family oriented, quiet and safe for their camping customers. In my opinion, Wekiva’s owner needs to decide if he wants this place to be a campground or a day care center for the socially misaligned. I will not be back unless some significant changes are made. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
Its not a family friendly campground. If you have young children I wouldn't bring them there. The campground is open to the public for the day and its a drunken hillbilly rowdy party all day. Police are there breaking up fights. cars and trucks parked all along the lagoon. People are half dressed. Loud! It smells so bad by the lagoon. Public restrooms are disgusting. No Shade anywhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
Picnic tables not on every camp site. Rude, drunk & obnoxious people at lagoon. Police were called at least once every day for disturbances. unable to let children go beyond eye site, due to sketchy people. lagoon had significant foul sulfur odor, unable to swim in lagoon due to drunks 7 smell. The men's restroom toilets throughout stay contained human waste build up in toilets and urine on seats. management does not control the drunks, nor seem to satisfy campers' concerns. Very POOR KOA We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
Very nice owner converting to KOA. Big camp, old trailer restroom/showers that could use some updating. Or better yet, tear down and build something decent. Small pool for so large of a park. The falls are very strong sulfur smelling springs. Can access canoe/kayaking from the park. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
We camped here as participants in a 200-RV Passport America rally. The cited rate was included in our rally fee. Three years ago, new ownership began to rebuild a once-fine park that had fallen into disrepair. It is now a thoroughly enjoyable campground with many features. One of these is a small lake/swimming area with a mighty fountain that is located in a large ravine which bisects the park. There is a fee for Wi-Fi access, which we elected not to use. We hope to return in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2012
$34
Skip this park as it is not worth the cost. Most sites are cramped and require an extension to reach power (and in some cases, the water and sewer). If you don't have an extension, the park will rent one to you for $5/day which seems unfair since the long sites are not the renters' fault. Many sites are unkempt and are full of ant hills and biting bugs. Trash dumpsters were overflowing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
Staff was very helpful. There were no picnic tables. The utility posts were far back from many of the sites, requiring extensions for hose, cable, power cord. The grass had gotten quite long in our section. The whole park was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Wekiva Falls Resort is a great campground! This was our first visit and we took advantage of the $299 Summer Special! We stayed on one of the Premier Sites in a quiet section and loved it! With over 800 sites you have your choice of standard sites (~30' x 40') or Premier Sites (~100' x 40'). You can also choose to be near the water activities or in a quiet section away from the water activities. Most of the large (Premier) sites require a 50' water hose, a 50' TV cable, and an extension cord for the electric hookup. The whole park is peaceful during the week! On weekends, a lot of people come in for the day to picnic and take advantage of the water activities. Park management along with sheriff's deputies do a great job keeping things under control when crowds are present. Anybody causing a problem is expelled from the park! We were also impressed with how well the maintenance people keep the park clean! This is a wonderful campground for families and their pets! We're looking forward to our next visit! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
What they promote as a water feature is really a sulfur swamp which makes the air smell like a loaded diaper. They sell day passes to local rednecks who line the banks drinking beer as early as 8 a.m. One of the two campground bathroom facilities was locked and bore signs reading "CLOSED DUE TO VANDALISM". Internet access is sporadic at best, and when asked about it, the office staff was surly and smug. They DO however, have the nicest laundry facilities I've ever seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Alcoholic Hill-Billy White Trash Paradise. We stayed here for 3 nights during 4th of July weekend. Web Site looked great. Park did not match web site. Back of site was water logged, we had what looked like a permanent beat up Jalopy trailer behind us- their A/C was knocking loudly all weekend. I would not advise this as a "family friendly" site. Huge amount of day use people, and a very alcohol friendly park. The water/lagoon- was a drunken hill-billy party zone. There were beer cans floating in the water. Park management said winter is better? Um, the water is why you come here... in the summer. If you like to party all day and night, this place is for you. But my family of 4 will never be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
This is a huge park. Very well paved, many sites are big enough for a house. Weekends are very busy with Day Use folks, because there is a nifty water feature that is spring fed from an artesian well, cool clear water all the time. There is a strong sulfur odor, but that's nature. If you don't like nature, don't stay here. We saw tons of animals, including a black bear, during our stay. Our grandkids loved the water, the pool, the fishing, etc. Rent a canoe or kayak for under 10 bucks on site. Very helpful staff, and very secure. We are staying here again this week! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
