220872 User submitted reviews online!!
Calusa Campground Resort and Marina was rated 4 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (305) 451-0232
CGID8143

Calusa Campground Resort and Marina

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   2   1   3   9   7   3   8   2   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2014
$65
Impromptu trip south to get out of the cold landed us here for 5 nights. Upon arrival the staff in a golf cart lead our motorhome through the VERY tight maze to the wrong site thus returning to the beginning to start all over again. Upon backing into the site, traditionally my wife gets behind the wheel and I get out and direct the maneuvering into the site and glad I did. Just in time I discovered huge “cleats” anchored in the ground probably from a former permanent tenant and the likes of which would really have torn up any tire that should run over them. There were 6 in two rows and now we were trying to maneuver to avoid them yet keep room in the very tight spot to open our slides. That alone I would not stay here again. Regarding the tight maze of road talking to a neighbor they showed us the bay door that got ripped out of their rig upon their arriving, maneuvering their rig and they hit the rocks making a sharp near impossible corner. No I would not stay here again ever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
The park was very tight with mostly permanent residents. We were parked close to a construction project where they were building a vacation residence. The folks next to us had 3 dogs. They left them out and walked away. Two chihuahuas were nasty and went after a child who walked through the space. There was a German Shephard that was not friendly. After numerous calls to security, they first left a note on their trailer that they were in violation. A subsequent complaint brought animal control. After rounding up the two yappers, the animal control officer found a name and phone number on a dog tag and called them. They came and were told not to leave their dogs alone and not to leave them outside for the night. Animal control left and they let the dogs outside. Security told me they were leaving in the morning. I asked them and was told they would be there another week. We asked for a refund and was given it. We left. No, I would not go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2012
$105
This is what I would call a "crappy" campground and not worth the money. Poorly run and maintained. Very old and not kept up. Bathrooms are shoddy as well as the laundry room. We were told by previous person on our site that it is extremely noisy and crowded on the weekends...we are leaving before that. Maintenance people do not speak English. I do not recommend this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$95
A big rig does not mean 40ft but should be referred to as a 45ft RV. We tried to get inside the park and had to retreat for fear of risk VS reward. Campground rash was visible everywhere especially on the trees and buildings where RV’s had made contact trying to make the turns. We were forced to make two 3 points turns to make it around the park to get to the so called big rig sites. Once we arrived at the site assigned to us it was too narrow to open our slide outs. This is a very old mobile home travel trailer park thus the reason for it being so tight to get around. Would recommend 38ft or less RV for access however you’re still going to be faced with the problem of using your slide outs especially if your neighbors have their slides open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$100
After staying at another Key Largo Campground and leaving before our stay was up, we found Calusa to be a welcome surprise. Clean, well kept, with a gorgeous new salt water pool and marble showers and ample laundry. Sure the folks speak Spanish but where don't they in the Keys?? They're a fun loving and sometimes a little loud group, but we loved it so much, we are back again. Security is tight and shopping is close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$65
The pool area and restrooms were very nice and location is great. It was nice during the week but Friday-Sunday were crowded and extremely loud. Lots of loud music and few English speaking patrons. We will probably look elsewhere next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$80
Incredibly (potentially) gorgeous site, right on the bay, but almost impossible to get in it with a big rig. Peaceful and calm: at first. Then came the Labor Day invasion! Uncontrolled children running everywhere, boom boxes blaring incredibly loud, and no consideration of people who did not want to hear loud music till late at night, or even at noon. We left early. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$90
We almost canceled our reservation when we saw the reviews here but we are glad we did not. We stayed on one of the waterfront lots (215 or 216) and we got here on a Sunday night. I think it is pretty busy on the weekends. There is a largely Hispanic long term residential population at the front of the park but I felt very safe. The pool is still under construction but I saw people working on it and estimate it being done within 60 days. Staff was very helpful. Have never had a site with a better sunset view and the kids could fish right off the back of the site. Would definitely stay here again during the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$90
We knew before we arrived the pool was under repair. Not pet friendly: you must take dogs outside the park, then there is nothing there either. Internet $, does not work too well. Park is for park model/perm trailers. Entrance road very narrow with low hanging branches. Management is not surly but not happy with temporary MH, it's mostly transient people here, was not happy with that. Security people were not very friendly. All in all, the place is an overpriced poor facility. I would never stay here again, nor recommend to anyone else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2010
$60
This park is in the midst of being a condominium and an RV Park. There is constant construction everyday, except the weekend,and there are NO organized activities. Most things are in a poor state of repair except for the rec bldg which appears to be new. We planned on making this our base of operations for a month and are very disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$99
Rate was $102, but only two digit box, so $99. Great sunset views. Best spot is 322. Ours nice, 324. Most of this park is permanent park model homes, few RV travelers. From our location to the pool required a car, most residents use golf carts to get around. This place is not dog friendly at all. There are signs: "Do not walk dogs on this property", when we inquired in the office about a dog run. They said we must take go outside the front gate, there is no place to walk dogs on premises. We came back from glass bottom boat ride at John Pennecamp (well worth it), we came to site, got the dog and back out front, out of park to walk him. About 5-10 minutes later, my wife comes back to the entrance gate but it will not open. She goes to the office where staff accused her of handing the card through the fence to get a second car into the park. When she explained she took the dog for a walk, the employee told her you are only allowed to go through the gate once in fifteen minutes, but she would let her in this time only. Wow! So, if you have a dog, find another campground. This place may be pet tolerant, but certainly not pet friendly. There are no waves here and no beach. No swimming access that I found, other than the pool. Pool nice sized, but full of children in the afternoon. Bugs at dusk are horrible. Bite bad, during the day, bugs were not a problem. We will not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$75
This is a nice park and there were no mosquitoes. Staff was very pleasant. In fact, we stayed here twice on our holiday. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$99
These are privately owned sites that are rented. Mostly permanents. We requested oceanfront and paid $110 per night over Christmas holidays. Trust me the only sites to have are ocean front because the rest are small. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com