218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Black Rock Campground (NPS Campgound) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (760) 367-3001
CGID8137

Black Rock Campground (NPS Campgound)

Camp Information
Sites
99
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   2   8   8   2   8   6   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
This is our first visit to Joshua Tree National Park and will definitely visit it again. We love boondocking, and this campground is perfect for it. We were in Site #20, which was a bit uneven, but surrounded by the wonderful Joshua Trees on either side. Friendly host and there is a nice trail that starts within the campground. The road approaching the campground is horrid--it desperately needs repaving. The rate we paid is a discount with our America the Beautiful Annual Pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2014
$15
The last 1/4 mile of city road before the park is terrible!! Numerous DEEP potholes and broken pavement....be careful. Interior roads are not any better, they haven't been paved in many years. Tight turns throughout, trees need trimming, tuff for big rigs, but do-able if you are careful. Once in your site, it's a nice place to camp. We stayed 7 days, and the bathrooms were only cleaned ONCE!!! Very disgusting. There was feces on the toilet seats, vomit on the floors. ( when I mentioned it to the ranger, he just said they are short-handed, and couldn't look me in the eye.) The Host, Gene, was very friendly and helpful. He got things done. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$15
The short gravel road to the entrance is a shocker with deep and wide potholes. Dump station and to fill your water tank is $5. Not all sites are level. 3 that are OK are 11, 13, 15. You can make a booking online. If you arrive on a first come, first served basis you are able to stay 2 nights confirmed and if you wish to stay longer you check each morning with the Ranger to see if the site has been booked for the next day before you can extend your stay. The west entrance to the National Park is 14 miles away. Good hiking trails (not in the National Park) are close by. The campground was quiet, has an elevated aspect, and often at dusk you hear coyotes singing. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$8
Wednesday, April 17 – Joshua Tree National Park – Black Rock Campground. This campground is located in the northwest of part Joshua Tree National Park. You have to leave the Park and then drive in from Yucca Valley. It is the closest campground from the Palm Springs area, and the Visitor Center was very busy. Some of the reviews for the campground have not been good but we loved it. It is set up in the mountains with views of the valley below. Joshua Trees are in all the sites. A number of bath houses and not pits. No hookups but water was available around the campground. Check in was fast, but it takes place at the Nature Center, and after hours you have a self check in. Not all sites are level, but you can find level sites even for big rigs. There are 99 sites for $15 per night and half of that if you have a pass. The campground is big with sites in eight different roads. The sites at the top have excellent views. There is even a horse camp at this campground. The one negative is the drive in. Once you get off Joshua Lane, the two little roads in are filled with potholes that really need to be fixed. This campground is one of two at the National Park that does take reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2013
$7.5
This campground is the least attractive in the Joshua Tree park. The pavement is broken and the humps and potholes make it difficult to get into the sites. You actually look out and see residential homes. We just spent a week in Belle, Jumbo Rocks and Cottonwood and looked at all the other camps. All are nice except this one. We are terribly disappointed, but it is too many miles back so were staying the night. The cost is 50% higher and you are not in a pretty area or even near the park attractions. You can get water at the two visitor centers. They keep vault toilets nice in other campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$15
We stayed Thursday and Friday nights in the middle of October. Very few campers on Thursday. Surprisingly, there were still a few unoccupied sites on Friday. We drove in around 10 PM and got lost because of the ups and downs and curvy roads within the campground. Fortunately, we found the cordial and friendly camp host who walked us to our site. When we were there, the temperature ranged from the low 50s to the low 80s, sunny with some dark clouds, and a light breeze during the day. Black Rock has 9 water spigots spread throughout 99 sites. Water is free. We stayed in site 20 which is a pull through site. We were able to level front to back without using leveling blocks, but we did not have enough blocks to level side to side. I would suggest spending 2 to 5 minutes at the Nature Center to learn about the history of the park. Black Rock does not charge the $15 entry fee that the other 3 entrances charge. If you wish to visit the rest of the park, the $15 entry fee is good for 7 days. Dump fee is $5. The downsides: I don't like the desert, Black Rock doesn't have the spectacular rock formations like some of the other campgrounds, and the entrance road is full of potholes. Touring tip: Skull Rock, about half way between the West and the North Entrances, can be easily seen by standing in the blue handicap walkway across the street from the Skull Rock Trail sign and by looking directly above the Skull Rock Trail sign. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$7.5