A real family-oriented resort with a water feature that is pretty impressive. The weekends are busy. The sewer connections are a good 25' from the rest of the utility hookups. Why? I had to pull forward quite a bit and use and an extension. The grounds are nice with shady spots. The staff is present and watching. The Sheriff patrols also. The bathrooms are OK, not great. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
Wekiva Falls Resort is a great place to stay in Florida. We started going there with our class A motorhome in 2009. We just loved it there, so our 1st visit ended up being for 5 months. The next visit was for 3 months, & we’re looking forward to going back again this December 2011. They have over 800 sites so you really have a choice. You can stay by the pool, clubhouse, the spring, the store or on a loop in the woods away from it all. The sites are spacious; they have both standard & premium sites to choose from. We’ve stayed in both, & we prefer the premium. Many Florida campgrounds advertise as RV parks but then you are squeezed in between 2 “permanent” residents. This is not the case at Wekiva; there’s plenty of room. The facilities are very clean & the park is very well maintained. They have lots of fun activities. The staff is very friendly & helpful. Their monthly rates are also reasonable. The location is nice because you are in the woods. It’s a few miles to Sanford to the closest Publix, the mall, I-4, & Walmart. And Daytona Beach & Orlando areas are less than an hour away. So if you are looking for a nice place to stay in central Florida, we would recommend that you give Wekiva Falls Resort a try. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$37
Enjoyed our stay here. Staff was young and very customer service oriented. We had a choice of sites. The guide was very patient as we took our time deciding. She didn't leave until she was sure we were satisfied. While it was a weekend and we were right next to the public "swimming hole" there were no problems with noise of crowds of people at all. Quiet at night, well lit main street for walking and biking at night. Kayaks a little pricey, but not outrageous. Small store had essentials. Shower/restroom area clean and functioning. Grounds well kept. Activities were available, but not noisy at all. Family oriented place. People we met were most friendly. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2011
$50
This resort has nice facilities: but Wi-Fi is $5.00 per night or $10.00 for three days. The sites are close together, grass and have a concrete pad to act as a patio. The RV gets parked on the grass. The facilities are clean, but for my style of camping it is not too useful to me. Others may like it: but I found it overpriced. I would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$23
We stayed here for a club rally with 11 motorhomes. We asked to be put together, however that did not happen. The water and electric hookups can be over 50 feet on many of the sites. Our sites were open with no shade, flat and level with adequate slide out room. The sites are close together. The park has a lot of nice features and caters to folks who come to Florida for the Winter months. We were given a group rate which is much lower than the normal rate. There are excellent shopping and other activities in the local area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
We stayed here for the winter so our nightly rate is based on our extended stay. This is our third stay, each year the resort improves. This year they added an events coordinator. This spring they will be paving the side roads. Contrary to a previous review the sites are not small, we have a 37 foot motorhome with two slides and we had plenty of room between our site and the next. The facilities and grounds are very clean. The location is rural enough but there is plenty of shopping and dining nearby. We have already reserved our site for next season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$17
Nightly rate reflects monthly charge. This is one of the best parks we have stayed in. Were here for the better part of the winter and we believe we have found our winter home. Site are quite spacious and the park is very quiet. Off the beaten path but easily accessible from I-4 - no interstate noise. Staff is young and customer oriented. They readily addressed any concern/problem we had. Park has every amenity one may need and is close to churches, shopping and multiple restaurants. Sulphur smell occasionally from spring but nothing that should drive anyone out. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to our stay next season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
This park used to be filled with decrepit 40 year-old TTs, filled with long termers, that were poor and rednecks. We heard it had been bought and revitalized, so we thought we would go back. The new owners have done a ton to improve it and now we will go back again and again. There are new main roads, the old trailers are mostly gone. There's a new clubhouse, new pool, new electric service and new office. The spring is unique and interesting. The pool is for campers only. They are very busy with day people for the springs in the summer and it gets a little loud with a DJ, etc., but that is the atmosphere. It reminded me of a day at a busy beach. There is a slight sulphur smell at the springs, but it wasn't obnoxious. There are 20 or so semi permanent TT's which locals visit on the weekends. WiFi is not free which really bugs me. Charge everybody another $1 per day and make it free. I had 3G here, so I didn't care. The secondary roads are still compacted lime (dirt) and there are some low areas that hold water when it rains. Most sites have good drainage and it is very grassy everywhere. This place is huge and fine for walking dogs, riding bikes. We brought our scooter and were glad we did. The covered pavilions are $30 per day and there are no picnic tables on most sites. The pads are old, cracked, small and poorly located for modern motorhomes. We plan on going back soon with the grandkids. It is a unique place and the springs are great. I'm sure it will keep getting better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
