223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Ledges State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (515) 432-1852
CGID8129

Ledges State Park

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   4   10   8   7   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$11
Love this park. Stayed 2 nights. Restrooms were closed so used my own. Electric at site. Fill tank from hydrant and dump on way out. Lots of wildlife. Great sites. Not many RV parks open this time of year. Only problem is too many cares driving through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
This is an old park, and it's beginning to show it. The paint is peeling in the restrooms and showers. The picnic tables are warped and peeling paint. The road to the lower section is still out. They hope to get it open by June. Someone made a mess in one of the lavatory sinks on Saturday, and it didn't get cleaned up until Monday. There was a rock concert in Boone on Sunday so the park was full. The reservable sites had been booked for months. Fortunately we were able to get one of the last walk-in sites. The grass had all been recently mowed, and there was no trash in any of the sites when we arrived. There is no Wi-Fi, and our T-Mobile phone couldn't get a connection. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$11
Price reflects Iowa camping coupon. This park has great hiking. The lower part of the park road is currently closed because of a flash flood last year. They are rebuilding the bridge and plan on cleaning up the picnic area. The road is scenic because you can drive through the Pea Creek in several areas. They hope to have the park back to normal next year. The campground is several loops with pull-through and back-in sites. The sites are large and mostly are surrounded by woods. Ames is approximate 11 miles away for services. We will definitely will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We camped overnight at Ledges as it was on our way and was listed as one of the top campgrounds in the National Geographic State Park book. However, the park has obviously deteriorated since National Geographic visited. We pulled into our site and poison ivy surrounded the neglected gravel pad. The park was full, and many people brought large dogs which they let run loose. The park ranger drove right by them and didn't say a word. The bathhouse had peeling paint and the showers had those little buttons on the wall you had to push to get water. The water then stayed on about five seconds, and you had to push it again. We wanted to hike down to the gorge, but the ranger said the bridge had been washed out and hadn't been rebuilt. The park area near the entrance had picnic tables and grills, but the grass was taller than the picnic tables. Overall, it was a disappointing experience. If this is Iowa's best, I am glad I don't live in Iowa. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$16
This is one of our favorite state parks. Level campsites easy to back into or pull through. The rangers are friendly and helpful. Iowa state parks are super because half the sites are on first come/first serve. This makes it much more fair and egalitarian. Not every trip to a state park needs to be planned six months in advance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$11
Stayed 6 nights. Back again on our way north. Very reasonable. Only RV in the park. Some tenters if you can believe that!! Open year round. There is water to fill tanks and dump station along with electricity. Park is great for humans and our dog loves it, too. Will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$11
We stayed 2 weeks to visit family. $11 is the off season price. The shower house was closed but there was water to fill the tank and a dump station. The park is quiet with wildlife and trails. Does have a lot of drive through's nosing around on nice days. Only three campers in the entire park and a boy scout troop from Clive, Iowa chose to set up in our front yard instead of using the designated group camping area, causing us to move. Then they left their garbage laying out for the crows to make a mess instead of using dumpster. Sad. What happened to teaching scouts consideration? Suggest the rangers enforce their rules as both of these are posted. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
Wonderful park conveniently located to Boone and Ames. Spaces far apart with several pull-thrus. Staff and camp-host are extremely friendly. Choice of shade, sun or partial. Iowa policy is to reserve half the park on reservations and the other half first-come. The sites are properly marked as to which they are making it easy to make a decision and not worry about having to move. Park is well-maintained. They even put in new fire grates while we were here. Perfect for visiting this area. Would stay here anytime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$11
A nice, slightly out of the way state park. Has lots of big trees, many birds. Bathrooms need a little updating but were functional. Iowa arboretum is very close. Also, it's close to Ames, Iowa where there is plenty to do. Iowa state parks are a great deal and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$11
This campground was very nice with mostly shaded sites. Though there is not water on each site, connections were close enough to most sites to refill your tanks. It was pretty quiet during the week but completely filled up for the weekend. There are 13 miles of hiking trails within the park. There are also, surprisingly, sandstone cliffs that rise 100 feet above the streams on the west side of the park. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. This park is located just south of Boone which has, among other things, the Boone Scenic Railroad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com