We paid golden age passport rate. Regular rate is $15. This campground has older sites perhaps intended for tent camping, so larger motor-homes or 5th wheels with slide-out could have trouble. Site were irregularly shaped and many were not level or difficult to get level. The roads in and near the campground were in poor shape with erosion and potholes. Weather here can be cold and windy. Views of the Joshua Trees were scenic. Various hiking trails lead out from the campground. The rangers in the nature center were cheerful, helpful and friendly. Sites had picnic tables and fire rings with grills. No ranger talks at this location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
A fabulous national park campground. It is easily in our top 10. The rangers recommended a couple great hikes that kept us away from the crowds. The campground is accessed off a separate road, not the main road through the park, so there is quite a bit of driving if you want to see the view points. There are other CG's that looked nice, but this is the only one with water on the north side of the park. It's a beautiful spot. It's worth trying to make a reservation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
We came here to do some stargazing. Unfortunately, it was a cloudy and rainy weekend. I did luck out one morning at 4am during daddy duty when I stepped outside and got a great view of the night sky with a new moon. The wind was really strong, jostling our trailer and upending some neighboring tents. The strong winds also prevail on the roads leading here. Everybody was friendly and the scenery was great. Sites are far from level. Once was enough for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
We'd visited Black Rock before with a rental motorhome and also camped at Cottonwood Springs in a Roadtrek but this was my first time towing a vehicle (32' Jamboree towing a Scion xD). On our first time around the lower loop (no pull throughs there--they're in the upper part of the campground) I didn't turn tight enough at the campground exit and had to back up the motorhome. We quickly unhooked the tow vehicle and drove them in separately. I did the same thing when leaving from the dump station (though I wasn't towing the vehicle). We had the lower section of the campground virtually to ourselves because of the cold weather and it was midweek. The Short Loop Trail was nice. Star gazing was excellent, though chilly. The dump station was $5 and the park entrance was $15. Few of the sites seem level but the plastic step levelers got us close enough. We drove the car through the Jumbo Rocks campground and found plenty of big motorhomes and trailers using slide outs. We might try that next time. Cottonwood Springs has been closed since September 2011 when flooding and the presence of mercury from old mining operations shut it down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$7.5
The Joshua trees spread amongst the camp sites makes this park a beauty. Sites are not on top of one another. I rate this park high because of its beauty. At 4,000+ feet, the night sky is great. Some other camps in Joshua Tree National Park are very sparten. On site is a horse camp, a plus for those who have their own horses. Nice hiking trails enhance enjoyment of the park. Well worth the turn off of Rt. 62 west of Twenty Nine Palms. As with most National parks, there's not hookups but there is a dump station and some potable water taps spread through the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$7.5
It’s hard to know how to rate this campground. Joshua Trees is a must-see gem in the national park system. There are fantastic hikes through the dense joshua tree forests around Black Rock and unbelievably beautiful rock formations with hikes to spectacular vistas in the rest of the park. Yet our stay here was miserable due to snow, rain, and below freezing temperatures inside the RV, as well as outside. The campgrounds inside the park are a 10 for tents, truck campers, and small trailers, but are not big rig friendly with small unlevel sites and potholed roads. We chose the Black Rock campground as one more likely to accommodate our 32’ fifth wheel. The ranger was very friendly and helpful in directing us to the few sites where we could fit. With a smaller rig, our choices would have been huge as there was almost no one else in the campground. The spot we knew we could get in most easily was reserved for later in the week (a weekend reservation), even at this time of year with the rotten weather. So if a bigger spot is needed, make reservations early. Driving around the park the next day, we found a few spots in other campgrounds (first come, first served) that we might have gotten into with a lot of cursing and stress on the marriage, but they were taken. We had planned to stay longer than two nights, but couldn’t take the cold. Lessons learned for a return trip: (1) go in the spring or fall and (2) try the BLM area on the other side of the freeway from the Cottonwood campground/South Entrance which is supposed to be better suited for bigger rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$7.5
Typically fabulous National Park campground. Our site did require some leveling. RV dump and water are available in the campground. Many beautiful Joshua trees and junipers. Flush toilets but no showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
If you know all you're getting is a place to park the RV and you're entirely self-sufficient, the relatively high rating makes sense. The roads are in fairly bad shape, including the approach access, but it helps keep the speeds down, so was fine by us. I didn't see any sites that were level side to side or front to back. We actually moved around in our site after maxing out the tongue jack. BUT, it's a superb location at the edge of Joshua Tree, with direct access to several hiking trails, and made a great base camp to explore the rest of the National Park. Very clean restrooms, no showers, clean dump area with two drains and fresh water fill. If we pass through again, this is on our list for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$8