We camped here on Memorial weekend so the park was extremely busy as they do allow non-campers, day passes to swim in the lagoon. The park is very large so the extra people are not an issue. The park staff are all very friendly and helpful, the sites are large and many are shaded. Picnic tables are under shelters scattered throughout the park, but not at each individual site. This is a true family campground with tents, pop-ups, TT's, 5th wheels and motorhomes. I would rate this park a 10 if they had a playground, dog park and picnic tables at sites. All in all, we love this campground and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
Some pads need to be replaced, but the new heated pool was nice. The spring area with falls was very nice, and the sulfur odor was hardly noticed, and after an hour, not noticed at all. Has very friendly and helpful staff. I will return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$23
Agree with the previous review. Only problem we found with our rally was better drainage is needed along the roads. With the heavy rains this winter, there is a lot of mud getting into and out of your site. Clubhouse was great, and the people were excellent. Boat rides available on the Wekiva River right from the Marina on site. Also canoe and kayak rentals but couldn't take advantage. Will probably return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2010
$45
I Stayed one day with friends in January of 2010. The place was almost empty for a peak season and smelled terrible from the so called swimming in the springs. Ha! Very nasty place to swim and I would not even attempt to do so. The laundromat and showers were quite a hike to get to and the roads were horrible. No blacktop, only dirt, and not very smooth. I definitely would not recommend staying at this RV Park. For the price,there are a lot better facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$15
This is a rejuvenated park. Having stayed here 5 years ago we were reluctant to return but seeing new management we booked a month. We were not disappointed. Main roads have been paved, and there's a huge new club house and heated pool. The site we had was quiet and had plenty of room. The spring is flowing again. Yes, there is a little sulphur smell which is not over-powering. Staff was responsive to out needs and led us to our site.The laundry room is always clean and has new machines. Yes, the management is still working to improve this park. Far beyond our expectations and we will return for more than a month stay in the future. Monthly rates are within reasonable expectations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
I was quite surprised when we came to this park. From all of the negative feedback I wasn't expecting a lot. First of all we were greeted upon arrival by a staffer and taken to our site. It was raining but the staff member made sure we were happy with our site (it was pretty empty and we had our pick of sites) and he also provided us with a 50 amp extension for our RV. We didn't smell the sulfur, maybe because it was raining. But because of the recent rains everything was green and lush. On the weekends, the place fills up with locals there for the day. Lots of families, with their kids and dogs. We saw lots of alcohol being drank by the adults but everyone was well behaved, cleaned up after themselves, kept to their group and were having a great time. There are hundreds of covered picnic tables and larger covered shelters all around the lagoon, where there are wonderful water slides and fountain. The kids love it: in spite of the 72 degree spring fed water. There are sandy beach areas as well as lounge chairs and a DJ playing music on the weekend. It is a large park and you can bike around. Some of the concrete pads are broken up but you can see they are replacing them around the park. We did not use the bathrooms, but others said they were very clean. On the downside, the RV sites did not have any picnic tables or firepits/grills but we were only here for the weekend. The rain came and went but kept the temperature pretty comfortable. If you have kids this is a great place to visit for the day or week. Staff were very helpful and friendly. I would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This was the worse campground ever. I do not recommend staying here. The sulfur spring emits a constant stench. Don't drink the water - had to buy bottled water. Taking a shower even stunk from the smelly water. They advertised they have "new water" so I would hate to see the old water. Cable is available for $50 a month. This is a trailer park wishing to be a campground. The only positive thing I can say about this place is the sites are large. But be careful where you park and do not let them help you back in. I saw more than one coach in trouble with their help. I also saw a brand new motorhome swamped in the mud as the sites are not paved. The people who own it are not RVers and used to own a storage facility. It shows. People are not boxes! They do not pick up your garbage and there are only two dumpsters very very far away - you will need a car. WiFi was way way overpriced so we did not use it. The constant dog barking from one of the permanent RVs was a bother along with the neighborhood rooster. When I complained about the dog, they stated they were aware of it but did nothing about it. We have two dogs so it is not like we mind barking but not all night. On the weekend, this place becomes a favorite hang out by some fairly shady characters. You can pay a small fee to use the water park as a day visitor. Given the stench, don't know why anyone would pay to swim in it but then again, judging by that crowd it may have been their only shower this month. Avoid this place at all possible costs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
I had high hopes for this park. We just stayed at a park were the staff was very rude and condescending. This seemed to be due to the fact we are around 30 and some of these parks in Florida really want to be 55+. We are from Texas and expect a little Southern Hospitality. We visited the park the day prior to moving there. The staff was wonderful. They took us around the park and we were able to pick the site we wanted. We picked one of their older sites. The person showing us around explained they were in the process of changing all the electric out with new breakers, breaker boxes, and wiring. She told us we could expect to have the breakers flip if it became crowded or extremely hot. This is something we were willing to deal with because we liked the large shaded site we had picked. The site was an old permanent residence that had been demolished. While looking at the spot we noticed a lot of broken glass on the concrete pad. The site only had a 30 amp plug and breaker as well. She said they would have the glass picked up and the electric changed to accommodate my 37.5 ft. 3 slide 5th wheel. We were excited to be moving to this camp ground the staff seemed great… We arrived for check-in around 3:00 pm. After paying our $100 dollar deposit for electric and 3 months’ rent, about $1500, we went to our site. The glass had been cleaned up from the concrete pad we were parking the RV on. I went to plug the trailer in and it was still a 30 amp plug. No big deal I have a reducer, but they promised it would be changed over. The girlfriend went to the office and the maintenance guy came right out to change the plug. So at this point we are happy. A few days go by and we decide we want to have the cable hooked up. We go in to pay one morning and are told they will turn it on by this afternoon. That day ends no cable. We mention it the next morning; we know we are not the only campers, and things happen. They said they would come right down. A few hours go by nothing. After going to the office for a third time to get the cable turned on they finally came to turn it on. Over these couple of days and the rest of our stay, we had to flip the breakers after they tripped at least every couple of days or if we ran to many appliances at once for the circuits. For example fridge, AC, and microwave would trip the breaker. The area around us was not full of campers either. As I mentioned this was an old site. They leveled things out around were the old house sat by adding more wonderful black sand that is already all around. For those that don’t know this sand gets everywhere and when it gets wet you track this black sticky sand everywhere. By the end of the first week I had picked up some pieces of glass around the trailer. I didn’t want anyone cutting their foot or paw, we have a dog. As with the electric some glass could be expected a home was torn down here. I feel we had been very patient. Then I have a flat on my 1 ton, it had a screw in the tire. This made me look around in the sand a little more. I noticed glass, screws, nails, etc… So we went to the office and informed them there was stuff all in the sand they said they would get it cleaned up right away. A couple of days went by and no clean up. Another day went by and a flat on the other truck. Now our patients with them are wearing thin. I ate the cost of the 1st tire because it could have happened anywhere, but a second tire within 2 weeks. By this point I start cleaning up all the stuff up around the site, because apparently customers getting flat tires and the possibility of being hurt are not important to them. I had everything around my site cleaned up nicer than most of the sites there, things were OK. Then the unexpected happened we found 2 abandoned kittens. As another review said there is a feral cat problem. We waited most of the day for the mother to return but she never did. These kittens were almost dead at this point. My girlfriend put the kittens in a box. We took them to the office. The lady in there asked if we could take them down to the store. We did so begrudgingly, that is when things got out of hand. The employee in the store was extremely rude with my girlfriend. She told me she had never been treated so rudely. It basically all boiled down to the park saying the cats were feral and not their problem. We just didn’t want these kittens to die under our trailer adding to the stench already in the air. At this point we had enough. We went and asked for a refund for the remainder of our time that we had already paid for, about 2 and ½ months. They of course said no! We were able to go back through all our paperwork and their website and proved they did not have a refund policy in place. Of course now they are telling us we can move to another site and came to clean up the trash and glass I already picked up. This was too little too late in my book. We declined to move or let them try to do anything else to correct their mistakes. We just wanted to break our ties to the park and move on. We agreed to stay the remainder of the month