Our rate reflects the senior pass discount. This is a Joshua Tree National Park campground. It’s located at the northwest corner of the park. Access is not from the park roads, so you do not have to pay a park entrance fee in addition to the campground fee. It’s about 5 miles south of CA-62. There are no hookups. There are modern restrooms, but no showers. There is a dump station. Loops are paved, but in poor condition. Sites are compacted sand. They are not level. We used a couple of leveling blocks on each front tire. We stayed at site #25. This is along the western outer loop. The view behind us was nature. The eastern outer loop has views of houses off in the distance. This is a very scenic desert campground, and there are plenty of Joshua Trees here. Most sites are back in sites. The campground has some pull through sites. Some sites are too close to each other. This is especially true for the back to back inner loop sites. The campground was only a quarter full on the Tuesday we stayed, so we had no privacy problems. The sites include a fire ring/grill combo and cement picnic tables. We stayed only 1 night as a stopover, on a longer trip, heading home. We would stay here again. We are now motivated to make a trip just to see the park, perhaps staying at one of the campgrounds further inside the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
We were volunteers in this campground for the winter season of 2011. Being a national park it does not have any hook ups, but does have clean rest rooms without showers. There are several sites large enough for 40+ motor home/fifth wheels that are pull through. They also have a few sites that are large enough that are back ins. The campground is located about 6 miles from the main West entrance of Joshua Tree NP. The campground itself has the best hiking in all of the park, trails well maintained and marked with Joshua Trees, Juniper Trees,and Yucca Plants. The views form this campground are spectacular with Yucca Valley to the North and the canyons to the South. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
Nice NPS campground. No hookups, but has water and dump station available for $5. Short area of road immediately in front of entrance is pretty chewed up. Campground itself is very scenic. Lots of vegetation and small critters. Many hiking trails leave right from the cg. Bathrooms in the visitor center, are very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
A very nice campgruond with nice hiking trails near the urban areas but within a National Park. We camped on Sunday evening and the place was pretty empty. I really enjoyed this place despite a lot of wind during our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$8
Rate is with a Senior Pass 50% discount. This is a NPS campground with a few pull through sites for larger rigs. No hookups, the site was not level and required extra leveling devices to level the coach. Campground is more suitable for tents, tent trailers and smaller travel travel trailers. Sites can be reserved and we noted the better RV sites, meaning level sites, often had a small tent in them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$15
This was a nice but aged campground. The roads were highly deteriorated and the sites while mostly (if not all?) pull through were not particularly level. The campground was practically empty (the section we were in at least) but if it were not we would have been very close to our neighbor. As it was the guy 2 spaces down ran his loud Honda exterior generator every second that was allowed. He would fire it up about 5 mins before “Generator Time” and turn it off when the ranger or camp host came by to tell him to. It wasn’t hot, so I’m not sure what he was running other then the TV? We used this time to go hiking both days we were there. The cost was $15 per night, and an additional $5 to dump on the way out. I was fine with the price; the hiking was very nice and outstanding views of the valley. The place is pretty local to us and I wouldn’t mind going again next February/March. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$15
If you like camping in the desert, and you want a quiet, peaceful place without OHVs and motorcycles, then this is the place for you! Blackrock Campground is incredibly close to civilization (only about 5 miles from the small town of Joshua Tree), but it boasts the many splendors of desert wilderness life and a sky full of stars at night. The peace and quiet is occasionally interrupted by the hum of Marine Corps helicopters flying to the Twentynine Palms Marine Base (approximately 25 miles from the campground). Make sure you can deal with "boon docking," for there is water at the sites but no electricity and only one sewage dump site. Also, you can only run your generator between 7-9 AM, 12-2 PM, and 5-7 PM. There are numerous trails for novice and intermediate hiking, and the campground is less than 30 minutes from the other noteworthy site within the National Park. Even though you will be a paid camper, you will still need to pay for a pass to drive through the rest of the Park. If you're into views, the you must check out Keys View (on the southwest part of the park). Keys View offers an awesome view of the San Gregornio Mountains and Palm Springs. Be sure to check out the Visitor Center and get literature on the park, and enjoy yourself! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$15
We enjoyed Joshua Tree very much. One of my favorite places to rock climb and the unmaintained roads in the park are fun to take the jeep on. This campground is on the edge of the park and it takes about an hour to drive to Jumbo Rock. At the CG we had a lot of trouble getting our 40 foot rig into and out of the site and park. The roads are crumbling in and up to the park when you reach the end of the city roads and turns are very tight in the park. You are however in the desert in a national park that is not designed for big rigs. Joshua Tree is amazing but I prefer tent camping there. We would camp here again. Just not in the motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com