while they mailed a check from there “main office” in Pennsylvania to our Texas address since they would not allow us to receive personal mail at their office. We packed up on the last day we were supposed to be there yet we had not received a check yet. So we went to the office and the owners thought we had changed our mind since we stayed the rest of the month. As one can image this was the last straw. After getting the run around for a few hours, they finally wrote us a check on the spot and we were on our way. Needless to say I do not recommend this camp ground. The three so called college graduates that run the place for Mommy and Daddy or Aunt and Uncle are 3 silver spoon fed brats. I learned more about customer service at McDonald’s in one summer at 16 years old. I could have gone into more detail than I did, but here is a summary of the things I did not like about Wekiva Falls: poor electric, glass and trash around some of the sites, I had 2 flat tires, feral cats and kittens, sulfur smell, rude employees’ and owners, and finally the lack of customer service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
In 2007 we stayed for a month. Again it was CHEAP; less than $300 for the month with 15/30-amp service, water and sewer. Roads were horrible, made of sand and dirt with 2 to 3 foot deep puddles after a rain. The high sulfur content in the water - run down office/store - bathrooms like you would expect at a backwoods gas station - feral cats running all over the place, and some very scary people living in some really trashy units. Like I said, it was cheap and the elderly woman who owned it, fought like hell to keep the State of Florida from getting it. She wanted it to be a campground forever like her late husband intended it. Unfortunately, it seemed like she hadn’t put a dime into the place for at least 20 years. We never expected to be back there again. This year we were looking for a place for about a month in March/April and spotted the Wekiva Falls RV Resort web site. That was new right there! They had a web site! It advertised new owners and new amenities like Cable TV, Wi-Fi, new roads, new water filtration, new bath/shower facilities, 50-amp service, new laundromat, new activities pavilion, new swimming area, new office and convenience store. The photos looked great. We called to make sure it was the same place we were in before and it was. The folks on the phone were quite pleasant. When we arrived we entered through the new gate and met more members of the staff who were equally cordial. We were driven around the property in a golf car to look at sites and immediately noticed the new level and mostly paved roads and lack of broken down, rusted trailers. They evicted about 99% of them by raising the rates; now around $500+ per month. We had a choice between shaded or sunny sites, and we chose a shaded one. Once we settled in we started to learn of some disappointments. Fortunately I have extensions for just about everything. I needed an extra 25 feet of power cord and about 30 feet of water hose and TV cable. They still have 4 to 6 shared connections per post. When we turned on the computer, we found out the Wi-Fi was not included, it is $40.00 per month. A few days later we got a call from our home Post Office telling us our mail had been refused when it was delivered to the resort. The resort manager told us they don’t accept mail or packages for any campers. We would need to get a P.O. box or make other arrangements. We found out from other RVers that the rates on the sunny sites are less than the shaded ones. At check-in we were told electric was metered at 12¢ kWh. We received a notice that the rate was going up to 15¢ kWh April 1st due to a power Co. increase. At checkout on April 3rd they tried to make the increase retroactive to our check-in date of March 6th. We argued and got the lower rate. Cable is included, but NOT in all instances. The swimming area is nicer, but smells like rotten eggs, the bottom is slimy and it is not a pool. It is a wide spot in the sulfur spring that runs into the Wekiva River. The new slide into the swimming area is a big hit with the kids. Cats are still running around. They are fewer in number, but don’t look any less diseased. Would I recommend this place? Well, yes, maybe, but only because that side of the Sanford area is very nice. It's rural, but easily accessible to malls, shopping, dining, flea markets, recreation and entertainment like Orlando, Daytona and Kennedy Space Center. I would, however, strongly advise you to ASK all the questions. What are all the rates for the differing sites, what is or is not included. Don’t assume, ask and make sure. There are quite a few other places nearby, so you have a choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$34
Over the years we have stayed here several times, mostly for the low rates, but was always nervous about the conditions. It had the appearance of a stereotypical run down trailer park. They have made significant improvements. The staff is very friendly and most of the trashy units are gone, the park is clean as are the laundry, rest room and shower facilities. Cable T.V. service has been added and the electric has been upgraded. They have a nice convenience store and fixed the swimming area. The sulfur spring can be a bit offensive at times. What they don't tell you on their web site is that WiFi service is available for a fee and they do not accept U.S. mail or FedEx packages for campers. The charge for Cable TV is listed on their web site. Also, campers used to get one free use of a canoe to explore the Wekiva River. Now there is a charge. The rates have gone up, and when you have to add the electric, Wi-Fi, cable and a Post Office box rental, it adds to the overall cost. We might stay here again, but the reason we stayed before was cost. Since that's not a factor any longer, they would have to provide more to get me to stay for an extended period. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
Overall the campground was very nice. Staff was friendly and restrooms were clean. It is evident they are working on the place and cleaning it up; once the lights are working it will nice to walk around at night. The spring was emitting a sulfurous smell and it wasn't particualarly inviting, although the water slide looked fun. We enjoyed our stay and would go back if we were in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$29
Do be fooled, we did not camp here but drove through to look since we live close by. I will say they have done a lot of work but still have a long way to go. Again this is not a RV resort or campground it is a trailer park!!! If you can plant your self for an unlimited time and have an electric meter it's a trailer park. they charge after 12 kw / day, even if your only there for a couple of days. The sites are grass some have broken concrete pads for sitting on next to them. Still have some trailers which look as though they have been there for many years. Roads had pot holes and some areas are still dirt. This is not a resort, maybe in a couple of years if they continue to make changes and improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$16
I agree with the previous current posts. Most importantly, the new owners have the right attitude and are effectively turning this place around. New 50 amp service, new laundromat, new entry gatehouse (not operational yet), new CATV and most of the "derelicts" are gone. Some issues that still need to be addressed include: trash is contained in one large construction site sized dumpster, some ant problems (common in Florida), crumbling concrete pads/patios, and some roads need to be paved. Overall, becoming a very nice, quiet place with varied wildlife walking through the resort. Rate reflects Passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$29
We had camped at Wekiva Falls Resort before and been disappointed. It is located northwest of Orlando off route 46 west of Sanford. We heard that there were new owners and decided to give it a try. They stopped taking Passport America when the property was sold but the new owner says they plan to start taking PA again. Rates are $29 + tax/night, $175/week. Electricity is included but Wi-Fi and cable TV are extra. It is a very large campground with about 800 sites presently; The new owners have several projects underway. They have evicted more than a hundred old RVs which vastly improved things. They have torn down some decrepit buildings including the rec hall and laundromat. They have converted the old office building to the Mastodon Market but as of January 09 it doesn’t have much range of products. They have installed new modular buildings with bathrooms. The new gatehouse building is in place but not operational (due to permits) so you have to go to Mastodon Market to register. They have a natural spring (sulfurous) and swimming area that used to be surrounded by a concrete rim for patio chairs. They now have converted some of the perimeter to a sand beach. In the center they have added a floating platform with a climbing tower and two enclosed tube slides into the water. The smell from the sulfur can be a problem if you are downwind. A creek flows from the sulfur spring for about 200 feet down to the marina basin and then about1,000 feet to the Wekiva River. The Wekiva River upstream is all natural with turtles, alligators and many varieties of birds. Canoes & kayaks rent for $5/day. They are putting in new 50 amp utility posts with cable TV and presently have about 200 in and use able. The site we were on was about 100 feet deep by about 30 feet. They are upgrading the roads from sand to blacktop. They have replaced a lot of broken up concrete patios with new concrete ones. The marina has been revamped with many new canoes and kayaks available. The snack bar at the marina is open but mainly has only chips and sodas. They have a license to sell beer and wine coolers and plan to start soon. There is no enclosed pavilion at present but they have immediate plans for a 40 x 40 enclosed pavilion for club rallies but they do now have a covered area over several large picnic tables. If we lived in Florida we would consider it for hosting a club rally. They say they have hosted rallies of up to 200 rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$29
This park is a diamond in the rough. It is under new ownership as of May of last year. The new owners are great. They have cleaned out most of the old rv's and trash. They are also in the process of putting in all new electric, we were the first to use the new 50 amp service at our site. Nice grass sites, with concrete pads, some new, some will be new in the near future. They are in the process of sealing the roads to keep the dust down. They have plans for club house and pool. The river cruise was a lot of fun. They also have canoes and kayaks to rent. I am looking forward to going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$9
This was my second time staying here because the price was right. The place has not changed much from the older reviews. My first time there in August 2007, the lady at the entrance was very friendly. When I asked her for a map of the park to find my site she laughed and said to just go in, stay to the right and find a place where ever I want. This was a bit disconcerting because at that time I was a solo camper and I hate going into a place where I don't know exactly where I'm going. Fortunately it was daylight so I slowly drove around -- slowly because the dirt road was horrible. HUGE dips and holes that fill with a foot of water when it rains. Make sure all your stuff is tied down as you are tossed left and right as you drive. I finally found a spot, got my rig all leveled up which took about 20 minutes since I was by myself and when I went to plug in for my electric, I discovered there were no fuses and so no power. $%@*!! So I buttoned everything up and moved two spots over to a site with electric. After another 20 minutes of leveling I get power hooked up and ten spend another 20 minutes looking for the sewer pipe. These are hidden in the ground and it's like looking for an acorn in the tall grass as it appeared they hadn't mowed in weeks. I ended up calling the office for someone to come out and show me where the sewer hookup was. The dude was very nice so no complaints there. After that I settled in and spent an uneventful week. My second time there was in January and by this time I'd traded my Class C for a 40-foot Class A. Getting it into the entrance was a tight squeeze. Roads the same. No improvement there. Managed to find a site with 50-amp and power was fairly steady. The permanent party people there are definitely an eyesore and they have laid claim to all the shady sites. There are rigs in there older than me and junk all over the place. If I thought getting in was tight, getting out was an adventure but we made it. I give this place a 5 because of all the junky, old rigs there and the terrible roads. But if you need to stay somewhere cheap, this is the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$18
While the previous negative reviews has some truth in them it boils down to what you really want/need from a RV park. It's a lovely area and the staff were mostly friendly. The sewer smell someone mentioned is acutally from the sulfur springs and is totally natural. The electric and water hook ups were not the same distance from each pad making long extensions necessary is some cases. The shaded lots are mostly taken and are populated pretty much by yearly residents and many are run down. RV's that are covered in mildew and lots of junk strewn around. However much of the park is nice and very peaceful. There are no outside lights and one has to be careful at night because of bears checking out the dumpsters. The monthly rent is $205.00 plus whatever your electricity usage is. I haven't got an electric bill yet but I expect it to be around $35 to $40. I have Verizon and cell phone sevice is good. I also have Verizon Broadband Wireless internet and that service is good here too. When you first move in you get a complimentary river cruise and the canoes are free during the week. People staying here range from a guy living in his van to big four slide out motorhomes. The residents here seem very friendly. If you are not expecting a gated community and love the state park environment, then this park is a real bargin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$18
The writeups on this "resort" may have some basis in fact - years ago. The park itself is a nice piece of property. However, the "office" is non-existant, there is a sort of window-service snack bar. The advertised log flume rides have been replaced by a hand written sign on a torn piece of cardboard nailed to the back side of the guard shack saying "flume rides have been permenantly removed". In our 5 days there we never saw anyone move the 2 old boats that are nailed to the dock (they are advertised as running evry hour 9-4) . Pets are not allowed - after our first night there, I was awakened by a barking dog. It seems that the many permanant residents have them. Additional $2.00 per day elec charge (not listed anywhere), many old rigs on seasonal sites with their tires sunk to the axles and covered with mildew. They stick an Avery stick on label onto an outdated brochure as a gate pass. Too bad, in the right hands this could be a nice park. Story is the current owners are waiting for the State of Florida to come up with the right price so they can add it to the rest of the wildlife preserve that surrounds it. That would explain why they do not put any money into it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$24
It's a cheap place to spend the winter, but you would not want to use their restrooms as they are very poor. The lots are large, 50% of them have shade. The power is fair during the winter months, but poor during the hotter months. This is my 3rd winter here and my rent avg $290 per month which includes electric and taxes. As other post have said, they nickle and dime you to death. There is a natural spring which has a sulfur odor. This spring feeds into the Wekiva River. It's ok but not great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$25
This is your worst nightmare. They advertise $195/month, but charge extra for nearly everything from kids to dogs to visitors for a few hours. It cost me about $500 for a month $10 for a concrete slab with a big crack. $25 for a big lot. $10 to put up a screen room. Power inadequate to run an A/C. $25 to change sites. Unpaved roads are terrible. Owner's don't care. $100 deposit for power for a month ( my bill was $35) site electric power is not standard. Many require 30' extensions. $25 for a different connection further power drop to 98 volts. STAY AWAY We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2001
$25
Run down. Not clean at all. The swimming hole smells like a sewer. It does not have a swimming pool but has a spring feed stream- tube water slides on it. The toliets were open and full of every kind of bug at night. Not a good experience at all. AVOID it! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com